Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

Arvinaaaaa
post May 5 2014, 01:32 AM

Peace :D
3,928 posts

Hi guys..have an enquiry here..in february I put rm2000 in the public fund..when I check online, it says rm2000 but shouldnt it be deducted 5.5% for their charges??

And until now..the cash didnt go above rm2000..its at 1972 and has been going down or up since then but mever above rm2000..am I seeing something wrong here or is this normal..thank you
Arvinaaaaa
post May 5 2014, 01:27 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 5 2014, 08:08 AM)
er.. there's no such thing as "Public Fund".
1. What's the specific fund's name?

2. U check online? where? Public Mutual Online? OR some other portal?

3. Which column are U referring to when U stated "but it never above RM2000"?
Possible what - it went down tongue.gif
and what do U mean "its at 1972"?

dude - your Qs are akin to:
a. My car's meter keeps showing FULL (dunno which meter - U just said fund but didnt specify)
Shouldn't it go down X.xx% as it is used? (not all funds cost 5.5% lar)

b. and no fund is at 1972 lar.
U in the wrong world?  doh.gif

oh look, a butterfly... <totally distracted & chases butterly>
Oh sorry lol..let me clarify:
1. Pb indo fund

2. Public mutual online..I already did online account

3. What I meant is the total amount didn't go above rm2000.. It is always lower than rm1972 and has been like that since january..

In not sure how the 5.5% works because all I invested is rm 2000 and under the total MGQP is rm 2000 and the BAL NAV is rm 1972

Basically my question is that is has been already more than 2 months now? Shouldn't I get at least some profit and the total should be slightly more than rm2000? Thanks notworthy.gif

Arvinaaaaa
post May 5 2014, 03:53 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ May 5 2014, 02:44 PM)
MGQP = Mutual Gold Qualifying Points. It is one point for each ringgit invested (including the service charge). 120,000 points will qualified you some benefits, ie. free monthly magazine, free switches, etc.

Calculation of the 5.5% service charge:
Invested value = RM2000 / (100% + 5.5%) = RM1895.73
Service charge = RM2000 - RM1895.73 = RM104.27

Number of units bought:
RM1895.73 / NAV price at date bought = Number of Units.

Balance NAV = Units x current NAV price.

Within PMO (Public Mutual Online), you can check out the past transactions and it will shows the above service charge and the transacted NAV price on the purchased date.

=================
Question: In the first post, you mentioned February. In the 2nd post, it was "since January". I suspect it could also be Jan/Feb 2013, not 2014; since this fund has gained more than 10% YTD (Year-To-Date).

Secondly, it is a Balanced fund. If you want to trade (meaning invest for very short term), you should go for the more aggressive Public Indonesia Select fund with 5% higher gain at above 15% YTD.

Cheers.
Ok..now I get it..that's means I started with rm 1895.73 and now it is at rm1972 , so there is some profit there..btw..I started around jan/early February of 2014.. Just started this year..

Maybe my next investment will be for a more aggressive fund..and thanks for clarifying about the MGQP
Arvinaaaaa
post Jun 22 2014, 06:20 PM

3,928 posts

hi guys, currently i have some cash is the public bond fund for about 4 years now, and the return rate is about 5 percent per year only.

now i plan to sell this fund and put the cash in a more agressive equity fund which is the public asean dividen fund as the return rate of this funs is about 11% per annum

do you guys think the choice im making is a wise choice or not? of no, please give the reason why i should just maintain in the bond fund. aos the baNK OFFICER TOLD ME THE BOND FUND IS ALREADY FULL and they dont accept new investment anymore, so once i cash out the fund, theres no turning back..

do advice,,thank you in advance
Arvinaaaaa
post Jun 22 2014, 08:07 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 22 2014, 08:00 PM)
1st of all, you must get the lingo or some important words correct. "Switch" and "Sell and buy" are 2 different meanings.

A) In "Switching" from one fund to another fund, there is a switching fee, which is RM25.

B) "Sell" or "Cashing out" of a fund and then "buy" another fund, means that you are getting out of a fund, selling all the units and having the money by cheque or debit directly into your savings account. Then use the money to purchase another fund. This means you are paying the service charge again when purchasing the new fund. This is alright if the service charge is zero. But this is Public Mutual, and the service charge is as high as 5.5%.

So please note the difference between (A) and (B).

Secondly, you must get the names of the fund correct. There is no fund such as "Public Asean Dividend Fund". They are either "Public South-East Asia Select Fund" or "PB Asean Dividend Fund".

"Public" and "PB" are 2 separate series of funds. You may "switch" from a "Public" fund to another "Public" fund, but NOT from a Public fund to a PB fund.

To transfer from a Public fund to a PB fund, you will need to "Sell and Buy" (as in method B), and pay the service charge again. This I would not recommend; as it is, paying the service charge once is already costly enough, to repeatedly pay the service charge again and again is idiotic!  shakehead.gif

Yes, Public Bond Fund is closed; new investment is no longer accepted.

As in previous posts, recommendation on whether to hold or switch into another fund would depends on your overall financial plan and how you want to build the portfolio.
Ok..its the pb asean dividen fund and need to sell and buy..and I plan to leave the money for a minimum of 5 years and I dont mind paying the service fee again as its a long term investment plan..so how bro? What u recommend and any advice? I put in the bond fund for nearly 4 years now and about 5% return rate each year. Thats why I plan to put in the pb sean dividen fund which has a return rate of about 11% every year

This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: Jun 22 2014, 08:10 PM
Arvinaaaaa
post Jun 22 2014, 09:49 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 22 2014, 09:31 PM)
============
I'll take that those units in the bond fund are low-load units (paying service charge of 0.25%), so it's not paying high service charge again...

One question I often wonder myself is what is short term? How long is a long term? Short term is 3 years, and 5 years is long term?

Another question some of you might be wondering is why I am still here in public mutual?
Simple reasons: a) I'm already here, and had paid the service charges; a long time ago. b) I'm in for the long term, and long term meaning 'forever'.

Think about this 'forever' long term.

If you are investing correctly into mutual funds, and getting good returns, do you want to exit and put your money back into a savings account or FD? Or do you mean you intend to cash out and invest into another investment tool like a condo or house or commercial property and get regular rental income? When you are older and in retirement, with less brain cells and maybe getting a bit senile?  hmm.gif  Not me. A bird in the hand is worth 2 in the bush.

Recommendation: See above excellent advices. Otherwise tell us what's so special about this Asean fund that you have to have that you don't mind paying 5.5%.

Cheers.

PS. Please note that what is expected from any fund in the near future is a speculation. If the fund goes up 11%, it can also go down 11%. ok, every thing is fine and dandy when it goes up. If goes flat (which is not the worse case scenario), there's the opportunity cost for the 5 years, and 5.5% down in the pocket.

IMHO, short-term play is trading... go to a less costly place to trade, and emerge with bigger winnings.
Ok bro..I plan to put this cash for long term like more than 5 years..so ill put in the pb asean dividen fund.
.ill consider going to fsm when im older and actually working after graduate for short term trading..
thanks for the advice smile.gif

ps reason I want to have the asean dividen fund is I have a ampunt of cash in for about 3 years now..and the return rate have been good so far and higher than my bond fund..
Arvinaaaaa
post Aug 17 2014, 01:12 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 12 2014, 09:22 AM)
Dear Unitholder, We are pleased to attach the market wrap and bond market review for the week/fortnight ended 1 August 2014 for your information. Regards Customer Service
U got pm

0.0190sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:09 AM