Attention to all PROTON WIRA owners !, Lets chat about your Wira here !!!

supercolossal
post Dec 26 2006, 10:00 AM

620 posts

Anybody knows why my wira has this `tak tak tak' sound from the lower engine compartment near the foot pedals? Gets louder when the aircon is on and goes off when I step on the clutch?

supercolossal
post Dec 28 2006, 05:11 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(GreatONE @ Dec 27 2006, 01:14 PM)
i'm driving a 1.5GL wira, but i changed my engine to 4G92.
i have the same problem too.
i think its because of the clutch plate, may be its not properly thighten or something. rclxms.gif

Oh really, did you manage to get it fixed? How difficult it is for the mechanic to tighten the clutch plate ?

This post has been edited by supercolossal: Dec 28 2006, 05:11 PM
supercolossal
post Jan 3 2007, 08:48 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(KucingKelabu @ Jan 1 2007, 11:52 PM)
Actually they did offer installation, I'm just asking for second opinion. They quote RM230 for installation (meter wiring, digital aircond, dashboard). Is that reasonable?

By the way, I've been wondering what is this:

The pipe that connects between the exhaust part and the air intake part. I'm always confused about what is this. I asked a few servicemen and they say "it's nothing". Can anyone help me explain what is that part?

Edit : oh, that's a 1.3M carb wira engine that is due to be cleaned. I'm always postponing the cleaning x.x
Only carburettor Wira's have this, it is supposed to help your engine warm up faster during cold starts by feeding warmer air into your intake. Cold engines are sluggish and this will help to get your engine to the right operating temp.

Mine was spoiled, the connecting part at the aluminium cover cracked causing the hose not able to fit properly. I was running without the hose for a while and noticed that my car really felt more sluggish in the mornings. Managed to get a compatible one (Mitsu Lancer I think) from a kedai potong for RM20. Now the engine is less sluggish in the mornings and gets up to temp quicker than before.
supercolossal
post Jan 3 2007, 08:49 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(black_rider @ Jan 2 2007, 06:29 PM)
Hey guys, do you all experience door slam that does not gives out good feeling? How to make it back to the 'feel' like when first get our car? Change the rubber?
The door lock has a role to play also in giving you the new 'thud' sound that we always hear in new cars.
Changing to a new lock will help.
supercolossal
post Jan 3 2007, 11:05 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Jan 3 2007, 09:36 AM)
no wonder my old Ford had problems during night driving...the cold hmm.gif
last time my old Ford will "under-rev" during the night...instead of 1k RPM...it'll be at about 600 RPM when idle, traffic light area. Makes the car a bit shaky
I believe that part was there for a reason, it has its use even in our hot tropical climate.
supercolossal
post Jan 8 2007, 03:29 PM

620 posts

Which speedo are you having?
White text on black background? Green Text on white back ground?

A new one from the spare parts shop should cost you less than RM150 (if I still remember right). You might want to get your speedometer cable checked first, that one might be spoiled instead. The cable to cost you less than RM50 to replace.
supercolossal
post Jan 8 2007, 03:37 PM

620 posts

I saw you guys talking about cleaning the throttle body. What good does it do?
supercolossal
post Jan 8 2007, 04:58 PM

620 posts

Does it only apply for automatic cars? I'm driving a manual
supercolossal
post Jan 8 2007, 10:59 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Jan 8 2007, 05:06 PM)
its white text on black background, may i konow the name of the cabel?, thanks for the help.. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
I think its called the speedometer cable. I replaced my cable the last time because the meter made noises when I hit more than 80kmh.

Which part of your speedo doesn't work? The speed, trip meter or the odometer?

QUOTE(m|ng @ Jan 8 2007, 09:03 PM)
Oh, the speedo can change one ar?  biggrin.gif
Mine..kenot reset mileage liau..  doh.gif

If i change the meter, All will be alright rite? Like the speed, oil, etc. It wont like run out?
Yep, all the meters in your dash can be changed. They are modular and independent. You can change the rpm meter, the speedo, the temperature or the fuel gauge.

This post has been edited by supercolossal: Jan 8 2007, 11:01 PM
supercolossal
post Jan 9 2007, 01:35 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Jan 9 2007, 01:03 PM)
Yea..same case like mine.. Changed it and its soo quiet now  biggrin.gif

My Trip meter doest reset anymore..  sweat.gif
Dunno If Can repair anot one these things.

Yea..I didnt know it was modular too  laugh.gif
No too sure about repairs, but apparently the parts inside the meter are pretty enclosed and delicate. Haven't come across anybody who knows how to repair one. Well, at least only the trip meter doesn't work, you can still check your distance from the odometer.

I had a friend that had both odometer adn the tripmeter spoiled, can't live with that because you cannot gauge mileage (good way to determine how much petrol you still have) and fuel consumption. In the end had to get it changed also.
supercolossal
post Jan 11 2007, 01:55 PM

620 posts

I'm using the normal Petronas Mach5. I service every 5000kms. How about you guys on fully-synthetic or semi-synthetics?
supercolossal
post Jan 15 2007, 12:02 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Jan 14 2007, 10:08 PM)
this is where you kena laugh.gif
Where do you guys usually service/repair your Wira's?
Are the charges in the SC worth it? Anybody has any good/bad experience?
supercolossal
post Jan 17 2007, 07:18 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Jan 17 2007, 03:18 AM)
anyone knows how much is the back lights of a wira for both ori and copy? i dont have time to drive to a shop to ask..
Apparently the plastics on the copy version are not durable, tends to crack and fade out very easily if your car is under the sun a lot.
supercolossal
post Jan 23 2007, 11:35 PM

620 posts

Most probably the calipers are locked up, I wonder how can that happen.
supercolossal
post Feb 1 2007, 06:26 PM

620 posts

If you choose to change your engine mountings, you might want to so some other engine repairs that involves unmounting the engine to save on some workmanship cost.
supercolossal
post Feb 5 2007, 08:44 AM

620 posts

What about manual caburettor engines? What is the ideal idling RPM with and without the aircon?
supercolossal
post Feb 10 2007, 03:11 PM

620 posts

A 4 door car will be more convenient/useful most of the time.

0.0407sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:00 AM