:Official Dopod 818 Pro/HTC Prophet/XDA Neo Club:, Discuss it here...

Strik3
post Feb 2 2006, 04:27 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

Yo, signing in as a proud 818 Pro Dopoder...pleased to meet all of you.

Let us share thoughts to make our experience with this device a pleasant and enjoyable journey...hoorah!

-Strik3-

Edit: Here i shall list a summary of the s/wares i use (which so far did not invite any s/ware conflicts), hope it is of some good..

1) "Omega Battery Pack Pro" (a recommended WM5 stable & comprehensive Today plugin)

2) For avid E-Bookers, try "Mobireader". (convert your pdf e books to txt format & read away...for all those unauspicious times that forces you to pluck your eyes off the E book for a bit, the bookmark function is easy and quick to use)

3) "Mortplayer" (a very decent music player, dare i say)

4) "Betaplayer" (i dare say...a sweet *.avi movie player) P/S: Do reencode your movie files to 320x240 using a software called "AutoGK" for 99% smooth movie rendering.
I also have "Pocket TV Pro" for *.mpg playback but it is unstable for WM5 IMO.

5) For those unfortunate individuals who need to wake up dead early in the morning for whatever (hint: WORK), give "AlarmClock 4.1" a try. So dam much better than the native alarm clock, which initially conflicted with the Omega Battery Pack alarm function. Am now using AlarmClock faithfully.

6) "DictionaryToGo" (you know whats that for...right?)

7) For normal PDF reading, i employ "Adobe Reader 2.0 for Pocket PC".

8) "World Mate Pro", dont find myself using it atm bcz rarely travel overseas but do use it to check foreign country timezones.

Hoorah!

This post has been edited by Strik3: Feb 2 2006, 04:50 PM
Strik3
post Feb 2 2006, 04:55 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 2 2006, 04:36 PM)
My missus just gotten the silver version and in the middle of mucking with it now while my black should arrive in a couple days. biggrin.gif
Black & Silver...perfect combination..made in heaven cool.gif

Am using silver. Heard paint on the Black will scrape off easily especially near the stylus silo but if its wrapped...i think its perfect. Hoorah!

-Strik3-
Strik3
post Feb 3 2006, 02:21 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

Guys, they say if use silicon case after some time it'll cause the Dopod's surface to be sticky....is that true?

I've wrapped the Dopod but want more protection....hehe.
Strik3
post Feb 4 2006, 02:17 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 4 2006, 12:51 AM)
Since you wrapped already...post pic lar.

Thinking of wrapping also but already bought the condom for it. Tak cantik lar pakai dom dom.
Brother Snipey,

The thing abt this type of wrapping is that...u cant really tell its wrapped bcz its tightly cladded to the device and i wrapped a transparent one..haha. Some frens cant even tell its wrapped even when they were handling it...hmm...

-Strik3-
Strik3
post Feb 5 2006, 10:33 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 4 2006, 08:40 PM)

Those "wrappings" texture are all the same kar? Do they have anything "rougher" cos it's rather slippery.

Thinking of wrapping mine too. Just haven't decided on which skin.
All same txture one le...anything rougher gotta DIY dy. Wrapping carbon fibre sounds cool..or maybe u fancy Hello Kitty? LoL

QUOTE(asrulz @ Feb 5 2006, 04:49 PM)
anyone want this? cincai kira lah RM10 .. pm me

I saw this at the SE shop in Pyramid b4...is dat right?

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 5 2006, 08:33 PM)
I just took delivery of my "poddy" too biggrin.gif

But the missus refuses to return my SD card  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Me durex-clad 818pro.

Hmm, i think it is time to wrap the Dopod...the Black condom case....ewww (no offense, jz imo onia)

Show us your Hello Kitty wrapped Dopod ok? Mr Sniper Kitty Kat...

-Strik3-
Strik3
post Feb 5 2006, 11:11 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 5 2006, 10:37 PM)
No offence taken of course and I do agree with you...dom doms tarak kimochi lah. Anyway..the carbon pattern will not show on black, so that's the problem and I can't decide on which design also ( hello kitty or winnie pooh ...lol...jk)
Well, go with Hello Kity wrap...it gets you a lot of attention (wanted and unwanted)

Or if you want your Dopod to look FIERCE (fuiyoh..si beh ganas)...wrap patterns like skull, fire...or best...Dragon..sure fierce one. laugh.gif

Mrs Sniper sure "turn on" punya *wink wink* *nudge nudge*..guaranteed ah i tell you..hehehe.

-Strik3-
Strik3
post Feb 12 2006, 10:00 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 11 2006, 12:08 AM)
eten macam best je...

anyone test it out before?

Yes I've tested it and yes its probably the snappiest of PPCs ard. However, I'd

like to suggest you test it out personally and see if u like the feel of the form factor bcz it is bulkier due to battery size..and if ur gona use a casing, pls for the love of God if ur gonna put it in yr pocket..dun wear tight pants/jeans to avoid unwanted giggles.

Another thing I cannot stress enuf is the speaker volume. Do test the speaker volume before making a purchase especially those who used to use conventional handphones like me, which has better ringing volume. I took some time to adapt to the PPC ringing volume and had to resort to increasing the ringing tone volume using windows sound recorder but it is still differentlah compared to conventional phone ringing volume...so make sure u try that out for practical purposes.

3rdly, is the feel of the buttons and Directional Pad. I attribute my decision to purchase Dopod partially to the way the buttons and D Pad felt on the Dopod as compared to Eten..but whats more important is that it has Soft Keys on it. But if u couldn't care less about one hand operation..i guess Eten's pretty good buy.

Other than the excellent performance figures shown in charts by Eten, I think it is also important to pay attention to its physical layout and feel of the buttons. To put it in perspective, i really think nobody's gonna buy a PDA which has buttons placed behind the PDA and pressing buttons feel like squashing vegetables (imo, the Eten's buttons felt a lil plasticky for my liking) eventhough the PDA is the fastest amongst all.

Cheers to all PDA users,
Strik3
Strik3
post Feb 15 2006, 08:47 AM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Feb 14 2006, 10:05 PM)
u sure u want it? laugh.gif

i got it for rm20 liddat.

anyway guys, a question from me. i wanna install alarmclock for my dopod...so which .cab file i should use? ARM or MIPS? huh.gif
@alkt: Use ARM...

Btw, I heard also that silicone cases will cause stickiness to the PDA's surface after a prolong use due to heat. Wonder if its true...

Anyway, don't plan on using em cos fugly ler...hehe

Regards,
Strik3
Strik3
post Feb 21 2006, 11:29 AM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

QUOTE(^aMnESiA^ @ Feb 21 2006, 11:21 AM)
skype for dopod pls send me ..i cant find any..
What the...so lazy to go to the skype's website and DL the one meant for low cpu?

rolleyes.gif
Strik3
post Feb 27 2006, 10:51 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

Raymond T: Since its under warranty, why not go back to the shop u bought from?

Phahmeen: What type of casing are u looking for? Silicon? Leather? Metal?
Strik3
post Mar 2 2006, 11:06 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

@ sniper: Did u wrap the PDA? am wondering if the "Dopod" would still fall off after wrapping it up.
Strik3
post Mar 5 2006, 11:19 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

Technically speaking, you would not interrupt the airplane's electronic systems when u off the phone functions.

But however, i'd put it away if i was requested to do so by an air crew member.
Strik3
post Mar 6 2006, 06:13 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

Well, unless the GSM LED is not working if not you would and should observe if the LED is blinking. Worse come to worse, the air crew will ask you to keep the phone only la..or the phone might just cause the whole plane to crash and burn only lor. Hee Hee~
Strik3
post Mar 9 2006, 12:42 AM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

Arghh! Speaker no sound coming out lar....blady hell...hv to go to shop to check and send for repair...anyone else facing similar problem??
Strik3
post Mar 15 2006, 12:15 AM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

alkt...can help me get a cheap cheap silicon case ah? =)
Strik3
post Mar 15 2006, 03:02 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

alkt, why u not using silicone case anymore? is it not nice to use or not nice to see? hehehe...

then do u use any protective layer ah?
Strik3
post Mar 16 2006, 12:28 AM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

alkt, mind showing which leather case u using? I thought of buying leather case but dunno which one is good and practical to use.

This post has been edited by Strik3: Mar 16 2006, 10:35 AM
Strik3
post Mar 17 2006, 01:20 AM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

alkt, is the one that ur using as bulky as the original pouch?

I only dun like the belt clip which makes it bulky. if dun hv the belt clip on the original pouch, i find the size quite ok...

Strik3
post Mar 17 2006, 09:13 PM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

alkt, do u mind putting the pouch that u bought and the original pouch side by side and make a size comparison? Yrs look very decent and if its smaller than original case..i'd like to get one too !

This post has been edited by Strik3: Mar 17 2006, 09:17 PM
Strik3
post Mar 19 2006, 02:09 AM

ALPHA Strik3
744 posts

@ Sniper: WoW, i envy your "clean" and "smooth" outlook of your Dopod...so sleek and stylish...LoL. So Dopod 818 Pro certified for winter usage? HeHe

0.0387sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:29 PM