Hi-Fi An USB ESS sabre DAC, Simply a performer.

LittleGhost
post Aug 2 2012, 09:39 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2012, 02:08 PM)
- im not old kaki, please elaborate laugh.gif

- well it can be an option to some, do put some consideration smile.gif

- i kiasu, want big current, big everything.  rolleyes.gif
no real reason to have big currents for your DAC output.

I'm very lazy to type this now. Perhaps I'll elaborate tomorrow on the technical details of this DAC chip, and why it is better to have it confined rather than add needless "upgrades" which defeats the purpose of this DAC.

This is good stuff. At least trust me on this one. Bug me so I can type it out if any of you are interested.
LittleGhost
post Aug 2 2012, 10:01 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2012, 09:55 PM)
from my perspective, if the upgrade over my existing setup is insignificant, i dont see a point in spending an extra cent.

This DAC is meant to give you ALOT for a LITTLE money.

No real reason to get this when you're already comfortable with a Buffallo II level DAC.

in other words, i am using DACport (or more specifically LX ver without the internal amp) as a benchmark, as it is very heavily priced, however it isnt that much better than my creative sound card running on ASIO. at least, it isnt good enough for me to splurge 1k for it is what i'm trying to say.

precisely.

so having something so small, without having all the fancy capacitors and whatever engineering marvels that we might see in a higher ranged DAC, that also usually sports a dedicated power supply/source requirement too, just have a lot to prove for itself. (which i also request for an audition naturally)

There is no need for a dedicated PSU, the thing is already regulated with a LDO!

lastly not having cover, for something that i will probably never move at all plugging in my pc's back ports, which the pc is sitting on the floor level, is just asking for lots of dust or dirt to accumulate. over time, this could potentially have static damage or have further accelerated oxidization on the unit itself. i'm sure this could at least be a valid concern and a good suggestion to be put into consideration, no?
That is honestly his style laugh.gif It helps to bring down cost a lot. Go dig up his old thread. It was already like this back then.
LittleGhost
post Aug 2 2012, 10:08 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2012, 10:06 PM)
buffallo II level DAC? dont think i am familiar with that.

but yeah i've dug up his thread. it really is an option for consumers considering he IS selling his product, no?
not everyone like their stuff naked, just the point i am making.

think of it as a car, or maybe a phone. not everone likes to drive around with just a wireframe on wheels, or having their phone internal parts exposed while it's in your pocket or while you're carrying it around. imagine a random water splash/spill, whoops there goes your android/iphone/windows phone (or w/e phone) that you spent 2k on sad.gif
Perhaps he would offer it in the future who knows lol.

Point being is that it is unfeasible for the nature of his sales ATM I would reckon.

EDIT: Going to sreep, kerja awal tomolo.

Anyway, I don't know the dimensions, but it seems to me it would be an incredibly simple thing to retrofit a case for it. I think there should be an abundant of cases we can use for it.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Aug 2 2012, 10:09 PM
LittleGhost
post Aug 14 2012, 12:13 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Aug 13 2012, 08:16 PM)
so to get the best out of it we must put the volume at 100% for both the player and also in out computer system than control the volume through the amp volume control?
Yes.

Added on August 14, 2012, 12:14 pm
QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Aug 14 2012, 02:38 AM)
forget already most of the audio/video player PC software having their own stock volume controller.
Doesn't matter. Any software attenuation causes lost in bits information.

Unless you have 24 bits to work with.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Aug 14 2012, 12:14 PM
LittleGhost
post Aug 16 2012, 05:23 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Aug 16 2012, 01:42 AM)
does it mean if i connect an Amp to my Mp3 player, i need to max out the vol of my mp3 player and control the volume using the amp in order not to lost any bits ?
Yes.

not only due potential loss of bits, but also highest SNR when you're at your max volume.

Then again, if you don't have line out, any amp = waste.
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 02:45 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 01:40 PM)
[img]http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k240/ofey_s/Stoner/UD100-05.jpg[/mimg]

UD100 next to ODAC.

Surprisingly UD100 measured very well in RMAA, even against ODAC. I think it is safe to say for now, at least for my ears, UD100 is 95% of an ODAC if not more. Really excellent USB DAC for the price.
What is your rmaa setup like?
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 07:45 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 07:41 PM)
Nothing fancy: PC - (USB DAC) - O2 - Behringer UHA222 for line-in. Didn't use any load for O2 because it doesn't matter in this case. I am just looking for the difference between USB DAC. I would have forgone the O2 if UD100's volume is adjustable on Windows.

For listening, it is PC - USB DAC - O2 - RE0.
Are you sourcing them with the same PC? Because if you are, you're having ground loops -> hence problematic results.
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 07:55 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 07:51 PM)
Fortunately, ground loop isn't a problem on my PC. I tried two PC setup before and it doesn't make much difference. Also played with USB isolator before as well.
Ground loops is not PC dependent. It's when you tie an "extra" ground with the sleeve of the jack when the ground is already shared within the same PC.

To be honest, RMAA is rarely a good gauge of absolute performance. It's very finnicky. I kinda side with nwaguy in RMAA's case.
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 08:34 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 08:02 PM)
I don't disagree that RMAA isn't the greatest of tools, but it is free. If I have that kind of setup like NvAvGuy, I'll learn how to use them. But till then, RMAA is here to stay. However, the key is to know RMAA limit and know what to look for (and what not to). Even with a bad tool, it can still work if you know how to use it right. Which is why I measure the UD100 against ODAC, which has been well documented. By looking at the difference between result instead of pure number, a lot of things can still be told.

Well, if that fail, I still have my ears and a digital SPL meter to match the volume.
Tried ARTA yet?
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2012, 08:39 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Aug 17 2012, 08:38 PM)
Heard of it but never try. I thought it is a shareware, no?
naw mate.

My senior used it for his FYP.
LittleGhost
post Aug 28 2012, 08:12 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Aug 28 2012, 05:50 PM)
the DAC arrived last friday, but since i wasnt home i had to take it today at the post office.

now, im using an old discontinued headphone by sony mdr-v150, the padding's seal is no more and the clamp is loose enough to fall of your head if you tilt too much.
but the DAC turned it into a whole new headphone. i noticed some details i had missed in some songs.
no amping though. but listening even at low volumes still produce good quality.
where do you stay?

Perhaps I can lend you an amp.

LittleGhost
post Aug 28 2012, 08:32 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Aug 28 2012, 08:15 PM)
cyberjaya. im waiting for a new set of headphones though so you might want to lend it later.a
also, i dont have much lossless. 320kbps ya
what?

I use youtube for my music these days. I don't get to criticize others on their shitty sauces.

I'll be beck to cyber perhaps in one month+ or so.
LittleGhost
post Aug 28 2012, 09:18 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Aug 28 2012, 09:14 PM)
what a coincidence, im in MMU too laugh.gif
i've never been to any meetups at all, its been only 2-3 weeks i had started to browse this Audiophiles section.
dafuq?

You were in MMU?

For masters? Which course? It's weird I've never met you before at all.
LittleGhost
post Aug 30 2012, 09:06 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Iqbal_kakashi @ Aug 28 2012, 09:51 PM)
Wow, I thought of making a new thread to ask is there any audiophile that are in MMU, and now I don't have too.  biggrin.gif
You're in MMU too? This is great, can learn a lot from you. smile.gif
I'm too enrolling in degree, new student. This october intake, oh ya, I'll be in FOE.
Final sem.

Doing my blardy interns now then can graduate d. Late by one trimester because I switched my majors tongue.gif

Perhaps all of us could meet one of these days. chchyong89 is in my year too, FOE as well.
LittleGhost
post Sep 1 2012, 09:57 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(amir93 @ Sep 1 2012, 09:57 AM)
so it's possible if don't use an amp ? i tot it required an amp..sweat.gif
yes you need an amp.

The thing runs only at 16 bit. Any attenuation = loss of information.

Besides, the output stage is not meant for direct drive.
LittleGhost
post Sep 2 2012, 08:14 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 2 2012, 01:28 AM)
Aww man. More moolah need la liddat :3
Found a sweet deal on hippo box+ but the lack of volume control is a turnoff. I don't want my ears to explode LOL.
What's a good portable amp suitable for this? Aside from FiiO lineup?
you competent with a soldering iron or not?

I has leftover pint PCBs i got for free from hohodiy. I can give you one for free tongue.gif
LittleGhost
post Sep 3 2012, 06:16 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Sep 3 2012, 01:24 AM)
Eh what happen to your amp project? I suddenly remembered  rclxub.gif

Aiyoo, give pcb only to him?  laugh.gif
You can solder or not? tongue.gif (i have more than one left IIRC)

There's an embarrassingly long story regarding the desktop amp i posted a while ago.

There was a hard disk crash immediately a week later after I posted the circuit. I lost almost 90% of my own work and other valuable resources I've collected over the years. Tried to send it to china for recovery but no dice till now.

It's a great deal of pain I had to go through. Yes I was stupid for not having it backed up. Now I have to rebuild a lot of the things I made before. I have a few new things to offer maybe next month or so. Will post a clarification on the mentioned thread afterwards.

This time everything I have is in the cloud system, albeit minus the huge valuable resources I once had sad.gif

EDIT: Cringing hard even as I post this. God damn the memories are coming back to haunt me again.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Sep 3 2012, 06:18 AM
LittleGhost
post Sep 5 2012, 12:26 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Sep 4 2012, 10:42 PM)
wont it heat the components inside? the back also need to be closed 2 biggrin.gif . btw do you make the dac yourself?
Won't heat up la, low power one.
LittleGhost
post Sep 5 2012, 05:18 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 5 2012, 04:42 PM)
well, soldering is hotter than heating up the heat shrink sleeve.
so i guess it is totally safe for the components
This.

LittleGhost
post Sep 5 2012, 10:08 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(zy_xcup @ Sep 5 2012, 06:25 PM)
i got one question.
after i using it with my potplayer, it seem potplayer only can produce sound using the DAC. So ive been using it for watching movies. So, does it change the sound?
change windows sound device to USB audio.

0.1470sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:27 PM