s drive noisy, and more towards spirited/aggressive driving in dry conditions. wet grip s drive isnt so well.
michelin ps3 is a more all rounder tire, provided you have the budget to afford it
Tyre noise of my car
Jul 16 2012, 02:48 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
s drive noisy, and more towards spirited/aggressive driving in dry conditions. wet grip s drive isnt so well. michelin ps3 is a more all rounder tire, provided you have the budget to afford it |
Jul 16 2012, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(Sawamura @ Jul 16 2012, 02:50 PM) how much is the price different between ps3 and xm2.. for your "2", please maintain same tire profile/width so you have same contact pattern/tread for safety/stability purpose and which one is better if im looking for comfort drive (never speed above 120kmh) for only comfort, definitely XM2 and it is much cheaper. for 17" tires Michelin ps3 confirm over 300 per piece, xm2 maybe still in the high 2xx? not too sure. Also you might want to consider yokohama c drive 2 instead if you're only looking for comfort. if your budget permits, and since you're on 17" wheels, you can also consider yokohama Advan DB (their flagship comfort tires |
Jul 16 2012, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 16 2012, 05:23 PM) haha my mindset's pretty much in the 15" 's since i never look up on tire sizes. with that said, i did look up advan db cuz they are only available for 16" and above i believe.with that said, 17" advan db is like 600-700+ per tire, and id easily choose advan db if ps3 is gonna price at over 600 lol |
Jul 16 2012, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 16 2012, 09:37 PM) Michelin PS3 1) because "is data from 4 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 35,010 miles driven." vs "is data from 83 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 961,132 miles driven." is fair.http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Michelin...Sport-3-PS3.htm Advan DB http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Yokohama/AVS-dB-v550.htm i can't brain your statement lol. Why'd you rather choose that tire over something with an awesome reputation for silence, dry grip and wet grip. 2) http://www.yokohamatire.jp/yrc/japan/tire/...db_declbel.html QUOTE ● パターンナンバー : V551 ("pa ta-n nan ba" aka "Pattern number" btw) as another forumer already replied you. Added on July 16, 2012, 10:48 pm QUOTE(pds_disi @ Jul 16 2012, 09:12 PM) advan db 215/45 R17 4pcs each RM485, JB price. can provide a review with other tires? (previous tires? surely you didnt just drive your car straight out the factory with advan db tires? lol)clocked 1K KM, not sure worth the price since its still pretty noisy on bolehland road surface. maybe have to go find a same car with different tyre to know the different. Added on July 16, 2012, 10:49 pm QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 16 2012, 10:11 PM) c.drive 2 is tried and testedand advan db is yokohama's flagship model when it comes to noise/comfort This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 16 2012, 10:49 PM |
Jul 18 2012, 02:44 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « much thanks for the detailed review bro. but yeah as you said, i also think your high expectations is a factor. another thing is you changed your tires (lol so phobia, then again, i guess i would too if i were on tires that nearly killed me...) too quick before you can do any serious comparisons/testing between silverstone/advan db (hey, at least its some form of benchmark, better than nothing XD) what i did last time was this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=48254806 phone recording and basic sound spectrum analysis lol. |
Jul 18 2012, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 18 2012, 07:50 PM) If I seen those tires on my brand new car, I would also get rid of it, burn it if possible just to make sure nobody buys it and kills themselves. well when i was getting interested in tires (or cars in general) it was also mainly from ICE, and due to that, my utmost priority in tires = comfort/noise. silverstone never rang any bells and i guess i was glad to never had experience with silverstone?I also almost met my creator when my rear, fitted with silverstones while front fitted with V12, suddenly gave way without warning and the whole car started drifting, countersteered and the car snapped and fishtailed to the right, countered again and the car snapped again to the left and ended up spinning 180deg finally stopping right next to the divider with roughly 1/2 car width between, facing the opposite direction. Luckily the road was empty else i really might had met my creator. Btw, about the previous comment saying 'At least i still can countersteer'. Trust me, you think its easy, but when it actually happens at high speed(i was travelling at almost 100 at the time), you'll shit your balls out and can't think straight. After i stopped then i realised what i did wrong. instead of flooring the throttle when the rear started sliding, i released the throttle instead which was what made the car snap while cornering. If the car understeer, release the throttle and usually you'll be fine. Worse come to worst just feather the brakes abit and pray the ESP in your car works if it's equipped with one. that said, i've had my fair share of experience on fish tailing (iswara aeroback, lol) and even caught in a few accidents. though at the same time avoided a handful more others cuz of *decent reaction* and/or through experiences of facing such issues via countersteering/reacting (again, easier said than done, eg: don't f***ing panic it's not as hard as some people might put it out to be (ASSUMING you'renot speeding like f*** and/or taking some really aggressive cornering) however at the same time when it actually happens, things like this are always matter of "easier said than done" as things happen in mere seconds/split-seconds. despite all that, i still put my new tires in the front to balance out my wear, and when i change tire, i will be changing all 4 instead of in pairs |
| Change to: | 0.0186sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:53 PM |