10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V3, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

TSkenji1903
post Aug 13 2012, 03:28 PM, updated 12y ago

3,785 posts

Welcome to V3 (finally!)...

copy and paste from V2 tongue.gif

Hi Folks!
Feeling weird that there is no Toyota vios owner's thread here, and soon I getting one, i decided to start a new thread for all vios owners and those potential buyers seeking information on the Toyota Vios, both previous gen and the current gen! This also acts as a info sharing hub for all Vios owners.

This is open to all owners!
1. 1st gen (2003-2007)
2. 2nd gen (2007-2013)
3. 3rd gen (2013-current)

Continue from V1...
Continue from V2...
NCP42

NCP93

NCP150

Technical Specs

Engine Code = 1NZ-FE

Price List from Toyota Website
*On-the-road price with insurance. Prices have been updated to reflect government service tax increase for 2012.

Attached File  Vios_07_maintenance_schedule_Jul_2012.pdf ( 38.87k ) Number of downloads: 1401

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jan 4 2014, 01:36 PM
TSkenji1903
post Aug 14 2012, 10:38 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 14 2012, 10:12 AM)
welcome V3....

kenji1903 is 1 of LYT sifu...
siu dai kecik miao only, you're the sifu smile.gif

how are things going bro? smile.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 14 2012, 10:49 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(biz87 @ Aug 14 2012, 10:45 AM)
hello otai2 vios sume...aku pakai vios thn 2010, vios dugong....type e...kete da nk msuk 40k servis...

semlm call SC nk wat servis, dia kate kos rm420...tu xtermsuk alignment n blncing...kalo nk wat tmbh 60...so total lbh kurg rm500 gk la...

mmg pening aku...katenya major servis, nk kna tkr gasket, spark plug, brek fluid, filter, engine oil....so bile tgk pd kos yg terlampau tnggi, ingt nk wt kt bengkel luar je..

nk tnye korg la, kete aku pakai minyk itam 10w30, semi...ade org kate kalo pkai semi kna tkr stiap 5k km...tp toyota bgtau pkai fully/semi, minyk itam tkr every 10k...

pastu kalo aku nk wat kt bgkel luar, minyk itam jns ape plg elok ek??mtk tlg ye kwn2...raya da dkt, nk servis kete ni..urgent..
my 30k km already RM500+ cos include aircond service...

also i find SC rotation, alignment and balancing not that good leh... my rear driver side tyre like makan luar a bit... maybe bring for realignment outside this weekend...
TSkenji1903
post Aug 15 2012, 03:15 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 14 2012, 12:26 PM)
haha im sifu... sure ...i dont think so... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

last week when to genting.... push abit.... looking at the water temp info from scangauge average reading during hill climb 90c~96c with aircond temp to the coldest (to make the fan run at the max speed) till our themostat open at 96c.
open??? waiter near boiling point already... what happened after that?
TSkenji1903
post Aug 16 2012, 10:24 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 15 2012, 11:01 PM)
what ratings to u guys give? LOL
usually good ratings... but one time i gave bad comments cos the junior mechanic gave false info that my rear suspension leaking... booked spare part and took leave... mana tahu when i go there a week after, the senior mechanic say no prob, some more so ngam that junior on MC... dafaq doh.gif

Added on August 16, 2012, 10:26 am
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 16 2012, 10:04 AM)
yes the Themostat open to release cold water in to the engine to cool the hot engine and the hot water will go to radiator cool down.

Themostat
oh... you testing the thermostat only is it? smile.gif

so go genting how? enough power? how much you modded? brows.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Aug 16 2012, 10:26 AM
TSkenji1903
post Aug 16 2012, 11:15 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 16 2012, 11:12 AM)
Not really testing just want to know if continue hill climb what is our car temperature can reach.... it was fun dint push much... at a stage before reaching Gohtong after some few hill climb during downhill the temp drop to 83c then maintain back to 85c~87c.... till the next hill climb....

power ok lah .... can easily overtake city....haha manual  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

cheap cheap only and dont need to mod just plug and play... so far it able to read from our ECU below list

Kilometers Per Liter
Kilometers Per Hour
Revolutions Per Minute (RPM)
Throttle Position Sensor
Water Temperature
Average Fuel Economy
Trip Fuel Cost (dint setup this function but it can be use)
Battery Voltage
Intake Air Temperature
Liters Per Hour
Ignition Timing
Engine Loading
Horsepower

and few more custom function.
how much you bought, from where and which model? smile.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 16 2012, 11:49 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 16 2012, 11:18 AM)
im selling it ScangaugeII, you can use in almost any car with ODBII connector but some car cant be use.
why want to sell?
TSkenji1903
post Aug 16 2012, 02:07 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 16 2012, 01:28 PM)
i mean i got sell ScangaugeII new unit.
oh... how much? brows.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 17 2012, 07:36 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(iLegend @ Aug 17 2012, 07:27 PM)
I used 4 bar from Damansara to Sungai Petani (Kedah)  laugh.gif  All the way 110km/h
Selamat Hari Raya  rclxms.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

selamat hari raya rclxms.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 17 2012, 10:18 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(mysql2779 @ Aug 17 2012, 08:53 PM)
Hey guys, I owned a vios TRD for 3 years. I guess is time to change my tires even I seldom drive it. Remain low mileage but I suspect the rubber are harden already after 3 years.

Any recommendation of tires ?

My requirement is more comfort and lesser road noise. No need performance , I don't do sharp corning. As long as comfort and less noise is good. Price wasn't really a problem. Safety comes 1st.
maybe you can try XM2... its a comfort tyre... long lasting...

i am choosing between XM2 and PS3 but will be going for PS3 later because i drive fast and whack a lot of corners doh.gif

other comfort i think will be Continental CC5, but i heard not that durable... maybe you can check out the tyre thread for more advices, more experts there smile.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 21 2012, 09:28 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Thunder_Bolt @ Aug 20 2012, 11:14 PM)
Any idea what is the dimensions for XM2 and PS3? for 15inch or 16inch?

Added on August 20, 2012, 11:15 pmhi guys, anyone here have changed their tyre and rim size before from 15 inch to 16 inch?

Mind to share how is it? is it recommended? Alot of tyre choices? thanks.
XM2 and PS3 comes in 195/55/R15
PS3 got 185/55R15 also

16" not many choices unless you go wider than 195... i was planning an upgrade but there's only a handful of 195/50R16 (conti CPC2 (fiesta), C.drive 2)
i think more choices if you take 205/45R16... but the prices are near the 17" region... check out the tyre thread, lots of info there smile.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 22 2012, 09:36 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Aug 22 2012, 09:26 AM)
Hi Guys,

I will be doing my 5000km service this Friday.

I am now trying very hard to find the things to be fix for my Vios.
here is the list i have made:-
1. Engine belt noise when cold start or after long hours driving.
2. Both front Door cable rattle when loud speaker or close door.
3. Front window visor not sticking.
4. Rust at wheel hub & disc brake.
5. side mirror does not contract/retract at same speed.
6. readjust hand brake to tighter.
7. in car power port is loose. move around alot when trying to access it.

Can anyone suggest more things that i can fix? please advice, i will check on my car with all the suggested.

Thanks all in advance.

Cheers.
the rust at the disc brakes are pretty normal after you wash your car, after driving a while it will be gone, want to ask SC to check also can, let me know what they say k? smile.gif

the side mirrors one faster than the other, they tested for me, other Vios also the same... don't know why... let see what they say for yours as well smile.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 23 2012, 04:23 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(twilight_fever @ Aug 23 2012, 04:20 PM)
hey,just an inquiry...
currently i am driving vios E...the tayar is 14"...if i want to change to 15"..what do u need to change?and how much does it cost?
change rims... rims and tyres depends on your budget... mass market taiwan light weight rims should be around 700-900 per set of 4... PS3 195/55R15 RM280/donut... basically RM2k kua?
TSkenji1903
post Aug 23 2012, 05:26 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(twilight_fever @ Aug 23 2012, 04:26 PM)
budget rm2k nuff to get a good set?
fffuu...need to start to save for that...
got cheap also... but tyres better get good ones, it will save lives smile.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 24 2012, 09:53 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(iLegend @ Aug 23 2012, 09:16 PM)
I plan to change to XM2 end of this year ~ 3 years old Potenza RE080 getting noisier and tyre tread wearing off d~
saving money now cause still studying  laugh.gif
i respect thumbup.gif
1. RE080 can last 3 years
2. student can drive G spec

Added on August 24, 2012, 9:55 am
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 23 2012, 09:41 PM)
hi guys the ori nct5 usually can last for how many km?
can last around 40km on my City 185/55R15... super botak...

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Aug 24 2012, 09:55 AM
TSkenji1903
post Aug 24 2012, 10:30 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(kuman @ Aug 24 2012, 10:14 AM)
i'm planning to change to 195 55 R15 tyres next time... wondering if the current stock aloi sport rims( J July 2012 version) can cater to the new tire size? since now it uses 185... i know next to nothing regarding the rims... or i need to change the rims as well in order to use a bigger tires? (which i hesitant to do at the moment)
stock 15" rims (T/H) usually 5.5jj... max can support up to 195 width smile.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 29 2012, 01:17 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(biz87 @ Aug 29 2012, 01:00 PM)
blk kg aritu, fulltank dpt la +-630km...bwk bse2 je....80-120km/j je....

msa servis 40k aritu ade tnye ngn org kt SC tu...diorg kata minyak toyota mineral/semi/fully sumenya tahan 10k...MINYAK TOYOTA SAHAJA...tu kata dia la...tp aku cm xbp nk pcaya je...aku duk pkai fully ni, start 7k da berat gler rsa....
yeah... agreed that the toyota fully synthetic oil is seriously crap... FC starts to increase after 7k km doh.gif
pickup decrease doh.gif
TSkenji1903
post Aug 29 2012, 02:06 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 29 2012, 01:38 PM)
time to change to other brand... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
nah... don't go brainwash/poison me again ar laugh.gif

but still under warranty leh.. sayang if change to other brand and touch wood suei suei something happens doh.gif

you're using Amsoil right?
TSkenji1903
post Aug 29 2012, 02:14 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(kuman @ Aug 29 2012, 01:32 PM)
yup.. pelik my SA also claimed like that... Mineral can go to 10K.. but aku atak percaya.. so will stick to my every 5K change oil routine on which ever oil i use (mineral/semi-sync)
FC increase and pickup decrease is not good at all....!!!
what about their semi-sync.. still acceptable but still not until 10K right?
they told me at the first 2 services... subsequent services after 10k, they straight recommend semi/full synthetic... i asked them about them claiming 10k for mineral, they say don't have doh.gif

i'll stick to the normal service period:
semi - 7k km
full - 9k km

i'm on full, i service at 9k km cos 7k km already the car sweat.gif

Added on August 29, 2012, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 29 2012, 02:11 PM)
Yes Amsoil ....hehe

why worried so much? now days car is not so easy break down...for engine And gearbox oil never never use engine flush it... the more you clean it the more problem will happen later....
targeting that Amsoil gold 0-w30 fully synthetic brows.gif
see how first tongue.gif

can explain more on the flushing thing?

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Aug 29 2012, 02:15 PM
TSkenji1903
post Aug 29 2012, 05:56 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Aug 29 2012, 04:32 PM)
Depend on how you drive... if low mileage or less use your car semi is good enough....last time semi i change every 3~4k and fully every 5~6k.... on toyota oil...

For flushing things.... dont ever do it on any engine or GB.... this will clean oil, dirt, micro size metal that been in our engine from the 1st day the engine start to life... if it able to clean fully but if not it will be cause other part to be damage.

Amsoil dont have gold it call Signature range 0w30 best of day to day use...
wah... if i service that often sure pokai... cos i service every 3-4 months at 9k km sweat.gif

but how often you need to flush? 100k km?

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0593sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:52 AM