Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V58, The Orange Legion
Jul 21 2012, 09:54 PM
32 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: MMU Melaka, Bukit Beruang |
My 1st Sharing in Lowyat Sony Alpha Forum : )
Taman Seribu Bunga ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 21 2012, 09:55 PM |
Jul 21 2012, 11:39 PM
Jul 21 2012, 11:46 PM
Jul 21 2012, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(cognac @ Jul 22 2012, 12:47 AM) I learn from many source in 1 time...basically I introduce myself with this line. I in photography more than 3 years since I 1st brought my DSLR which I still using it right now. I use Sony Alpha as my excellent tool as photograph something day to day basics.. I shoots landscape which influent by "HDR Guy" Trey Ratcliff and Karl Taylor and currently I inspired by "NASA Guy" Gary Friedman,"Strobist Guy"David Hobby ,"OneLight" Zack Arias. Recently I found out Strobing the flash is kindda interesting because you can take of your flash and play around and make things more challenge. They are great guy too share with. About more advance stobist system by alpha system... is by Garry Friendman. Other sources, depends what kind of photography you like. |
Jul 21 2012, 11:58 PM
Jul 22 2012, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 22 2012, 12:57 AM) most pictures look underexposed on my monitor. and your last picture looks out of focus due to focusing against a bright source. and what is your main subject in that shot? the rest are just close up of flower shots. sorry to say they look quite plain The Underexposure I not sure... my side is okay... maybe,I need use spyder 4 pro calibrate the monitor. About the plain issue.. you have any idea? Because,my photographer from Korea.. He teach us.. picture must plain and simple,able deliver story. Don't all the object is pulling the attention.About the last picture... I is purpose out focus it to get the dreamy effect under lightroom 4 postprocesing.. Mind to share about your idea? |
Jul 22 2012, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jul 22 2012, 01:18 AM) imo, shooting picture is art. everyone have different taste. that is true if shoot in video everything must be plain so that you have more room to fine tune the color coding, but shoot still in raw, still can adjust the color. Thanks for comment... about yongnuo flash... I learn that if you full control manual... then, any flash will do... that is One Light Master Zack Arias Teach me. Added on July 22, 2012, 12:19 ambtw, anyone here using yongnuo flash? good? If you want some reliable TTL/ADI Flash.. stick to Sony Flash. This is NASA Engineers Gary Friedman and Sony flash master Teach me during his visit in Malaysia. hope it help.. This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 22 2012, 12:28 AM |
Jul 22 2012, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 22 2012, 01:34 AM) This picture is rather simple and we categories in close up. I feel rather boring and use DOF focus on the flower's arts of beauty with nice bokeh. things doe't happen to be perfect when I snap it without diffuse flash... So, I hand held with Flash Cable(wired) bouncing the flash towards the floor with HSS sony alpha system. therefore, need so good opinion about it. Do you have some better opinion on this? This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 22 2012, 12:44 AM |
Jul 22 2012, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(cognac @ Jul 22 2012, 01:52 AM) totally agree with you bro, the picture must be plain and simple. ever lasting to your eyes, and tells a story. Cognac thanks for your compliment again The longer you look at the picture, the nicer it looks, just like girls with true beauty... hehehehe To be honest, feels like grabbing your picture and put it on my desktop...haha... My taste will give you a vote bro... Zstan taste maybe abit different, and shoot a different style? I learn that simple rule is for simple picture.. some complicated rule and complex view for awards picture, sometimes simple picture will win awards too. I also shoots a picture of my friend ![]() She personally really like this picture.. and I do. I ask her pose for me with the curve in her... be natural.. and honest. she did it. Technical skill is... I use 50mm/f1.8 and cable flash(wired) F42am HSS mode throw on her body.... I think I'm happiest person can make a model.. happy too. Added on July 22, 2012, 1:14 am QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 22 2012, 01:59 AM) well if this your style then i have no comments lar. to me its just a snapshot of a flower. Is okay... I welcome any comment... just need some idea on it..._______________________________________________________________________________ Sunset series 2! This time from atop of the Taipei 101 Tower! 1 ![]() DSC05347 by zstan, on Flickr 2 ![]() DSC05348 by zstan, on Flickr 3 ![]() DSC05352 by zstan, on Flickr 4 ![]() DSC05354 by zstan, on Flickr 5 ![]() DSC05355 by zstan, on Flickr you have nice collection of Taipei... I always have problem in landscape shoots because need put on 0.6 ND Grad and so on. Karl Taylor's Master Class teach lots in this area. I usually attempt luck in HDR. Trey Ratcliff have in expertise on this. Added on July 22, 2012, 1:16 am QUOTE(fansoption @ Jul 22 2012, 01:58 AM) Then you have good idea? hehe... This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 22 2012, 01:16 AM |
Jul 22 2012, 01:31 AM
QUOTE(fansoption @ Jul 22 2012, 02:18 AM) Beautiful collection you have The arts is there... learn something today... seem like macro lens is a must... Added on July 22, 2012, 1:35 am QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 22 2012, 02:26 AM) well for this series i didnt use any filters at all. just did some post processing in photoshop Wow... he must very good... nice to meet all master here.. about processing... in photoshop is not comfortable for me... I usually use in LR3/4 This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 22 2012, 01:35 AM |
Jul 22 2012, 01:49 AM
Jul 22 2012, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jul 22 2012, 04:42 AM) Moonwalk, welcome to alpha thread ^^ lwliam, Thanks for warm welcoming. I hope learning more from people who give honest criticize too and point out my mistake. Indeed, I'm very lucky know most of the master from overseas and today I will meet Patrick Low again in MMU melaka. Here his previous video which I learn. Nice pics u hv there. Even greater list of masters that you're 'training' under. Mind if i give my 2 cents? Im in no way near 1% of those masters though. But what I see is that you need more effort though if you are to use your pic to deliver a msg that you're trying to convey. Many of the shots do look like snapshots to me. What made them seems nice is merely your 'instagram-ish' editing style. Then again, 2 years is quite short a time in a photography point of view. Most important is that along the road, you learn to appreciate what's a good shot and what's not, not only in others' work, but also your own. Good job though with your enthusiasm with this art. Keep it up. We've got many experienced users here to guide should you hv any questions you hv to ask. Share more pics as well. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63kmqkAq5m4 His is in 20 years of photography and deliver alot info about ARTS of lights. Currently he is in WPPM mainly conceptual wedding shooting also Asian Awards Winner. I also being introduce by peer about keda. Z for his Canon gear base and photoshop and lightroom skill which gain him International awards. I'm very lucky too to meet Stock photographer Joey Chan for Product shooting for his speedlight difusser(Pro Kit speed light) mainly which require me spend RM300+ Is he is not teaching much... Just sales his product much mainly. I meet up too many Nikon and Canon friend. I have fear they not sincere to tell my weakness in my picture. When I ask,what is the problem. They not really have idea on it. I don't lable as FB "like" person. I want something is about photograph something. Even,500px and flicker... all is praising not bad comment. I'm try too convey my picture is to deliever what I know, I also hope sifu here ...use what I know to screw me up.. About snapshot case, I can't say is snap shoots.. My focus is in teaching my friend who still newbie in travelling photography with fast and clean. About instagram-ish' editing style. I being convince by various source, "WHY you should post-processing" by Simmon Chong,WPPM Pro. Melacca Photographer. Here is some before post-processing picture. #1 ![]() #2 ![]() #3 ![]() #4 ![]() #5 ![]() Have some comment!! After the conferences and the class. I will again come back they what they have tell me : ) cheers Added on July 22, 2012, 8:20 am QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jul 22 2012, 08:52 AM) of course i know the yongnuo can work in manual, I just try to figuring the price comparison in term manual vs auto flash features see which fit my need. jimlim007... yup zack outspoken person... lights is lights... : ) people call him one lights.. I think he will back Malaysia againwow! so many sifu (zack, carl , friedman) meet you. I like zack so much. I use TTL some time... after all I feel manual control is everything.. just after few shoots... you know what you want. TTL/ADI need in special case which require you get 1 shoots... correct!!! This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 22 2012, 08:20 AM |
Jul 22 2012, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jul 22 2012, 12:36 PM) moonwalk, my impression on you is that you're someone who are more of a theoretical person rather than a practical one. 3 words, go shoot more. I'm not saying that there's no need at all for post processing. PP is used to enhance a photo, not to salvage an unusable one. The photo has to be noteworthy to begin with, rather than slap bang on a retro look and add some helvetica font to make any pic look wow! lwliam thanks for your comment. Thanks for your comment. I admit I'm theoretical person. About practical... 3 words go shoot more. I would like to say... If I shoot blindly.. why shall I share opinion here?Thanks pull back your word... about post processing... you mention it earlier about instangram look. slap bang on a retro look and add some helvetica font. << I'm sure... you better idea and picture to convince me. Added on July 22, 2012, 2:06 pm QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jul 22 2012, 08:52 AM) of course i know the yongnuo can work in manual, I just try to figuring the price comparison in term manual vs auto flash features see which fit my need. sifu is sifu... they teach you with passion in photography... : ) wow! so many sifu (zack, carl , friedman) meet you. I like zack so much. Price wise... get sony alpha. Won't regret... : ) Added on July 22, 2012, 2:10 pm QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Jul 22 2012, 08:48 AM) @moonwalk: i am in the scene for close to 3 years already yet i still dare not consider myself pro... Your 2 cents... I take... of coz creativity... that is why I come out my style... some people shouting at me and as a matter of fact, i choose not to copy or follow all the 'masters' style and way. in photography, you learn technique and apply it in your own creativity. not copy other ppl's style. just my 2 cents 3 years time can make a person professional level.. this is facts... with technical skill and passion. Back to basic ethical. Added on July 22, 2012, 2:28 pmThanks for comment... I have to leave the group. Thanks for comment earlier post This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 22 2012, 02:28 PM |
Jul 22 2012, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 22 2012, 04:11 PM) Hi Moonwalk... i do not think he is shouting at your but just sharing their thoughts... Hi michael9413!! Thanks for the correction you hint me. That is the mistake really found in the photo. Simple,Clean and delivering a message. You are awesome guy, Not because you just newbie in photography industrial. I'm sure your comment is proven correct instead of some people throwing some thoughts "3 words go shoots more" and someone is very supportive +1 photography is a art where ppl just shows ppl what message they wanna convey to ppl on those pics... i scroll thru the photos u post... not bad but... the 1st post is a bit plain, as said by some one also... but i like this post... pls allow me to give my humble opinion as i'm no master just newbie here... #2 if you can shot him at other angle maybe you can get nicer view... the truck at the back is a lil obstructing... #3 if you can chop off the sign on the right is perfect... #5 frankly it is a lil plain... if you shoot more towards the upwards and to the left so the building is not in the photo i think it would be nice.. I would like to thanks your passion in explain my mistake sincerely period... I'm not here to provoke.. just wanna seat down think...look out my error honestly. This is curiosity... I think I no longer in this forum seems 1st few post already provoke our alpha pro. |
Jul 23 2012, 11:39 AM
@ Ed Paul.
I'm liking your personality and picture. I also observing this tread not this few month ago... in facts is 2 years ago. About your picture from 1 to 10 they all are awesome. I like your Conceptual Arts. Here are the picture same as you... just I still newbie during I shoots this photo ![]() Point of view of Conceptual Arts is like your personal "Brand". This image also not happen in few click and settle... Won't won any awards in professional judgement. so, I will refer back all my Conceptual Arts to my master Patrick Low. He friendly guy... now involve intensively in WPPM industrial. I kindda disappointed him in bring me to WPPM joint them.. I know where I stand... I not ready for any photography as my profession yet. Just,moderate. Here is the light painting with very low bajet. ![]() Back to Landscape, I have "Moderate HDR" which obviously not follow exactly what Trey Ratcliff spoons feed me over the video call system. Thanks him change my life with getting expensive "LEE filter,B+W 10 stop" Which accumulate RM1000+ for me. ![]() ![]() @william I no like you... no comment please. Added on July 23, 2012, 12:18 pm I bring Garry Friedman Visit Melaka, We exchanging more engineering lesson and shoot like a NASA people. We same passion in Studies,Hobbies and Music( He play Xaphoon I play professional Saxaphone) Added on July 23, 2012, 12:31 pm In photography is very emphasis hobbies...how it related about you I play intensive Chess. I'm Chess Players for more than 10 years. Currently pickup Shogi( Japanese Chess ) you will see alots of element of Chess in my life instead of taking picture I no into it. About me about our life. ![]() This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 23 2012, 12:31 PM |
Jul 23 2012, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(ieR @ Jul 23 2012, 02:00 PM) if you dont mind, i have some comments. I don't mind helpful and solid with knowledge comment instead of harshness with 3 words "Go and shoots" this is not an ethical photographer maybe for me. How his convince reader in his various blog such as F1.4 and bla bla bla.. I suddenly change my mind. He not a ethical photographer after he say bang the wall... "Angry forum people" why I shall speak talk with them? Show me he is certified awards winner Period. MPA,UK and bla bla bla... He will not be any professional photographer. HONEST1. your first photo, is underexposed, not sure its intentionally, or a mistake. it show neither day or night/dawn, hence it convey a half message, and imcomplete photo. 2. but then, many professional attain ARPS, RPS and/or Saloon certificate by submitting Conceptual Photo for their exam papers. Steve Chong (a local photographer who came out books, Ying Yang, Sigma endorsed photographer) famous landscape photographer (support local photographer please~ 3. normally, other photographer will just shoot your 'chinese chest conceptual art photo' (not sure it was conceptual art or u just wanna show 'light painting technique') its badly executed. seriously bad. there are countless mistake could be found (as exam are using deduction system). my comments are, i) try to fix the WB, your cool WB is not really portraying any emotion of 'intelligent in strategy' nor 'war-cry'... it felt sleepy. ii) you messy arrangement (some chess piece facing backwards sidewards etc, ) show weakness, it show a 'messy' management of a 'commander'... come'on even old man in the park arrange their chess piece nicely before play! and commander also can be refer as you, you did not put any effort to create a photo(or winning the war!). iii) light painting (i guess its a torchlight), are messy... here large spot, there small spot, making it, well, maybe, perfectly imperfect... or imperfectly perfect. whichever u prefer. it doesnt create any dramatic feel, as the purpose of 'lighting' in conception art. try putting more thought into a photography before shooting. it is exactly how other photographer like william or kysham will say, its just like a snapshot even my little girl can shoot better. 4) william is a great teacher, because he doesnt beat around the bush to get to the point. he may be harsh, but the harsher, the faster and stronger u grow. you said u dont like people pusing pusing or faking in commets... bear with him. if u meet him in real life, trust me, u cant stop laughing with him from the minute u meet till you say goodbye. 5) u never use Lee, u will Never understand. HDR is ugly to me. it not even 'reality' its a 'digital mumbojumbo crap'. getting the pure 'exposure' from manipulating exposure manually in a single exposure give u true endless satisfaction. and u dont need Lee to get those great photo. Taiwanese, are the PRO with 'black card techniques' with landscape black card cost 20cent only, unlike indonesian where heavily rely on GNDs filters (cokin/lee system), while the orang putih like to use 'digital' HDR(enhance a landscape digitally). but i will agree its personal preference on 'landscape' but digital enhance landscape is always a 'fake/tipu orang' piece of art. 6) i think we have meet before.... maybe not... Added on July 23, 2012, 1:02 pmahh, your shogi shot are nice... About Conceptual photographer.. Honest to tell... there are long road for me. All about is planning... that everyone agree that. The Chinese Chess, I paint with touch lights.. yup is with purpose of light arts... since,my camera don't have multiple exposure. I have to use 1 go... here another version ![]() which I ever think like what you think. BAD case.... I really no idea to make it perfects. Period... still mysteries for me. I use LEE,B+W,IR and GND of course I know they are very good. B+W 10 stops will also have colour cast issue.. therefore, I will decision wanting it or not. HDR!!! Never speak with my sifu. KEDA.Z he very anti people say he using HDR in his arts.. I know him. Therefore, I stop at HDR only for LANDSCAPE purpose. Black Cards.. I only get info from friend.. Never hand on experiences on that. FAKE/TIPU piece of arts..REAL HDR from orang putih... They teach me Natural HDR.. not that POPPING HDR. . Support Local photographer? I do support them like KEDA.Z ,Jen Siow, My University seniorSaiful Nang start his photography with RM50, My favourite Patrick LowI like this guy He explain everything including why he use concept and planning. I don't like Joe Chan he teach me buy his stuff... where can easily diy with a piece of paper. and many more... Why not support william??? He say ... shoot like a small gurl is not photography. where, I know a person guru call David Chua . I love his photograph.... support william??? I dunnoe... maybe his f1.4 blog need some changes... "Practice as what you preach". I here also not again him... I not sure we meet before, but... nice to meet up too.. honestly you explain very well.. Sincere person. The shogi... This shoots is taken with sunlight ray... which only few minutes... I faster get my camera snap it. Not big deal for your complement.. I still thinking view that can bring up the mood... very hard figure out. Product shoot is like bang... finish.. some stories telling picture indeed proven hard. thanks for your supportive comment. |
Jul 23 2012, 02:32 PM
Jul 23 2012, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(rainy~days @ Jul 23 2012, 05:59 PM) moonwalk bring in so much drama into the thread @rainy moonwalk: it's better to let your picture do the talking rather than brag and bring all your sifu's into the scene for the picture background to show people that your picture are worth something because you learn from the professionals. The picture are taken by you, not your sifu. you can share your settings, gear and processing for the picture's... rather than explain who teach you how to take that picture. As I already said earlier... not come here to brag my sifu's into scene. I come here with generally honest and straight to the point where I learn from instead hiding where I learn from(SELF LEARNING). I learn from professionals because I find them and appreciate their work. If you want learn from me. I will ask you refer to my sifu. They are mentor. This is act of ethics. Instead,I give wrong information. get me? I learn to modified. Not learn bulat-bulat |
Jul 23 2012, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jul 23 2012, 04:29 PM) Let's get one thing clear, NEVER did I ask anyone before to support me. Never did I also ask anyone to follow what I say. I was merely sharing my ideas and it is entirely up to the individual whether to 'try to understand' what I'm saying. In your case, I don't think so you understand any of it at all. Disgrace for someone who is coming from a prestigious university of MMU that you can't even construct a proper English sentence (and yes, THIS is mocking you, you asked for it). Don't even say you're from MMU in public - and yes, I am your SENIOR (not that you care anyway). @lwliam I am proud of my own work whether others like it or not, that is the reason I don't hide it, I share it for everyone to have access to it. Show us your work, let everyone judge if what you shoot is what you say it is. Else, learn to listen to what others have to say with an open heart. As for my blogs, I admit that I am not a good website designer. I'm not from IT or FCM (if you're a true MMU student, you'd understand what that means) background. Nevertheless, I am still proud to show it out. Kapish? I already say... I don't like your comment. So,you don't have to comment and just keep silent. Please show that you are mature than me instead explaining who you are. I Don't know how to constructs English proper sentence? ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() I not really care who are the MMU seniors CORRECT you not like saiful nang love their junior and help them developing. Have you joint photography club and helping those weak junior? YES means GOOD!!! so,don't talk like my SENIOR. IT/FCM?? Cut your crap... nobody care your design. I don't mind you use blogspot. I care your CONTENT. That is your blog you want make it for public that is your choice. I read,I digest from what you preaching over there. YOU PROUD. I really din't care. P/S: before I comment in here. I thought you are great guy!!! must be a PRO!!! after seeing your sentences... aiya... show off too not my concern too... I won't read it and deleted from bookmarks @Too all sifu here. I have already said... this place is not a healthy place for me carrying the stupidity hitting each other because of individual. This is the picture I make it happen with a NIKON Harcore fans. This guy hold wireless flash for me. I snap it!!! and we become friend. #here the picture how I social with most stranger too. I tell them who is my master and share my story.. He share his Nikon diamond lens where make him so difficult to get it those day. I tell my alpha story... ![]() with some idealogy... don't mention your sifu...show picture. # He is my lecturer/mentor Mr.Jeong Chun Phuoc LAW Lecturer who use SLR intensively. passion guy. Love his work. ![]() This post has been edited by moonwalk: Jul 23 2012, 10:04 PM |
Jul 23 2012, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jul 23 2012, 11:03 PM) moonwalk, hahahha, you have just contradicted yourself by replying to me in your last post, and it's a bloody long one at that too.. so nahh, tl;dr.. stopped at "you are GREAT", why thank you @lwliam, problem ?? MMU student??SENIOR?? Have you have bunch of good friend in Uni?? I'm Mechanical Engineering Final Years FYP (To be announce... will be photographic tool enhance design??) Mysteries. #MMU Awards Nomination Winner ![]() Don't have to comment my photo. All done in LR + Stobist knowleged. # ![]() # ![]() # ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0517sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:36 PM |