The Alterac Valley BG is so long, man., Definitely worth it tho.

TSAzureSkies
post Jan 23 2006, 07:41 PM, updated 20y ago

147 posts

Today waited for 2hrs+ to get into AV, then another 6 hours or so to win it. Alliance btw. The IBS reward is pretty nice, but what's even better is the honor it gives. drool.gif

Halfway into battle we suffered serious stalemate with the horde and many left thinking the latter will win. But somehow those who patiently stayed behind turned the tide. LOL, I guess one should never give up till the end in AV.

Does anyone play this BG a lot? How hard is it for you guys to usually enter?
knumskul
post Jan 24 2006, 03:57 AM

783 posts

well on the server that i play now, which is Dark Iron, so far i've always waited for about 1 1/2-2 hours to be able to get in. that time flies by very quickly when i'm in WSG/AB as i queue for all of them. i always stay all the way to the end. i play Horde btw. even if they lose, i at least get a medal that can be used and also the honor.

well so far for all the AVs i've been in or seen somebody playing, Horde always wins. starts off with Alliance pushing til the Horde base, almost all the time destroying everything along the way. then from about the 3rd hour, the Horde will push all the way to Dun Baldar and stay there til the 6th hour where they will win the game. i've heard of 10hour AVs but have never been in them
plaz
post Jan 24 2006, 09:23 AM

there is a 23hours AV, saw it on the official forums last time

The honor in AV is the least amongst all the BG, yes you maybe have insane amount of HKs but not CP
TSAzureSkies
post Jan 24 2006, 06:46 PM

147 posts

Wow 23 hours. Not sure if I can even stand 10 hours that includes queueing. blink.gif

I'd like to focus on other BGs too but Alliance here totally suck at WSG(maybe not for 60s tho, I dunno). And damn they're lazy to get into AB too : My last AB run was 2 v 14...Alliance : Horde. shakehead.gif

So I guess AV is the most dependable source of honor for me here.

chaichai
post Jan 24 2006, 09:22 PM

Validating
66 posts

lol...
for u guyz knowledge...
i had entered a half way AV which already played for 11hrs...
the time i entered, & played for almost 8hrs then only win the battle...

once i entered, the opponents already had all the GY, & had wiped everything...
EXCEPT the general(boss) base...
all of us really d@mn tired already, but still hung on defence outside the general base...

so, time by time v defence til the opponents being pushed bac by us...
1 by 1 GY being assaulted til v reached to their general base & even killed him...
lol...

regret that i did not take a screenies on the battles...
coz d@mn tired too...
lol...
da3shou3
post Jan 25 2006, 02:39 PM

<Your New Dark Lord>
1,591 posts

It can only be possible:

1. Both sides are noobs tongue.gif
2. Both sides are equally strong.
3. Both sides have same uber gears. XD

Fastest AV for me: 45 mins. Sapu only.
knumskul
post Jan 27 2006, 07:55 PM

783 posts

heard that honor diminishes in AV. so no use staying for long. i only go AV for the rep. and if i get bored of fighting, i'll go farm some guards for Gs
Phonzy
post Feb 8 2006, 06:04 PM

542 posts

WTS AFKbot, PST. tongue.gif

QUOTE(knumskul @ Jan 27 2006, 07:55 PM)
heard that honor diminishes in AV. so no use staying for long. i only go AV for the rep. and if i get bored of fighting, i'll go farm some guards for Gs
TSAzureSkies
post Feb 8 2006, 09:00 PM

147 posts

Queued up for AV today. And then somehow...

^ WTF? huh.gif
knumskul
post Feb 13 2006, 09:58 PM

783 posts

last 10 players got in after 3hrs 40mins but then nobody left. so you are stuck in the queue. lol
Bladesinger
post Feb 14 2006, 01:03 AM

496 posts

AV is the kind of bg that once you get exalted you will never set foot in it again. not even during av holidays.

knumskul
post Feb 14 2006, 06:46 PM

783 posts

i'd still go in to farm the guards and get the medals to turn in.
Tunn
post Feb 21 2006, 10:54 PM

The SadPanda
651 posts

i played like 8-9 AV (all win) and hit revered....now exalted.....
i average 7-9k per game
hint: play when its AV week and turn in all 2 medals of BG at once u'll get more rep for it

This post has been edited by Tunn: Feb 21 2006, 10:56 PM
knumskul
post Feb 22 2006, 09:49 PM

783 posts

you mean all 3 types of medals.

AV week lots of people play but it still is hard to get into an AV.
INFeRNO
post Feb 23 2006, 11:13 PM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Jan 27 2006, 07:55 PM)
This is true, not only in AV, but in all the BG's. You get 100% Honour for killing someone the first time, 75% on the second time, 50% for the third time, and 25% every time after that. So if you're killing the same dude over and over again, you're not gonna get much.

Also remember Honour is given based on the amount of damage you do. So if you killed a runner that only had like 50hp, you're not gonna get much honour.

And if you want even more honour, don't be in a raid/party. Go solo, that way, you get 100% honour for a solo kill, as opposed to having share your honour with the party. This might make people hate you though for running solo.

0.0176sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:09 AM