Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 08:47 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:44 PM)
But as a general consumer, he or she should be informed upfront of this before jumping into the ship.

On top of that, he or she should be informed upfront and aware of alternatives.
Come, I help you...

Fundsupermart.com

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 12 2013, 08:47 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 11:21 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Mar 12 2013, 11:03 PM)
I wonder why i still didn't read more about FSM. Still stick to PM.
I know that it has a lower entry charge, and some fund that is well recognized (a good return one). Beside that, what is the advantages of FSM compare to PM? I know FSM has only little market capitalization (separate company).

Like, how FSM charge when doing switching?
Aren't u supposed to be asking this at the FSM thread rather than here? sweat.gif

Anyway here goes...

Firstly, get this right:
- FSM is a UT distributor, whereas PM is both a distributor and Fund House.
- FSM is a Joint Venture between OSK Investment Bank Berhad and iFAST Corp Pte Ltd which is under Singapore Press Holdings
- FSM distributes funds from various Fund Houses like HwangIM, OSK-UOB, AmInvestment, Eastspring Investments and many more, whereas PM only distributes funds under itself.

As such, under FSM there are 2 types of switching:

(1) Intra switch
Whereby u switch from a fund to another fund that is managed by the SAME FUND HOUSE, e.g. from Hwang Select Opportunity Fund to Hwang Global Property Fund. Switching between equity funds are FREE, whereas switching from a bond fund (from 0% SC to 1.5% SC) to an equity fund (usually 2% SC) will entail charging of the difference of tier rate. You are given a "switching credit" when this happens, subsequently if u switch back from bond to equity, u can utilise your "credit" i.e. get free switching.

(2) Inter switch
Whereby u switch from a fund to another fund that is managed by a DIFFERENT FUND HOUSE. Such switches are treated as 2 separate transactions, 1 sale and 1 purchase, normal Sales Charges apply in this instance; there is no free inter switching.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 12 2013, 11:23 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 13 2013, 10:49 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Mar 13 2013, 10:20 AM)
Never accounted to that. Thanks. Meaning additional investment when it dropped will be the better option.
2. The NAV price of the fund that I'm interested in is quite high now, should I stay away? Investment gurus always say "buy low, sell high"...

3. Common misconceptions about unit trust dividends/distributions
(a) After dividend distribution, NAV price will go down, the fund will become cheaper.
(b) A fund that declares dividends is better than a fund that does not, dividends are my profit, they make me richer.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=58601035
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 13 2013, 01:15 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Sam8698 @ Mar 13 2013, 12:35 PM)
Can sifus or any UTC answer the following? notworthy.gif
1. Since FSM service charge is lower, why should we still buy from PM?
2. What are the key advantages buying from PM than FSM?
1. Because u want to have the perceived security of doing business with a distributor backed by one of Malaysia's top bank? tongue.gif
2. U pay more Sales Charge to see a lenglui PM consultant brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 13 2013, 01:16 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 13 2013, 12:51 PM)
Question 2:

1. PM is the biggest fund manager in Malaysia
2. There's supposingly to have service agent to facilitate you in term professional advices
2. The supposedly professional services made many burnt their money in PCSF blush.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 13 2013, 01:39 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 13 2013, 01:35 PM)
Poor poor poor Pub-Mut, one bad apple PCSF and it affect the whole company as a whole.

This serves a very important lesson to other fund houses:

I) Don't launch too many funds if you cannot get good fund managers.

II) Prepare to manage less funds that you can manage well. It is the quality, not quantity.

III) One fund kaput, the market will look at you as a weakling, jaguh kampong etc.

Xuzen
I raise both legs and both hands in support of that
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 13 2013, 01:41 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 13 2013, 01:38 PM)
I am scared of those leng-lui consultants wan, very aggressive wor.

I shy-shy type. They scare me.

Xuzen
Ur writing is naughty yet u end with a "Xuzen" signature...I find it amusing laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 15 2013, 07:20 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Mar 15 2013, 05:02 PM)
If not sure what to do, a good ratio of bond:equity is a must.
If I may add:

That's the reason why many investors prefer a balanced fund, just pump in money come rain or shine, no need to think (much).

For the more seasoned investors, can "balance" your investment portfolio yourself like what I'm doing now; I'm maintaining a 50:50 investment portfolio which (I hope) would mimic the behaviour and returns of that of a good balanced fund. flex.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 1 2013, 10:30 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(blackstar88 @ Apr 1 2013, 09:33 AM)
I am new to investment, though i bought some units when i was in college then. The person told me I will get dividend by the 2nd year after i bought the units, however until the latest statement I received, I still havent see any increase.

Btw, the fund I bought is PBGSQF, when it was newly launched... and the dividend is in share unit

Any1 face the same prob? or I should wait until this year end?
Hi there,

You may want to read Post #1's Item No. 3. Common misconceptions about unit trust dividends/distributions wink.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2719482

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Apr 1 2013, 10:31 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 1 2013, 01:28 PM

16,872 posts

Gross distribution in RM
Deduct tax in RM (if any)
= Net distribution in RM
Divide by distribution NAV in RM
= Distribution quantity

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Apr 1 2013, 01:28 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 3 2013, 01:49 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 3 2013, 01:46 PM)
You got miss out 2012 rally or not? Though klci did not rally much la last yr compare other region market.
The winner of 2012 has got to be US markets, Malaysia and Asia Ex-Japan did not go up much.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 3 2013, 04:06 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 3 2013, 03:57 PM)
===================

And talking about timing and distributions, it has been repeated too many times already. Everybody, please get this right.

The funds here is not the same as a fixed price funds in PNB (ie. amanah saham bumi... etc. etc.) These PM funds (whether bonds, money market or equities) are variable price funds.

ALL THE FEES (WHETHER TRUSTEE OR MANAGEMENT) ARE ALREADY INCORPORATED INTO THE NAV PRICE DAILY.

Distributions DO NOT increase the value of the fund.

Time is Money.

If you're just waiting for the distribution to happen before switching; because you have WRONGLY thought that the distribution will allow you more gains, then you're wasting time.

If you're waiting for the financial year-end (and distribution), because you have intended to switch as you originally planned to do so after a certain period of holding the fund; then it is an acceptable purpose in mind.

Hope this is helpful...
U also know my frustration reading these laugh.gif

Let me contribute to PM thread...

2. The NAV price of the fund that I'm interested in is quite high now, should I stay away? Investment gurus always say "buy low, sell high"...

3. Common misconceptions about unit trust dividends/distributions:

(i) After dividend distribution, NAV price will go down, the fund will become cheaper.
(ii) A fund that declares dividends is better than a fund that does not, dividends are my profit, they make me richer.

(iii) Topping up my holdings after dividend distribution pulls down my cost per unit, lower cost = higher profit.

(iv) Distribution = Income
QUOTE(jerrymax @ Mar 25 2013, 10:51 PM)
Ok so after dividend distribution, you get some additional units and NAV drops. Then after few weeks if fund perform well then NAV increases to the point where it is back to the NAV before distribution. Doesnt it mean you gain some income from distribution?

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Mar 25 2013, 11:19 PM)
Then what's the point of dividend distribution since units and NAV price has negative correlation?

SUSPink Spider
post Apr 3 2013, 04:55 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(lazybump_nonsense @ Apr 3 2013, 04:50 PM)
Reply from sifus out there are really useful, you guys changed my original thought of distribution  notworthy.gif

one only earned when long run, means only NAV goes up one only can earn money from it? Please correct me if I am wrong biggrin.gif

So now, i want to ask, what's my decision now? Cut loss and switch to another fund under different agent? Or just let it be there until break-even point? Please advice me  rclxub.gif

DON'T THINK NAV, THINK VALUE vmad.gif

NAV x units held = value

If u are confident with the fund's management style and the potential of the markets that it invests in, keep. Otherwise, sell. Simple as that. I dunno anything about PM funds, I leave it to j.passing.by biggrin.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 5 2013, 05:31 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Apr 5 2013, 05:14 PM)
May I know your reason to switch back to EPF?

I thought its better be at PM since you can withdraw it when you want it, or let it stay for more profit run.

I can't think any other benefit except the year before that EPF declare 15% dividen  whistling.gif
U shakehead.gif doh.gif

When u withdraw ur EPF A/C 1-funded investments from PM, it has to go back to EPF A/C 1. What "can withdraw it when u want it"???

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Apr 5 2013, 05:31 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 5 2013, 05:43 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Apr 5 2013, 05:33 PM)
Aiyoo,
he just pointed out that all EPF investment from account One will be converted to Cash Investment once THe investor turn 55 years old lah.
So that can continue to enjoy the min guaranteed 2.5% dividend? hmm.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 19 2013, 10:02 AM

16,872 posts

Guys,

大众成长基金 = Public Growth Fund?

My friend asked me to review performance of 大众成长基金 for him, see worth keeping or not. But he dunno the english name of the fund he bought, only the chinese name doh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Apr 19 2013, 10:02 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 19 2013, 10:49 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Apr 19 2013, 10:40 AM)
IMO: I strongly believed PM got other better funds than PGF. Below is the PGF performance for the past 3 years.
Check it up.

[attachmentid=3399464]
[attachmentid=3399465]
Yea, looking at its performance vs benchmark, it doesn't look to be a good fund.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 22 2013, 11:45 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:36 AM)
Hi Kaka23,

Sorry but what is nav and UT? How to look at underlying asset? New investors like myself will buy whatever is recommended by the agent. I wanted to look at track record but was told not to because last year profit does not guarantee this year also profit. Can explain a little bit more on the terms you used?
My sincere advice - DO NOT go meet the agent before u do some basic homework on your own.

Post #1 at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2601692 have some good links that u can read.

After u went thru those, maybe u wanna read Post #1 at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2719482 to clear some common misunderstandings about unit trusts.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 22 2013, 09:16 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 22 2013, 09:09 PM)
Been getting these 'market wrap' emails in my yahoo account... have never bother reading them after opening some... cannot make head or tail out of them, just a waste of my time. To me, it is marketing gimmick so that public mutual can classified as extra service to investors.

Anyone find them useful, and buy/sell/switch funds accordingly?
Tell u what, they even send to my company general enquiries e-mail even though our company is no corporate client of PM laugh.gif

I find it to be a "dry" presentation of market data.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 25 2013, 10:40 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 25 2013, 10:33 PM)

The 80 formula.

This was posted by Xuzen before. It is a general thumb rule on allocation between bonds and equities.

The formula is simple: Take 80 and minus your age.
For example, age 35. So, 80 - 35 = 45.

So, bonds should be 45% of the portfolio, and remaining 55% in equities. As we get older, switch more and more into bonds, more and more conservative portfolio... young can take more risk, but make sure can hold till the storm is over... when older, not much time left to hold. LOL. tongue.gif

But I would also take advantage of any bull runs in the year, (and also the given free switches); and would switch extra 10 to 30% and then cut back to the normal ratio.

I think u got it terbalik doh.gif

E.g. 60 years old, 80 - 60 = 20% equity exposure; 20 years old, 80 - 20 = 60% equity exposure

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Apr 25 2013, 10:41 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0575sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:43 PM