Steam The impending "problem" with Steam, opinions, opinions everywhere

Boldnut
post Jul 21 2012, 10:42 PM

2,209 posts

total biscuit has his point, in the long term this steam is bad for consumer as well.

and Valve is a cancer among all developers, no developer likes to share their cut to valve. Never.

And only way to stop this shit is to

have mega publisher+ all developers should just gang up on valve and develope an open source digital client,that is equally powerful.With 1 thing, the client are only responsible for grouping the all ur games together/storing Cd-keys etc in 1 client for consumer. But the game download/patch server are link all the way back to the developer ftp server themselves. So in other words,the page for the game, the Download bandwidth/ ftp server, patching server, are all maintained by developer itselfs just like how facebook work now. With everything maintain by developer, there is not need for developerto share the cut to 3rd party, games will be cheap this way also.

then Consumer also get 1 client only = Everybody win

I mean how expensive can manage just login and CD-keys? every developer share the cost can make this common server run flawlessly with ftp/patch server running on their own.

Boldnut
post Jul 21 2012, 11:07 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Jul 21 2012, 10:59 PM)
thing is, valve handles all the upkeep cost of the servers and the bandwidth and the patching system is far easier than the ones by microsoft

logically speaking, giving 30% of your profit to use a system where you can patch your games easily, and not having to pay for bandwidth, free marketing as well as tapping the potential consumer base of nearly 30 million users sounds like a good deal to me

we all fear the day valve become full retard and personally i hope that day never comes and all form of drm, client becomes one (steam preferbally XD)

it is not good deal to some developer who is capable to do everything themselves. And u are not developer, u are not valve, u do not know how much these developer pays valve. Valve do not offer steam as charity by charging the upkeep cost without profit.

There is a reason why some developer choose to avoid using steam, they is the reason why EA move all their future games within their server. Maintaining server urself sometimes is cheaper, it also allows u to choose ur best provider to maintain the servers. EA do not have to pay valve's cut of profit.

Server upkeep cost alone is cheaper than paying someone pocket(valve) + server upkeep cost.

With these big guys like EA/Ubisoft moving out, u'll see the reason why they hate to share their cut to valve.

Boldnut
post Jul 21 2012, 11:15 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2012, 11:01 PM)
the cost can be huge, and which developer/publisher want to fork out that upfront cost? not to mention they will be competing to steam directly which is already established.

its a decent idea, however practical or not, in the end it still boils down to financing/marketing decisions which is kinda on the bad side

I dont think develop a simple login/DRM tracking software like steam is expensive. It is just an authentication client that group all the games they a player own, and link the ftp server back to the developer. Just like torrent websites, they host nothing, just a link.

I mean these big game developer is capable of develop a game that are easily far more complex & expensive to develop and giving out free sometimes. So this kind of Open-source client should cost peanut to them.

the real problem is everyone EA/UBI/blizzard trying to complete on their own with their own version of client, instead of sitting on the same table to give consumer a better open fair platform.

Boldnut
post Jul 22 2012, 12:34 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2012, 11:28 PM)
software development is NOT cheap lol.
if you've ever been involved in the costing of those you would immediately understand.

hell, try look at the pricing for corporate software, some of the figures are in so many digits it would even make you dizzy just by a glance at it.

and no, it is not just a simple form of authentication. having weak security/authentication means your servers are prone to hackers, in which having breach, you could be potentially losing a lot of sensitive information/data, having your games full of cheaters, or worse, losing the confidence in your customers which means losing revenue/income which ultimately means you're going to close down.

It is not cheap but definately NOT super expensive than the total cut that these developer pays valves every game they sold/release. EA/Ubi/Blizzard have their own clients, so are many MMOs including the free ones have their clients. It is not hard to make a client. I dont see how this can be hard if at least the "big 5" developers sit on the same table start their own common client put their AAA titles there, EA went risky Origin with BF3, and it pays off handsomely. Now they are half-way off the grid from Steam. It just that they(big developers) arent willing to talk the same tone to ditch valve.

QUOTE(kokweng1 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:30 PM)
the developer then need to host multiple server in different region,
is not cheap to maintain so many server.

Also, as Quazacolt said, what they paid to steam is not only maintaining the server fees, there also include thing like advertising

I think quazacolt meant that adding up the advertising fees valve is charging further worsten the revenue. U will need to pay Valves cut/profit as well. Not is not just the server upkeep and advertising. I mentioned that in previous post already, valve are not here providing all these service @ cost doing charity, the developer are paying server upkeep + valve profit + adversting + valve profit. Valve are earning nice profit out from just providing service from it. Thats the biggest problem with developers hating steam because they DO NOT want to share their profit to valve.

In general the Steam ecosystem are only benefitial to small developers who couldnt afford to distribute their game across the world in global scale.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 22 2012, 12:41 AM
Boldnut
post Jul 22 2012, 10:27 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 22 2012, 10:02 AM)
EA didnt quite get paid off with their origin. notice how much outcry that caused. as TB mentioned, had EA been valve launching their steam, it would've sounded VERY different. then again, steam back then had their share of outcries too. just that today, it is impossible to have an outcry because they can't; with reasons i (and TB) have pointed out above

also, i meant that if your games are on steam, it automatically gets advertised due to the larger user base and/or sales.
i honestly do not believe that steam has an extra charge to advertise your games. EVEN IF they do, it is still a form of good/effective advertising that makes it worthwhile (else why would people put their stuff on steam anyways?)

the point being you can potentially lose out more money JUST because your game isn't on steam. not so much advertising fees involved.

and yes, as you mentioned, it DOES benefit the small devs. which ultimately means that there is good out of it (And from history/track record, they have greatly benefited many indie devs which they wouldn't have had steam not existed. recettear/dungeon defenders anyone? laugh.gif )

people are supporting Steam because they are the lesser evil than the rest we have today. And they have no other choices because they want that huge -75% discount.

it is quite hard to say if EA were to release their version of "steam" back then, and the result would be diff. But one thing is very real in common among some of the developers who couldnt agree with steam -> Valve are taking their cut of profit, and they do not want to share their profit.

Steam are only benefiting small indie developers, not the big boys. The big boys can certainly do all these digital distribution without steam, because they have spent money on marketing their game already. Their titles are popular enough, they just do not want share profit to valve and talk on valve's terms.

Valve is obviously playing the the consumer card with its own interest for now just to gain market share and kill off everyone else. As TB said everything will be fine until Valve gone full retard if they ever go full monopoly, which is my concern also.

Boldnut
post Jul 22 2012, 10:33 AM

2,209 posts

I got my Assassin Creed 2 for just 5 bucks(USD), and now Ubisoft have customer support me, release game patch, maintaining Uplay Upkeep. All that are within 5bucks. That 5 bucks are included with valve's Download server upkeep, advertising + valve cut of profit.

I couldnt even imaging how much money are left for Ubisoft alone. I couldnt even imaging if they ever earn some money off me. Probably a dollar? or 2-3 bucks? for an AAA game that is 2yrs old? Thats absurd from a developer point of view.

Added on July 22, 2012, 10:39 am
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 22 2012, 10:33 AM)
yeap and that's why threads like this exist. i think the other "big boys" developers aren't willing to band together because it isn't easy on agreeing towards a common consensus on how to handle that said "open client", how are money being handled, how should bandwidth/server management be paid for etc.

in a way that is good too, as "another steam" would never show up which lessens future concerns smile.gif

I am more toward them arent willing to band together. This is the biggest problem among them.

if the ftp server run by the developer themselves & are linked from the "open client". That means the upkeep for the Login server should be significant lower than the download server upkeep. Thats shouldnt be much of a problem as the amount are small enough. Heck u might even enough sponsorship by the big boys run the server.

a same example could have been say for like HDMI(not really open), RJ45, OpenGL/OpenCL.

Another good example for software are metatrader in the forex stock, or the Linux as a whole.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 22 2012, 10:43 AM
Boldnut
post Jul 22 2012, 10:55 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 22 2012, 10:43 AM)
well for "expired" game titles, more often than not, it is either that 2-3 dollars worth of sale, or nothing at all. steam is good in the sense that it rejuvenates cash flow for older titles where they wouldn't have had sales without steam bargain sales.

a better question is would you? (or other malaysians) got assassins creed 2 if it isn't 5 usd?

quite true at least for me I wouldnt even bother at all if it is isnt cheap enough. tongue.gif Free games are high quality these days for casual gamer like me. it is quite pitty that Ubisoft now have to spent their resources supporting me as legitimate customer as I almost pay nothing to them for a multi-million AAA game tongue.gif

as for the gate, u can also make the authentication independent among the developer as well. for ex. I have to login Uplay acc using "open client" as well as Origin acc using "open client"

At least from here, customer dont have to run multiple clients just to launch 1 game or having multiple client installed.

right now for Uplay it sucks, I have to launch steam, click play launch Uplay click play again just to play game. It is pretty redundant.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 22 2012, 10:55 AM
Boldnut
post Jul 23 2012, 08:10 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Jul 23 2012, 05:29 PM)
I think this make it real hard for retailer and retail shop to compete. They can't afford to lowered their price like Steam. It's like double edged sword. So yeah, it's good business for customer and Valve. But what about the whole industry? Especially retailers, like TSB, Pbbseller. Another thing, since the price is so cheap, people will buy everything on low price without even touch them. This in my opinion, will degrade the franchise / IP quality in the future. Developer and publisher will focus on how to make most money from their IP instead of improving and innovate the game.

well it is a dog eat dog world out there.

Lets not forget.
if u buy a game from retailer, u pay the retailer, logistics, record company, paper printing so on. All these cost money.

With Steam/digital distribution only, the developer and the content distributor(steam) are the only ones earn ur money.

that means selling @ $50 in steam actually give more money to the developer than selling $60 physical copy across the world. This is part of the reason why Steam/developer can give -75% discount to digital copies, because they basically bypass all these retailer.

now to ask me, do I need my money goes to retailer? no, why? cos I prefer my money goes more to the developer to support the developer for future sequels.

I do not see how selling cheap, cheapens IP. Diablo 3 are selling at high price, it still sucky.

Selling cheap does not affect creativity and innovation, it is the total revenue u earn that affect u, Selling 10 digital copies @ $60 does not get u more money than selling $100 copies @ 10bucks. It is about maximize the revenue so the developer is capable to hire talent people to innovate good things for the next release.

Boldnut
post Jul 23 2012, 10:57 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Jul 23 2012, 09:00 PM)
When you look at it, that's what TB meant. Valve is the most beneficial party from all of this since they're the biggest digital distributor across the globe. I like Steam but i feel it's better if they not monopolize the market to certain degree. There are some things on their subscriber agreement that i'm not fan of.

thats the reason why EA origin is a good thing happen to us. I actually welcome this to happen, It stop Valve from total monopoly. At least u will never see the huge amount of new EA games on valve anymore.

The only thing EA need is to do is to keep improving their Origin client, man up develop a game that DOES NOT suck. (been a while they didnt do it already)

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 23 2012, 11:04 PM
Boldnut
post Jul 24 2012, 07:24 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Jul 23 2012, 11:19 PM)
Too bad Origin doesn't even come close to matching Valve.

As I said countless times, you'd think EA would be more competent when they had years to study Valve's business model.

it takes time, this is not an instant sucesss, I hope Origin is as successful as steam so Steam and origin fight each other to give more sales to us.

Boldnut
post Jul 24 2012, 03:03 PM

2,209 posts

This thread Amazing.... first time I ever heard people say Monopoly is a good thing. hmm.gif looks like Totalbiscuit has his point after all.
Boldnut
post Jul 26 2012, 03:48 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 26 2012, 03:24 PM)
problem is that steam fanbois pressures developers to be either on steam or they'll pirate it...
that was the main issue brought up in the video...
with such, developers are sorta held on hostage...
yup some games, worst is when ur frens all patched up and when u got back u gotta patch before joining them (games like payday) but the server screw up...

exactly! I still think having an alternative to complete each other is better than just having steam now.

Just imagine how much pain the developer gonna go trough just to get their game on steam.

Valve can say: here, my cut is 30% of ur sales, take it or u wont end up in our system. While this should not be a problem, but wait... if it isnt on steam, it will not sell well. That mean in order to sell well u are force to accept Valve's terms. There is no alternative to scare valve.

see the problem here? the developer has no bargaining ground.

To make it more absurd some people in this thread are even go as far as to say monopoly is a good thing lol...

Boldnut
post Jul 26 2012, 04:04 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 26 2012, 03:55 PM)
I still think that it isn't about Steam monopolizing the market.
Come on, it's logic sense.

You open a company sell coffee, and you restricted yourself to sell in your kampung only, when you actually have the funds and opportunities to open branches and be successful as Starbucks?

The problem I see here is more like EA Origin aren't competitive enough. The market is wide and always open, why they did not implement a marketing strategy to compete with Steam?

Also Microsoft GFWL, another platform but they aren't competing. Heck Malaysia aren't even fully supported.

the real problem TB mention here is that u have retard fanboy that defending them with absurd reason things such as these...

1. If it aint on steam I will pirate it. <-- lol?
2. Monopoly is a good thing? <--sure valve is doing a good job so far, but one should not go blindly make claims like that. Intel does a good job too, yet many outcry about it, so why should valve get this "special monopoly" treatment over other companies.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 26 2012, 04:05 PM
Boldnut
post Jul 26 2012, 04:15 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 26 2012, 04:08 PM)
are you justifying piracy? or you use apple?

I kinda wondered that as well, he bought many windows OS only game, but doesnt spent on $M OS, it doesnt seems to make any sense.

Boldnut
post Jul 26 2012, 04:31 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Jul 26 2012, 04:22 PM)
i think the MS case where IE was bundled with Windows is not a suitable example cause not all games are Steamworks bounded 

I think the current gaming market is between monopolistic competition and oligopoly 

Other DD service are out there for consumers to choose from, its not like you jump into gaming and straight away you have to use Steam

Sure some might say that what if Valve/Steam achieve total monopoly, then wouldnt it be the responsibility of other DD services for not being able to provide good service to consumers?

the thing is if valve went retard on u, u cannot jump ship b4 it sink, because all the years the money u spent on valve cannot be move away from them.

right now for example if suddenly GoG or Gamersgate become awesome, u want to move ur library there, u cant.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jul 26 2012, 04:34 PM
Boldnut
post Jul 27 2012, 09:35 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Jul 27 2012, 07:23 AM)
Maybe your favourite developer should learn how to sell games cheaper than pirated DVD's before you criticize Steam for this and that, don't see you all spending 200 ringgit and complaining diablo 3 doesn't work in the 1st week.

they do not want to share the profit with valve, but they dont have a choice, games arent in steam dont sell, thanks to bunch of idiots say = "If it is not in steam, I wont buy"

Boldnut
post Jul 27 2012, 10:24 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Jul 27 2012, 10:13 AM)
I'm sure a lot of people will disagree with you considering the steam sales thread here has already exceeded v15
Gamasutra also got a article on this also, I'm pretty sure most developers see steam as a chance to sell their game.
Gamasutra

It is not in good business to share profit, unless they have no choice(which they dont have).

Boldnut
post Jul 27 2012, 03:44 PM

2,209 posts

the issue is there is no way to get away from Steam with ur games, if valve sweet talk u with -75% game then one day valve piss u off, u wanna get rid of it, u cant, cause ur game stuck there.
Boldnut
post Jul 27 2012, 04:19 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jul 27 2012, 04:12 PM)
why should they? sweat.gif

example,

unker sell chap fan, mixed rice stall.
his rice gooding and the price is deemed affordable by many white collar opis ppl nearby his stall.
suddenly some auntie appears.
auntie sell chap fan, mixed rice stall also.

in order for auntie to have a chance to compete with unker, her dishes must be equally as gooding, if not sucks, and the price must be similar also. of course, since it is food and the price difference usually not that big, people will always try out new stall one.

and other things to look out for is service lor. everyone likes service with a smile mah rite?
as for digital distribution, support is important lor.
and now steam support no reply my ticket for days liao.  vmad.gif

problem is hor, when suddenly auntie chap fan become gooding better than unker ones and price also better come with special dimsum, u as a long term unker chap fan customer, u cannot go tapao the chap fan u bought from unker take it to auntie store to add dimsum to eat. rclxub.gif

in steam u cannot leave with ur games if steam piss u off -.-
Boldnut
post Aug 5 2012, 11:50 PM

2,209 posts

aw man ini macam mana boleh? doh.gif sweat.gif

0.0359sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:09 PM