Sony XPERIA S™ Official Thread | V6, ICS 4.0.4 Update Rolling Out Now

mtxx
post Oct 21 2012, 08:37 PM

5,011 posts

Hi everyone, i have some questions about this phone,
i hope you guys are kind enough to answer me.

1. the 32GB memory, how much is user available?
2. if flash cyanogenmod rom, will it lose HDMI out function? or any missing features after go cyanogen?
3. is the CM10 rom good for daily use in this phone?

mtxx
post Oct 21 2012, 11:15 PM

5,011 posts

THanks gamesky for your reply.

26GB is a good amount.

but i am shocked that the camera not working in cm10.
strange i thought that since sony release the binary,
xperia S suppose to have superior AOSP roms. weird,

but thanks for the info.
appreciate it.
mtxx
post Dec 25 2012, 09:29 AM

5,011 posts

Do usb otg cable works for this phone on stock rom without root?

To connect mouse, keyboard, usb pendrive?

Or need root and install stickmount?
mtxx
post Dec 25 2012, 05:14 PM

5,011 posts

hi everyone, new user here.

bought for rm1199, sony christmas promotion.

but i'm very piss off at the seller.
i thought this phone comes with hdmi cable? he say dont have, gave me 2 usb cable instead. i argue with him very long, then he bring me to the sony shop (kononya his supplier), that guy there very fierce say only the early batch got hdmi cable, now cheaper price one dont have.

do you all get hdmi cable when buy?
mtxx
post Dec 25 2012, 11:19 PM

5,011 posts

the UI was terrible on first boot, and very slow and laggy. sweat. after check only realize its on gingerbread
download 200MB stuff and upgrade it to ics by over the air.
looks more similar to cm9 after the update. speed improved after the update.

but this phone is really not user friendly, in terms of the hardware.
got stupid lids that cover the important ports.
and the capacitive buttons are so missleading,
its not the transparent bar, its above it at the dots.
and worst the bar is not touch sensitive enough, need to press extra hard compared to the screen.

screen resolution is high, but colors are so so pale...

this phone buy for my mom, she's still having trouble keep thinking the transparent bar is the button, haha.

just curious, last time got someone told me xperia s can launch camera 1 second from deepsleep. but it only work once, every time i want it i need to go camera and turn the feature on?

This post has been edited by mtxx: Dec 25 2012, 11:24 PM
mtxx
post Dec 27 2012, 12:08 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(jolusia_arz @ Dec 26 2012, 02:57 AM)
how about battery usage for 100% brightness?
Wow, nobody in the thread. One whole day without post.

You just quoted a post so many months back.
Max brightness of course use alot power. Common sense :-)
mtxx
post Dec 27 2012, 04:31 PM

5,011 posts

hi, all the users are back, can someone explain how the camera button works?

sometimes when its in deepsleep, i long press the camera button, the camera sometimes can launch, sometimes cannot launch.

how to handle it? so confuse...

Added on December 27, 2012, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Dec 27 2012, 10:25 AM)
Much smoother than shitty Galaxy W.  brows.gif
Inb4 the lag issue in Galaxy W can't be solved by even custom ROM!
obviously....galaxy w single core.
xperia s have dual core with more capable gpu.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Dec 27 2012, 04:31 PM
mtxx
post Dec 28 2012, 11:50 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(LordReaper @ Dec 27 2012, 10:20 PM)
digi rm499 plan worth it ? or top up rm200 to get S2 ? but many of my friends are using S2.. xP
This is quite hard to answer. Both also got their weakness. See which weakness you don't mind lo.
My mom bought one Xperia s. So I get to compared it wit my s2.

The bad:

S2
-don't have shutter button
-hardware home button less responsive after 1.5 year
-screen low resolution, very noticeable when viewing text
-slower camera shutter speed then Xperia s
-inferior camera quality compared to Xperia s
-no dedicated Hdmi port, need mhl adapter, loses battery when connected to tv, will not charge.
-no nfc
-speaker doesn't sound as nice as Xperia s

Xps
-horrible unresponsive n hard to press navigation keys.
-overall ui n fluidity less than s2. Even when both on ics s2 was more fluid. I'm not sure how Xperia s rom development is, but I've been using jb roms since September on s2. Official one coming in next month
-very heavy compared to s2,doubt it will survive a fall well due to its heavy weight.
-terrible washed out colors. Despite being high res, my whole family feel the s2 screen is nicer when compare side by side due to more vibrant colors. The high resolution benefit is only noticeable for text viewing at 10cm away from the screen when u start notice pixels on the s2.
-no expandable storage.

But overall I think the Xperia s is a better buy.
Due to the cheaper price n equally good performance.
The s2 from digi is the i9100G variant that uses a weaker chipset. Not the original I9100 exynos chipset that sold millions.

mtxx
post Dec 30 2012, 08:57 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ngcmn @ Dec 30 2012, 06:57 AM)
just got my new XS from digi.. wonder wat apps and games should i get... this is my 1st android hp..
Hi new user
Read this
http://www.gsmarena.com/set_up_your_android-review-866.php

Added on December 30, 2012, 9:01 amI noticed that the capacitive controls are NOT at the dot.
Definitely not at the transparent bar either.

The real location is above the dots and below the screen.

A soft touch will do. But since it's very close to the screen. Need to aim very carefully.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Dec 30 2012, 09:01 AM
mtxx
post Jan 3 2013, 11:29 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Pliskin @ Jan 3 2013, 10:38 AM)
for u of coz..u'be been using it for ages! tongue.gif u'r now on what firmware bro?

ya, just do swipe motion, u won't miss the buttons..biggrin.gif
The capacitive sensor is very small.
And located above the dots.
Hence your 'swiping' method is confirm to work.

you can check the review in soya cincau website.
They mentioned the sensor is above the dots too.

When you press harder exactly at the dots, the skin area increases n eventually reach the sensor above it.
Hence you notice it require a harder press at the dots at use the keys.
But actually it just need a super gentle soft press at the sensor above the dots.

Added on January 3, 2013, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jan 2 2013, 05:35 PM)
my friend love it. he say finally . no shitty sony launcher.
You don't have to flash new rom to get rid of Sony launcher.

Just install nova or apex. Much better than the trebuchet used in cm roms.

Added on January 3, 2013, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(sevilslayer @ Jan 3 2013, 11:15 PM)
may i know whats the current price of this phone?
Bought for 1199 during Christmas promo

Added on January 3, 2013, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 3 2013, 09:21 PM)
bcauz sony failure in advertising,
if apple or samsung, just little things they will make big fuss of it ady  laugh.gif
Yes advertising is very important.
It can really attract non techie people.

I bought this phone for my mom but she very sad why hers Sony. She say samsung better. Ask y? She say cos saw on tv always promote samsung.
She even envy my s2 say the screen and rounded edge design nicer than the box design.

She already hinted many times Wana trade phone wit me just because mine is samsung. I think even if mine is a samsung galaxy y, she also willing to trade.
Her mind already brain wash by advert.

Added on January 3, 2013, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(DotaGamer @ Jan 2 2013, 04:47 PM)
CM10 is stable enough currently?
Camera working in cm10?
Hdmi port?

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jan 3 2013, 11:42 PM
mtxx
post Jan 19 2013, 12:48 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 18 2013, 03:43 PM)
Arrived already, gonna pick up at gdex office.

[attachmentid=3268788]

Got full set accessories thumbup.gif
first time user of this phone?
to save your frustration in dealing with the 3 capacitive buttons,
take not that the buttons are NOT at the transparent stripe.
it is also NOT exactly at the 3 dots too

it is actually ABOVE the 3 dots and BELOW the screen.
in other words, BETWEEN the 3 dots and the screen.

to ensure 100% strike on the buttons, do a swipe up motion from the dots to the screen.

this is a terrible design, and sony fixed it in the newer xperias.
i duno which xperia i saw in sony shop, i think its a cheaper but newer model, the capacitive buttons is at the transparent stripe, which is much much easier to hit.

anyway, its a great phone after you get used to the capacitive buttons. rclxms.gif

mtxx
post Jan 19 2013, 01:09 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 19 2013, 12:51 AM)
actually it was design 2 accept swipe input, 2 avoid unintended input
n tat was xperia P  laugh.gif
No offense but all it does is gives new users a headache. It's been condemn in several review sites. If the design is that good they wouldn't have change it in newer models.

Anyway thanks to your swipe suggestion, my mom stop complaining bout the buttons now, she absolutely hated it on the first few days due to keep missing the buttons.
mtxx
post Jan 21 2013, 11:25 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 20 2013, 07:28 PM)
Thanks. Actually, its kinda hard to check. Have to wait for people to call or by calling them (which is kinda waste, haha).

Btw, is rooting xps necessary since the update from sony is good. Unlike samsung, I have to root my tab because lack of update.
what do you mean must root your tab cos no update.
rooting alone wont increase your android version. its still the same phone just that it can use some root apps only.

rooting is not necessary, but for me i prefer to have root access.
mainly can use root apps, most important one is droid wall,titanium backup and rom toolbox.

can have a firewall deny apps to go online. example stop angry birds to go online so it wont waste battery and data to download useless adds. most games dont need internet anyway.
then using rom toolbox can disable adds all together, and prevent useless app from starting during boot.
titanium backup can freeze and delete useless system apps (bloatwares, apps that you dont use)

stopping apps from download adds can save alot battery life. some may argue this is unethical but i dont really care, battery life>all.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jan 21 2013, 11:27 AM
mtxx
post Jan 21 2013, 05:42 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 21 2013, 05:09 PM)
Want to ask all sifu, how long the battery last? (for normal/moderate usage with data on). Mine from morning unplug, only 30% remains. No music/video just some facebook/web browsing. Maybe the battery got problem?
depend on many factors.

you on gps wifi 3G all the time? on only when use, turn off when not using.
main battery drainer is screen brightness, download a brightness widget and put in your homescreen.
adjust as low as you can without feeling uncomfortable.

i think can get 3-4 hours of screen on time.
mtxx
post Jan 22 2013, 11:36 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Jan 22 2013, 08:26 PM)
"Most of the game don't need internet anyway" you sure MOST of the game?
my statement is wrong? in play store there are more offline games compared to online games, no?

so far the only game that need internet are those rpg online games, and some gameloft game that need to check license like asphalt 7.

anyway, droidwall dont block EVERYthing, you can decide which game you want to disable its internet connection.

mtxx
post Jan 23 2013, 02:15 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(biosfree @ Jan 23 2013, 06:50 AM)
givmme reason y shd i buy this phone?..hehe...im plan..today to buy...unless you all x recommnd it....tq
no phone is perfect, this one has its weakness too, not too serious though.
~no sd slot, but 32gb is quite enough
~covered ports, abit troublesome when need to charge, but still not such a bad thing
~not the best softkeys implementation, but its not too hard to get used to.

but for the price for a brand new ori one. definitely sweet.
for the price of about rm1100, super sweet deal! you get
~high resolution screen
~decent camera, one of the best
~micro hdmi port
~usb otg feature (not all phone have this)
~scheduled jellybean update (it should come eventually, i think)
~still a famous brand, SONY

definitely better than the galaxy w (offered same price by digi package, only fools will choose this over the xps) or the shameful abomination called galaxy s3 mini (this shit is even lower spec than galaxy s2).

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jan 23 2013, 02:19 PM
mtxx
post Jan 23 2013, 02:51 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Pliskin @ Jan 23 2013, 02:28 PM)
was worried that the flap for the charging port will not withstand the daily use when XPS was 1st launched..but after 8 months or so of usage, it has proven itself to be very durable. still intact and no signs of wear and tear..definitely quality product thumbup.gif I definitely dun find it troublesome to charge..in fact, I appreciate the flap keeping the charging port dust-free biggrin.gif
i'm not sure whats the point of the flaps at all. its not a water proof model also.

dust entering the port doesnt cause any harm.
you know iphone charger port, so big and long, old old iphone 3g still working even though the port so big and many dust enter.

mtxx
post Jan 24 2013, 11:14 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(c2_lover @ Jan 24 2013, 10:58 PM)
ello guys.... i got a brand new xperia s from digi online store yesterday.... connected to wifi and found 2update.. one for ICS and another one not sure what update. this morning wake up found the screen got problem... barely even 24hours  doh.gif  went to digi center in times square today and they told me to go sony service center... anyone know any good service center? i planning to go there and ask for a 1 to 1 replacement since the people in digi told me i can ask for a straight 1 to 1 replacement under digi name.... i know there is one in KLCC and another one in Plaza Berjaya opposite Times Square.... anyone with experience dealing with this two service center? their operating time? went to the one in plaza berjaya but they closed for public holiday today grumble.gif such bad luck...

how to scale the pic?
which part of your phone spoil?
the screen completely spoil only display the pic you posted?
mtxx
post Jan 29 2013, 01:38 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(attyra @ Jan 29 2013, 12:51 PM)
dear mtxx,

where to get Xperia S with RM1100?
last week went to lowyat... still more than RM1200
i buy during christmas, that time got offer 1199, free gift a pendrive, polo t shirt, note book, and some other useless stuff. only the pendrive is useful, its a class 4 16GB pendrive.

the price of RM1100 is from lowyat garage sales, from forumer directD.
this guy owns a shop in subang, you can walk in and buy, or purchase online.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...3872&hl=directd
mtxx
post Jan 29 2013, 01:41 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Jan 26 2013, 09:02 AM)
I'm on .55 firmware already  tongue.gif
From the sneak preview, the official JB update looks promising, even it's 4.1
the new .55 update is a pain.
in the update page, it says the update is only 0.1MB big, but cant do OTA, need use the PC companion.

from the installation of the PC companion, download the firmware, update,
whole thing take about 40mins. duno why so slow, my internet is unifi, probably limited by sony slow server.

after the update, ringtone got reset,
and the camera always focus wrongly. image always ended up out of focus.

the camera used to focus correctly most of the time, now half the time it gives me blur pics.
rclxub.gif never mess with any settings, still the default one. its not in macro mode.

0.0265sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:34 PM