If i need to renovate a shop in Shah Alam, do i need to get permit from MBSA?
Renovation permit (MBSA), Need advise...
Jan 2 2016, 11:08 PM
367 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
If i need to renovate a shop in Shah Alam, do i need to get permit from MBSA?
Mar 9 2017, 09:45 PM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Seems a bit late to ask after more than 1 year. But, just wondering if you did indeed get a permit from MBSA to renovate the shop?
Oct 25 2018, 12:02 AM
1,534 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Edit-Sorry..I should read all the post first
This post has been edited by sunami: Oct 25 2018, 12:06 AM |
May 7 2021, 09:45 PM
153 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(ckwhy @ Jan 2 2016, 11:08 PM) Old post, but tempted to reply anyway. Here goes...If shop renovation involves new partition, hacking of party wall and/or new awning, then yes permit is required. If you do f&b, the new kitchen sink shall be connected to the grease trap too. 2 choices: 1) Owner do application - using booklet purchased from MBSA but they only grant temporary permit, which is annually renewable and up to 5 years only. Particularly useful if tenant occupies the shop. 2) Architect do application for permanent approval. Hope this helps whoever comes across the thread in future. |
Sep 6 2021, 07:30 PM
273 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
I am planning to do front and back reno.
What is the procedure to get MBSA permit for terrace-end-lot (not intermediate) ? I called MBSA, and they say the guidebook is for intermediate terrace house. For non-intermediate, need to call someone else .... throw me around and make multiple calls without answer. |
Sep 6 2021, 08:28 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
153 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(jex-koi @ Sep 6 2021, 07:30 PM) I am planning to do front and back reno. If guidebook or standard plan not applicable to your case, then need an architect or draughtsman to prepare, submit the plan and obtain the permit. If extension involve 1 storey flat roof or 2 storey, then need structural engineer too. Once renovation is completed satisfactorily, your architect will arrange authority inspection and follow up till CCC is issued.What is the procedure to get MBSA permit for terrace-end-lot (not intermediate) ? I called MBSA, and they say the guidebook is for intermediate terrace house. For non-intermediate, need to call someone else .... throw me around and make multiple calls without answer. |
Sep 6 2021, 08:32 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
77 posts Joined: Nov 2018 |
QUOTE(jex-koi @ Sep 6 2021, 07:30 PM) I am planning to do front and back reno. PM me. You can actually apply through Buku Setara MBSA even your house is end-lot, I teach you how and share with you some documents. We can chit chat there, just to share to you some knowledge I'm aware of and had went through numerous times.What is the procedure to get MBSA permit for terrace-end-lot (not intermediate) ? I called MBSA, and they say the guidebook is for intermediate terrace house. For non-intermediate, need to call someone else .... throw me around and make multiple calls without answer. |
Sep 12 2021, 08:23 PM
116 posts Joined: Sep 2021 |
QUOTE(jex-koi @ Sep 6 2021, 07:30 PM) I am planning to do front and back reno. i had the same headache. doing extension work on the extra land (side). so i had to hire an architect firm to do drawing, submission, including CCC. my extension is only single floor, but since im planning to do slab roof, i still need endorsement from engineer. if you hire the right firm they will do everything for you one shot - less headache. mine came about rm5.5kWhat is the procedure to get MBSA permit for terrace-end-lot (not intermediate) ? I called MBSA, and they say the guidebook is for intermediate terrace house. For non-intermediate, need to call someone else .... throw me around and make multiple calls without answer. |
Sep 13 2021, 09:56 PM
919 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Sep 12 2021, 08:23 PM) i had the same headache. doing extension work on the extra land (side). so i had to hire an architect firm to do drawing, submission, including CCC. my extension is only single floor, but since im planning to do slab roof, i still need endorsement from engineer. if you hire the right firm they will do everything for you one shot - less headache. mine came about rm5.5k May I know is your property a corner lot/end lot? what are the house extension done? is the architect 5.5K charger just for drawing a renovation plan + RC plan, plan submission and CCC? |
Sep 14 2021, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(utellme @ Sep 13 2021, 09:56 PM) May I know is your property a corner lot/end lot? what are the house extension done? is the architect 5.5K charger just for drawing a renovation plan + RC plan, plan submission and CCC? end lot unit with side extension. charges for architect drawing + submission + CCC... |
Sep 14 2021, 03:13 PM
919 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Sep 14 2021, 10:16 AM) Thanks for feedback. Mind to share your architect or registered draughtman contact by PM.My property is DSL corner lot and I've about 22' X 70' extra land on the side. Initially my plan to extend the existing wet kitchen to the back yard (5' X 17' ) and also to build new dinning room (with area size 10' X 20') on the side. Some forumer Sifu said MBSA don't approve side wall extension for corner lot due to distance from new build wall to sempadan setback distance to meet 20' requirement. Based on this restriction, I can't get the site extension approval from MBSA, most likely I can only do the back extension and leave side extension out from my renovation plan. This morning, I downloaded the 10th Jul 2021 updated MBSA garis panduan file from the MBSA web site. Inside the new GP content for DSL corner lot ubahsuai site extension and show the new anjakan kawasan for Site (Sisi Kiri /kanan) between new wall - pagar setback is 10 feet and not 20 feet. Now, I'm confuse whether side setback between new extension wall to sempadan is 10 feet or 20 feet. should I include the side extension in the my renovation plan. ![]() Attached File(s)
MBSA_GP_TP___UDDATED_10.7.21.pdf ( 4.54mb )
Number of downloads: 125 |
Sep 15 2021, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(utellme @ Sep 14 2021, 03:13 PM) Thanks for feedback. Mind to share your architect or registered draughtman contact by PM. ya, i faced the same issue with the 'setback'. mine is extended end lot (28ft extra land at the back). wanted to have 5' setback from neighbour's wall. but apparently end lot must give at least 10' clearance from the pagar. My property is DSL corner lot and I've about 22' X 70' extra land on the side. Initially my plan to extend the existing wet kitchen to the back yard (5' X 17' ) and also to build new dinning room (with area size 10' X 20') on the side. Some forumer Sifu said MBSA don't approve side wall extension for corner lot due to distance from new build wall to sempadan setback distance to meet 20' requirement. Based on this restriction, I can't get the site extension approval from MBSA, most likely I can only do the back extension and leave side extension out from my renovation plan. This morning, I downloaded the 10th Jul 2021 updated MBSA garis panduan file from the MBSA web site. Inside the new GP content for DSL corner lot ubahsuai site extension and show the new anjakan kawasan for Site (Sisi Kiri /kanan) between new wall - pagar setback is 10 feet and not 20 feet. Now, I'm confuse whether side setback between new extension wall to sempadan is 10 feet or 20 feet. should I include the side extension in the my renovation plan. ![]() and corner lot 10' and 20'. but for corner lot, it depends what is next to your house: if there's another house / main road / empty land. architect will advice you on that. i just feel like it is just waste of space, 5' set back is more thn enough. MPK doesn't have this issue. only with MBSA you must have this much of clearance. |
| Change to: | 0.0291sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:59 PM |