Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

TSbUGG
post Aug 18 2012, 01:20 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(sidhu13 @ Aug 18 2012, 01:03 AM)
I communicating directly with the dealer. And it's oem Kia parts. I think it's a good deal..
I think you can easily get 10 buyer... Please post your group buy request at www.myk5club.com also.

sidhu13, below the example for group buy. U can start your own smile.gif

LED Tail Light (inner light - 1 pair) USD280
01) sidhu13
02)
03)
04)
05)
06)
07)
08)
09)
10)

TSbUGG
post Aug 18 2012, 03:41 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 18 2012, 03:19 PM)
Can get it installed too?
My one installed at shorty5 RM30 only... I dunno how to make the foglight function work, so I send to him.
TSbUGG
post Aug 18 2012, 10:19 PM

127 posts

Full Stirp LED Tail Light. 2 way light (Tail light + Stop light) maintain Fog Light function.

This post has been edited by bUGG: Aug 18 2012, 10:20 PM
TSbUGG
post Aug 20 2012, 11:46 PM

127 posts

Head Unit for Malaysia KIA Optima K5

TSbUGG
post Aug 22 2012, 11:54 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Aug 22 2012, 10:45 AM)
I'm not a fan of korean cars but this K5 is giving me the chills. It look awesome and frankly am thinking of getting it. Me driving a Honday City at the moment. It will be a big shift for me from a JP car to a KR car. Would like to enquire:

1) Dependable meaning at least no problem to start up and run?
2) Any nagging issues for first 6 mths?
3) Fuel consumption is not entirely and issue but would like to ask as well..
4) Cost of servicing at what value for normal service?

BTW...how to enter the red cube KIA showroom at Federal Highway. Coming from KL direction.
I believe that will be the showroom and service center as well.
1) so far I have not heard anyone saying car cannot start or break down half-way driving.
2) mine only 2 months, so far so good.
3) not too bad... a normal 2.0 car consumption. Fuel saving. 15sen if 100% highway. 20sen 50%highway 50% city.
4) Please check my first posting of this topic. I got put a chart with the cost estimation to service our car.

I dunno how to go KIA redcube from KL direction. But if u r coming from subang direction along federal highway, at Mercedes Benz showroom turn left and immediate turn right, then u will be driving beside federal highway, go until the end is KIA red cube. If you have Garmin /Papago GPS, key in Volkswagen Petaling Jaya.
TSbUGG
post Aug 23 2012, 12:30 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(braddelson @ Aug 22 2012, 09:03 PM)
Hi Optima K5 sifus!

Im sure all of you are enjoying your rides, i hope to get one in a year or two.

As you all are the experts, i was hoping someone knows where i can fit the optima rear view mirror + camera on my car.

Thanks a lot!
I have seen this rear view mirror + camera at Solar Tint shop Ampang branch. The item is not exactly the same as Optima K5. Function almost the same with wider bigger screen (i think) but no dimmer. It has to be clip on to the existing rear mirror.Maybe u can ask some accessories shop near your location.
TSbUGG
post Aug 23 2012, 09:31 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(vnair @ Aug 23 2012, 02:34 PM)
Is RM3k sufficient for windscreen insurance cover? And does it cover the sun/moon roof as well?  smile.gif
If I am not mistaken, someone did replace his K5 crack fornt windscreen for RM2000. Windscreen insurance will cover the 4 side windows, rear window, front windscreen and also sunroof. But the problem is, the sunroof cost arround 10k doh.gif so you have to actually fork out from your own pocket to settle the balance..

Let say you have 3k windscreen cover, one side of the window is broken and it cost RM300 to replace, meaning, that year, your windscreen insurance cover balance is RM2700. And if the RM2700 also used up, meaning, you do not have windscreen cover for the balance of the year. smile.gif good thing is, you can top up, but have to pay full year premium eventough your car insurance is due in a month time. wink.gif
TSbUGG
post Aug 23 2012, 11:09 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Aug 23 2012, 10:55 PM)
Comrades, I will fight till the end to get my problems fixed. Now I'm in the midst of filming those problems down and compile them as my supporting evidence to Naza Kia or Hyundai/Kia Korea if necessary. Actually i've been having these problems for a while and Naza has been responding to my complaints but when it comes to fixing it, they tend to brush off the problems or convince me to accept them as is. Well, i've driven so many cars in my life, from the cheapest to the luxurious and I kind of understand what sort of basic qualities we should look for in a D-seg vehicle. But it seems other K5 are okay, maybe I'm having pure bad luck and got a lemon car (bloody hell, i'm such a good customer, booking the car 6mths before launch without even smelling it). I remember another member here also experienced similar problems.

However, Naza has been courteous enough to provide me assistance in terms of loan car and follow up calls, and attended to my complaints numerous times.

I have 8 problems in total including:
1) Sunroof noise - mitigated but not rectified by SC
2) Noisy vibrating speaker grill on the dashboard - SC ignored / forgotten
3) Really loud seat knocking noise - Rectified, tighten up something underneath
4) Lousy rear view mirror that makes noise - SC said common, didn't plan to fix
5) Creaking rear suspensions - SC said changed the absorbers, still creaking now
6) Free play in lumbar support - SC said common, but willing to replace the entire driver seat that costs RM4k if i'm still not happy after Raya
7) Loud and lousy windscreen wipers that didn't work in rain - SC totally ignored, hell, i think i'll get myself a pair of silicon wipers
8) Slight noise in driver side b-pillar (only when driving on really rough roads) This one i plan to ignore if they can't detect it.

Phew... So comrades, what should i do now? Write a love letter to Naza Service / Sales GM? Continue to deal with Naza Customer Care? Try another SC? Any good SC to intro? Red Cube ok or not?

In the end I still love my K5, don't get me wrong, though frustrating when all these problems occur.  sad.gif

Most importantly, NAZA, IF YOU ARE READING THIS! PM ME FOR SOLUTIONS!  tongue.gif

Added on August 23, 2012, 11:06 pm

PM me when you plan to go for 10k service, i'll PM you who takes charge of my case in NAZA Care, Selayang SC and my car plate number for their reference. I'll contact them at the same time pertaining the same problem.
Curious, how old is your K5?
TSbUGG
post Aug 27 2012, 09:48 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(daretodrift @ Aug 27 2012, 09:17 AM)
u mean 2 pieces cost RM1700??
What he means is RM850 for individual purchase. RM800 for group buy if can group 10 person to buy at the same time.
TSbUGG
post Aug 27 2012, 09:52 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(zihao1214 @ Aug 27 2012, 09:34 AM)
Wait, originally the inner lamp does not light up like this? then what it does?
The stock/originally inner lamp no lights and no brake lights. If we switch on rear fog ligh function, only part of the inner lamp light up.
TSbUGG
post Aug 31 2012, 12:58 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(XNANX @ Aug 31 2012, 10:48 AM)

Been following the post for quite a while and this is my first post!

I am a convert! Booked Elantra since April with no news when it will be delivered.  Can't afford to wait anymore.  Test drive k5, made a booking,  and now enjoying the new ride. :-) All happened in a week.

Will look for advice and tips from the gurus here. Cheers!
WOW!!! rclxms.gif Welcome to the club. Join us at http://www.myk5club.com.
TSbUGG
post Sep 4 2012, 09:28 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 3 2012, 05:38 PM)
Has anybody tested the actual maximum range for 100% highway driving at 110kmph?
Someone in Facebook almost drove 100% at 110kmph. His trip meter clock 801km before he fill up his petrol.
TSbUGG
post Sep 4 2012, 06:31 PM

127 posts

Guideline for insurance agent/car reseller for pricing information. 2012 K5 - $129,600. 2011 K5 - $122,800. If you intend to sell your K5, this is the guideline how much your car worth.

TSbUGG
post Sep 7 2012, 01:55 AM

127 posts

Auto Fold Side Mirror

Video film by me blush.gif
TSbUGG
post Sep 15 2012, 12:28 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(komandermaut @ Sep 15 2012, 12:08 AM)
k5 bros!

new proud owner reporting in! smile.gif pls add me in the list... pearl white
placed my order last weekend, loan approved on monday, bla bla bla... and finally able to have it released today.
in my case, i retained my old plate number and it was a superb last minute deal at jpj shah alam today. my registration only completed at 5pm++

my package was quite ok i think... 3M tint and coating, sunroof coating, silver plate, full tank and touch 'n go. did not manage to get a free smart tag though
Welcome to the club... remember to join www.myk5club.com smile.gif

Added on September 15, 2012, 12:31 amOne of the Malaysia K5 owner have change the entire sound system. Checkout the speakers at the A pillar and the amount of AMPs... drool.gif

This post has been edited by bUGG: Sep 15 2012, 12:45 AM

TSbUGG
post Sep 20 2012, 08:55 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(komandermaut @ Sep 20 2012, 02:34 AM)
OMG! how come the thread for my newly beloved car is found in the 4th page??

btw... need to know from you guys if it is normal to hear 'tak tak tak' noise coming from the roof of left rear passenger seat? i have yet to pin point to the noise location but im quite positive that it may be coming from the sunroof. its rather annoying coz its so obvious and its the only thing bugging me now, after collecting my car last fri.
most of us are at myk5club.com smile.gif can u duplicate the sound? If can, then send straight to SC to ractify it...
TSbUGG
post Sep 20 2012, 09:26 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(komandermaut @ Sep 20 2012, 09:17 AM)
yes, i can see the FB page is much more happening and poisonous!
what do u mean by duplicating the sound? im actually waiting for my first service and i will kaw kaw insist them to rectify it. so irritating to buy a car only ends up with persistent 'tak tak tak' sound being your soundtrack  rclxub.gif
can u reproduce the sound whenever you want... than is easier for the SC to rectify... if just once a while the sound come out... sad to say... SC will not spend time attending your car to find the sound which they dunno where to start from. You can try to "Insist".

Unless the SC before this manage to solve the same problem on some other K5 owner... then they can pin point straight away... Share with us when you manage to solve it. smile.gif
TSbUGG
post Sep 21 2012, 12:24 AM

127 posts

hmm... did u put your sunglass inside the sunglass compartment... try take it out?
TSbUGG
post Sep 23 2012, 11:26 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(zmcqdv @ Sep 22 2012, 11:34 AM)
Has anyone tried f1 eagle tyres 18". If so how much a piece? How's the road noise and handling? What about ultra racing bars, any comment?
I am using Good Year Eagle F1 Assymetric 2. Superb tyre... it really grips on the road. Taking fast corner and driving at rain with confident. If you looking to reduce noise... I am sorry, this is not the tyre u are looking for.

No ultra racing bar yet for K5... maybe by end of this year... hopefully.
TSbUGG
post Sep 24 2012, 10:53 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(zmcqdv @ Sep 24 2012, 08:47 AM)
But would it more quieter than Nexen?
What tyre would be almost as good as F1 but quieter then?

Just asked a workshop on this Ultra Racing bars, which needs 2 day pre-order for 6 bars - which are fixed to the bottom of the car only. Front & Rear Strut (Tower or Sway) bars is not available - bacause it's not easy to do. Dunno  when Ultra Racing wants it to be made.
Nope... is the same... or maybe even a little noisier... I only drove the nexen tyres for a day... smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0540sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:35 AM