QUOTE(funnybone @ Jan 28 2014, 10:28 AM)
haha.. will do.. thanksKia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com
Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com
Jan 28 2014, 12:30 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2014 |
Jan 28 2014, 01:07 PM
135 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(Kelvin Sidhu @ Jan 28 2014, 09:27 AM) hi, im new here.. finally completed all the neccesary arrangemt for the new K5 now just waiting for it to arrive at my doorstep hopefully by end of this week.. is there any advise i should consider in maintaning the K5 since im a first time kia user? Congrats and welcome to the club! It is close to Chinese New Year, hope you can get the car on time for the long holidays ahead. Do observe the break-in period for the first 1000 Km, if possible, no sudden acceleration or braking is advised. Cheers!i was a little dissapointed cause couldnt get the white color cause it was out of stock even though i booked it just 2 days after its launching and end up i took the satin metal.. |
Jan 29 2014, 09:47 PM
1,645 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Puchong |
Hey guys, after viewing the new altis. I felt d K5 is a good choice although 1 is c segment n k5 a D segment.
But i used to look down on kia maybe because of naza and the resale value the used to have during the kia ria, kia spectra era. After so many years of looking down into Kia, i see the designs and specs are so innovative just like samsung and lg. So the question is, how's the car as in KIA in malaysia, the after sales service eg maintenance, parts cost etc and the resale.value. Your opinion is much appreciated |
Jan 29 2014, 11:59 PM
27 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Hi....im thinking to change my car....and this thread help me make up my mind for K5......WTA is there any discount for the new K5? any idea to get full loan or lowest downpayment? best interest in town is how much?
Can PM me details? TQ |
Jan 30 2014, 11:33 AM
135 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Jan 30 2014, 01:23 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(aliendarknez @ Jan 29 2014, 09:47 PM) Hey guys, after viewing the new altis. I felt d K5 is a good choice although 1 is c segment n k5 a D segment. Ive been a K5 owner for the past 21 months. Before this was a loyal Toyota supporter for 9 years. So let me give you a brief run down:But i used to look down on kia maybe because of naza and the resale value the used to have during the kia ria, kia spectra era. After so many years of looking down into Kia, i see the designs and specs are so innovative just like samsung and lg. So the question is, how's the car as in KIA in malaysia, the after sales service eg maintenance, parts cost etc and the resale.value. Your opinion is much appreciated 1) After sales service - still poor especially Red Cube PJ. But the Chinese operated SC's offer much much better after sales service and technical know how 2) Maintenance cost - spare parts are slightly more expensive compared to Japanese makes. 3) Build quality - so far quite good. No squeeks or rattles except a minor rattling round at the steering shaft when going over bumps. 4) Durability - unsure as its a new model. But because build quality is good, i expect durability to be much better than previous Kia models 5) Power - despite the higher hp & torque, its still slightly underpowered because of the body weight. A 2.4L engine or a 2.0L turbo would be far better. But using Total engine oil instead of the rubbish Syntium gives you a small power boost. 6) Driving - power delivery and the auto transmission isnt as smooth as Japanese makes. So some of the extra hp & torque gets 'lost' before it reaches the wheels. 7) Design - top class in my opinion. The car is a looker and gives a rather sleek / commanding impression on the road. 8) Resale value - all D segments cars dont enjoy good resale value compared to B or C segments. But of the lot, the K5 will probably be slightly worse because its Korean. But dont forget that ure also paying less in the beginning. 9) Value for money - an important criteria and at <150K, the K5 is great value. The specs on offer is top class for this price range. Even the Mazda 6 (the K5's closest competitor in terms of specs) doesnt offer as much for the base 2.0L model. 10) Safety - the MOST important criteria. The K5 excels in safety standards. Very good safety specs. The 2013 Optima K5 obtained higher frontal crash ratings by the NHTSA than even the mighty 2014 BMW 528i although both got the overall 5 star rating. In the IIHS test results (as of 2013), the 2013 Optima K5 is among only 25 vehicles worldwide who have received the Top Safety Pick (+) rating which even the Audi A6, BMW 5 Series and Mercedes E Class failed to get. The other Korean car which was rated Top Safety Pic (+) was the 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The key word with any car purchase should be VALUE FOR MONEY meaning what ure getting for what ure paying for. Generally there are 13 criteria which are important when choosing a car: 1) Price 2) Safety 3) Specifications 4) Design 5) Interior space 6) Build quality / durability 7) Ride, handling, power 8) After sales service 9) Overall maintenance cost (not just periodic maintenance) 10) Warranty terms 11) Comfort 12) Resale value 13) Future models / facelifts There is no car in the market which has all 13 criteria’s. So the idea is always to list your choices against these criteria and then compare against how much ure paying for it. You also need to take into account your specific needs. For instance, if ure not a driver who drives fast, long distance or spends a lot of time in the car then don’t bother getting a car which is powerful and excels in ride & handling. It will be a waste. Also give importance to long term needs not just the present. Look at least 5 years ahead and see where ull be. Cars are a 100% loss from Day 1 so the idea is always to minimize losses by choosing the car which satisfies most of the criteria above and yet keeps the price affordable. In saying this, I don't mean that resale value should become the primary criteria hence why its No 12 on that list. Use these 13 criteria’s when listing down your choices. Never ever choose a car based on 3 or 4 criteria’s. U'll just increase the risks of making the wrong choice. Test drives actually don’t help much because most of the time ppl don’t know how to test drive or what to look for in a test drive. But do your homework and then test. Ull get a better idea then. Hope this helps you in making an informed decision. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 30 2014, 01:25 PM |
Jan 30 2014, 06:38 PM
1,645 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 30 2014, 01:23 PM) Ive been a K5 owner for the past 21 months. Before this was a loyal Toyota supporter for 9 years. So let me give you a brief run down: Hey cybermaster98,1) After sales service - still poor especially Red Cube PJ. But the Chinese operated SC's offer much much better after sales service and technical know how 2) Maintenance cost - spare parts are slightly more expensive compared to Japanese makes. 3) Build quality - so far quite good. No squeeks or rattles except a minor rattling round at the steering shaft when going over bumps. 4) Durability - unsure as its a new model. But because build quality is good, i expect durability to be much better than previous Kia models 5) Power - despite the higher hp & torque, its still slightly underpowered because of the body weight. A 2.4L engine or a 2.0L turbo would be far better. But using Total engine oil instead of the rubbish Syntium gives you a small power boost. 6) Driving - power delivery and the auto transmission isnt as smooth as Japanese makes. So some of the extra hp & torque gets 'lost' before it reaches the wheels. 7) Design - top class in my opinion. The car is a looker and gives a rather sleek / commanding impression on the road. 8) Resale value - all D segments cars dont enjoy good resale value compared to B or C segments. But of the lot, the K5 will probably be slightly worse because its Korean. But dont forget that ure also paying less in the beginning. 9) Value for money - an important criteria and at <150K, the K5 is great value. The specs on offer is top class for this price range. Even the Mazda 6 (the K5's closest competitor in terms of specs) doesnt offer as much for the base 2.0L model. 10) Safety - the MOST important criteria. The K5 excels in safety standards. Very good safety specs. The 2013 Optima K5 obtained higher frontal crash ratings by the NHTSA than even the mighty 2014 BMW 528i although both got the overall 5 star rating. In the IIHS test results (as of 2013), the 2013 Optima K5 is among only 25 vehicles worldwide who have received the Top Safety Pick (+) rating which even the Audi A6, BMW 5 Series and Mercedes E Class failed to get. The other Korean car which was rated Top Safety Pic (+) was the 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The key word with any car purchase should be VALUE FOR MONEY meaning what ure getting for what ure paying for. Generally there are 13 criteria which are important when choosing a car: 1) Price 2) Safety 3) Specifications 4) Design 5) Interior space 6) Build quality / durability 7) Ride, handling, power 8) After sales service 9) Overall maintenance cost (not just periodic maintenance) 10) Warranty terms 11) Comfort 12) Resale value 13) Future models / facelifts There is no car in the market which has all 13 criteria’s. So the idea is always to list your choices against these criteria and then compare against how much ure paying for it. You also need to take into account your specific needs. For instance, if ure not a driver who drives fast, long distance or spends a lot of time in the car then don’t bother getting a car which is powerful and excels in ride & handling. It will be a waste. Also give importance to long term needs not just the present. Look at least 5 years ahead and see where ull be. Cars are a 100% loss from Day 1 so the idea is always to minimize losses by choosing the car which satisfies most of the criteria above and yet keeps the price affordable. In saying this, I don't mean that resale value should become the primary criteria hence why its No 12 on that list. Use these 13 criteria’s when listing down your choices. Never ever choose a car based on 3 or 4 criteria’s. U'll just increase the risks of making the wrong choice. Test drives actually don’t help much because most of the time ppl don’t know how to test drive or what to look for in a test drive. But do your homework and then test. Ull get a better idea then. Hope this helps you in making an informed decision. thanks for your humble reply. I do really appreciate your feedback, opinion and advise as a toyota user and kia user. As stated, i was comparing between an altis and k5 because their price is quite similar. And yes, with an additional of 14k, i get a d segment car, with additional safety features and im very impress with the korean car after i went to the kia showroom today. Im the type spending 1½ hours in the car to and from work as im staying 50km away from my work place. Will really consider it. The and happy chinese new year everyone |
Jan 31 2014, 01:22 AM
4 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Feb 5 2014, 05:50 PM
2 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Do you guys change back the original KIA brake pads or use other brand? Any recommendation? And where to change?
Feb 5 2014, 05:54 PM
21 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Kelvin Sidhu @ Jan 28 2014, 10:27 AM) hi, im new here.. finally completed all the neccesary arrangemt for the new K5 now just waiting for it to arrive at my doorstep hopefully by end of this week.. is there any advise i should consider in maintaning the K5 since im a first time kia user? Just make sure your tyre pressure is 35, when I got my FL tyre pressure is 55! Just remember this, else your tyre will explode.i was a little dissapointed cause couldnt get the white color cause it was out of stock even though i booked it just 2 days after its launching and end up i took the satin metal.. |
Feb 5 2014, 06:04 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
21 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Kelvin Sidhu @ Jan 28 2014, 10:27 AM) hi, im new here.. finally completed all the neccesary arrangemt for the new K5 now just waiting for it to arrive at my doorstep hopefully by end of this week.. is there any advise i should consider in maintaning the K5 since im a first time kia user? Just make sure your tyre pressure is 35, when I got my FL tyre pressure is 55! Just remember this, else your tyre will explode.i was a little dissapointed cause couldnt get the white color cause it was out of stock even though i booked it just 2 days after its launching and end up i took the satin metal.. |
Feb 9 2014, 03:21 PM
93 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
To KIA reps and myK5 club mebers, maybe can organize an event where KIA sales person and k5 owners come together to promote.. i think users will be more confident seeing the many happy customers..
Just my 2cents..will definately go to this event if it happened! |
Feb 9 2014, 09:20 PM
355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seremban |
QUOTE(hwc @ Feb 5 2014, 05:50 PM) Do you guys change back the original KIA brake pads or use other brand? Any recommendation? And where to change? You can choose "Hi-Q" brand, also made in Korea and the price is much cheaper compare to original brake pad.Cheers! This post has been edited by hengng: Feb 9 2014, 09:21 PM |
Feb 10 2014, 04:57 PM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(hwc @ Feb 5 2014, 05:50 PM) Do you guys change back the original KIA brake pads or use other brand? Any recommendation? And where to change? Hopefully this information may help you https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2388505/all |
Feb 11 2014, 07:54 PM
4 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Hi, there were many different comments on steering performance. One person might find the steering is good & light but another person might find it just the opposite. It is not only the vehicle itself that determine the results but other factors may also have significant effect on the feel and comfort.
One of the most important factor is the correct sitting & hand driving position. This is always the first topic that is taught in any advance driving course before anything else. Here is a video which I like to share: Hopefully these tips will be helpful to enhance everyone driving pleasure & skills. |
Feb 14 2014, 07:00 PM
85 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
i am looking for 2012 model K5 any recommended used car dealer or website i can refer to?
Feb 15 2014, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(ethaniel @ Feb 14 2014, 07:00 PM) http://www.carlist.my/http://www.mudah.my/ http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/ http://www.oto.my/?display=list |
Feb 15 2014, 11:18 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Saya membeli k5 bulan 5 2012, selepas menukar minyak gear, gear box mengalami masalah menyebabkan penukaran gear jadi kasar... Sekarang check light menyala... Apa masalah sebenarnya.. Sampai skrg pusat servis tak dapat selesaikan masalah
Feb 16 2014, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(Norazamazli @ Feb 15 2014, 11:18 PM) Saya membeli k5 bulan 5 2012, selepas menukar minyak gear, gear box mengalami masalah menyebabkan penukaran gear jadi kasar... Sekarang check light menyala... Apa masalah sebenarnya.. Sampai skrg pusat servis tak dapat selesaikan masalah I would advice you to go to others SC. IF SCs still can't solve it, just report it to Nazakia.Cheers! This post has been edited by hengng: Feb 16 2014, 10:12 AM |
Feb 16 2014, 08:40 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hi..can somebody approve my request to join the Kia K5 Owner Club group in facebook? Hehe..my account Nur Hafiz Norzan
| Change to: | 0.0347sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:42 AM |