8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

MINI - MK II, A continuation from WHITE MINI

TSshuhong90
post Jul 29 2012, 04:55 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 29 2012, 01:01 PM)
care to share with me the dimension of the gpu plate biggrin.gif dun feel like pulling it out assuming u're using the 560ti hehehe
I have some alu to wreck ...and some white acylic *if u interested I can send some of the white acrylic 2mm I got plenty tongue.gif

As for mounting it ...I think you could use plastic spacer and a longer screw . If u found the perfect spacer and screw I want some hahaha

another way ...is to use high temp double tape .. stick it on some clear part on the back of the gc ..the bad thing is ... scared the adhesion from the tape are too strong ..maybe can put some automotive sticker then double tape ...the oracal 651 sticker can go up to 78C ..I have tons if u wan to try hahaha ..I dun think the gc would shoot up to 70C with wb since I get 69 on stock cooler while folding.

glad to see the block clean and shiny now I dun have to worry much hahaha

Cheers biggrin.gif
Errr, I'm not sure if i still keep the original dimensions, since this i had sanded it and filed it. might not be accurate.
:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

Some update. finished the cpu bracket as well as back plate smile.gif

Oops a gold sheep :gasp:

More of it ! ! :panic:

marsha1l
post Jul 29 2012, 05:34 PM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

dont tell me those adapter were the black one?
TSshuhong90
post Jul 29 2012, 06:35 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Jul 29 2012, 05:34 PM)
dont tell me those adapter were the black one?
exactly !
devilish_yin
post Jul 29 2012, 06:38 PM

543 posts

u use paint stripper with them ? damn nice got the brass/bronze look biggrin.gif

TSshuhong90
post Jul 29 2012, 06:52 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 29 2012, 06:38 PM)
u use paint stripper with them ? damn nice got the brass/bronze look biggrin.gif
nope, i sanded it.
devilish_yin
post Jul 29 2012, 07:14 PM

543 posts

no wonder it got the brushed look abit. awesome

BTW those screw on the back of the gpu are plain hideous hahaha

This post has been edited by devilish_yin: Jul 29 2012, 07:14 PM
TSshuhong90
post Jul 29 2012, 07:23 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 29 2012, 07:14 PM)
no wonder it got the brushed look abit. awesome

BTW those screw on the back of the gpu are plain hideous hahaha
yes, dats y i said i might ditch the backplate or maybe create another one. and thinking to get the one from evga and paint it
marsha1l
post Jul 29 2012, 08:36 PM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

or the backplate screw change with countersunk screw?
TSshuhong90
post Jul 30 2012, 12:37 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Jul 29 2012, 08:36 PM)
or the backplate screw change with countersunk screw?
Somehow it looks uglier with backplates on. arghhh i m so confuse lol. anyway, too much filling has been done on the backplate, making the surface uneven, not nice, so gonna ditch dat.

Anyway guys, any guide to make sure how to drill proper holes ? lol. I'm reli worst in drilling holes.
devilish_yin
post Jul 30 2012, 01:59 AM

543 posts

Use center punch to mark drilling point or a nail and hammer tongue.gif
the bit would stay on the path as long you have steady hand.
that what I always do biggrin.gif

[Krauser]
post Jul 30 2012, 02:53 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 30 2012, 01:59 AM)
+1
if u have press drill then no need lo.
for me i like to print the plan 1st then stick to the plate
TSshuhong90
post Jul 30 2012, 09:55 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 30 2012, 01:59 AM)
QUOTE(Krauser @ Jul 30 2012, 02:53 AM)
+1
if u have press drill then no need lo.
for me i like to print the plan 1st then stick to the plate
Thanks for the suggestiong guys =) Guess my problem is weaken drill bit. since the drill itself its very powerful one, but it takes 5 minutes to drill a 1-2mm thick aluminium. that's just hilllarious laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shuhong90: Jul 30 2012, 12:34 PM
TSshuhong90
post Jul 30 2012, 12:34 PM

310 posts

Hmm.. I wonder who's selling aluminium plates now in LYN. sad.gif
sam sam
post Jul 30 2012, 01:55 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(shuhong90 @ Jul 30 2012, 09:55 AM)
Thanks for the suggestiong guys =) Guess my problem is weaken drill bit. since the drill itself its very powerful one, but it takes 5 minutes to drill a 1-2mm thick aluminium. that's just hilllarious  laugh.gif
Just buy new drill bit. Aluminium 1-2mm needs about 1 minutes to drill with a new bit
buy the brand evacut just get it from the bolt and nut shop near monash
should be about rm3-4 each
and then you can a buy a m6 drill to do the countersunk for the csk screw

bear in mind brass will turn color once its oxidize. Will turn blackish

This post has been edited by sam sam: Jul 30 2012, 01:57 PM
devilish_yin
post Jul 30 2012, 04:05 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(shuhong90 @ Jul 30 2012, 09:55 AM)
Thanks for the suggestiong guys =) Guess my problem is weaken drill bit. since the drill itself its very powerful one, but it takes 5 minutes to drill a 1-2mm thick aluminium. that's just hilllarious  laugh.gif
U would need some solid carbide bits would cost around 25~35 per piece if I'm not mistaken. Those 3 ringgit might do the job tongue.gif but they would break if u put force upon them.

QUOTE(shuhong90 @ Jul 30 2012, 12:34 PM)
Hmm.. I wonder who's selling aluminium plates now in LYN. sad.gif
He might still be selling it ..wondering what grade is that ..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1214124/all

sam sam
post Jul 30 2012, 04:23 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 30 2012, 04:05 PM)
U would need some solid carbide bits would cost around 25~35 per piece if I'm not mistaken. Those 3 ringgit might do the job tongue.gif but they would break if u put force upon them.
He might still be selling it ..wondering what grade is that ..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1214124/all
carbide bits are for stainless steel
and normally will also break, compared to HSS bits carbide bits break easily as they are much harder and less ductile as they are meant to be harder than stainless steel
A HSS drill bit can actually take some lateral force while drilling around 10degree and still will not break

if you using a hand drill, carbide is a no go as a slip can break the bit. However they don't blunt easily
DO note any drill bit will go blunt when working with plexi or even wood.

as mention buy industrial drill bits like evacut or Sandor, they cost around rm3 from screw shops and reputable hardware shops
devilish_yin
post Jul 30 2012, 05:07 PM

543 posts

AFAIK carbide doesn't mean for stainless steel particularly... ..I drilled mostly using table drill ...so the force are steady and high rpm ... I might be wrong ...but I drilled like a boss TBH ...hummm

I do bought those 3rinngit but I dunno what brand ...
2 pieces broke ==" then I opted to something else available in the lab ...

sam sam
post Jul 30 2012, 05:26 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 30 2012, 05:07 PM)
AFAIK carbide doesn't mean for stainless steel particularly... ..I drilled mostly using table drill ...so  the force are steady and high rpm  ... I might be wrong ...but I drilled like a boss TBH ...hummm

I do bought those 3rinngit but I dunno what brand  ...
2 pieces broke ==" then I opted to something else available in the lab ...
carbide is mainly for stainless steel this are slightly yellowish
bench drill just buy HSS they are meant to drill normal steel, make sure you buy the branded stuff which cheaper than the cheap hardware store stuff from china
If you buy from a screw shop or a proper machine shop then the bits are important stuff from NZ or UK, or even germany
a evacut brand new HSS drill takes 30 seconds to drill m4 hole on a 1.5mm Stainless steel. and about 2 minutes on a blunt bit to cut thru 1.5mm stainless steel.

most people are not aware that you are not suppose to use high rpm while drilling. RPM for most drill just set around 800rpm as its the most versatile for small bit. Too fast it would blunt the drill bit, there is a chart you can follow. As the bit diameter increases you are suppose to drill at a lower speed. High speed above 1000rpm is meant for small size like m2 and m1 where the speed dictates the acuracy
TSshuhong90
post Jul 30 2012, 05:29 PM

310 posts

LOL you guys. . . so much for a "drill" nevertheless your knowledges are very valuable to me who are really newbie when it comes to tooling =)
devilish_yin
post Jul 30 2012, 05:57 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(sam sam @ Jul 30 2012, 05:26 PM)
carbide is mainly for stainless steel this are slightly yellowish
bench drill just buy HSS they are meant to drill normal steel, make sure you buy the branded stuff which cheaper than the cheap hardware store stuff from china
If you buy from a screw shop or a proper machine shop then the bits are important stuff from NZ or UK, or even germany
a evacut brand new HSS drill takes 30 seconds to drill m4 hole on a 1.5mm Stainless steel.  and about 2 minutes on a blunt bit to cut thru 1.5mm stainless steel.

most people are not aware that you are not suppose to use high rpm while drilling. RPM for most drill just set around 800rpm as its the most versatile for small bit. Too fast it would blunt the drill bit, there is a chart you can follow. As the bit diameter increases you are suppose to drill at a lower speed. High speed above 1000rpm is meant for small size like m2 and m1 where the speed dictates the acuracy
but what I learned are really different ...
HSS mostly can be used but they broke easily and would need to resharpen most of the time. We mostly use them since they are darn cheap
Carbide are much more stronger but yeah they cant handle impact but since I'm using a table drill ...less impact + high rpm does help cut aluminium faster ...

what make me weird is that I cut through 1.2mm 6061 T-6 in a matter of second ... I didn't bother counting ..m3 hole

I rechecked in case I'm wrong ...I found this http://store.curiousinventor.com/guides/drill_speed/
suggested that 2000 rpm would be a good range to cut aluminium

QUOTE(shuhong90 @ Jul 30 2012, 05:29 PM)
LOL you guys. . .  so much for a "drill" nevertheless your knowledges are very valuable to me who are really newbie when it comes to tooling =)
It good to learn something biggrin.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:07 PM