25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

>>> DIY Notebook Cooler Owner's Club <<<, Cost Effective + Performance

medallion
post Feb 1 2006, 07:45 PM

99 posts

Nice nice...but should use those transparent file folders and add LED fans!

thumbup.gif Good mod. notworthy.gif
TSwtm0325
post Feb 3 2006, 01:14 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(Pdot @ Feb 1 2006, 05:58 PM)
tongue.gif nice job thumbup.gif

btw can i get some opinion here??

compare a USB cooler pad n AC power cooler pad which gud unsure.gif

if lappie USB better but in term of cooling AC power better unsure.gif
usb gives u 5v only, while adapter will give u 12v, means u'll get the fan spin stronger biggrin.gif

it depends, i pick adapter coz my lappy USB slot is full edi, thts the main reason, while i'm using a variable adapter so the fan can be adjusted (1.5v, 3v, 4.5v, 6v, 7.5v, 9v, 10.5v, 12v)

thanks for all, and my new notebook cooler is finished, will post pic when i get my dc, very soon brows.gif
TSwtm0325
post Feb 5 2006, 12:54 PM

1,796 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

done, hvnt tested on lappy yet smile.gif

This post has been edited by wtm0325: Aug 15 2006, 05:55 PM
TSwtm0325
post Feb 10 2006, 01:00 AM

1,796 posts

tested the cooler, very nice performance n silent, has stronger airflow comparing to 3x 8cm fan last time thumbup.gif now on BT no need scare heat liao lu...

This post has been edited by wtm0325: Aug 15 2006, 05:56 PM
SUSHaM7
post May 4 2006, 07:41 PM

Team Eclipse = Geng Team!!
39 posts

very very nice job keep it up
Asurada
post May 4 2006, 09:58 PM

370 posts

Nice.....maybe add an arm rest at front and using 3 fan for cooling will be better..... maybe can add usb hub and card reader in as well ... : thumb :
koie
post May 25 2006, 03:09 AM

Validating
461 posts

throw away the wooden stuff... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by koie: May 26 2006, 01:57 AM
mengsuan
post May 25 2006, 04:58 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Feb 10 2006, 01:00 AM)
tested the cooler, very nice performance n silent, has stronger airflow comparing to 3x 8cm fan last time thumbup.gif now on BT no need scare heat liao lu...

btw no one wan my crappy wood notebook cooler? i'm giving away FREE now with the whole set including adapter, anyone wan to make full use of it, u can come to my place thumbup.gif

*if nobody wan i hv to throw the wood cooler sad.gif
Throw away? I think the fans are quite useful... From your user profile, you're in setapak?
jinkinz
post May 26 2006, 03:58 AM

♥HIEK!my name is BOXXY!♥
1,162 posts

QUOTE(Torniquet @ Jan 23 2006, 06:28 PM)
if its make of arcylic is even better
2 nd tat.....
tutiger
post May 28 2006, 08:05 PM

415 posts

Great job, nice design and congrats on achieving your target, providing cooling to the places needed to be cooled and not somewhere random smile.gif rclxm9.gif

Merely just an input, since we are talking abt laptops.

Is there anyway we can add a battery pad (also known as external battery) at the bottom of our laptop and add fan built-in with it powered by the laptop's power cable, meaning power cable into the pad and charge it as well as power to the fans. Pads will be connected to the power inlet of the laptop to power it. Thus we will be able to have extended power along with air circulation too.

Below is an example of a battery pad along with the charger set.

This post has been edited by tutiger: May 28 2006, 08:16 PM

omarba
post May 30 2006, 11:04 AM

98 posts

I think want to modd my table .... make hole and put fan.... Wait approval from my boss.
mengsuan
post May 30 2006, 04:01 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(omarba @ May 30 2006, 11:04 AM)
I think want to modd my table .... make hole and put fan....  Wait approval from my boss.
Woots! Your boss will be amazed. One thing... How big is your table? If it is small and you plan to write on the table... sweat.gif
TSwtm0325
post Aug 15 2006, 01:48 AM

1,796 posts

wooohooo bump up this thread for u guys! tongue.gif
Mavik
post Aug 15 2006, 08:17 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Aug 15 2006, 01:48 AM)
wooohooo bump up this thread for u guys! tongue.gif
You should consider making it slightly sloping, having the horizontally flat, it would be rather uncomfortable right?
TSwtm0325
post Aug 15 2006, 04:01 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 15 2006, 08:17 AM)
You should consider making it slightly sloping, having the horizontally flat, it would be rather uncomfortable right?
thanks for the great idea, probably will come out in the next version of my DIY cooler thumbup.gif

hv to redesign the arcylic, as when it's sloping, the laptop might drop tongue.gif
jenatic
post Aug 15 2006, 05:06 PM

341 posts

I have to say i'm pretty amazed as well as inspired. WTM can give me any personal tips on how to do step by step? I'm thinking of doing one for myself in a week time since most of my assignments due this week. Boleh tunjuk ajar bro?
nelienuxe_sara
post Aug 15 2006, 05:07 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

still got the wooden one
i would like to get it
since my home is very close to ur
wangsa melawati
gimme ur phone no la
so i can contact u
TSwtm0325
post Aug 15 2006, 10:15 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(jenatic @ Aug 15 2006, 05:06 PM)
I have to say i'm pretty amazed as well as inspired. WTM can give me any personal tips on how to do step by step? I'm thinking of doing one for myself in a week time since most of my assignments due this week. Boleh tunjuk ajar bro?
it's simple icon_idea.gif

1) measure ur laptop for buying acrylic, find out ur notebook heat area so tht ur fan is designed at the heat area

2) choose the amount of fan n size u wan (i take 12cm fan as it's silent n has great airflow)

3) buy adapter, either 500mAH, 800mAH or 1000mAH, the higher the greater ur fan will run when u full load it

4) take ur fan n goto those shop which sells arcylic (i used 2.5mm thick arcylic, 3mm oso can), tell him ur idea n give him the fan for reference

5) make sure u do not miss out the hole for screws when the shop makes the blowhole, every blowhole n screw hole is done by the seller

6) now arcylic kaodim, go buy the red rubber tube (any size as long as taller than the fan) n screw w nuts for the red rubber tube

7) screw them all, cut ur fan n adapter wire, connect it to the fan n remember to use tape to wrap the joint part, n u r done

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Aug 15 2006, 05:07 PM)
still got the wooden one
i would like to get it
since my home is very close to ur
wangsa melawati
gimme ur phone no la
so i can contact u
oledi give to LYN member last time tongue.gif
jenatic
post Aug 16 2006, 08:34 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Aug 15 2006, 10:15 PM)
it's simple  icon_idea.gif

1) measure ur laptop for buying acrylic, find out ur notebook heat area so tht ur fan is designed at the heat area

2) choose the amount of fan n size u wan (i take 12cm fan as it's silent n has great airflow)

3) buy adapter, either 500mAH, 800mAH or 1000mAH, the higher the greater ur fan will run when u full load it

4) take ur fan n goto those shop which sells arcylic (i used 2.5mm thick arcylic, 3mm oso can), tell him ur idea n give him the fan for reference

5) make sure u do not miss out the hole for screws when the shop makes the blowhole, every blowhole n screw hole is done by the seller

6) now arcylic kaodim, go buy the red rubber tube (any size as long as taller than the fan) n screw w nuts for the red rubber tube

7) screw them all, cut ur fan n adapter wire, connect it to the fan n remember to use tape to wrap the joint part, n u r done
normally shops which sells arcylic are those DIY shops right? they'd also be able to cut the blowhole for me as well right? cause i have no idea how to make a blowhole to fit my fans. if i'm planning to use 2 12cm fan one at bottom right the other at upper left of the board, how much of an adapter capacity should i be using? tongue.gif this is getting interesting
TSwtm0325
post Aug 16 2006, 08:12 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(jenatic @ Aug 16 2006, 08:34 AM)
normally shops which sells arcylic are those DIY shops right? they'd also be able to cut the blowhole for me as well right? cause i have no idea how to make a blowhole to fit my fans. if i'm planning to use 2 12cm fan one at bottom right the other at upper left of the board, how much of an adapter capacity should i be using? tongue.gif this is getting interesting
i did it at my hometown, doesnt know any shops here doin the service while selling arcylic, but normally they do tongue.gif

y put so many fan? end up only noisy, bulky, fan not strong, dusty n expensive, but performance wise, only increase a little bit oni doh.gif just put to the main heat part, processor n hdd is more than enuf already

normally outside u'll get 1000mAH adapter max

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:28 PM