Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

kasey1314
post Aug 6 2012, 12:44 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

Sifus and pross..

1. Preferred Brand:Any brand except Acer
2. Budget:Around rm4k
3. Usage:Office use,for long battery life,and light weight.light gaming LeagueOfLegends
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:14~17 inch

i5-i7 also not really matters.any laptops is 3k,(which is really recommend to upgrade ssd) and add on SSD 256gb which reach rm 4k.??

kasey1314
post Aug 6 2012, 05:39 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

Phung sifu,

Can you give comment on it?cause now i using lenovo t420s with msata 80gb and 180gb ssd, but 80gb msata for my C drive is full le,so wanted to change..

1. Preferred Brand:Any brand except Acer
2. Budget:Around rm4k
3. Usage:Office use,for long battery life,and light weight.light gaming LeagueOfLegends
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:14~17 inch

i5-i7 also not really matters.any laptops is 3k,(which is really recommend to upgrade ssd) and add on SSD 256gb which reach rm 4k.??

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 6 2012, 05:08 PM)
Its true that there is the heat issue regarding the Lenovo Y480 but that doesn't stop people from buying it anyway  tongue.gif
You can get a cooling fan if it helps  smile.gif

Asus N56VZ is 15".

Another 15" laptop you can consider:

Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2799, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

The rest with better GPU exceeds your budget  sweat.gif
kasey1314
post Aug 6 2012, 10:24 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 6 2012, 08:48 PM)
14"-17"? Since light weight is required, 14" maybe?  hmm.gif
You're usage does not require strong raw processing power so i3/i5 will suffice  smile.gif

Can try these:

Toshiba Satellite L840-1026X/XR/XW, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2399[2.12kg], 4GB, 640GB, W7HP; colors: Black/Red/White, 3 years warranty
HP Pavilion G4-2006/2007/2008TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2199[2.19kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Dell Vostro 3460, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM2499[2.23kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E430, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM2799[2.2kg], W7P, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), anti-glare

I'm not sure on the price for SSD. But I think you can get a 256GB SSD with these laptop.
Are you replacing it with the optic drive?  hmm.gif
sifus,

all above is 2kg ++, can have something lighted/?

256 ssd roughly ard 8xx, how the battery lasting ?i prefer using more than 3 hours with wifi and typing,MS words and excel??

previous my move is remove HDD replace with SSD wor..is better replace with optic drive? can advice?
kasey1314
post Sep 13 2012, 02:43 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

TJ,Wanted to change my desktop to laptop,my current desktop specs is

Processor:Intel i5 2320 3.0 Ghz ~ 3.3 Ghz

Graphic Card:Nvidia GTX 550 Ti

Storage:60 GB SSD + 1TB HDD

MOBO: Gigabyte P61A-D3

RAM:8 GB RAM

Casing:Cooler Master Elite 311 Plus With Usb 3.0

Any laptop can be better for this spec?Use for LOL Gaming and 3D Rendering.Prefer 15"-17”, Wish to connect larger LED display at home.No Acer Brand .Budget not exceeding RM 4.0k. the cheaper the better while maintain it productivity.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 13 2012, 02:14 PM)
Can consider all these:
14"
Acer V3-471G-53214G75, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2099[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W7HP, 3 years warranty
Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
HP Pavilion G4-2132/2133TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(7200rpm), W7HB, colors: white/black
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
Toshiba Satellite L840-1024X, i3-2370M + AMD HD7670M@RM1849[2.12kg], 2GB, 640GB, W7HP

Its hard to tell which one is more reliable since all of the are electronic devices, there will always be the probability of choosing a faulty one hmm.gif
In which's case its better to have a laptop with better warranty support/ coverage. If your budget is tight, then the Acer and the Asus would be good picks since they come with 3 years local and 2 years international warranty respectively hmm.gif

Otherwise, just go and try out each laptop, and then buy the one you like the most, then fork out a little bit more for warranty extension  nod.gif
kasey1314
post Sep 22 2012, 12:53 AM

奇人异士
720 posts

Thanks for the info, just bought

Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HBasic, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty, @ RM 2850

I had balance budget for

1)SSD, go for intel 320 or 520? see spec like not much different. going to have

Intel® SSD 520 Series 180GB SATA MLC 80 & 85 Microsecond SATA 6Gb/s 550 MB/s / 520 MB/s = RM630
Intel® SSD 330 Series SSDSC2CT180A3K5 180GB 500 MB/s / 450 MB/s= RM485

or any other brands ?Please advice!

2)12 or 10GB RAM

add on 8GB Mushkin Silver line + 4GB Mushkin 4GB Silverline = RM413

or Add on 8gb Mushkin Silverline + existing 2gb Ram = RM 333

or any other brands?please advice!

so my budget still within RM 4k.

the most only is RM 2850 + 520 ssd 180gb RM 630 + 12 Gb Ram RM 413 so is RM 3943.

can you guide on this upgrade?

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 13 2012, 07:01 PM)
I apologize for my ignorance on desktop hardware performances haha...
The best GPU that you can get for a budget of RM4k is a GTX660M nod.gif

15.6"
Asus G55VW-S1095V, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@3999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W7HP
Lenovo
Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HBasic, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3599[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(5400rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty
MSI GE60, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + Bluray@RM4199, 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W7HP, 2 years warranty, gaming mouse & backpack, Free SteelSeries QCK Mass mousepad
I'm not sure whether its better than the desktop version of the GTX550M or not

0.0192sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:44 AM