mydragoon
post Aug 1 2012, 11:22 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ee7han @ Aug 1 2012, 01:50 AM)
umobile vs digi?

big difference?

i'm using digi now, and i am VERY pissed with the coverage/connectivity.

any idea how can i migrate to umobile using same number?
to answer the easy Q first... yes, can port the number to u-mobile. i have done that with one of my numbers.

to answer your other Q... i ported that one number from Digi to UMobile. another number, waiting for contract to expire before deciding.

the thing with Digi is... they cap two things -- download speed & monthly download. speed is capped at about 728kbps... you can sometimes get slightly more than 1000kbps. the monthly quota... depends on your package. the problem for me is... the speed cap. this means even if your phone can supposed high speed download, you can't do it coz... digi is putting speed limit!

i'm not sure if digi is going to change that once they finish the nationwide LTE upgrade (supposedly la)... i feel it's pointless to have limits on speed and quota. i dun mind quota... but the speed... it means that i spend extra time on the network downloading something... when if i have faster speed, i can finish faster.

but u mobile... good only at klang valley and maybe 1-2 bigger cities in MY.

my advice -- go get a prepaid pack from 7-11. costs only like rm8 and you have rm5 credit. test out the coverage at your regular locations. if you get the data coverage, etc... then good la. means get ready to port...

i have reached like 6mbps on umobile... it can be that fast! biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 16 2012, 04:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Jul 27 2012, 12:46 PM)
got 2 option,
1. At Mobile network settings, select Network mode to WCDMA only. In this mode, no matter where you are, you will be only in 3G. So if no network, it will no coverage at all. No auto to 2G celcom.

2. get the widget got airplane mode/flight mode. Or mobile network widget. Turn it on and off again. It take 10 sec, faster than you search the network by manually.
tried on on my S2 and also GNote -- press & hold power button to get the option to restart/ airplane mode/ etc.

selected airplane mode. then disabled airplane mode. din work. still at roaming.

then tried disabling the data mode (using the same power button method). also din work.

seems have to go to settings --> network... *sigh* so troublesome.
mydragoon
post Aug 31 2012, 06:42 PM

7,044 posts

anyone noticed the speed has dropped? previously able to get like 3Mbps but lately, less than 1 mbps.

also, lately, when I search network, u mobile 3g no longer appears as the name. only u mobile or u mobile 2g. I'm now wondering if u mobile had started to ride on Maxis backbone, but with throttled speed.
mydragoon
post Sep 3 2012, 08:30 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Sep 1 2012, 03:02 PM)
maybe fixing sth ... ya u mobile or u mobile 2g, but speed ok.

(didn't dare try those speedtest often, they suck the volume heavily if at high speed)
speed not so ok for me... at the same place where i used to be able to get 3-4mbps... now only about 1mbps.

anyway, was told by u mobile that they are transitioning to maxis. supposedly for data too... meaning nation-wide data coverage now?!? <-- i didn't ask to confirm...

but i hope so...
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2012, 10:19 AM

7,044 posts

just sharing my experience as post paid user... and feel free to comment/ correct me if i'm wrong...

* customer service can really suck. then again, i've used maxis and digi. no difference. biggrin.gif but u mobile CS improved a lot since 6 months ago... that time, recall being put on hold for more than 1 hour!!! gave up and hung up.

* they have stupid processes and requirements... like needing passport to enable IDD. and some more need deposit. most telco dun require deposit for IDD anymore la... there is already credit limit for post paid ma... if deposit to increase credit limit for roaming, ok la... plus, some ppl dun have passport leh...

* overseas sms... sending and receiving... seems to be a hit or miss. meaning... sometimes dun get the sms at all. i found out recently that my overseas fren sms to me did not arrive after he emailed and asked if i got the message. not sure of this is related to IDD (i have yet to activate IDD since where got ppl carry passport around everywhere!? myKad also they dun accept...

* callerID dun appear properly... i was calling my phone from office number and the number appeared as my office general number instead of my extension... called my colleague's phone... appeared as my extension. so, it's probably some system settings on u mobile's side... small issue... but can be annoying. coz... how to call back to the person if number dun appear correctly?!?

but all in... still happy la... it's really value for money. i want fast download... and u mobile gives me that.
mydragoon
post Oct 16 2012, 09:59 AM

7,044 posts

u mobile data network is down?!? dun seem to have connection at the moment -- bangsar, kl.

also... called customer service number but was given a recording "number not in service".
mydragoon
post Oct 16 2012, 10:18 AM

7,044 posts

yup... my data connection restored...
mydragoon
post Jan 31 2013, 11:25 AM

7,044 posts

using mobile 3G on phone.

bangsar area... connection seems a bit bad since about 1 hour ago. connection is erratic. ping is kinda bad. download speed is bad... 5xx kbps when it is usually much better. same with upload speed.

i might just lodge a case with u mobile.
mydragoon
post Feb 18 2013, 03:12 PM

7,044 posts

same here... reporting from Bangsar. shows connected to H... but actually can't access anything.
mydragoon
post Feb 18 2013, 03:21 PM

7,044 posts

really teruk case... tried calling CS to see what is wrong... just to get... "the number cannot be reached now. please try again later."

this is bad... can't they just switch off the network and let us roam on Maxis? biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Feb 18 2013, 03:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ray_band @ Feb 18 2013, 03:18 PM)
same goes to nilai..^^
looks like possible nationwide outage?!? dem... just when i wanted to show off... :S
mydragoon
post Feb 18 2013, 03:23 PM

7,044 posts

latest update... data totally off... not even H now. sad.gif
mydragoon
post Feb 18 2013, 04:17 PM

7,044 posts

looks like nationwide... from johor... the seremban... klang valley...

anyone from ipoh and penang? or east coast report same thing?
mydragoon
post Feb 18 2013, 04:24 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Feb 18 2013, 04:12 PM)
great LTE upgrade in progess?
i wish but i am fairly certain UM dun have LTE plans... unless their agreement with Maxis lets them ride on Maxis LTE.

anyway, sold off my LTE phone... so, got or not... i dun really care. but i dun mind if their highspeed network coverage gets bigger... so far, at my regular places... i only get like 2-3mbps. except after lunch today... 0mbps.:S
mydragoon
post Feb 18 2013, 04:32 PM

7,044 posts

up again... biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 13 2013, 01:26 PM

7,044 posts

suddenly data down again... :S

bangsar, kl area...
mydragoon
post Jun 25 2013, 11:32 AM

7,044 posts

haiz... anyone noticed the past 1-2 weeks, data network in Klang Valley area very bad... up and down... up and down... even though full bar and shows H+ on my phone, i can't really do anything...
mydragoon
post Jun 25 2013, 11:33 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 23 2013, 01:01 PM)
Umobile

20GB for rm128.
YES

20GB for rm180
where and how you get that speed for u mobile?
mydragoon
post Jun 25 2013, 11:51 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 25 2013, 11:32 AM)
haiz... anyone noticed the past 1-2 weeks, data network in Klang Valley area very bad... up and down... up and down... even though full bar and shows H+ on my phone, i can't really do anything...
called CS and they said there were some works being done in Bangsar and expect the intermittent connection to continue till this evening...

i really wonder if there's maintenance and blame haze would be better... rclxub.gif thumbup.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 26 2013, 03:25 PM

7,044 posts

we should all blast u mobile on twitter, etc and ask for compensation...

i feel we should coz take for example my case... i'm very close to my quota (since coming to month end) and i was downloading stuffs halfway when suddenly no download... then i have to restart download again, etc...

0.0331sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:47 AM