Laptop modding, Mod the fan

TSchooikw
post Jan 28 2006, 06:11 PM, updated 20y ago

125 posts

Did anyone try with modding the laptop fan before? My laptop is using pc processor which leads to noisy fan. I'm looking a better way for its cooling system so that it can cool down the processor while doesn't make so much noise. Any idea?
lucifah
post Jan 28 2006, 07:03 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

get a notebook cooler

habis cerita liao...
superdav007
post Jan 30 2006, 01:56 PM

1,072 posts

if u open & change the internal parts u can void ur warranty....
amirsubhi
post Feb 2 2006, 04:34 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

hurm..u can..juz becarefull..n one more thing...there's not much thing u can do in da laptop cooling..maybe juz remove the thermal paste n subsitute wit artic silver 5...(hey it works for me)
amyhs99
post Feb 4 2006, 12:21 AM

3,807 posts

as5 + notebook cooler...

THE END

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
DaBaD
post Feb 4 2006, 01:20 AM

264 posts

openning the laptop parts to apply AS5? Just be sure to take lots of pics while disassembling ur laptop...who knows after reassembly u may have an extra screw tongue.gif
Torniquet
post Feb 4 2006, 09:48 AM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

best solution....notebook cooler....
gerrard capashen
post Feb 16 2006, 06:25 AM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

owh.. i thought ur lappy fan got problem that make loud noise.. what laptop brand do u use?? until now i already dissamble several laptop.. Asus i think quite easy to open the CPu compartment.. i also applied AS5 to my previous laptop
Torniquet
post Feb 16 2006, 10:07 AM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

then i might void ur warranty liao lor???
if future wanna RMA also cannot liao
gerrard capashen
post Feb 16 2006, 04:55 PM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

mine.. warranty already expired.. eventhough, got no warranty when buy..
emmeir
post Mar 3 2006, 12:10 PM

1,526 posts

best solution is notebook cooler..
gestapo
post Mar 3 2006, 04:01 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

maybe can try to put it Gfx fan inside if small enuf lar. btw i think those pc manufacturer is charging way high for a fan replacement.. if u found out ways to mod by urself pls lemme know cos i got one compaq here will only run around 15mins before hanging. vmad.gif
Sim (2)
post Mar 4 2006, 02:22 AM

¬¬ Wacha Luctking at?
2,360 posts

lol.. the best way to solve your notebook from overheated.. USE NOTEBOOK COOLER!
gerrard capashen
post Mar 5 2006, 10:44 PM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

QUOTE(gestapo @ Mar 3 2006, 04:01 PM)
maybe can try to put it Gfx fan inside if small enuf lar. btw i think those pc manufacturer is charging way high for a fan replacement.. if u found out ways to mod by urself pls lemme know cos i got one compaq here will only run around 15mins before hanging. vmad.gif
may be u can put the pic of ur fan, then other can give idea how to do it..
SUSHaM7
post May 4 2006, 06:21 PM

Team Eclipse = Geng Team!!
39 posts

get the darn notebook cooler lar end of the story use brain lar
tutiger
post May 28 2006, 08:44 PM

415 posts

Notebook cooler is never the end of the story, my friend. I've been using it for 4 years plus and I think now my laptop USB a bit 'gila-gila' power problem (short-short tei), I think.

Plug in 3 USB stuffs and my PC start to hang. Put in PCMCIA also have "kong" 1 USB2.0 card and a WiFi card sad.gif

Thinking of plugging to AC but too many wires making the desk messy. Sigh! My side of the story is that prolonged use of the Notebook Cooler might risk undervolting your PC on its USB usage.

This post has been edited by tutiger: May 28 2006, 09:08 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 28 2006, 09:00 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(HaM7 @ May 4 2006, 06:21 PM)
get the darn notebook cooler lar end of the story use brain lar
Very smart rclxms.gif If use notebook cooler CAN solve the problem...I'll chop ar. bruce.gif

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: May 29 2006, 12:00 AM
tutiger
post May 28 2006, 09:37 PM

415 posts

I 'm gonna explain myself. rclxub.gif

Notebook Cooler helps in cooling down the Notebook thumbup.gif
but it won't solve your problem especially when it comes to the processor shakehead.gif

It's like adding a fan on the outside of your PC and a faulty fan at the processor

This post has been edited by tutiger: May 28 2006, 10:18 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 29 2006, 02:32 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chooikw @ Jan 28 2006, 06:11 PM)
Did anyone try with modding the laptop fan before? My laptop is using pc processor which leads to noisy fan. I'm looking a better way for its cooling system so that it can cool down the processor while doesn't make so much noise. Any idea?
Ok...now have a bit more time.

First of all, notebook coolers don't really work.

Yeah there's fans and all but what it really does is cool the plastic and doesn't
really do much for what's inside.

In some situations, especially with the older notebook designs whereby the air intake is on the bottom of the notebook..it helps by raising the notebook up from the desk and hence improving intake but thats about it.

Since it's highly unlikely that you'll be able to find a fan to replace ur stock notebook fan (they're custom made for each model by the way)... the only practical suggestion would be to improve the thermal interface.

The pic below is a typical lappy thermal module for P4 cpu's... see all that mess on the base? Remove that junk with alcohol and replace them with some proper thermal paste. That should help a lil.

Additionally, just do like what we do on desktop... clear the fan from dust and the intake grill as well.

lolhalol
post May 29 2006, 02:52 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ya man...i just took apart my compaq lappy yesterday ..i wuz havng similar problems but also with my hdd so i just applied as5 to almost everything i think produces heat... then put everything back got like loads of exra screews...haja bt still working...im using it right now to typr this message...bt my other compaq is bad lah..i try to dimatle it ..accidently drop it..bt the lcd still working amazing.....so i took it out and now its in the garage sales...

0.0228sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:49 PM