Travel Bangkok V3

justanothername
post Oct 19 2012, 02:45 PM

128 posts

Shouldn't compare Chatuchak to Platinum because Chatuchak is a mixture of everything unlike Platinum is focused on fashion stuff like clothes and etc. For me I prefer the former as I'm not really into clothes and prefer looking at a variety of stuff. It's possible to cover Chatuchak in a single visit if you walk systematically.

If you're a first time visitor to Bangkok, I'd recommend the Groovy Map.
justanothername
post Oct 31 2012, 11:11 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 26 2012, 03:35 PM)
The floating market, how it works 1? The seller sitting in sampan and u also sit in sampan? The sampan rarely overturns right?

icon_question.gif
You can also try Taling Chan. Not as big as Damnoen Samduak but it's where the locals go to and not many tourist.

About 20 minutes from town and you do not need to hire a boat to move around. On foot only.

This post has been edited by justanothername: Oct 31 2012, 11:11 PM
justanothername
post Nov 6 2012, 12:56 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(katejing @ Oct 29 2012, 10:43 PM)
Anyone try to sit sleeper train to Bangkok before? November should not be touristy season. If I go there, just look for guesthouse, will it be alright?
I've taken the train from Butterworth to Bangkok. Takes about 24 hours. Long journey but generally very comfortable. You get to meet and talk with fellow backpackers. To and fro will cost about RM200. You can either book your return ticket online or get it at Hua Lam Phong station when you reach there. I got mine when I got there.

Yes you can get a guesthouse easily provided it's the low season. If you're looking for an affordable guesthouse, I wouldn't recommend Khao San road as it is very generally very touristy, busy and noisy. Public transport is also a major problem. When I was there, I stayed at U Baan Guesthouse. It is located at Thonburi, the other side of town but very near a BTS train station which I think is the best way to explore Bangkok apart from the public ferries and khlongs.

http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.p...e/Bangkok/53668

https://www.facebook.com/ubaan

And yes, as usual, I would recommend a Groovy Map for Bangkok which will come in handy with all the clearly marked attractions on the map, complete with a Chatuchak minimap.

This post has been edited by justanothername: Nov 6 2012, 12:58 AM
justanothername
post Nov 6 2012, 02:51 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(MooMoointown @ Nov 5 2012, 09:50 PM)
Hi all, I'm going to BKK this end of month,... i'm planning to to Cha Am directly from BKK Airport by Airasia, anyone can give comments for my transport?

my intineary is arrive in BKK monday morning shoot to Cha Am - beach n premium outlet. plan relax there so will stay 2 days Cha Am & Hua Hin.

After that will be back to BKK,.. mayb a day tour to Ayuthaya or maybe not,... then sky bar, shopping and food ,... hmm,... will go for Wat Pho since i've seen you ppl comment its a good view of sunset..

any must go restaurant, food or spa? or something not to miss in BKK??? thanks
You mean Wat Arun? Wat Arun has a high vantage point...

justanothername
post Nov 8 2012, 08:21 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(katejing @ Nov 7 2012, 10:04 PM)
Thanks for the words. Other than U Baan Guesthouse, which one will you recommend too? I dont plan to live in Khao San Road but will go in there to visit. Would get the map there as well.
I can't recommend other places as I've only tried U Baan and the host Joy was very friendly. If you plan to get the Groovy Map, it is slightly cheaper to get it at Kinokuniya. The map is printed in Thailand though. So how will you be travelling to Bangkok since the train is full?

This post has been edited by justanothername: Nov 8 2012, 08:22 PM
justanothername
post Nov 9 2012, 06:56 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(katejing @ Nov 8 2012, 10:37 PM)
Thanks thanks. Appreciate your help le.. Hope that weather in there could be nicer and I could get some nice photographs.. Not first time backpacking but first time solo.. =)

Added on November 8, 2012, 10:38 pm

I will take a mini van to Hatyai and change bus to Bangkok. Few hours waiting for the bus as the bus should be 3.30pm. Slightly expensive than train. RM125 from agency.
Train from Hatyai also full? Bus will be faster I think but may not be as comfortable to sleep as compared to the train. Anyway, enjoy the journey!

This post has been edited by justanothername: Nov 9 2012, 06:57 PM
justanothername
post Nov 10 2012, 07:58 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Nov 10 2012, 11:52 AM)
Hi!! sugarbaby. is Naraya name of a shopping mall?? Where is the location?
Naraya is a shop where you buy can all kinds of lady stuff especially bags for very low prices. There's one shop along the Patpong Night Market. As you walk along the stalls and bars (ignore the ping pong scams... 555), you will come across a shop called Naraya. Usually packed with people.
justanothername
post Nov 10 2012, 10:35 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Nov 10 2012, 09:24 PM)
Tks Justanothername & tiffany. If I stay in Pratunam area, is there any Naraya shop nearby?
You can refer to this: http://www.naraya.com/index.php?option=com...emid=80&lang=en

I think the one nearest to Pratunam is at Siam Discovery, next to the Siam BTS station.
justanothername
post Nov 12 2012, 07:52 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(katejing @ Nov 11 2012, 11:50 PM)
Where did your guys change baht in bangkok? I just now changed it in silom, near patpong there. The rate is 9.65. Not nice le.. Sifu advise..=)

Added on November 11, 2012, 11:50 pmWhere did your guys change baht in bangkok? I just now changed it in silom, near patpong there. The rate is 9.65. Not nice le.. Sifu advise..=)
Did it all in KL.
justanothername
post Nov 16 2012, 11:52 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Nov 16 2012, 04:25 PM)
I recommend cowboy town, lol
gay street? haha
justanothername
post Nov 21 2012, 10:23 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Nov 20 2012, 02:27 PM)
go check it out, most happening street at nite..
read about it before I went... will avoid hahaha

0.1046sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:45 PM