Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

debbieyss
post Aug 13 2012, 10:24 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

I don't have time to call up Public Mutual during office hours.

Just a quick queston: I know that PM only allows us to do DDI on either 8th or 18th of the month.
1. Possible if I make manual purchase in a weekly basis? Eg. i go to the public mutual branch on Thursday, fill up the form (i don't know what form should it be) and then submit the form at the counter, then the next day public mutual will process my form and buy in units according to the amount I fill up in the form. Something like that?
2. Possible for me to do DDI on BOTH 8th AND 18th of the month?
debbieyss
post Aug 13 2012, 10:34 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 13 2012, 10:28 PM)
er.. Sis, U have Public Bank a/c? Can do online purchase leh - and do what U are thinking online instead of running around.
ELSE if U registered for Public Mutual Online, ALSO can do online.
The only prob is - this aint DDI and if that fund U are investing in "closes" for additional investments but not DDI, sorry - game over.

Hit that brick wall before with PSmallCap and PBond, via investing online through PBBank  doh.gif
I see! sad.gif

Thanks for swift reply!
debbieyss
post Aug 13 2012, 11:27 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 13 2012, 11:25 PM)
1.PM not allows to collect cash, so u hv to go to PB for weekly top up. fill up addiionalinvestment  slip with ur acc and name.
I'm not saying collecting cash.
debbieyss
post Aug 14 2012, 10:16 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 13 2012, 11:56 PM)
don't feel sad...

DDI (Direct Debit Instruction). Never try this yet; if not mistaken, the only benefit is when the fund is launched, there is a small discount on the service charge (like 0.5%) when you put in the DDI during its introduction period.

If I remember correctly, you cut the DDI to PSmallcap and then it closed for new investment... right?
Why get hook up on DDI, when it is more convenient to do online purchases as and when we want. You can even do it now at night...

KLCI is really up, making new record today (and Olympics was over yesterday!). It is only good if you're trading in stocks (I think), but if we're investing for long term in UT, better to put any purchases on hold for the time being. DDI would be too automatic when it is best to put on hold new investments.

If you haven't done so yet, do apply for Mutual Online and PB e-bank to make purchases online in the meantime. PB e-bank is not really necessary if you have another e-bank account. The difference is that PB ebank has no online banking limits; the transaction limit is then based on your PB account balance.

Cheers.
1. As far as I'm concerned, the PSMALL Cap is closed but my DDI is still on going, no problem.

2. DDI is direct debit instruction, you're right. But the benefit of 0.5% discount on service charge doesn't apply to all new fund. To me, DDI is just a way allowing me to invest minimal purchase consistently.
debbieyss
post Aug 15 2012, 11:23 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 15 2012, 08:49 AM)
Ahem ahem.. pls allow me to serong a bit with an idea ar.

Since DDI doesn't stop if there's not enough $ in the funding a/c, just skipped for that month:
1. When U want to get in (ie. during low or "normal range" NAV of the fund), have enough in your funding a/c to DDI

2. When U don't want to get in (ie. during abnormally high NAV of the fund), remove your $ from the a/c for those few days - eg. if your DDI = 8th, then perhaps 7th till 9th, have less than DDI amount in your funding a/c, thus DDI does not happen for that month

Yar yar - snakey a bit but what to do, have to "play the game" based on their rules right? Creative a bit lor.
Please note your mileage may vary  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Yes you are right.

My meaning of "consistently" doesn't include situations where bank account doesn't have enough cash.

Kinda hard to explain "detailed" in forum, via typing.

But your additional info helps the forumers a lot.
debbieyss
post Sep 11 2012, 10:37 PM

4,458 posts

Does the theory of mutual fund dividend the same as of share?
debbieyss
post Sep 12 2012, 09:27 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 12 2012, 05:56 AM)
Do U mean the mutual fund distribution theory where:
eg
a. Just before $0.10 distribution, NAV = $1
b. Just after $0.10 distribution, NAV = $1 -$0.10, $0.90
c. Fund holder gets $0.10 cash per unit less tax
Thus, what's the point

If U mean the above VS stocks' dividend, it's SIMILAR but not exactly the same.
ie.
for mutual funds' distribution dividends, it's a "perfect calculated" NAV price
VS
for stocks' dividends, a stock's market price "ex-price" USUALLY goes down after the date for dividend.
BUT keep in mind that a stock's market price is based on bids/offer of thousands if not millions of people, NOT a "perfect calculated"  price.
Thus, a stock's market price is totally based on perception of people and CAN GO UP EVEN RIGHT AFTER EX-cluding dividends.

My 2cents thoughts  notworthy.gif
Thanks a lot for your reply. But i still don't understand... sad.gif
debbieyss
post Sep 12 2012, 10:46 PM

4,458 posts

I don't understand these 2 sentences:

BUT keep in mind that a stock's market price is based on bids/offer of thousands if not millions of people, NOT a "perfect calculated" price.
Thus, a stock's market price is totally based on perception of people and CAN GO UP EVEN RIGHT AFTER EX-cluding dividends.
debbieyss
post Jan 29 2013, 11:14 PM

4,458 posts

I have stopped DDI from Jan this year; resume only after General Election is over...
debbieyss
post Jan 29 2013, 11:18 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 29 2013, 11:16 PM)
Which funds you are invested in PM? All Malaysian focus funds?
I invested in PSF, PGF and Small Cap.
I don't invest in Malaysia focus funds because malaysia's ecnomy is not reliable. biggrin.gif
debbieyss
post Jan 29 2013, 11:44 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 29 2013, 11:34 PM)
I think psmallcap is Malaysia focus fund. Other 2 I don't know, coz didn't study since not investing in them...
Small Cap is not a Malaysia focus fund.
debbieyss
post Jan 30 2013, 12:31 AM

4,458 posts

My interpretation of Malaysian focus fund is 100% Malaysia shares based.
debbieyss
post Jan 30 2013, 01:16 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jan 30 2013, 12:58 AM)
Your interpretation is too restrictive. "Focus" in general just means the majority of their investments are in a particular area.

The word focus just means "The center of interest or activity" (from Google). It does not have to mean 100%.

Technically speaking, no funds are ever 100% shares anyway. They need to hold a certain percentage in liquid assets in various forms, including possibly from foreign sources.
doh.gif

Ok. thanks for educating me.

All public mutual funds have Malaysian stocks anyway.

I'm tired.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jan 30 2013, 01:17 AM
debbieyss
post Aug 19 2013, 11:32 PM

4,458 posts

Hi all, I need an honest answer:

Would like to increase DDI amount to Public SmallCap but I was told this fund has been closed for investment since July 2, which means I can only decrease or stay the same amount of regular investment, no longer can increase the amount. Does it mean the only thing I can do is just wait it reopens again (which the reopening date is unknown)? sad.gif
debbieyss
post Aug 20 2013, 04:50 PM

4,458 posts

I should have allocated more regular fund for SmallCap.

I know of Strategic SmallCap, but is it the same?
debbieyss
post Aug 26 2013, 03:31 PM

4,458 posts

Hey guys, I'm considering to buy PUBLIC FOCUS SELECT FUND (PFSF).

What do you think about this fund?
debbieyss
post Aug 27 2013, 08:29 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 26 2013, 03:58 PM)
I also have this fund. Holding already more than 2 years. IRR 8%. You judge.
Checked already. Still Public SmallCap is more performing that Public Focus Select Fund.

I'll remain my SmallCap then.
debbieyss
post Oct 15 2013, 04:07 PM

4,458 posts

Hi just want to ask a simple question here:

I have been looking for a chance to buy Public Bond Fund for few years but up to current it is still closed for investment due to investment quota full. I really have no clue.

Should I say it's only when market crash and more people selling their Public Bond Fund then only I have chance to buy?
debbieyss
post Oct 15 2013, 05:45 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 15 2013, 05:16 PM)
there other bond fund available in Public Mutual to choose. Sales charges has increased 1% since 1 oct 2013
I don't invest in new funds until at least 5 years of opening for investment. I need its at least 5 years of historical data to tell me how good the new fund is then only I dump my money in.

At this moment, for consistent and slow return, Public Bond Fund is still the best.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Oct 15 2013, 05:45 PM
debbieyss
post Oct 15 2013, 09:56 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Oct 15 2013, 09:43 PM)
Also can wait till they request to increase the fund size from SC. Just don't know when they want to do that  tongue.gif
Oh i see...
So has this strategy been applied on other mutual funds before?

0.0507sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:47 AM