Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

jootat
post Aug 15 2012, 02:51 PM

1,994 posts

Guys, I need some advice from all the sifu here.

I bought my PM funds about 5 years ago and I am still making lost.
To get your advice, here are the fund that i invested.

PIADF, PFEDF, PCSF, PCIF

Here is the advice i got from my agent.

1. PIADF switch to PDSF
2. PFEDF leave it
3. All china fund (perform DDI)

I have to admit that I am a lazy person that I didn't want to monitor the share market and this is also the reason why i enter PM previously and invested my $ there. but after so many years, I am starting to lose confident in PM as I think putting the money in FD is even better. I know making lose is my own fault but now is not the time to blame PM or myself.

I hope someone can give me a good advice on what should I do. My objective is to break even in the shortest time so that i can take out all the money i invested previously and i want to do some other investment.

Hope to get some advice! TQVM icon_question.gif
jootat
post Aug 15 2012, 03:47 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 15 2012, 03:31 PM)
i) PIDF > PDSF

ii) Leave PIADF as it is.

iii) Switch the China Funds and PFEDF to Public Far East Properties and Resort Fund (PFEPRF) or into PIADF.

They are better performing fund without sacrificing your diversification much.

Xuzen
Hi Xuzen bro/sifu, thanks for ur advice.

Just to confirm the point i), is it you mean PIDF is better than PDSF?
jootat
post Aug 16 2012, 11:12 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 15 2012, 06:18 PM)
some pretty good advices there...  notworthy.gif

----------------
And for clarity to other readers since there are so many funds in PM...
PIADF - Public Islamic Asia Dividend Fund
PFEDF - Public Far East Dividend Fund
PCSF - Public China Select Fund
PCIF - Public China Ittikal Fund

and PDSF - Public Dividend Select Fund.

Not sure which funds are making lost for you, but I suspect (depending on time of purchase and whether DDI or not) PIADF is a slight gain, PFEDF losing 15-20%, and both the China funds losing 20-25%.

All the 3 Dividend funds are classified as "moderate" funds, while the 2 China funds are "aggressive". PDSF is mainly "local" in that most of the its equity investments is in Malaysia.
PIDF (Public Islamic Dividend Fund), i concur too... one of the few funds that I held that were making gains.
i think PIOF is better.  hmm.gif
Thanks !!

Below are the lost that I am making at current stage based on what i got from my agent.

PIADF (0.16%)
PFEDF (21.18%)
PCSF (47.83%)
PCIF (36.35%)

I will go with the advice given by bro xuzen. But i just got another question, if i were to DDI let say RM 500 per month and still stick to the advice given by bro xuzen, will it help to break even faster? Or i should just put in one lump sum of may be RM 5K after switching my China fund to PFEPRF?

Really appreciate you guy's advice. Thanks. icon_question.gif
jootat
post Aug 16 2012, 11:39 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 16 2012, 11:17 AM)
Yay, at last we have some numbers to play around:

i) I prefer option 2 because Profit/sale x 100 = Profit margin. Hence 10/11 x 100 = 90.90% profit margin versus you little puny tiny 90.00% margin. LOL at you.

Not very financial literate are we?

Young padawan, too one dimensional one is, more knowledge one acquire should.

Xuzen

Added on August 16, 2012, 11:23 am

Switch lump sum from China funds to cut loss first, thereafter DDI to the better fund to reduce volatility.

DDI does not reduces the payback period (aka Break-even), it only reduces the volatility (aka investment risk).

Look after the risk yourself and let the return take care of itself - quote from some investment guru I read somewhere, not sure who, could be W. Buffet.

Xuzen
notworthy.gif Thank You sir! I will do the necessary.... notworthy.gif
jootat
post Aug 16 2012, 03:30 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 16 2012, 02:42 PM)
for the current market situation, its very hard to break even in the short term in any funds. assuming u already planed to exit from UT after the break even....

my suggestion,
switch all the funds to bond funds now...... stop DDI..... wait for GE....... market may/will drop (but dont know how may/low will be).... switch back to local equity funds, those focus to local marlet 100% after the GE.

u may get break even faster. (but dont know how the faster).

take note... china market is abt to recover from bottom. and also expected local funds will be uptrend until GE, (assuming no external factor wil affect local market)

sharing only.
notworthy.gif Thanks for ur advice bro.

Actually u got it right bro. I am somehow planning to exit UT once i got the break even.

Based on ur advice, which Bond fund that you would recommend? I also heard my agent said the China fund is going to recover but they remain as aggressive fund. So i am not too sure as i really know nuts about UT sad.gif

Below is my reply to my agent after advice here and at the same time now waiting for her advice as well.

1. Leave my PIADF at it is now.
2. Switch all my China fund and PFEDF to PFEPRF
3. If have a budget of RM 500 per month for DDI, which fund would you recommend (PIADF or PFEPRF)

So based on ur advice, don't DDI anymore, then it's hard to shorten the time to recover for my case right?
jootat
post Aug 17 2012, 11:05 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 16 2012, 07:09 PM)
If ur intention is to continue with UT, my suggestion will be diff.

It’s not a good idea to top up anymore if u plan to exit? If u want to continue, u can do DDI.

Starting DDI, never shorten the time. may be lump sum top up will do if the price recovered to original price in short time.
Let say if u invested rm50k, If u bougth the unit at rm1. If the price 0.50 now. U need to invest another rm25k. assuming the fund is recovering, the price is need to back to rm1 to recover old lost. How abt ur additional rm25K? so, the price shud at least to go up to rm1.25 for the break even for RM75k. (ur total investment) this is by applying lump sump only.

Rm50k
Unit price =rm1
Total units = 50k

Rm25k
Unit price = rm0.50
Total units = 50k

Cost per unit = rm75k/100k
= rm1.25
Do you think by DDI, u can achieve it in short time to recover the lost?. I don’t think so for current market condition.

DDI is for buy less unit for higher price and more units for cheaper price. Every units u buy need to work for u to give profits. Its will take some time. The longer u hold/DDI, the higher the rewards. Of course, the fund shud perform well the time u exit with profits. Ur cost per units shud be cheaper than market price.

My suggestion is to avoid any more top up and recover from wat u hv now. Switch all to bond funds now. My suggestion to public sukuk fund. Switch back to local equity funds when the time is favorable for u.

U can ask other forumers abt forign funds, I’m a local funds lover.

Maybe ur agent can guides you better.

Wat is the investment in ur mind now?
Why u want to exit? Is it u lost ur money?

This is investment which comes with profits and lost. U shud study the fund(or any investment) first.

sharing only. no right no wrong.
Thanks bro for ur clear explanation. The reason why i decided to quit is because i started my investment 5 years ago and now i am still making lost. I have to admit that during these 5 years, i never put in my own efforts to learn the rules of investment in PMF and i just blindly put my money there by hoping that i will get some returns but after 5 years, i am still making lost and i just felt that it's time to make something right now. Even i put in FD is also better than that IMO but of course i knew my thinking is wrong.

And lastly, I think i should play the games where i know where my strength is. Share market and unit trust is not my strength but i might be more interested to learn on the share market where i got a closed friend that i can discuss face to face more easily.

I think at least now i know low risk fund would be more suitable for me. Learn from mistake i guess?

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 16 2012, 07:50 PM)
alamak my mistake doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  malu-nya saya.
rm75k/100k = rm0.75

the price shud back to rm0.75 for the breakeven.

Let say if u invested rm50k, If u bougth the unit at rm1. If the price 0.50 now. U need to invest another rm25k. assuming the fund is recovering, the market price is need to reach back to rm0.75 to recover  old lost.

RM50k
Unit price =rm1
Total units = 50k
cost per unit = rm1

RM25k
Unit price = rm0.50
Total units = 50k
cost per unit = rm0.50

average cost per unit = rm75k/100k
= rm0.75
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 16 2012, 08:18 PM)
so now the maths is clear, when to top up or DDI is different, right?  tongue.gif

my reply which i was about to post: "As to the last Q, I would prefer to register into the online service and do additional investments myself, and as the minimum additional investment is RM100, maybe take on both funds or either one depending on which fund's price goes lower."

Reason: Buy low, sell high.  rclxms.gif

---------------------
The longer version which I have typed and about to post:
I got hit almost as bad as you by PCSF and a large percentage of my total funds is also in china and far east funds. My PCSF lost ranges from 41-49%.  smile.gif  (got to put up a brave front and smile!) The plus point is that the calculated lost is included the service charge. But fortunately, some other funds were making gains, so they lessen the blow. Anyway, it is paper lost as the game is still on and not over yet until we quit.

No matter how we fine tune and balance the funds we're holding, it will take some time to recover; it takes 5 years to come to the present situation... so maybe 2.5 years at the earliest to breakeven?

So at least with a certain time frame in mind, we can try to plan and not act too rashly in switching and balancing the funds when things don't seem to be moving or improving; and also in making new investments, especially in lump sums, to chase profits. The market can change directions in an instant, no one can be too sure.

As to the last Q, I would prefer to register into the online service and do additional investments myself, and as the minimum additional investment is RM100, maybe take on both funds or either one depending on which fund's price goes lower.

Cheers. Happy Investing.
And Selamat Hari Raya to all our muslim friends.
I don mind to wait another 2.5 years to recover/breakeven but during that time, i will be even more sad because i have invested the money there for 7.5 years and i just got back what i have invested and not even gain anything. That's why i really need some advice to make good use of that money and i don mind to even top up some money to make the situation better.

Investment in share market and unit trust really need a lot of knowledge like u guys here bro. All the guru-guru here ... Sigh ...
jootat
post Sep 1 2012, 01:01 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Sep 1 2012, 11:37 AM)
Hello, so anyone still holding PCIF / PCSF like me? Loss around 40%. If i am not mistaken, the brochure i got for these funds states expected result for coming year is -x%, means the fund anticipated loss further?
Seriously all pro here, any reason for us to keep this fund?
Also just curious, if funds under perform like this, any impact to fund managers? Just wanna know if these ppl will strive harder to make adjustments.
Same situation here. Mine also loss more than 40% for PCIF & PCSF. But after consulting the tai gor and tai kah che here and also my PMF agent, i decided to pump in more money for these two funds and average out the cost and hope to break even or get some slightly gain after 2 years. After that i will either switch to other fund or withdraw out and do other investment. It's not advicable to cut lost now according to my agent.

jootat
post Sep 1 2012, 02:31 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 1 2012, 01:10 PM)
Sometimes this may backfire. Reason? Opportunity cost

Admiting defeat, sell all and buy into another performing fund or even a bond fund may in the end give u better returns than keeping a laggard fund.
yea ... but consult someone who is good in shares and he told me china going to perform in the next 2 years. So just follow his advice for another 2 years and see how it goes.
jootat
post Mar 19 2013, 11:44 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 13 2013, 01:16 PM)
2. The supposedly professional services made many burnt their money in PCSF blush.gif
QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 13 2013, 01:35 PM)
Poor poor poor Pub-Mut, one bad apple PCSF and it affect the whole company as a whole.

This serves a very important lesson to other fund houses:

I) Don't launch too many funds if you cannot get good fund managers.

II) Prepare to manage less funds that you can manage well. It is the quality, not quantity.

III) One fund kaput, the market will look at you as a weakling, jaguh kampong etc.

Xuzen
So for PCSF, what u (sifu) think about its potential? Can someone pls guide me where to dig more information to read up on this fund?
jootat
post Mar 19 2013, 02:13 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 19 2013, 12:00 PM)
zero potential; on CNBC this morning, someone (a invited CEO of fund house) commented that the growth in China do not necessary translate to gains in the stock market - his words "...put in $100,000 get back $80,0000".
Ic, so this PCSF fund is expected not moving anytime within these two years? Actually, i am having some difficult time doing analysis on my PMF and having difficult time making some decision whether to cut loss and invest in something else.
jootat
post Mar 19 2013, 04:46 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 19 2013, 04:19 PM)
Not sure what analysis you need to make a decision.

Bro, thx for the advice. Ya, now i do keep track on the performance of the fund very frequently and update it into my excel file to see how it performs. Just don't know the reason why the fund will go up or down (I mean the reason). I am holding two of the fund below in my profile since end of 2007. And did average cost last year on Feb 12. And i do know time is money and i also did tried to do reading and etc. But probably i am not really good at this. sad.gif

18/3/2013 PUBLIC CHINA ITTIKAL FUND PCIF 0.1733 -0.0026 -1.48%
18/3/2013 PUBLIC CHINA SELECT FUND PCSF 0.1580 -0.0024 -1.50%

0.0191sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:35 PM