Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

sss2sssss
post Sep 2 2012, 03:38 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 2 2012, 03:25 PM)
Lenovo
14"
Y480 (5934-1161), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB(1600mhz), 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS, 2 years international warranty
Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB(1600mhz), 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty
The Lenovo Y480 FreeDOS currently is already rise up the price, now is RM2599
sss2sssss
post Sep 6 2012, 10:29 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(thesoldier @ Sep 6 2012, 12:39 AM)
but n56vz is 2.7 kg. plus the screen size is 15.6"
it's not really suitable for travelling.

Added on September 6, 2012, 1:22 am
finally I have narrow down into 3 laptops:

1. Asus A43SM-VX002V
2. Asus 45VM-VX09V
3. Lenovo Y480v

1. it's outdated already. but I like all the features. especially palm-proof part.
2. I think the audio will be the best. and it's among the latest laptop. but it is the most pricey among the 3 laptops. but i guess it's worth.
3. to be honest, I don't know nothing about lenovo. so a little bit scared to buy it.

asus vs lenovo.  which one is always the best in terms of performance? some of my friends have used asus for almost 4 years and the laptop still okay. again, clueless about lenovo.  rclxub.gif

but my heart told me to get lenovo. it's the lightest laptop among these three.  cool2.gif
Go for Lenovo y480, I'm very stratified with my y480,....
sss2sssss
post Sep 7 2012, 01:43 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(thesoldier @ Sep 7 2012, 11:27 AM)
seriously?? I'm considering to buy one right now. maybe around next week.  rclxms.gif
U can go, and try tp upgrade to SSD if u got enough budget then u can feel speedy life
sss2sssss
post Sep 7 2012, 02:51 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Sep 7 2012, 01:44 PM)
Old benq dying .
Need a new lappy with significant better gpu than current Geforce 9800m .
Spec as good as possible . Screen and hardisk space will be on less concern . Important is cpu and gpu . Sound quality would be an extra . Best is free dos .

Pls recommend 3 of them for me to choose .
Budget?
While there's got a lot of GPU is better than 9800M GT....
sss2sssss
post Sep 12 2012, 11:09 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Sep 12 2012, 11:01 PM)
On site meaning? They come to house like dell?

Ok, i like asus n56 more than lenovo y580 for the design, it looks much lighter than lenovo and keyboard looks so well placed, , for games im only playing fifa, call of duty, dota 2, the sims, i guess the asus specs is good enough.. But overall specs y580 is much2 better .. And the price is not that far . I dunno which im going to really2 like as i nver tested both of em.. Asus giving a free something like speaker(subwoofer?) , i think the built in speaker is good enough without that free speaker asus give, jbl on lenovo also looks quite good on reviews .. But this asus bad warranty is worrying me.. Lenovo.. Nver heard much bout them, i think they are getting popular now

So which do u suggest?

Added on September 12, 2012, 11:04 pm

Yeah there 2 thread in lowyat thats already more than 10 pages talking bout the asus warranty

I know not all laptop are perfect, but if it takes too long to repair, then its going to be hard if i need to do work

I think asus nver improve their warranty? Or its just happen?
That thing which Asus n56 bundle one is subwoofer, I thinking If y dun want plug that subwoofer then u may need to adjust the equalizer coz I got test the sound quality without subwoofer at default setting, bass was too heavy
Anyway, choose the laptop u like almost
sss2sssss
post Sep 13 2012, 12:52 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Sep 13 2012, 02:51 AM)
I dont care bout speaker that much actually, just youtube, if i wanna listen to music i just use mp3 .. I dont mind as long as it is really2 loud as harman kardon toshina nb500 speaker is ok fr me, not that loud ok la but dont want soft2 speaker . Btw where did you test the asus n56???
I afraid la test2 ,, later got poison by seller..

And with iphone 5,ipod touch looks good.. And ps3 games is also looking good till this november.. I dunno which to buy  rclxub.gif

Added on September 13, 2012, 2:59 am

I think im gonna get that i7 ..so both y580 and n56 is fhd.. But asus is matte which is better
My old laptop glossy the screen very dirty , another laptop matte screen still looks good, but since its fhd i think lenovo ok too.

Yep i think im gonna get lenovo for better warranty support.. But that asus design damn really good.. Lol .. drool.gif

Hurm u know when there will be massive price cut for laptop? I know price cut for a phone is quite fast after 3-4months, sgs,htc one x now quite cheap
If there price cut within 4months..maybe i can wait
I test at digital mall there, there got Y480 and N56 display set, so I test
JBL speaker really louder and clearly sound but less bass of course....

sss2sssss
post Sep 21 2012, 11:50 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 21 2012, 11:22 PM)
now become undecided back rclxub.gif
if wait for the release of y400/500,will missed free y480 headset.but still dont know exact specs and price for y400/500
But I think even u missed that headset u can always buy a better one...
Now I'm using Philips SHP1900 headset, the sound system is quite good.... thumbup.gif
sss2sssss
post Sep 27 2012, 10:07 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 27 2012, 09:58 PM)
sifus,,need confirmation on this..when i ask this particular model at Malaysia IT-Fair at Kuala Terengganu just know.they said y480 i7 3630qm only available for y580.
y480 only have i7 3610qm
is it true?
I think they either no stock in or conned u.....
sss2sssss
post Sep 28 2012, 01:17 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 28 2012, 12:00 AM)
seems like that la.
need to buy via postage lor this way.but worry about warranty/after sale service.
or i can send the laptop here in kuala terengganu?instead post it back to seller to claim warranty?
BTW u can directly send to warranty center if warranty center near to ur place
sss2sssss
post Sep 29 2012, 08:25 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Sep 29 2012, 11:43 AM)
Heard it somewhere , 3rd party msata ssd cant use for caching  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
FYI u can ask Lenovo there to help u flash BIOS which support msata caching
sss2sssss
post Sep 29 2012, 11:03 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(havencast @ Sep 29 2012, 10:54 PM)
i just want some of your opinion~ seems i confused a little.. hmm.gif

1. Preferred Brand: Asus or Lenovo, (cuz i heard Asus heatsink was good, although some claim it's still hotter while playing games..) <- tell me if i'm wrong.. sweat.gif

2. Budget: i think of RM2000 and below. but max is RM2500 blink.gif

3. Usage: nowadays i use to browse internet a lot, and open bunch of pages, i was thinking to have FASTER laptop to do my assignment with ease. and of course, playing heavy games with medium setting. brows.gif

4. Preferred Screen size: 14" or 15" nod.gif

*i was hoping to find NVIDIA Graphic Card GDDR5. since i don't know whether the GT610/630/635/640 is GDDR5 or not. but still hoping to find one. 2GB Nvidia sounds good..  and i don't expect for latest laptop, but i don't want the sooo old ones also. if can put in SSD, that might be useful. notworthy.gif
Well Y480 is suitable for u
Y480(5934-7549), i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5) @RM2599 [JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, freeDOS, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset
U can try find at Garage Sell for more cheaper price and add a licence to it or u wanna jack sparrow....
But if u wanna put SSD on it then is over ur budget jor
sss2sssss
post Sep 29 2012, 11:46 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(havencast @ Sep 29 2012, 11:16 PM)
how about this --->> http://shop.lenovo.com/products/us/laptop/...0_Datasheet.pdf

just wondering the nvidia is GDDR3 or GDDR5..?  notworthy.gif
GT630M is DDR3 version bro
I suggest u get Y480.... thumbup.gif
sss2sssss
post Sep 30 2012, 12:28 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(havencast @ Sep 30 2012, 12:21 AM)
too pricey when add SSD..~  cry.gif

i prefer specs like the link here > http://shop.lenovo.com/products/us/laptop/...0_Datasheet.pdf
i don see any garage sells with GT630.. all selling with GT610..

i thought 2GB GDDR3 can play skyrim, or i am alive, or mass effect 3 smoothly in medium setting i guess. GDDR5 maybe can set all to high setting, but as long i can play games smoothly, well, 2GB GDDR3 might be good i guess. (my friend got ati 5700 1gb <-(i guess) can play skyrim smoothly in high setting, not extreme.) i dont know.. maybe bcuz that's PC, not laptop, but i don't think 2GB GDDR3 could lose right..?

tell me if 2GB GDDR3 can smoothly play those heavy games i mention in medium or even low setting..  icon_question.gif anyone that experienced it~
i'm sorry if i'm being rude~  notworthy.gif  so dilemma with these confusion..  rclxub.gif  plz guide me~  notworthy.gif
BTW gpu vram don't help too much to game.... sweat.gif
But I think it can be play, as it based on GT540M/GT550M core

0.0225sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:38 AM