Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V5, Please read page#1 FAQ before posting :)

TSGen-X
post Nov 10 2012, 01:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just published my article titled Maybankard 2 AMEX for Paying Bills Online with M2U and for TNB with Express Autopay.

As many of you know, we can use our Maybankard 2 AMEX cardholders to pay our Unifi and other bills with Maybankard 2 American Express via Maybank2U.com and earn 5X Treats Points.

Unfortunately, we still cannot perform online payment using our MBB 2 AMEX for TNB bills. But the good news is, we still can pay our TNB bills via Express AutoPay with any American Express charge or credit card including the Maybankard 2 AMEX and earn 5X Treats Points.

To learn more, please click on the link above to my article where I have given step by step instructions on how to perform online payment using the Maybankard 2 AMEX for Unifi and showed that the MBB 2 AMEX can also be used for various bills including Telekom, Local Council bi-yearly Assessments and Glenmarie Golf & Country Club.

In the above mentioned article, I have also given step by step instruction to download the AMEX Express Autopay Enrollment Form so that you can start earning 5X Treats Points for your TNB bills. I also touched on the pros and cons of using our MBB 2 AMEX to pay our bills online via M2U versus Autodebit and Direct Debit.
TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2012, 07:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Nov 10 2012, 03:37 PM)
Thanks for the details in your blog.
QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 10 2012, 10:01 PM)
Thanks again for another good and informative piece of writeup and saving tips
QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 11 2012, 01:06 AM)
Another great & informative article from Gen-X. rclxms.gif
I still prefer to use the OCBC Titanium MasterCard for utility bills (solid 5% vs potentially 7.5%)
Thank you Bros, I am most touched that you three finance savvy people took the time to compliment me smile.gif

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 12 2012, 03:15 PM)
Got my Maybank 2 Cards from 1U within 2 hours. Awesome. thumbup.gif

I applied for OCBC Titanium too but it required 1-week to revert back.

Thumbs up for Maybank.

p/s: Sunday also can. nod.gif
Have not been seeing you nickname for ages here tongue.gif What took you so long to go apply for the MBB 2 Cards tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 12 2012, 07:32 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 13 2012, 11:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Nov 7 2012, 10:03 AM)
gonna redeem all of these VI points to enrich points smile.gif yummy

Bro, have you converted your Treats Points to Enrich Miles. I did mine just recently after I found out MA having Enrich Miles sale.

Click below link to read my article on Enrich Miles and see Malaysia Airlines offers to destinations around the world for half the normal required Enrich Miles. In this said article, I have once again shown why the Maybankard 2 AMEX is one of the best credit card for local transactions.

Malaysia Airlines Enrich Miles 50% Sale - Great for My Maybank Visa Infinite Treats Points

TSGen-X
post Nov 15 2012, 11:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Nov 14 2012, 08:56 PM)
does anyone knows if its possible for Supp card holder to receive SMS Alerts for a separate statement account?
Not sure if MBB can issue separate statement but Supp Card BUT you definitely can have the SMS alert be sent to the Supp Card Holder. Just call CS to update mobile number.
TSGen-X
post Nov 27 2012, 01:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(windmill @ Nov 27 2012, 01:07 PM)
want to ask.. i submitted the application at the Maybank Mid Valley. but until now still no respond. i called to the hotline, it says processing.. how long will it take? applied early this month... :|
There's a Maybankard Centre at The Gardens which is suppose to process credit card application within an hour.

I was at 1U to to get my eldest daughter a Supp MBB Visa Infinite and the card was ready for collection in one hour thumbup.gif
TSGen-X
post Nov 27 2012, 01:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chronous @ Nov 27 2012, 01:16 PM)
Registered. Thanks 4 the info.  rclxms.gif
I received 3 same sms from MBB yesterday telling me I am auto enrolled into the cash back promo and only to reply them IF I want to opt out rclxub.gif
TSGen-X
post Dec 1 2012, 11:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(candyS @ Dec 1 2012, 11:44 AM)
how much is your credit limit for this 2 cards?
is it good to get high credit limit for these 2 cards since many fraudulent cases for amex??
One of the best thing about Maybank is that you can set the SMS alert default amount to RM1 smile.gif

If you notice, most of the "fraud" cases is due to the cardholders' negligence where they stupidly gave out their personal info.
TSGen-X
post Dec 1 2012, 04:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 1 2012, 03:56 PM)
Hi Gen-X ... this I am curious .. you said giving out personal info but what info exactly? For example, is it possible for ppl to scam money from credit card by just knowing your credit card number, name, ic number and address for example? I'm only aware that the most important thing to not tell others is the CVV number ... What other information we should NOT release?
Bro, go read http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1833743

And one member here actually posted photo of his credit card at MBB 2 Cards V2 Thread without it being photoshopped doh.gif and within minutes it was used for AA tickets online!!

I guess the info required are just your CC number, CCV, name on card and expiry date on the card.

Before cards had "chip", the magnetic strip was easily cloned and your personal data is not even required (applies to ATM card too). Then again, info stored in the "chips" can also easily be cloned - go google and you will find people selling the chip read/write gadget.

Even if you have pin number for debit card, still not safe. Previously at My Credit Cards blog I posted videos on how one can easily obtained your pin number and even your visa wave/MC paypass data but those videos are no longer accessible. But you can go to youtube and search "credit card cloning" and you will learn something out from them.

And read this http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...card-fraud.html at My Credit Cards blog where our postmen also can easily intercept our cards and use them since many don't really need us to activate them (even tho it is stated we need to do so). But for my case, most of the time I follow up on my application and if the card do not reach me within a certain time, I will get it cancelled and get a new one issued.

Like hye said,

...CL low also if one is not smart about their personal info will get scammed and is a risk/liability either way.
A fool proof way not to get cc fraud cases is not to hold any credit card in the first place but it's a rather impractical idea given today's lifestyle right ?

If you note, many members here cover their CCV number, I guess this is a good practice but I don't do so because how the heck am I going to remember all my CC CCV numbers. That's why I love MBB, I get a SMS immediately (even before the receipt is printed) for any amount including when I use it overseas. Please note you have to request MBB to set default value to RM0.01 or RM1 - for those of you who are not aware on SMS default value, please read this thread.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 1 2012, 05:35 PM
TSGen-X
post Dec 1 2012, 05:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(keeystar @ Dec 1 2012, 05:35 PM)
wanna know that is there any way to get 5x TP + 5% rebate on utility bills payment (eg. streamyx, TM, etc) thru m2u amex?

Here is my article on Maybankard 2 AMEX for Paying Bills Online with M2U and for TNB with Express Autopay where I have given Step By Step Instruction on how to pay bills with our AMEX via M2U. Try it on a Saturday and you will get the answer to your question and share it here if you received the 5% cash back.

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 1 2012, 05:36 PM)
I guess we can't really avoid those "hardcore" things like stealing pin numbers or your postmen case .... What we can avoid is not revealing CCV and don't post photos of our credit cards ? tongue.gif And yes I've set the sms alert thing to RM1 which I find really awesome .. Guess I learn something new about covering the CCV number ... Guess I'll squeeze my brain cells to try to remember the number .. if not i'll juz peel off the sticker or something in emergency haha ...
Previously aeiou228 gave a tip on how to cover the CCV. Go get those "sticky tape" that bank paste on top of our signature in the Savings Book. Cover the CCV number with a piece of paper followed by the tape so that your CCV number will not be damaged when you really need to see it and you will know if it was tempered with.
TSGen-X
post Dec 12 2012, 12:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(vinvon23 @ Dec 11 2012, 11:20 PM)
hemm actually is it consider safe to book thru agoda... this is my first time to book thru agoda heehhe..noob...

may i know let say if we book with mbb master .. so when we r there we have to pay by the same card in order to enjoy the 6% rebate?
someone asked the same question at Macau Thread, click below link to read my reply:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/281596/+880

Click here to read my article on online hotel room reservation where I gave step by step instruction on how to book via Agoda with MBB cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 12 2012, 12:52 AM
TSGen-X
post Dec 15 2012, 12:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(-Franc- @ Dec 14 2012, 09:06 PM)
but is it easy to find Petronas Station that can accept AMEX?  sweat.gif
It's easy - read this thread tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Dec 15 2012, 08:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(angemk @ Dec 15 2012, 01:31 AM)
Hi there, I have one question regarding Maybank2 Card Gold.

What does the Min amount of RM25 / 5% of total amount has to pay for statement means?

If this month i swiped RM2000, so when statement comes, i can pay RM25 only n the rest can be pulled to the coming month?

Please clear my doubt. Thanks
It has been a while since Bank Negara Malaysia imposed that all credit card issuers give warning in regards to paying minimum payment only. And for Maybank case, every month along with my statement I have been getting 2 pages of text giving detail explanation on what you are asking, so go read yours when you receive it ( I am assuming you just received your card and have yet to receive your first monthly statement).

Anyway, to answer your question,

1. You need to make Minimum Payment before the Due Date or else you will be imposed a Late Payment Penalty.
2. And if you fail to make minimum payment before the Due Date, it may tarnish your credit history, e.g. CCRIS report.
3. the unpaid balance will be imposed interest on daily basis.

Looks like you are new to credit cards, I suggest you click here and check out the articles in my Credit Card Tutorial.

TSGen-X
post Dec 17 2012, 04:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 17 2012, 04:03 PM)
Thanks!

Will do some hands on practise at ATM machine one of this day during off peak hour. Just gotta learn! tongue.gif
I think cute_boboi meant opening a Saving Account with MBB where you'll be issued a Debit Card.

Click below links to read my articles on M2U:

My Maybank Platinum Debit Card for My Maybank Credit Cards

and

Maybankard 2 AMEX for Paying Bills Online with M2U.

And to answer your question of paying MBB 2 Cards bills with cheque, read your statement and it will state:

Make cheque payable to Maybankard Centre. Previously we were told to make it payable to Maybankard Centre for <your Name as per in your IC> and I still do so up to date.

Behind the cheque, write you credit card number, name and contact number.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 17 2012, 04:14 PM
TSGen-X
post Dec 17 2012, 11:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 17 2012, 06:14 PM)
A little off topic. I realize the other day u can open a Maybank2U Savers Account without actually having a normal savings account. I can see the option there on M2U but I never applied for it.
Yes, you can sign up for M2U account for just your MBB credit cards even if you don't have a single banking account.

Click below link to read my experience of opening M2U 2 years back when I first got the MBB 2 Cards more than a year ago:

Maybank2U for Maybank Credit Cards - You Don't Need A Savings or Current Account

And I had to sign up for another NEW M2U account when I opened a Maybank Savings Account and wanted to link my credit cards to it.

QUOTE(lactose_operon @ Dec 17 2012, 11:18 PM)
Guys. Is it normal for Maybank to charge the RM50 service tax for EACH of the Maybankcard2cards? Coz i tot they only charge the service tax for 1 card instead of both sweat.gif
They will charge RM50 for the MBB2 AMEX but they will also credit RM50, so net net you pay no GST for AMEX. I think this has been mentioned in Post#2 FAQ.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 17 2012, 11:26 PM
TSGen-X
post Dec 18 2012, 12:03 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mickey1991 @ Dec 17 2012, 11:56 PM)
What? Are u sure?
I saw some advertise maximum only cn get CC for two for each people , and with specific range of annum ! Are u sure no maximum limit on it ?
In accordance to BNM Guidelines, a person can only hold credit cards from 2 issuers if he/she is earning less than RM36K. Therefore human nature is correct to say no maximum. And you misunderstood what you read, it's not two credit cards but once again credit cards from two issuers.

For more info, please read this thread or my article on BNM Guidelines at my wordpress blog.
TSGen-X
post Dec 19 2012, 04:57 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Guys, I was at TNB Shah Alam today and just wanted to like you guys know once again (was reported earlier by another guy here) that we can use AMEX to pay TNB bills.
TSGen-X
post Dec 24 2012, 08:39 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Dec 24 2012, 06:29 AM)
yesterday afternoon, was just trying my luck.
gave them the Amex and they swiped.
wonderful news, thank you Bro for reporting.
TSGen-X
post Dec 24 2012, 05:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Dec 24 2012, 02:02 PM)
Gen-X, its is time for new thread...
Merry Xmas and Happy New Year 2013..
QUOTE(keretapir @ Dec 24 2012, 04:28 PM)
awww...
was hoping that new thread gets created when new year arrives
oh well
Well, there is no set rule as when we should close a thread but the norm is when a thread reaches 2500 post.

Instead of starting a new thread today dated 24 (you know me and my numbers lah) and I am sure this thread will way pass 2500 posts on 1st Jan 2013, I will play Santa and start a new thread on Christmas day and take note of the time (first post) so that we all prosperous together tongue.gif

I wish all Christians a very Merry Christmas biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 24 2012, 05:12 PM
TSGen-X
post Dec 25 2012, 01:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Merry Christmas and I am pleased to present to you Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V6

I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has contributed to this V5 thread.

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0526sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:43 AM