>>> DIY Notebook Cooler Owner's Club <<<, Cost Effective + Performance

skycrawler
post Feb 17 2012, 05:38 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Dec 13 2011, 09:41 AM)
nice. btw how much it cost you? and the metal plate underneath, where can find such plate? or is it the normal cooling fan with additional custom fan attached?
pls advise
total nearing RM100 bcoz I use a lot of fans XD , but its okay with me since im an enthusiast smile.gif . The plate comes from Cooler Master Notepal U3 , I sell its fans for RM60 . I bought those 12cm n 9cm fans separately smile.gif
Irbean
post Feb 17 2012, 08:07 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Feb 17 2012, 06:38 AM)
total nearing RM100 bcoz I use a lot of fans XD , but its okay with me since im an enthusiast smile.gif  . The plate comes from Cooler Master Notepal U3 , I sell its fans for RM60 . I bought those 12cm n 9cm fans separately smile.gif
no wonder the design really looks like Coolermaster at the first place. I thought there's shop selling only for the metal plate. BTW, its nice!
Jinster
post Feb 17 2012, 11:10 AM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

the coolermaster laptop cooler was designed nicely for us to add more fans and diy our own power supplier haha..
it would be nicer if u match all the fans to be the same brand or size ^^

This post has been edited by Jinster: Feb 17 2012, 11:11 AM
skycrawler
post Feb 18 2012, 04:29 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Feb 17 2012, 08:07 AM)
no wonder the design really looks like Coolermaster at the first place. I thought there's shop selling only for the metal plate. BTW, its nice!
Thanks biggrin.gif
skycrawler
post Feb 18 2012, 04:34 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Feb 17 2012, 11:10 AM)
the coolermaster laptop cooler was designed nicely for us to add more fans and diy our own power supplier haha..
it would be nicer if u match all the fans to be the same brand or size ^^
Yup , so true , I'm not looking for design , imma looking for performance (although, I do bought the CM red fan for its LED XD ) but the rest of the fans are for performance ( increase air circulation rate nod.gif )
muhammadsiddiq
post Feb 21 2012, 09:31 PM

499 posts

im thinking to mod my cooler since my cooler pad is realy realy slow...it's g shark brand(bought using voucer, and i not dissapointed..haha) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
i thought to buy CM led 120mm...and i need ur opinion, its ok ? or do u have any other opinion...?

the g shark brand,
devilish_yin
post Feb 22 2012, 03:59 AM

543 posts

CM 90cfm is not too good to use for cooler pad .. 3 died on me oledy .... IMO noticed after 3 died ~_~ ..since the cm use sleeve bearing ..and we mounted the fan at an angled position ..the bearing just cannot tahan ... 3 of my fan all die by the same way ..fan stuck ..so I suspect the bearing

and it a waste really getting an led fan for a cooler pad ...once u put the laptop onto it ..nothing comes out tongue.gif ..I'm talking based on my experience ....better buy some led and DIY hahahaha

plus once u installed a high flow fan ..make sure u have some 10mm clearance between ur pad and ur laptop if not the fan would be struggling to push the air out ...or if it sucking in make sure the backside have some clearance also ~ adding some pad would help alot

skycrawler
post Feb 22 2012, 01:48 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

I suggest u go for this

Way cheaper and faster than CM LED 12cm , u can buy it here :

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=938168&hl=

This post has been edited by skycrawler: Feb 22 2012, 01:49 PM
devilish_yin
post Feb 22 2012, 08:06 PM

543 posts

LOL now I really buthurt hahaha

I'm selling those also ...quite fast move a lot of air way better than any fan ONLY If you can handle the 35~40db noise. Thus getting a rheostat is HIGHLY recommended if you cant handle noise

U can see the internal picture here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2208955
using ball bearing sleeving ..got 2 inside of it

For those led U might wanna DIY some 4X50sen led with 1 resistor for 3ringgit max cost lol
skycrawler
post Feb 23 2012, 01:08 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Feb 22 2012, 08:06 PM)
LOL now I really buthurt hahaha

I'm selling those also ...quite fast move a lot of air way better than any fan ONLY If you can handle the 35~40db noise. Thus getting a rheostat is HIGHLY recommended if you cant handle noise

U can see the internal picture here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2208955
using ball bearing sleeving ..got 2 inside of it

For those led U might wanna DIY some 4X50sen led with 1 resistor for 3ringgit max cost lol
Im only turn it on when i play game , if browsing internet or idle , I just used 2 x 92mm fans (new fan installed) biggrin.gif

what does it mean if use ball bearing sleeving? bad? not good?
devilish_yin
post Feb 23 2012, 01:14 AM

543 posts

Should you throw out every single fan that uses sleeve bearings? No. Should you never ever buy a heatsink with sleeve bearings? That's up to you. With proper lubrication sleeve bearings will provide performance and service on par with that of their ball bearing counterparts. If left alone for a long time, and run at higher temperatures they will fail before the ball bearings will. With some fans using both bearing systems the lines become blurred...

For things like powersupplies it makes much more sense to only use ball bearing based fans. For CPU coolers that are on for extended periods of the time the same goes. For the average home PC which is on intermittently, sleeve bearings are a fine choice. For overclockers running Peltiers, ball bearings should be the only kind of fan considered. That said the decision truely depends upon the circumstances, and the quality of the fan being considered.

For my sleeve bearing fans I think I'll go put a small dab of grease under that sticker just to be on the safe side ;-)

SOS

Ball Bearing more good~ ...in my case the fan is ON 24/7 ...I usually dun turn my laptop off
flodder
post Feb 24 2012, 11:45 AM

6 batang ab numb addicted with 6 bintang
1,039 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Feb 22 2012, 01:48 PM)
I suggest u go for this

Way cheaper and faster than CM LED 12cm , u can buy it here :

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=938168&hl=
Ya cheaper last time I don't know the price I straight buy from the PC shop RM10 after that I know no worth RM10 also
devilish_yin
post Feb 25 2012, 01:24 AM

543 posts

when and which shop did u buy this fan for 10 buck liao ..if like that I also wanna buy in bulk lol hahaha

This fan really good & long lasting the bad thing is that it's abit of noisy ..but in term of value & performance I rather use it than the CM Fan
flodder
post Feb 25 2012, 01:31 AM

1,039 posts

many years ago in Penang 1stop there shops no longer open now. already moved either owner bankrap not sure
skycrawler
post Feb 26 2012, 04:08 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Feb 25 2012, 01:24 AM)
when and which shop did u buy this fan for 10 buck liao ..if like that I also wanna buy in bulk lol hahaha

This fan really good & long lasting the bad thing is that it's abit of noisy ..but in term of value & performance I rather use it than the CM Fan
if want to buy bulk better go to taobao.com they got 12cm 12v AVC fan with 1.5A , so much power biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif
devilish_yin
post Feb 27 2012, 01:46 PM

543 posts

at 1.5A ...the noise would be way way crazy ler hahaha ...

BTW taobao.com is a china marketplace ? mean ship from China one ?
flodder
post Feb 28 2012, 03:42 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Feb 26 2012, 04:08 AM)
if want to buy bulk better go to taobao.com they got 12cm 12v AVC fan with 1.5A , so much power biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif
but it is stand last long for their brands not? brows.gif
skycrawler
post Feb 28 2012, 09:48 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Feb 27 2012, 01:46 PM)
at 1.5A ...the noise would be way way crazy ler hahaha ...

BTW taobao.com is a china marketplace ? mean ship from China one ?
Yup flex.gif sweat.gif

Ship from china really worth it , only RM12/kg , arrive in 3-5 days biggrin.gif

QUOTE(flodder @ Feb 28 2012, 03:42 AM)
but it is stand last long for their brands not?  brows.gif
Just need a little grease on its bearing for long lasting performance biggrin.gif
devilish_yin
post Feb 28 2012, 01:41 PM

543 posts

serius ker RM12 @_@

Added on February 28, 2012, 1:43 pmdamn ler ... cant navigate around taoboa ..ler ....sesat ..

This post has been edited by devilish_yin: Feb 28 2012, 01:43 PM
skycrawler
post Feb 29 2012, 07:16 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Feb 28 2012, 01:41 PM)
serius ker RM12 @_@

Added on February 28, 2012, 1:43 pmdamn ler ... cant navigate around taoboa ..ler ....sesat ..
Yup , y sesat meh? Use google translator on their website biggrin.gif

25 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 >Top

0.0266sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:02 PM