Travel Bangkok V3

Xccess
post Dec 20 2013, 03:29 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Those in Bangkok must be enjoying the unusual cooling weather that reaches 17 degree at night. thumbup.gif Not sure how long it will last though, should be back to normal in few days time. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Dec 20 2013, 03:29 PM
Xccess
post Dec 21 2013, 12:56 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Sorry, not too good with direction to Dusit Zoo so best wait for someone more familiar to comment. Never visit any zoo while I was in Bangkok, only human zoo.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Dec 21 2013, 12:59 AM
Xccess
post Jan 3 2014, 06:26 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(MengHoi @ Jan 3 2014, 05:18 PM)
I like what you think  brows.gif
Bangkok is relatively a safe place to visit but please don't let your guard down especially if you are travelling alone. When venturing to bar areas such as Pat Pong, Soi Nana or Soi Cowboy, never follow touts, there's chances of you getting scam. Always keep your wallet in front pockets.

Make sure all valuable belongings are kept in safe provided by hotel especially if you bring girls to your room. Have fun and enjoy your trip.

Xccess
post Jan 7 2014, 10:41 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(joycelsq @ Jan 7 2014, 10:21 AM)
hi bros... is it safe to travel to bangkok in the end of feb?
which is the most convenient hotel there? tia
Novotel Hotel Platinum Prathunam, this hotel is link with Platinum shopping centre. Very much depending on your budget too. Check Agoda for more information.

In terms of safety, keep yourself update on situation after Bangkok "Shutdown" expected on 13th of Jan.

Xccess
post Jan 10 2014, 04:03 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(emook99 @ Jan 10 2014, 12:00 AM)
Guys share your favorite hotel/hostel in Bangkok! Need some recomendation smile.gif
My favourite is MUSE boutique hotel. You may want to state for family or couple.

Xccess
post Jan 12 2014, 03:36 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(akirodestroy @ Jan 12 2014, 02:56 PM)
Anyone know what the current situation in Bangkok is?
Is it still safe to go? Anyone just got back from Bangkok?
No one can foresee the results of shutdown, better update via news daily. For reports directly from tourist on ground, try check Tripadvisor Bangkok Forum.
Xccess
post Jan 13 2014, 11:54 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 12 2014, 06:10 PM)
no idea, words are they are starting today and god bless thailand.

burnt my air ticket cry.gif
Shutdown may last till 2nd of February as reported. Blockage of major intersection in Bangkok already started.

Xccess
post Jan 13 2014, 08:31 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(emook99 @ Jan 13 2014, 06:05 PM)
Is it far from bts? I saw review saying the rooms need renovation coz its quite old?
If you want convenient then stay Novotel Platinum, hotel just situated above Platinum shopping centre.

Xccess
post Jan 16 2014, 01:55 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(*NaRaYa* @ Jan 15 2014, 07:53 PM)
Hi, Appreciate if sifu can suggest an itinerary for me. 5 adults and im the only girl in the group. 9-15 April (7days 6 nights) songkran festival  biggrin.gif Staying at Bangkok City Hotel. Prefer private tours and tour guide. Thank you.
You sure about visiting Soi Cowboy? Not a place for girls you know? cool2.gif Since you will be there for a number of days, try to squeeze in ASIATIQUE, TERMINAL 21, CHOCOLATE VILLE & YAOWARAT(Chinatown).

You can start doing your research using google. Book a tour van for 5 adults for your day tour will be great. Price should come up to about RM400 +/-

Xccess
post Jan 16 2014, 03:47 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(*NaRaYa* @ Jan 16 2014, 03:37 PM)
Can i book Canary Travel and Tour online? Do they have private tour?
We try to skip chao phraya river and look for tours instead since we are in group of 5,we want to skip all the hassle and dont mind paying more for time saving.
baccara 4  brows.gif  how was the place?
Im ok with the guys activities icon_rolleyes.gif  my husband is with me too. Where is chocolate ville? Far? Chinatown got what?

Searched google but dint manage to find a reliabe one. Scare kena con. Do u have contact for private tour or van driver for hire? Thanks
For private tour, I suggest you type "Bangkok Private Tour Tripadvisor Forum", browse through individual review. I've lost the contact for my previous driver, sorry.

Chocolate Ville is about an hour away(depending on traffic) from central Bangkok, something like a theme park with plenty of restaurants. Yaowarat (Chinatown) T & K seafood restaurant not to be missed, I go there purely for dinner, shark fin soup, bird's nest and many more. Simply delicious.

We only paid van driver at the of the day, this arrangement is better. The van is super comfortable, seats are exactly like those in Alphard/Vellfire, got TV and Karaoke.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 16 2014, 04:02 PM
Xccess
post Jan 19 2014, 02:54 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(chinnoise_bj @ Jan 19 2014, 12:41 AM)
So far, the only main prob here is many road closure. But the rest just seem normal. Theres still alot of tourist. Just now have a walk at the night market infront of the hotel, and there is still alot of people. Most important, i feel safer seeing some policeman on standby. biggrin.gif Im going to chatucak tomorrow, will try to update.
Anything away from protest area will be as per normal, people still need to make a living. I'm sure your hands will be full just shopping in Chatuchak. Appreciate your update.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 20 2014, 12:10 PM
Xccess
post Jan 21 2014, 02:08 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Jan 21 2014, 06:16 AM)
Thanks for the comments, freak. Much appreciated.

I will be using AirAsia & landing at Don Muang.

You mean the Manhattan Hotel is situated at a quite & boring area? Any shopping complex around it? I have booked thro' Booking.com BUT still have time to cancel booking .... so can you suggest a more ideal hotel nearby shopping areas?

Many thanks again.
Take a taxi, it won't cost you much. Will be a pain lugging luggages with public transport to hotel and not forgetting it's your maiden trip.

What is your budget for accommodation and for how many pax?
Xccess
post Jan 21 2014, 02:12 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jan 21 2014, 11:42 AM)
Sigh, emailed hotel for refund just in case i cancel my plan but hotel refused. Well, this is to be expected already wink.gif
Why not just proceed if can't get a refund? Protest is hardly noticeable unless you are in the zone itself.

Xccess
post Jan 21 2014, 02:38 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jan 21 2014, 02:29 PM)
We are traveling in a group of 7 adults and 2 kids actually. If one of them wanted to cancel, I have to follow also since this one is a family trip for cny. I also think it's safe if we avoid the protest area but hard to convince my family also especially elder people.

I have been looking forward to this trip since last year actually sweat.gif
Sigh...I fully understand your predicament. Can you email hotel to share with them your situation and concerns, ask for post phone to a later date? Are they charging cancellation fees for one night?

(Side track a bit.)
Not sure if bank in Malaysia will help in such cases. I had 2 Australia friends who fell into tourist trap in China, paid USD300 dollars for few cups of Chinese tea, luckily they made payment via credit card. Upon reaching OZ, they issued a report to their respective bank, bank manage to pull back funds from merchant and made full refund.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 21 2014, 02:48 PM
Xccess
post Jan 21 2014, 03:06 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Jan 21 2014, 02:51 PM)
Thanks for your suggestion on taking a taxi.

I booked Manhattan Hotel for 2-Superior Double Rooms 3-nights for a total of THB12,276 (approx. RM1,250) for 5-person.
If 5 pax you definitely require 2 taxis due to luggages, just print 2 copies of hotel address in Thai with Map and place it in your pockets. Taxi booth counter is on extreme left after exiting Don Muang airport. You may like to purchase a "Happy Tourist Sim", unlimited data for 7 days, price should be 299 baht.(If airport not selling, just get it from any 7/11 near hotel, get the staff to configure for you.)

Upon checking in hotel, ask for their name cards with addresses and distribute among everyone in case someone get lost. Are you with small kids or 5 adults? If 5 adults then traveling will be difficult because taxi can only accommodate max 4 pax.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 21 2014, 03:08 PM
Xccess
post Jan 21 2014, 06:51 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Jan 21 2014, 04:35 PM)
More or less can consider 5 adults ... the youngest is in Form 5. Do they usually have van for transportation?

Thanks for the direction to the taxi booth counter & also your suggestion regarding printing of 2 copies of hotel address with map.

Is the "Happy Tourist Sim" just for data or can make call too?

Since this is my maiden trip to Bangkok, any suggestions on places to visit & shopping? I was told to go to Chatuchak market ..... other than that I am not very sure.

Many thanks for your comments .... much appreciated!
Do check with Taxi counter for bigger transport, should be available. Happy Tourist Sim can make calls too. There's plenty to explore in Bangkok, very much depending on what you are targetting. Below are some of the places you can visit.

1) Chatuchak weekend market aka J.J market (Open only on Sat - Sun) - dress simple - Bermuda shorts, Tees and slippers will do as it can get really hot and humid at noon hours, expect crowds.

2) Terminal 21, Platinum Mall, Central World, Siam Centre, Siam Discovery etc are some of the popular malls for shopping.

3) Asiatique The Riverfront - Open air theme mall with plenty to shop and dine.

4) Chinatown (Yaowarat in Thai) - go there for nice seafood dinner (T & K Seafood, try to grab a table at 5p.m or prepare to queue)

5) Night Market - a walk in the night market can be interesting, many street food can be found and plenty of cheap buy. Bargain all you want with items such as clothes, souvenirs, bags etc (Don't bargain for food, at least not for me.)

Many information can be gather from internet or you can start reading this thread starting from page 1 if you have the time. Happy hunting wink.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jan 21 2014, 06:57 PM
Xccess
post Jan 21 2014, 08:32 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Jan 21 2014, 08:26 PM)
Just read that state of emergency has been declared in Bangkok. Phew, I just got back from there a few days ago and everything seemed peaceful bar some news of blasts in certain areas. Believe me, the atmosphere around the protests sites near Siam Paragon was akin to a parade. People blowing whistles and singing songs. Locals manning stalls selling street food and Bangkok shutdown attire. Didn't feel in danger at all while walking thru the protestors. Kind of a surprise seeing them invoke an emergency decree.

Source
Appreciate your sharing. Now Army is stepping in, not looking good. blink.gif

Xccess
post Jan 22 2014, 01:00 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(csong60 @ Jan 22 2014, 05:14 AM)
What's the latest news from AirAsia regarding flight to Bangkok? If I postphoned the flight now, then going to incur additional RM1000 for 5-pax :-(. But if AirAsia announce flight cancellation then can get full-refund ... I hope!

I am going to cancel my hotel booking thro' Booking.com. Free cancellation within 3-days before arrival. That's why I prefer using Booking.com ;-)
Quite unlikely Air Asia will cancel flight unless opposition take over airport. IMO under state of emergency, worse case scenario is the implementation of curfew nearing reelection date, this will allow Yingluck's party to get election rolling.

Xccess
post Jan 22 2014, 02:22 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jan 22 2014, 02:11 PM)
Btw, anyone here have experience travelling straight to Hua Hin or Pattaya after landing at Dong Muang airport, Bangkok?
Got this from www.travelthaiservice.com

2,200 Baht ride from DMK to Hua Hin.

Most advertise 2,000 Bht from BKK Airport to Hua Hin but this is from Suwannabhumi with an extra 200 Bht for DMK Pickup.

Return prices range from 1,900 to 2,000 Baht with a small discount for booking the return trip in advance.

Xccess
post Jan 22 2014, 02:26 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(love-angel @ Jan 22 2014, 02:23 PM)
The price is for a cab?

We are planning to go by bus or van... any input?
Check this link http://www.minibushuahin.com/

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0303sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:46 AM