Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 08:18 PM

52,874 posts

Guys, please don't complain over PCSF. PCSF and other China funds are mainly launched at the wrong timing when HSI was at very peak.

I have switched my PCSF to PSMALLCAP and with PSMALLCAP, it gives a decent return not but still can't cover my PCSF losses.

One of my friend just sold off his PCSF before CNY.

Either you keep it, switch it or sell it.

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 19 2013, 08:29 PM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:03 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 19 2013, 09:59 PM)
thumbup.gif Good advice, i also hv PCSF.

Topup every month 2007-2009. Oncer breakeven switch to other fund.
Now left left rm1k++, waiting for miracle.
Another friend of mine is still holding PCSF and he got topped up few years. His loss is lower than mine. His average unit cost price should in the range of 0.1800 to 0.2000.

Miracle will come as many fund houses are bullish over China, Greater China and/or North Asia region. There's great potential of upward trend in the near term of 2 to 3 years.

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Feb 19 2013, 10:01 PM)
In my amateur and non-professional opinion, I don't think it is as easy as that. It's like on a race track, asking for tips - and the tips is only good for that race.

There's no shortcut if we want to pick winners every weekend without knowing a bit of the background of the horses and their past performances.

This analogy at the race track is still not closed enough, try imagining that you are the jockey and have to ride the horse too... we then have to match your size and weight and riding skills to the appropriate horse with its individual temperament as well.

Get the picture of the task at hand?

The best I can contribute here is a short brief on the funds you're having.
PSBF - Public Select Bond Fund
PEBF - Public Enhanced Bond Fund
PIEBF - Public Islamic Enhanced Bond Fund
PCSF - Public China Select Fund
PITTIKAL - Public Ittikal Fund

The 1st bond fund is closed for new investments and only open to investment via EPF. If you switched out, you cannot switch back in if it is not an EPF investment.

The 2nd and 3rd bond funds are special bond funds with up to 30% of the fund can be invested in equities by the fund manager. If not mistaken, they are also more or less also closed to new investments since you now need at least 100k to enter.

China Select - what more can be we say here, it is a stupid fund for stupid people like me - I lost money too, like 40% of what I put in.

So far this year, it is up 2.14%, but dropped a bit this month... and maybe a bit more today with Hang Seng Index down -1.02% and the H-Share (or Hang Seng China Enterprise) -1.79%. It is performing, since 1st Jan, better than China Titan Fund; and better than China Ittikal Fund which is in negative zone. (Slow horse is okay but if running backwards, how to win the race if it cannot reach the finish line?)

Public Ittikal - this fund is also closed except for investment via EPF. Not among the top local horses in 2012, but still gave an increment of 13% for the year. It is categorised by Public Mutual as a moderate fund. Personally, I would prefer Islamic Dividend Fund which is similarly categorised as a moderate fund.

Cheers... happy investing!
No offence but PM is a loser in China region fund.

OSK-UOB parred better loss compared and OSK-UOB BIG CAP CHINA ENTERPRISE FUND is nearing to its IPO NAV soon. RM 0.4856 (February 18, 2013)

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 19 2013, 10:08 PM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 10:07 PM)
thnx for the tips. I suppose u mean Domestic Direct Investment? I will read up on it thumbup.gif
I think he's referring DDI as RSP. Direct Debit Instruction: Regular top up via SI.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 10:40 PM)
haha thnx..

Just a question on fund history, is it got happen that fund will close? Or will continue go on forever? Cos many new fund opening up at the end market will be full of funds? Maybe after 30 yrs then the fund will close?

Far east property the fund consider still new and cant judge the history yet right? It less than 10 yrs
When a fund is closed, the fund house can apply from SC to increase the fund size.

Any fund with a min age of 3 years can be analyzed using Sharpe ratio.

Otherwise, trust rating company like Lipper.

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 19 2013, 10:43 PM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:48 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:47 PM)
David, I think he din mean closed as "not open for investment", it should be the fund is total end of business, or something like that.
I haven't see such case yet but change of fund objective.

Usually an AGM will be conducted first.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 10:49 PM)
ya ya.. i mean like long history funds lessay 30 yrs maybe they 1 to "obsolete" the fund??

Or else the market gonna be flooded wif thousands of funds?

Got such thing?
PSF has been here for 30 years:

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...xA%3d&tabid=103

And they're still relevant as long as their objective is met.

SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:53 PM)
This one normally to the fund that is not performing well, right?
Changing fund objective in order it can go into different market/sector etc.
Yes. To avoid from being closed forever, they may want to change the fund objective or rebrand it with another name.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 20 2013, 02:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(rachy @ Feb 20 2013, 02:18 PM)
Thanks for all the info! smile.gif

Yep really regret purchasing PCSF, but was young and stupid that time and just listen to the consultant. Now waiting for even a small miracle so that I can recover at least some of my losses.

You guys think its a smart idea to switch out half or all of my PITTIKAL units to other UT?
Switched to what fund? Bond fund? Purpose?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 20 2013, 03:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(rachy @ Feb 20 2013, 03:13 PM)
I'm thinking to change to equity fund by other fund house- either Hwang or kenanga. I have enough bond funds already smile.gif

Wise to redeem all of PITTIKAL? Or should keep some?
If you're satisfied with the return, just redeem it.

Personally speaking, I'm expecting a volatile movement in local equities till end of GE13.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 21 2013, 11:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(TANNY @ Feb 21 2013, 11:12 PM)
Sifu here, how to sell the Public Mutual fund thru Public Mutual online login?  tongue.gif
Repurchase menu.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 22 2013, 08:11 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(pgkia8 @ Feb 21 2013, 11:57 PM)
Did that 5 years ago i think with PCSF, made some profits. But i have friends who did not sell till today and were at a loss. Dont think its a good idea to go into China's market.

You simply tembak or?
If you bought during the initial period and didn't do any top up, of course it's still a loss as of today.

IPO NAV: 0.2500
NAV as of 20th February: 0.1634

Simple ROI: -34.64%

It was extremely not a good idea to enter to into China at that time because as I did mention earlier; it was HSI very peak moment. Few weeks ago, global equities went haywire and all hell started to break loose.

If I have a crystal ball at that time, I won't be touching China fund and if everybody knows that wave will be waving, guess everybody will be a millionaire today!

Just get over the China thing.

1. Hold it and wait miracle to happen
2. DDI it to bring down average unit cost
3. Stop loss and fully redeem it
4. Switch out to a better performing fund

PM has no credible experience in managing China related fund. This can be seen in all their China related funds performance as opposed to other fund houses.

A side note is that all fund houses are optimism with China market for the next 3 years. You can place a bet and ride to this wave for a potential uptick trend as the valuation of China market is low and very attractive.

Stop whining around and move forward by learning from mistake!

SUSDavid83
post Feb 22 2013, 08:14 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Feb 22 2013, 08:13 AM)
Someone said PM is jaguh kampung, they don't do well with other regions. Would think twice to diversify in PM  rclxub.gif
Some of their offshore fund are quite good.

PSEASF for instance.

SUSDavid83
post Feb 22 2013, 02:24 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(pgkia8 @ Feb 22 2013, 11:29 AM)
Err, I did make a profit from PCSF. Read properly  doh.gif
My comment is not referring to you but as general for those who got PCSF.

My apology if you got offended.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 25 2013, 09:11 PM

52,874 posts

Dear unitholder We are pleased to attach the market wrap and regional market review for the week/ fortnight ended 15 February 2013 for your information. Regards Customer Service
SUSDavid83
post Feb 26 2013, 02:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Feb 26 2013, 02:25 PM)
I have made a repurchase before Chinese New year into interbank transfer (bank islam). Until today dint receive it in my bank islam. How long does it take for the money to get through?
Max up to 10 working days.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 27 2013, 01:21 PM

52,874 posts

Public Mutual Emerged as the Biggest Winner for the 10th Consecutive Year

URL: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...o4w%3d&tabid=87
SUSDavid83
post Mar 2 2013, 06:40 PM

52,874 posts

Dear Unitholder, We are pleased to attach the market wrap and bond market review for the week/fortnight ended 22 February 2013 for your information. Regards Customer Service
SUSDavid83
post Mar 9 2013, 05:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 9 2013, 05:50 PM)
"JPB, which fund is the 14%?"

Hi Pink,
Public Indonesia Select Fund

But I don't like this horse... too fast for me, beginner rider... a slower horse fit me just nice; which I mentioned several times in previous posts.
This horse may still have more fuel to carry on.

URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=3231
SUSDavid83
post Mar 11 2013, 11:02 PM

52,874 posts

Dear unitholder We are pleased to attach the market wrap and regional market review for the week/ fortnight ended 1 March 2013 for your information. Regards Customer Service e-mail proclaimer This e-mail and any attachment is intended for the addressee(s) only and may contain information that is legally privileged and confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication and its contents is strictly prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify us immediately by return email or our hotline 036207 5000 and delete the document. This communication has not been transmitted via a private or secure link or in encrypted form and is therefore subject to the usual hazards of Internet communications, nor can it be guaranteed that this communication has not been the subject of unauthorised interception or modification.

SUSDavid83
post Mar 12 2013, 07:59 PM

52,874 posts

Not sure about PM but FSM usually has upfront notice for distribution announcement.

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0612sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:31 PM