~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

u no break law, why u so sked of AES ?

sheesh....
kcng
post Oct 23 2012, 12:49 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

u wan break the law, dun complain about the consequences later...

saying that 110 km/h is too slow for modern cars... in a way it is true BUT has the skills of drivers driving gone up accordingly too?
i think it is the other way.....

This post has been edited by kcng: Oct 23 2012, 12:50 PM
kcng
post Oct 23 2012, 11:06 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 23 2012, 01:46 PM)
rich guy  notworthy.gif
if i din break the law, what is there to summon me on?
and what has it got to do with rich or not ?

u break u pay..
sounds familiar?

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 23 2012, 03:12 PM)
I posted this before, please answer the questions first before saying that speed limit is making our road safer. Then from this article, it was mentioned that the data from the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research showed that 25% of fatal accidents involved heavy vehicles.
actually, even if i put a speed limit of 10 km/h, there will still be fatality...
why?
idiocy aka ppl who think their driving skills is godlike...

why the AES is being implemented (please fark the politics for now)?
to ensure drivers like you follow the law and at the same time, hopefully reduces the chance of an accident happening...
but trust me, accident will still happen due to the reason stated above but i will repeat it again, idiocy...

so again, why do you think there is a speed limit setup for the trunk roads/highway/expressways?

case in point:
how many of you guys can pass an advanced driving course or even for the matter of fact, the malaysian-level driving course without paying tea money?
how many of you knows the basic traffic law and obey it?
how many of you knows how to properly handle a vehicle? (do you know a moving vehicle is effectively a killing machine?)

even full time professional drivers driving in a controlled environment can crash, what more a normal driver like you?

i can go into the 25% figures of the article quoted if you want....
kcng
post Oct 23 2012, 11:21 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 23 2012, 11:17 PM)
the way you drive.
you should be getting a summon everyday.  doh.gif
ahaha....
good point...

i din say i am not expecting summon's right?
cry.gif
kcng
post Oct 24 2012, 10:33 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 24 2012, 07:20 AM)
I don't have any problem when they want to enforce the law but I hate it when they are only focusing on speeding when they can prioritise on other things that will make the road safer.

Driving on the right lane when you are not overtaking is also against the law. There is a big sign saying "ikut kiri kecuali memotong" and obeying the sign is also basic thing to do. Even when you are driving below the speed limit, you are still a potential danger if you are driving in the wet with worn out tyres but many people are do not focus on this since there is no enforcement.
so the government must bend over just because u hate it la?

why focus on speeding or signalized junction first?
because it is the easiest to implement...

how many a times u see idiotic malaysian stopping in the middle of a yellow boxed intersection and thus blocking traffic flow?
how many malaysians over estimated their own godlike driving skills?
(in reference to speeding or driving in wet)

u see, they cant even read the signs saying ikut kiri kecuali memotong...
that either shows 2 things, they are dumb and cant read or they paid their way for their teh-o-ais license....

there is no enforcement, that is why malaysians are breaking the traffic laws like nobody business...
now with automated enforcement, there are force to change their way overnight and do you think it is easy unless u are already well versed with the traffic laws in the first place...

i cant ask a chain smoker to quit cold turkey right?

P/S :
do u know, u can be ticketed if your tyres are worn out overseas?
or if one of your rear lamp is not functioning? or rather if any of your driving lights is not functioning?

i need to go through my JPJ traffic book to see if there is such thing in malaysia....
wink.gif
kcng
post Oct 24 2012, 12:02 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 24 2012, 11:43 AM)
Every time there is a news report on an accident, this phrase is always mentioned "dipercayai dipandu laju". Why must speed be associated with dangerous driving?

In Germany, there are some stretches on the Autobahn where there is not speed limit and people there are legally driving way faster than we are used to here. I have a german driving license and I have been driving in Germany at speed in excess of 180kmh without getting any summon. Here even at 130kmh, you will get a summon just because some people think that 130kmh is considered dangerous compared to 110kmh.
how well is the average german driving skills as compared to here?
how well is their driving courses compared to here?

that will answer your questions...

P/S - do you get my points earlier?
kcng
post Oct 25 2012, 09:37 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 24 2012, 12:33 PM)
Looks like you don't get your own point. If the driving skill is the root cause of the problem, will it be solved by having a low speed limit? Like I said before, the focus on speed limit won't solve our problem.

How do you improve the driving skills? Is it by making the driving test easier through auto only driving test and let more people on the road? Why don't they revamp the driving schools and the driving test? Proper education system will also change the drivers' attitude.

You said before that speed limit is the easiest thing to enforce but is it the right thing to focus on to "make our road safer"? Just look at the statistics to see where the focus should be, if motorcyclists are the most vulnerable group, solve the problem directly. Mandate the usage of protective gears, increase the number of motorcycle lanes and ensure that motorcycles are in good working condition.

I ride my bike daily to work and often I came across road blocks by police and JPJ. In this road blocks, they would never check whether the tyres are still good, whether the brakes are working, the helmets meet the safety standards and the lights are working. They would be more interested to see whether the road tax & license are expired or not, the number plates are according to the regulation or not, the exhaust is modified or not. Even people riding their bikes wearing shorts and selipar jepun won't be a problem for them.

Please don't fool yourself by believing that the speed limit enforcement is to make our road safer. Like people have said before, if they want to make our road safer, why do they always do the speed traps at a straight and wide downhill road with low speed limit? Please show us the data on these so called "black spots", how many accidents have happened there?
a lower speed limit will hopefully lower the chances of accident.... <-- that is my point...
the key word here is lowering the chances of accident...

AES is not the eliminate accident completely...

Let me ask u, revamping the driving schools and education system or installing AES, which will be easier?
true for now AES is like a knee-jerk reaction, but at least hopefully it can almost immediately reduce the chance of accident happening as compared to revamping driving schools and education system that might take 1 generation or 2..

Ahah... the road block on motors... i got no comments on that as i dont ride a capchai...
but what i know is, even with motorcycle lanes, those banes of the public will still ride on the car lanes...

dude, speed limit enforcement is to, again i repeat, hopefully reduces the chance of accident... reduces the chance... not eliminate... when the chances of accident is reduces, won't it technically be safer?

u think straight, clear road people cannot accident ar? u are so mistaken if you think that...
(of course this might be open to debate why there is speed traps there, to collect money for big G or as a deterrent/education , its up to your own interpretation. But come to think of it, straight road is where most drivers like you know how to put the power down instead of in corners smile.gif... so isn't straight road a better location to deter most drivers from speeding and to just blardy obey the speed limit? )

The location of AES camera is determined by MiROS (and maybe a few other agencies, not sure on this). You would have to contact them for data on those "black spots".
kcng
post Oct 26 2012, 08:06 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 25 2012, 01:03 PM)
I guess you missed the post where I said Germany has a higher average speed and at the same time has a lower accident rate. Please show me a data showing that the chance of accident will increase with increased speed.

Higher speed will increase the damage from an accident but the ops sikap data that I gave earlier shows that only 10% of the accidents happen on the highway where the average speed is higher.

Too much speed at the wrong place will indeed increase the chance of an accident but like most people said, they are not installing the cameras at accident prone areas but they are installing it at a straight and wide road with low speed limit. A lot of people have gone over the speed limit there before but the accident numbers in that area is quite flaky.

did u miss my point where i say the driving syllabus in germany is like much better then what we have here?
in germany, i believe part of the driving syllabus will be on what is oversteer and how to counter it and stuffs like that...
in malaysia, what we have is the laughable naik bukit, parallel parking and the ronda around the taman road test... and that too we have so many people failing...
imagine if understeer, oversteer etc is part of the syllabus?
95% of the drivers on the road now will fail straight...

a simple example of increased speed, the chance of accident will increase
coming to a complete stop at a higher speed requires longer distance, its a fact...

or sudden swerve of the vehicle at 110 km/h and 160 km/h..
at which speed will be easier to control?

i got no on paper data on this (sorry) but this is based on common sense and some physics...

why is the camera installed on wide flat straight road with low speed limit?
where else will be the best to setup the camera if not on wide flat road where most malaysian knows how to step on it?
it is to hopefully "train" the drivers to obey the speed limit and hopefully will lead the drivers to obey all the other traffic law (like not stopping in the middle of a yellow box and such). think of this as an education.
after all (i repeat again), going over the speed limit is the most broken law in malaysia. by attacking the speed limit first, hopefully it will educate the malaysian drivers to follow the law...
the next favorite law to break for malaysia is the race against the traffic light aka u see the light turning red and u step on it...

i am all for AES....
no more cowboy style for them everytime they get behind the wheels...

now is the time for, u break the law, u freaking pay up...
end of story...
kcng
post Oct 27 2012, 08:17 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 26 2012, 09:05 PM)
Putting a blanket low speed limit regardless of the road condition will solve the problem with our driving syllabus?

A brand new Porsche requires more distance to stop from 130 kmh compared to a 7 years old Kancil stopping from 100kmh? Only God knows what is the condition of the Kancil's tyres, brakes, steering wheel and etc.

You break the speed limit law at a straight and wide road, you freaking pay up. You break the same speed limit law at a twisty road, nobody freaking cares, you break the lane hogging law, nobody freaking cares, you break the emergency lane law, nobody freaking cares, you break the tyre profile law, nobody freaking cares, you break the rear seat belts law, nobody freaking cares. They only care for the speed limit at a straight and wide road as it is the easiest thing to do and it is making freaking lots of money to them.
because i say, it is much easier to break the law at a straight wide road then at the corners as many people only know how to put their foot down on staights...

tell me how many people can speed in corners in malaysia?
chances are 95% of the drivers will end up in the ditch when they maintain the same speed on the straight thru the corners...
because it is a corner and they will slow down...
btw your definition of corners and mine might and probably will differ....

but frankly how many corners is long enough (as compared to straights) to put a camera there?

did u not get the point where i say speeding is easily the most broken law here in this country and by installing cameras at straight, wide open road, people can be cowed into following the law and hence hopefully be educated to follow traffic law? (and hopefully this will trickle down to other traffic law also)
education... key word here...

how about a 7 year old porsche braking distance compared to a brand new porsche?
or how heavy is a porsche compared to a kancil?
what if the kancil has brand new brakes and tyres and the porsche brake pad is finished and the tyres is bald?
physics law applies here...
(i rather not specify vehicle model but just state it as a vehicle)

do u also know that if a driver know how to use the brake properly, they can bring their vehicle speed down much faster?
but then again, did they teach u how to brake in driving school in malaysia?
i am sure also with your germany driving license, u should know what is the difference between the syllabus there and here...

aha, finally u decided to use the make money thingy... (i already say please fark the politics for now)
since u already know the location of AES camera, even if the speed limit is "ridiculously low" to your standard, why cant u just maintain that "ridiculously low" speed for 1-2 km... and then after that speed up again?
how many million ringgit in business u gonna lose by slowing down for 1-2 km? or how much time you gonna lose if u slow down for 1-2 km?
u dun wan to give money to those cronies, lower your speed at the camera's location...
solution is easy right and just located on your right foot...
no, malaysian choose to still make noise about it...
i just cant brain them...

This post has been edited by kcng: Oct 27 2012, 08:25 AM
kcng
post Oct 28 2012, 03:44 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 27 2012, 11:51 AM)
Such a long and detailed reply but yet to answer my question on how the low speed limit at a straight and wide road can solve the "driving syllabus" issue that we have here.

You also said that people can just slow down for 1-2 km and then speed back up, so how can the low speed limit at a wide and straight road make our road safer when that location is not even an accident prone area in the first place?
dude, are u blind to the fact that what i am saying so far is for education purposes?
and i have been trying to get the idea across to you, yet you are still oblivious to it...

did i say AES can solve the driving syllabus issue we have in this country?
i am saying AES is a measure that can at least try to reduce the number/chances of accident happening (hopefully with the fastest results)/trying to instantly educate the nonsense drivers we have now in the short term while the entire driving system/syllabus/whatever is revamped to produce better drivers in the future (that might take another 2-3 generation, i think)

i have stated before already...
and if i am to repeat it again, i dunno, u tell me, u have problem reading or understanding?

the bolded part
- again let me tell u, it is to educated people to respect the speed limit (aka law) because in a wide straight road is where drivers like you can only step on it and speed limit is the num 1 broken law in this cowboy country...

if u still cant get the idea or the bigger picture of it, then that is just too bad...
kcng
post Oct 28 2012, 10:20 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 28 2012, 09:24 AM)
Dude, you skipped the part where I mentioned your own statement about slowing down for 1-2km only, and yet you still want to talk about educating people to obey the law? You yourself are suggesting that people could slow down for a few kms only and speed back up. So do you honestly think that it is a good education for the drivers, to slow down because of a camera, even when the road is wide and clear, but not at a dangerous area? If you can't remember what you wrote before, let me qoute that for you so that you won't become a hipocrite.
i mention about slowing down for 1-2 km is because it is for people like u... get it?
or rather do u get the context of what i meant by that?

people who want to speed/break the law yet dont want to pay up...
so why can't you just slow down at the enforcement area and then speed up again...
no, u people want to just speed all the way...

dude, i think you are so disillusioned that your statements become a line by line attack instead of the context here....
can see that you are slowing swaying out side the main context here....

i mentioned many times about the education part already.... and there is no point for me to repeat it again to someone who just don't get it...

kcng
post Oct 28 2012, 10:43 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 28 2012, 10:45 AM)
Just like you don't get the point that forcing people to slow down at a straight and wide road won't be as effectice in making our road safer compared to forcing people to slow down at accident prone areas.

What's the point of forcing people to slow down for a few kms at areas when accidents are less likely to happen when people can speed back up at areas where accidents are more likely to happen.

Btw I am not the one saying that we are living in a cowboy country, you are the one saying it. If you think that we are living in a cowboy country, does it mean that most of the drivers are law breakers? Do you honestly think that most of the law breakers will slow down at accident prone areas without any camera around?

I want to give you another hard fact, just go to the Google Play and look how many downloads are there for the AES Detector app.

Let me state my point again, I am not against AES but I'm against its current speed limit implementation at current locations since it is not correctly addressing the problem to make our road safer.
dude, u keep running around towards your own goal....
there is a bigger picture that you cant see if you are 1 feet away, take a few steps back and you can see clearer...

once u go over the specified speed limit, u are a law breaker...
so yes, most (if not all) of the drivers are law breakers here...

the way malaysians like you drives on the road... what is the different between that and a cowboy country?

what speed limit implementation is there to argue about?
the speed limit for the implemented stretch has been around even before the AES camera is deployed... but people do not follow the displayed speed limit...
so now when the same stretch has camera deployed... hah... baru la nak bising...

cold hard facts about AES detector app?
go ahead, like i care how many apps are there out there for AES...
even if u are using one, its none of my business anyway...
i break the law, i pay... end of story... don't want to pay, follow the law la...
what is so hard about this that most malaysians like you cant seem to understand?
kcng
post Oct 29 2012, 11:19 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Oct 29 2012, 09:14 AM)
Currently there are more than 100k people have downloaded the AES detector app from Google Play Store, I'm not sure why so many of them have downloaded the app. Maybe they want to know the locations of the cameras and like what you said before:

Let's say that even if it is only 1% of those who use the app did not slow down at accident prone areas like a twisty road, it means that more than 1k people are endangering themselves and others. Then let's say that only 1% of those drivers ended up in a ditch (which is a lot less that your estimate below), it means that 10 of them will be in the ditch. 10 people might not seem much but these 10 people are the ones that are normally ended up in the accident statistics.

Don't you think that putting the cameras at those accident prone areas would have a greater effect in making our road safer compared to putting them at straight and wide roads?
[attachmentid=3125825]
arghhhhh...

nvm la...
i take my leave la...

0.2105sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:21 AM