Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V13, new OTA, XXBLG1, check your update

emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:00 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 05:58 PM)
My phone left 400mb space w/o sd card, won't affect the rooting hor?
lol bro, cx out the size of the ROM itself. it's 500MB+ ady. and here ure telling u have left 400MB without SD. of coz u would find problem in copying into the phone memory lor.. shakehead.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:03 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 06:00 PM)
The rom is in the phone already smile.gif,
then where do u wana put in ur nandroid backup? it's at least to be 2GB bro. u wanna take a risk, then go ahead but if something happens and no nandroid backup, ure doomed. just a friendly reminder only. if u dont have space better wait 1st. now ur phone is usable, just dont take the risk if anything goes wrong.

This post has been edited by emy_xvidia: Jul 11 2012, 06:03 PM
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:07 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 06:03 PM)
cleared all songs and movie, 4gb enough?

edit: and ah, nandroid or titanium? whats the difference?
no need titanium individual backup. do a nandroid backup only. then from the TB itself you could extract the apps and its datas from Nandroid backup, save space.

but make sure u have nandroid backup, thats the most important thing. if u succesfully flash the new ROM, and feel like it gives u no prob then u wanna delete the Nandroid backup then its ur choice one. but 1st you MUST have it 1st, just in case.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:12 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 11 2012, 06:08 PM)
if don't have just copy the backup to computer biggrin.gif
if not booting up, how are u gonna tranfer the nandroid backup to the internal memory back? if he has at least the external SD then can use card reader to transfer the nan backup to the ext SD and via CWM, use advance restore from external.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:17 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 06:14 PM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  getting stress ah...,
dont get stressed up. get some space instead, dont transfer the nandroid backup out from ur internal memory. play with the new ROM 1st, try to do some calling, SMSing, WIFI-ing, and you need to have the nandroid backup to restore ur apps + datas too, then only after that if you need the space, and if everything works fine, delete it.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:32 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 06:23 PM)
can explain what you said just now? that external memory la internal something something de  rclxub.gif And ah,where do nandroid save the backup?

EDIT: and i found a 512mb memory card, enough?  sweat.gif haha!
do this bro.

1. clear up some space. if you said just now you could get 4GB worth of space, then it's enough for a nandroid backup, but if CWM couldnt detect the space for your huge apps, then it would only backup ur working current ROM.
2. boot into recovery, do the backup. by backup in CWM recovery, it means Nandroid backup. Cx the status after the backup is done, whether the apps are backed up or not via the CWM itself or boot normally into ur ROM, open ur TB and hit the Menu button, choose Extract from Nandroid Backup and see whether it got the list of ur apps.
3. put the new ROM in ur internal SD. Make sure it has some space left, preferably 2x the space of the ROM for extracting purposes. Too low a size, it's either you'll get an error of not having enough space or the flashing of the new ROM would take longer. Make sure you follow the dev's way of flashing; clear up Dalvik cache, bat stat etc. Cx out the dev page for more info.
4. If it flashes mean youre all right. Wait till it finishes. Boot up and test everything in the new ROM.
5. If everything works fine in the new ROM, delete the ROM .zip file and try to restore some of ur apps, based on ur space available left in ur internal.

No need ext SD oso is ok, but it would be safer to have the ext SD card.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:34 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Jul 11 2012, 06:30 PM)
Damn la ..... ask me to manage application now while I tried to install spiderman ! But I have 500meg available in my system Rom ! Why ?????
Spidey game needs at least 2GB for installation purposes, which means during installation, the extraction of the compressed file needs a bigger space than the required space by the game itself. you clearly dont have enough space for that. clear up some memories or better yet but ext SD card.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:40 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Jul 11 2012, 06:36 PM)
hi im not familiar with nandroid, nandroid backup must do with cwm? that mean must root??  and it should restore on the same firmware version?
if you havent rooted yet, then by all means have your phone rooted 1st in the correct way. 1st page has all the infos you need. if not then you dont have to worry about nandroid backup unless you wanna play with the custom ROMs or kernels.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:48 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 06:44 PM)
How do you know when your phone is already rooted? and can you remove root?
you need to read up a lot of things bro. if youre not sure then i'd suggest you read and understand everything 1st. 1st page of this thread will guide you well.

and to answer ur question, if in ur app drawer u could see the SuperSU app, it means youre rooted fine. You could double cx it even via Titanium, or if you dont have it, download from PlayStore, Root Checker or something like that.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:52 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 06:50 PM)
Started rooting already yawn.gif,my phone is in download mode for several minutes now and i dont know whether it is making progress or not
nvm take ur time. dont do it wrong. brows.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 06:56 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 11 2012, 06:55 PM)
yes, what i see on odin's message side is
[<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)
<ID:0/004> Added!!]
and i think it has pass 10 min
ur phone should reboot liao~
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 11:27 PM

2,735 posts

This is my battery life on CheckROM v3.5.

But that's not what makes me impressed.

This does.

Near to 6 hours of on-screen time, whatsapping, heavy and light gaming sessions on it. drool.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jul 11 2012, 11:36 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Jul 11 2012, 11:27 PM)
good job...  thumbup.gif

Added on July 11, 2012, 11:28 pm

what kind of your kernel? stock?
Hacked stock by GC. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lemond @ Jul 11 2012, 11:28 PM)
Data Reception is R..are u using umobile?hahah
you're right that Im using Umobile but does it matter? Wifi was set to always on when i did that. brows.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jul 12 2012, 05:35 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Jul 12 2012, 05:30 PM)
any from uk firmware planned to go for this?
seems the kernel time is not same
as ours is dated june
while this is july
i dont think Samsung would change anything, perhaps got minor mod to the kernel for optimisation purposes, hence the newer date. just my guess though.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 12 2012, 06:16 PM

2,735 posts

it seems whoever uses the brut mod for google nav cant update to the latest map for its offline usage.

i updated and the mod didnt work anynore, had to uninstall the update then only it can be used again. sad.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jul 12 2012, 07:17 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 12 2012, 07:06 PM)
the cwm recovery touch version @@
below link to download
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1719744
i dont think its worth to opt for this version as in adding touch capability only but with it, comes with a plenty of major bugs still. note to notice is the nandroid backup would increase its size. that alone is a major turn off for me. better use the normal CWM 1st, it's more stable and no reported bugs. opting for touch revovery only if you flash frequently.
emy_xvidia
post Jul 13 2012, 01:26 AM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Jul 13 2012, 01:05 AM)
Not too sure why but after upgraded, titanium backup can not launch and CWM dIsappeared. And tried to uninstall install again, prompt me not enough space. I DoLan and did a reset.
this happens when you dont do a full wipe prior to updating to the new ROM. But it's ok, as quoted by llk below, that's the solution to make TB able to install again.

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 13 2012, 01:12 AM)
If you have rooted, install root explorer, open root explorer, then go to data, go to app folder, delete the file called com.keramidas.TitaniumBackup-1.odex
emy_xvidia
post Jul 13 2012, 01:57 AM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jul 13 2012, 01:48 AM)
nimpo seems smooth to me

now evrybody kinda agree the latest stock kernel is good
i'll wait for others' feedbacks 1st regarding custom kernels bcoz stock to me has been doing really well too till this date. now eyeing Speedmod but well, that can wait. tongue.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jul 14 2012, 02:59 AM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 14 2012, 02:06 AM)
after binding directory, while do the original folders still in my phone? but it doesn't eat up any storage space though.
it creates some sort of images to fool the program that their datas are still on the SD. what matters is ur internal storage is once again, plentiful. biggrin.gif
emy_xvidia
post Jul 14 2012, 03:03 AM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 14 2012, 02:57 AM)
my phone is rooted. how to enable THD graphics?
for Tegra2-based games you could tweak em easily by having the Chainfire 3D and select Nvidia plugin as the main intermediary renderer and you could get those Tegra effects on games like Riptide GP.

in Dead Trigger, tweaking some settings in their .xml config could give you all the Tegra eye-candies. try to google it. it's a minor editing work to the original xml setting file.

0.0566sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:03 AM