Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v16

ramz
post Aug 10 2012, 03:40 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 10 2012, 02:31 PM)
how long does the yoobao 11200 mah powerbank take to full charge?
about 7 hours. yeah, its long

Added on August 10, 2012, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(ChipZ @ Aug 10 2012, 03:28 PM)
I am new to android, just switched from iOS. Not dare to root. How can I disable it? What other apps which are unnecessary? Allshareplay? S-planner?
welcome to the club. i'm also from iOS. well, actually still on iOS. anyway, welcome. this is the real definition of jailbreaking your ios!

don't root then. u still have lot of freedom even without rooting. just leave the bloatware apps alone for now. u have enough power still even with those apps lurking around.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 10 2012, 03:46 PM
ramz
post Aug 12 2012, 03:11 PM

21,306 posts

guys mau tanya:
I have rooted my phone, however is still on stock XXBLG1.

Now, i installed an app called "Secure Settings", and will proceed to install the secure settings helper. the writeup says
"The secure settings helper is a secondary application that works in conjunction with this plugin. By leveraging root access, it allows you to toggle, ADB, GPS, Input Method, pattern lock and more!. The helper requires root access because of where it needs to be installed. Android grants applications in the system partition access to more secure settings. root is only used to move the helper into the system partition. Once there the helper is just a listener that executes commands this plugin sends"

Here is my question:
if i proceed to install, will it affect my next firmware upgrade in a way that it will wipe my apps and data? coz i am afraid with the keywords the write up above is using = "system partition"

Please advice. thanks.

Added on August 12, 2012, 3:13 pm
QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 12 2012, 03:04 PM)
REMINDER Zero piracy tolerance policy. People like u are killing the very platform u love most. If Devaser don't get money stop developing. If they stop developing the platform dies. Think it won't happen? Its what happenned to windows mobile.

VACATION GIVEN
yeah 0.99usd pun mau pirate. hai. i spend 20rm a month on apps. 20rm a month won't make me poor. malaysia still 4th world mentality.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 12 2012, 03:13 PM
ramz
post Aug 13 2012, 08:32 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Aug 13 2012, 07:31 PM)
I dropped my phoneFl first time from a shelves at about the height of 1.5m. . But I don't see any scratches. .

Considering to root my phone but afraid that something went wrong and I dunno how to fix it at then. Instruction seems simple.  All the firm ware sounds so confusing to me
It took me 2 years to root my phone finally. It's straightforward.

Added on August 13, 2012, 8:34 pm
QUOTE(Jintex @ Aug 13 2012, 08:27 PM)
Thats why , nvr ever buy android phones. Really dumping ur money down the drain. You lose money faster than gambling. You dont lose 800 in 9 days with an iphone!
Well. If u never gonna sell it again it's actually better that the price drops fast. Who cares if u not selling it

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 13 2012, 08:34 PM
ramz
post Aug 14 2012, 03:32 PM

21,306 posts

u think its safe to update on rooted phones? scared la.
ramz
post Aug 14 2012, 03:41 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 14 2012, 03:34 PM)
what's wrong with updating on a rooted phone?
i dono, coz i changed some apps to "system" status. i wonder if got side affects for this case.
ramz
post Aug 14 2012, 03:46 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(tridibsahabd @ Aug 14 2012, 03:43 PM)
Updated ota on my rooted phone. Had cf recovery. Local search still there.
so is ok to update XXBLH1 to my rooted phone ha? even if i upgraded some apps to system status? what u mean by had "cff recovery"?
ramz
post Aug 14 2012, 04:00 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(tridibsahabd @ Aug 14 2012, 03:54 PM)
Should be alright if you didn't remove any system apps. Last time didn't work coz I removed chat on.

Chainfire recovery needed. V1.5. Use cf root 6.3 or higher.

Can anyone confirm that the crackling issue has been resolved? I don't notice it anymore
what do u mean by "Chainfire recovery needed. V1.5"? i know i have to reroot again. but i refer that to just doing the CF root process again. so when u say"Chainfire recovery needed. V1.5" meaning there is another step besides rerooting i should know about?

please help i am not confident. i scared i do something wrong and nobody to help me.
ramz
post Aug 14 2012, 05:05 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(ranc79 @ Aug 14 2012, 04:06 PM)
if you r still using stock rom with cf-root 6.3 or above only.. then just update it.. it will be ok. cause i'm also at stock with cf-root only.. just re-run the cf-root after the update..

cf-root 6.3 n above allow you to run the ota with the root
i rooted with odin using CF-Root-SGS3-v6.4. so like u said, just update ota, then rerun the cf root 6.4. ok here goes....

Added on August 14, 2012, 5:07 pm
QUOTE(tridibsahabd @ Aug 14 2012, 04:04 PM)
What recovery do you have now? How did you root? Even if you try to update and it fails it won't affect your phone. Coz it will fail at verification. But if you're not confident, use Kies method or Odin.
as above, i root using odin, using file CF-Root-SGS3-v6.4. ok. thanks a lot for the help guys. appreciate it.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 14 2012, 05:07 PM
ramz
post Aug 14 2012, 06:02 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(Sky04 @ Aug 14 2012, 05:49 PM)
guys.. May I know what sort of apps do you guys use to monitor the phone temperature?
can u measure phone temperature? i dono how they do it, but there isn't any termometer sensor in the phone. not that i know of. so if there is then its probably not precise. it probably derived from some funny conditions.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 14 2012, 06:03 PM
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 09:13 AM

21,306 posts

I have done an ota on xxblh1 onto my rooted stock firmware and everything went smoothly.. After that I ran the rooting process again to gain back the root access. No issues. Just reporting
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 09:42 AM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 15 2012, 09:15 AM)
can't get OTA since last9. no patient wait so straight away update via kies.
i dono. i done 3 updates. and only this one i can do from the phone (no need kies, odin). i dono why. i think when the server gets to bog down with requests it will just reject subsequent requests. that is my theory. just do it through kies and odin as an alternative.
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 11:00 AM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Aug 15 2012, 10:57 AM)
soo.... whats new?
my bat seems to last longer. since 7am to now drop 7% which is quite good coz i been using it for 30min off and on. dono lah. don't take my word for it though. is just a hunch.
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 11:02 AM

21,306 posts

OTA doesn't work all the time. accept it. i had 3 updates and only the latest one i able to use OTA. is like that depending on the server whether he like u or not.
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 03:21 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Aug 15 2012, 02:51 PM)
Guys, urgent here. I am trying to root my phone for the first time and it failed in Odin. It says <ID:0/009> Complete(Write) operation failed.

What could possibly gone wrong? My phone is at the screen where there is a green android robot. How can get out of this and back to the normal screen?
u probably got the wrong tar file in the PDA field. probably.

to get out of the green screen, remove the battery. i was also wondering, then i google the problem, and the solution is as what i thought- remove the battery.
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 04:14 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(yongchin89 @ Aug 15 2012, 04:12 PM)
btw, i saw a few black spot when im in dark room and phone is black wallpaper, i google for it and many ppl say it is normal, any ideas?
its a normal abnormality
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 04:29 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 15 2012, 04:20 PM)
i prefer waze compared to sygic, simply because
1. it's cute
2. it's social power nod.gif
1. waze u use awhile only no more battery.
2. waze can't work out of town.
3. waze is for fun. sygic means business.
ramz
post Aug 15 2012, 05:16 PM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Aug 15 2012, 05:05 PM)
live wallpaper really makan battery lol.. didn't stream much vids or browse... from 7am till 4pm its already 5% now!

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:07 pm

What do you mean by business in your third point?
its more serious in the gps business.
instructions are very clear and non-vague.
it gets u to the door step.
doesn't have munchies. serious apps have no munchies
i find it more reliable.

but don't get me wrong, i still use waze. but its more for places that i actually know the directions. just to get points.
ramz
post Aug 16 2012, 05:43 AM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Aug 16 2012, 01:39 AM)
Our jellybean leaked..not much changes though
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/08/15/le...tification-bar/
Thanks for the link. Was it just me or did I just noticed some subtle lag on certain instances. I think it happened on 2 occasions. one during scrolling the icons and one during opening an app.
ramz
post Aug 16 2012, 05:45 AM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Aug 16 2012, 12:34 AM)
new swiftkey update has support for malay and got new themes! biggrin.gif
Download it guys. Major improvement when writing on this forum. The cursor placement is now precise unlike before.

Added on August 16, 2012, 5:47 am
QUOTE(Kyno @ Aug 16 2012, 05:45 AM)
Why my s3 always lag ? And apps always crash
Custom rom? What app? It is not lagging on mine.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 16 2012, 05:47 AM
ramz
post Aug 16 2012, 10:22 AM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(peachmonkey @ Aug 16 2012, 07:44 AM)
What's the new camera firmware code? Just want to compare before I update and after I update the camera.
How did you guys update swiftkey? I didn't receive any update notification yet. Or did you search for the update manually?
Update though play store

0.0436sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:00 AM