Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V58, The Orange Legion

ieR
post Nov 7 2012, 05:41 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

albnok: the heritage walk, what time after lunch? coz i reaching around 1pm, i guess some of you guys can meet up first for lunch at central.,...
ieR
post Nov 8 2012, 12:50 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

woooo, i wan to join, but i have baggages... :/ so how now? meet at kl central, then join the walk? or meet at the junction of Jln. Sultan and Jln Cheng Lock? (which i have no idea where is it)
ieR
post Nov 8 2012, 08:27 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

last one, very nice! like the alient from C&C

Added on November 8, 2012, 8:36 pmGuys, the final plans, (which dont sound like plan thou)

i am not sure what time i able to reach KL central, but everyone can meet up at KL central first, hopefully albnok will be there too. just do a gathering.
now, at 1:15pm, those who are interested to join the Heritage walk (FB Event Page), can join albnok to proceed to the event venue. those who wanted to stay, well, McD cant chase you guys out right? tongue.gif
(*side note, the lunch at 2pm at Sang Kee Restaurant is Non Halal, to our muslim friends, you might need to find a new spot to gather during lunch)
depending what time i reach KL central, TT a while, depend on the majority, we may join them at 2:30 back to Annexe Gallery (i have no idea where is it) or straight meet them at 3:00pm at Annexe Gallery for the Open Talk Session "Current Scene of Community Art in Japan and Malaysia".

who knows, after the talk, we can TT again.... i believe a lot poison also...

10th November (Saturday) Lunch at KL Central (mcD)

someone suggest a location?
1) ieR - all the way from sarawak!
2) porkchop - Midvalley cos near my place
3) hazril - dont want near porkchop place
4) shootkk - NO! NOT Midvalley coz it is parking and traffic jam HELL!! Suggest Puchong Setia Walk or somewhere in Sunway..
5) chiahau - If i got my Nex 6 and anywhere near LRT, Suggest KLCC or Pavi coz plenty of leng lui and Marini's is just damn near
6) mls_gamer - Sunway pyramid or midvalley...Will join if my nex-5n still with me...
7) William - Sunway, Setia Walk, Paradigm Mall. Most importantly, how is ieR going to get to the location? Preferably noon time for lunch or something.
8) zstan - no want MV or KL if possible. prefer afternoon too
9)eddybeh - don wan MV or KL if possible too. afternoon~
10) EvanKeat - place?? somewhere comfortable no traffic jam!
11) soket - all take lrt to zaloon~!
** discuss discuss who wan go sekinchan next day?

13th November (Tuesday) unknown location and time (prob night.... afternoon should be hanging out at zaloon)
1) ieR
2) Kysham (yea.... kysham)
3)
4)
GUYS, can do at Curve kah?

Stick back to original plan, KL central!

This post has been edited by ieR: Nov 8 2012, 08:36 PM
ieR
post Nov 8 2012, 10:39 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

whats the problem jimmy?
ieR
post Nov 9 2012, 12:32 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Nov 9 2012, 06:59 AM)
Small matter, someone comment A57 can do DMF, but I unable to do so.... after i checked , A57 body did not support DMF rclxub.gif
i think u misunderstood or gotten mislead.

the A57 does NOT have DMF. its the 18135 has DMF. the 1855 does NOT DMF. that why i keep hinting (forgot who) that 18135 package is better and wont go wrong.

the REAL DMF is form inside the lens.

the body is "[emulated type" DMF. means the in body Motor disengage after focusing, then reengage when half-press again (in AF-S/A)... if u are a very technical gearhead, then u would comment bout the lag between the engaging and deengaging emulated DMF.
ieR
post Nov 9 2012, 06:27 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 9 2012, 06:08 PM)
ieR the thing is his using 18-135 with A57 but no DMF..
if 18-135 has DMF any body also can support right?
yes. any body doesnt matter, since the DMF is IN THE LENS. its a build in 'auto clutching' for the AF gear... it auto releases when sense a motion/force on the focus ring. nothing to do with body.

maybe he is CONFUSED with the DMF usage... when u touch the focus ring, it auto release, but when u let go, it auto engage it back, and IF with auto eye start, even in AF-A, the lens will refocus. DMF is best use with "auto eye start - OFF" and after lock (tee teet/half press) then only your MF, then shutter release...

a lot my friend also dont understand how to really use DMF... ask why the lens still focus after they MF the lens =.=|||

This is where i find the Pro body AF/MF button very very very very useful (over DMF)....
ieR
post Nov 9 2012, 11:13 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Chihuahua921 @ Nov 9 2012, 09:49 PM)
So it means that u half press the shutter and u can have DMF, even in AF modes. I'll try when mine arrives.
-_____- errrr not really likethat... come TT la tomolo at KL central 1pm~ lol

its a logical issue u have to think a bit.

DMF is there FULL TIME... u can refocus anytime, its the body's AF system that will "dont understand your are Manual Focusing" and go refocus after u play with DMF... coz DMF once u let go, the clutch activate back to AF mode...
u need the camera to lock, and 'deactivate refocusing'.... so it wont kacau your focusing during DMF
ieR
post Nov 10 2012, 09:25 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Don't worry, we all always asks these question before we learned to use the thing. Just ask we try our best to assist smile.gif
ieR
post Nov 13 2012, 07:01 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

We, bunch of us, are TT with kysham, William, darkholeangel, Joseph, mengkiat, gouki, albnok, eddybeh, porkchop, at the curve... Food not yet decide, anyone can join,... Just come and call me 0128770990
ieR
post Nov 26 2012, 10:55 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

dear jimmyyap03, A57 do not have DMF

only A100, A700, A900, A850, A77, A99 has DMF

and DMF also available "in"

Crop lens:
SAL1650 SSM
SAL18135 SAM

and all SEL (Emount) lens.

and FF SSM lens
ieR
post Nov 27 2012, 06:48 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

erm, rm50 filter degrade image quality (IQ).... if for lens under 1k (kitlens etc) just go naked. if for lens over 1k (18135, 50F1.4 etc) then go for better alternate like hoya and b+w
ieR
post Nov 29 2012, 10:08 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

A37 has the same quality of a55, just several features are disable compare to the a5 series.
ieR
post Nov 29 2012, 05:30 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(LiBERTY_X @ Nov 29 2012, 02:46 PM)
so Is that mean dun get a37 and get a57 instead?
what is the best lens to get if i wan something wide angel?
best looking something like 16mm but not fisheye
if u can spare a little more, yea, jump on the A57, the image quality is slight better in term of lowlight, body feel also more solid (bigger compare to the A3 series).

as for lens, there are currently 2 packages, one with the shorter zoom lens, 18-55 (which is a lot cheaper) and the longer zoom lens, 18-135 (which cost a little more around 700-800)...

my advise is go for the 18135, it is very sharp lens, and very friendly zoom range.

as for "wide angle" topic, first thing you need to know is that you are on a Crop sensor, anything that is larger then 24mm is consider wide angle on crop. and 16mm vs 18mm on crop has not much different... unless u are talking bout "Ultra Wide Angle" UWA, which should range from 10-18 in crop factor. but it will cost u another 2k+ just for that lens. so the advise is still try to shoot with the kitlens (1855 or 18135) and try to understand more how does the lens work,... until then, u will know how to pick the next lens to purchase. smile.gif
ieR
post Dec 1 2012, 01:01 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Chihuahua921 @ Nov 30 2012, 09:10 PM)
Another supporter of A57&18-135mm lens here.  Great lens for any scenes, including macro(not that macro that can take a bee's legs with hair lah). Quite good on focusing and is silent for a SAM lens. A happy and satisfied user of A57M. rclxms.gif
I have a funny feeling, I think my P&S performs slightly better on landscape photography.
not surprised there... pns or handphone camera has a lot smaller sensor, hence huge DOF (area in focus), so u get more overall in focus picture, then pns/hp usually are enhance with color and sharpness, until even handphone color is more vivid then DSLR... i too sometimes so lazy, just use my smartphone shoot photo only, quick and discreet. smile.gif
ieR
post Dec 1 2012, 10:59 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

ieR
post Dec 2 2012, 03:05 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

latest report on the A77... still working like a charm.

tips/advise: be very careful when changing lens, but not recommended. please wipe clean before opening the mount too.

and do not try it/'intentional' test weather sealing,... weather sealing is mean for 'accidental' or passive resistant... so light drizzle is fine, but the above attempt is a very risky move.
ieR
post Dec 4 2012, 05:37 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

sandisk pro write also not 95...its 90 tongue.gif

hazril:
16gb sandisk E-Pro 95mbs, rm160 i last checked,
32gb sandisk E 45mbs, rm140

both from lowyat... i end up getting 32gb 45mbs, more value for money, coz i burst also around 6/8fps, can cope up to 40frames with no problem...
ieR
post Dec 6 2012, 06:04 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

siggy 35 is so-so lens... but sigma is famous for bad QC... 7 unit out of 10, can throw away... but the 3 that survived, they are usually very goodlings...
ieR
post Dec 7 2012, 07:26 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Chihuahua921 @ Dec 7 2012, 04:40 PM)
CPL filter useful In Malaysia outdoors or not?
NOPE. i even try using it in japan, and still nope. CPL only use for reflection to get the max effect of cpl. other than that, landscape doesnt help much. friend uses canon with CPL ask me why my sony without CPL color is even nicer then his -____- i damn lazy answer coz later spark conflict during my trip...

mr JimLim, again with your billions of question which can be answer by simply... DO THE TEST YOURSELF.

but on logic wise, which you are fairly weak....

i would leave the pop up ON, not blocking it. shooting anything with F5.6 above, iso100 with more then 3 meter distance. the pop up flash will be under for about 3-5 stops. that 3-5 stop is a good "soft fill in" and "catchlight for the eye to be sparkling", i know this because i once change to tranreceiver, and all my eyes has no soul, so i change back to pop up anyway, yes its a obvious huge differences.

unless u wan completely dark shadow for dramatic effect, turn off DRO (they are sometime nuisances) and use HSS (shutter pass 1/160)... that will completely avoid popup fill light.

when i shoot anything with F4 and below (for shallow DOF effect), i will use HSS to avoid strong fill light from pop up, or get another F43 and set the primary to DNF. or, get F20, bounce it.
ieR
post Dec 9 2012, 02:55 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Warning: data intensive! (around 25mbs of images)

the funny part when my friends comment are... how did u climb all those trees/roofs? (some shots are roof/tree level)... well... the only FF with crazy bending LCD...

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0565sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:10 PM