○ Galaxy Nexus V14 ○, The Google Flagship: Now with Jelly Bean

IwanAGP
post Jul 21 2012, 11:30 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:25 PM)
Hey guys, symbian user here. Wanna ask about the os of the Gnex, planning to buy as a 1st android. About the update to jb, will it be complicated or a simple update? Can ask the shop guy to do? :3

And whats the diff with 4.0.4(the stock jb right?) and 4.1.1? Since im not a pro rooter for android, is it possible to keep the gnex running stock only? thanks in adv
Why don't you search for change log of Jelly Bean from Google?
Or even youtube for Jelly Bean. The video google showed at their conference.
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:30 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

Hey guys, symbian user here. Wanna ask about the os of the Gnex, planning to buy as a 1st android. About the update to jb, will it be complicated or a simple update? Can ask the shop guy to do? :3

And whats the diff with 4.0.4(the stock jb right?) and 4.1.1? Since im not a pro rooter for android, is it possible to keep the gnex running stock only? thanks in adv
it might be a bit complicated for 1st timer....if u ask a shop to do, they might charge u

4.0.4 is ICS, 4.1 is JB.....

totally fine to run on stock... everything stock

changelog is here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Android_versi..._4.1_Jelly_Bean

This post has been edited by vernon91: Jul 21 2012, 11:34 PM
unequalteck
post Jul 21 2012, 11:34 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:30 PM)
it might be a bit complicated for 1st timer....if u ask a shop to do, they might charge u

is it use the software odin?
last time i tried update my gf galaxy s plus using the samsung kies.
at last everything messed up, then use odin to flash back to stock rom
djlah

7,723 posts

QUOTE(SillJexster @ Jul 21 2012, 10:53 PM)
anybody tried flashing the gapps 20120717?
I flashed it together with XenonHD rom and it doesn't have camera and gallery  doh.gif
flash Kejar version of gapps
tjayy09

391 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:30 PM)

LOL dang it missed that 4.0 part. haha sorry about that. And the update for stock ics, for jb will it be ota? i couldn't be that complicated right?
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:35 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 21 2012, 11:34 PM)
Use Gnex Toolkit v7.5.....

Gnex don nid Odin or Kies

Added on July 21, 2012, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:34 PM)
LOL dang it missed that 4.0 part. haha sorry about that. And the update for stock ics, for jb will it be ota? i couldn't be that complicated right?
SME set wont get OTA just yet as update is handle by samsung atm...

only google build has OTA atm...

in other word u need to flash to google build to receive OTA

This post has been edited by vernon91: Jul 21 2012, 11:36 PM
unequalteck
post Jul 21 2012, 11:37 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:35 PM)

haha okay, got it. official software?
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:39 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 21 2012, 11:37 PM)
haha okay, got it. official software?
nope.. written by someone in xda forum...

why would it be an official software? Samsung don like u to messed with flashing sweat.gif
kkhong
post Jul 21 2012, 11:39 PM

162 posts

I am same case as you. No need shop to do, you can do yourself. Don't worry, just follow the instruction on the 1st page, it's quite easy.

Of course it's possible to keep running on stock, otherwise the stock design for who to use?
IwanAGP
post Jul 21 2012, 11:40 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 21 2012, 11:34 PM)
I haven't mess up anything using Samsung Kies previously for Galaxy W...
Updated 3 times.

You can use odin but is not necessary. Nexus is much supported device worldwide because it's Google official phone. Go ahead to Galaxy Nexus Development forum in XDA and see the number of custom rom, mods etc.
It's up to the extent that Nexus has a toolkit that can do almost everything and for many version.
The normal one...
Root, unlock bootloader, flash CWM.
Up to flashing stock image to yakju and even download stock image on its own. You can imagine how well this phone is supported by the community.

That's just one of the toolkit, in command prompt interface.
There's another one called wugfresh with graphical UI.
Even boot unlocker that allows you to unlock and relock bootloader with root access without wiping data.
Apps designed for Nexus like lightflow etc... Btw, this phone not that easy to brick.
Followed this thread for 4~5 versions. Didn't see anyone messed up their phone or even bricked their phone. All sort of problems got solutions on the web rclxms.gif
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:41 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

if u bricked a nexus phone, i would just say u dun read the instruction properly. u have done something so wrong that u brick it wink.gif

anyway it just a software brick, nth to worry, just re flash it agn with the correct instruction and u r good to go rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by vernon91: Jul 21 2012, 11:43 PM
djlah
post Jul 21 2012, 11:42 PM

7,723 posts

you guys might tiring answering repeating question such as:

1. is gnex able to do native 3G video call? No
2. is gnex included samsung hubs? No
3. is gnex using Odin or Kies to flash/update? No
4. is gnex having flash counter like other galaxy? No

conclusion, gnex is not equal to samsung TouchWiz phone, is Google Current Flagship icon_rolleyes.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 21 2012, 11:42 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:41 PM)
if u bricked a nexus phone, i would just say u dun read the instruction properly. u have done something so wrong that u brick it  wink.gif
Like flashing other phone ROM into GNex rclxms.gif
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:45 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 21 2012, 11:42 PM)
Like flashing other phone ROM into GNex  rclxms.gif
nvr afraid of flashing stuff on a nexus phone.......probably the easiest to flash among android phones

more like it was designed for u to flash wink.gif

This post has been edited by vernon91: Jul 21 2012, 11:46 PM
tjayy09
post Jul 21 2012, 11:47 PM

391 posts

oh i see, sort of. If i'd got it, i'll just follow the instuctions on your how to page. Haha thanks!
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:49 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:47 PM)
oh i see, sort of. If i'd got it, i'll just follow the instuctions on your how to page. Haha thanks!
u should able to do it once u get ur phone....mean while spent some time to read the 1st page okay? brows.gif
tjayy09
post Jul 21 2012, 11:50 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(kkhong @ Jul 21 2012, 11:39 PM)
I am same case as you. No need shop to do, you can do yourself. Don't worry, just follow the instruction on the 1st page, it's quite easy.

Of course it's possible to keep running on stock, otherwise the stock design for who to use?
haha true that! I'll keep the rooting to the pros. thumbup.gif thanks for the info!
ps got jb ady?
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:52 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:50 PM)
haha true that! I'll keep the rooting to the pros.  thumbup.gif thanks for the info!
ps got jb ady?
Yes, my friend, JB is available since almost 2 weeks ago.... doh.gif
tjayy09
post Jul 21 2012, 11:52 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:49 PM)
u should able to do it once u get ur phone....mean while spent some time to read the 1st page okay?  brows.gif
yes siree! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on July 21, 2012, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:52 PM)
Yes, my friend, JB is available since almost 2 weeks ago.... doh.gif
lol thought the "ota" one still need wait abit? Damn you guys are fast. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tjayy09: Jul 21 2012, 11:53 PM
vernon91
post Jul 21 2012, 11:58 PM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:52 PM)
yes siree!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on July 21, 2012, 11:53 pm

lol thought the "ota" one still need wait abit? Damn you guys are fast.   sweat.gif
if u r on google build then yes got OTA edi lor...

if u r samsung build then not yet shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by vernon91: Jul 21 2012, 11:58 PM

126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:05 PM