Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

fJok3R
post Jul 9 2012, 06:14 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 9 2012, 05:06 PM)
There's only one laptop that fits your criteria perfectly brows.gif
14"
Lenovo Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS
But its FreeDOS though~
man, i7 quad with gt650, backlit keyboard, plus freedos, that's a steal for 2.5k
fJok3R
post Jul 9 2012, 10:25 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(aaroneo @ Jul 9 2012, 10:20 PM)
woah the MSI model seems great, especially with 2 years warranty, I'm mostly using it in the UK so is the warranty international or its just local warranty?

What about Sager, heard that its good.

and where can I buy them? Thanks for the help, much appreciated!
NP9130, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX670M + (1920x1080)@RM4499, 8GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3820QM]
NP9150, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX670M + (1920x1080)@RM5199, 8GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-3610M - i7-3920XM][GPU options: GTX675M, GTX680M, AMD HD7970M], color backlit keyboard

there's illegear.com for those who wants to buy locally.
fJok3R
post Jul 10 2012, 07:24 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(ajin999 @ Jul 10 2012, 06:50 PM)
Hello sifus, need some suggestion in choosing laptop*asking for my friend*

1) ACER V3-571G-73614G1T or TOSHIBA Satellite M840-1009XG, which 1 better?

2) also nvidia GT640 or Radeon HD 7670M which 1 is good?

tq smile.gif
you can check the comparison here

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html
fJok3R
post Jul 11 2012, 03:36 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Law @ Jul 11 2012, 02:06 AM)
Hi, would need some help! planning to buy laptop at PC fair this weekend.

1. Preferred brand : any Brand
2. Budget : <Rm2500
3. Usage : Gaming, preferred d3
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 inch or more

Thanks!
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS
fJok3R
post Jul 12 2012, 07:38 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(alvinjian91 @ Jul 12 2012, 03:53 AM)
Hi, I'm currently looking for 3rd gen i7-processor laptop. Any reccomendations?

1. Preferred Brand ---> Toshiba (or Qosmio), Asus

2. Budget ---> 4k - 5k

3. Usage ---> Gaming, some simulation software, movies, music

4. Preferred laptop/screen size ---> 15.6 inch

Thank you biggrin.gif
G55VW-S1095V, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@3999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W7HP
G55VW-IX044V [3D], i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M + Bluray@RM4999, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W7HP
Satellite P850-1000X, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT630M@RM3399[2.6kg][harman/kardon], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP

i think only these fits your requirement at the moment
fJok3R
post Jul 12 2012, 08:21 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Lance XIII @ Jul 12 2012, 08:04 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - 3K +/-
3. Usage - Gaming & Movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15'
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + Bluray@RM3399[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP
N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional
fJok3R
post Jul 12 2012, 10:12 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(tipaklong2 @ Jul 12 2012, 09:36 PM)
I see.  unsure.gif
I searched and found that the Y580's resolution is 1366 x 768. With this resolution, would there be a difference between watching a 720p movie from a 1080p one?

But my priority is gaming (under ~RM3500), and the y580 gives the best bang for buck, correct? 

Thanks for all the help!  notworthy.gif
i think the difference is almost unnoticeable. given the budget, i would say, yes.

QUOTE(xienxienzai @ Jul 12 2012, 10:00 PM)
Hi,I plan to get a gaming laptop.Price below Rm4k.screen inch 15++..screen with FHD.Any suggestion?
Asus N56ZM-S4079V, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920 x 1080) + BluRay@RM3599[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 1TB
fJok3R
post Jul 14 2012, 01:40 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(tipaklong2 @ Jul 14 2012, 12:30 PM)
Does that mean that watching a 1080p movie would be almost similar in an 1366 x 768 screen compared to an 1920 x 1080 screen?  Thanks!
what i mean is of course you can't really differentiate the details, given a low quality video, it will be kind of pixelated on fullhd screen, but for a 1080p, it will be just fine. well i do believe a high reso needs to be accompanied with larger screen too for maximum enjoyment

QUOTE(Armesh @ Jul 14 2012, 01:19 PM)
Hello, my friend wants to buy a laptop and his budget is RM3K. Can be any brand (decent one), he will use it for multi purpose like surf web, watch movie, ms office, and gaming also.  He is getting a laptop cause he have to move around, engineering college  student. So for 3K, can you recommend a laptop with a good price/performance ratio? He suggested http://www.acer.com.my/ac/en/MY/content/model/NX.RZNSM.001
but I feel it's overpriced. And free dos is preferred.
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS
fJok3R
post Jul 15 2012, 10:50 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(gm0023 @ Jul 15 2012, 09:10 PM)
Thanks a lot.. If the budget goes higher till 4000, any more recommendations?
i doubt so, since alienware is out of the budget, imo lenovo y480 is the best you can get

QUOTE(russell612 @ Jul 15 2012, 09:18 PM)
1. preferred brand: any
2. budget: below 3.5k
3.usage: gaming, browsing and a little programming. but mostly gaming *
4.preferred laptop screen size: 14 or above

*I play FSX ,mass effect 3,2 and 1. fifa 2012 and more.
Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2799[JBL], 8GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HP, 2 years international warranty
N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Jul 15 2012, 10:26 PM)
Hi guys,

I need a lap top recommendation.

Budget: RM2000-2600
Brand:preferably HP or Asus
Graphics: 2GB graphic card
Chip:i5 or i7
Screen size: 14" or higher
Usage: some gaming and a good built in webcam for tele-conferencing.

Thanks guys. wink.gif

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jul 15 2012, 10:44 PM)
budget: rm2500 - 2700..
brand: asus or lenovo or dell
specs: i7 (preferred) and backlit keyboard (love it)

going to get the laptop by next week..
i've followed this thread for many weeks and I know the laptop that suit with my budget..

but within this two.. lenovo y480 (i7) and n56 (i5), which is more worth?
sorry if im in a wrong thread but i think the sifus here know well about laptops biggrin.gif

i'd love if the laptop got backlit keyboard because its awesome.. so recommend me please
one is 14", the other one is 15". it really depends on you, spec wise, they're almost identical. try to get your hand on the real model, see which one do you like. since you love the backlit keyboard, i guess there's no point on buying something that you don't prefer. in the end you're the end who's going to use the laptop.

i don't think you can go wrong with y480. it is quite recommended here.
fJok3R
post Jul 15 2012, 10:58 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jul 15 2012, 10:51 PM)
does the n56 got the backlit on all model? or only on the expensive one?
eh my mistake, i thought the asus n56 doesn't have backlit kb, but based on this thread it does.

fJok3R
post Jul 17 2012, 07:45 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Chaoyinside @ Jul 17 2012, 07:41 PM)
thk of buying the lenovo Y580 for gaming and multimedia work purposes, portable and budgeted, can anyone giv some comment and any review on that? thx biggrin.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2383549
fJok3R
post Jul 18 2012, 06:50 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(alvinjian91 @ Jul 18 2012, 06:03 PM)
hi all, is there any nice i7 3rd gen HP/DELL laptop with 15++ inch???
Inspiron 15R, i7-3612QM +AMD HD7670M@RM2599[2.65kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm)
Vostro 3560, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M + 32GB SSD + 750GB(7200rpm) HDD + (1920x1080)@RM3509[2.57kg], 8GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
dv6-7014TX, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT630M + Bluray@RM3999[Beats], 8GB, 1TB (5400rpm)
Envy 15-3204TX, i7-3610QM + Intel HD4000 + (1920x1080 Radiance)@RM4999[2.63kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm)

Added on July 18, 2012, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Jul 18 2012, 06:12 PM)
hi sifus,
what laptop recommended for me as 12hours online for currency/stock trading, multitasking, web explorer and business purpose.
I preferable heavy duty and durable. Do for traveling.
below RM4000 would be fine, but as long as durable and lasting!
Asus Zenbook or N56VZ is better for my situation?
Much appreciated for your comment.
thank you
imo you better get the zenbook as it's ultraportable plus it is suffice to your usage. extra cpu and gpu power in n56vz could drain the battery faster

This post has been edited by fJok3R: Jul 18 2012, 06:52 PM
fJok3R
post Jul 21 2012, 07:25 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(todxtatsuya @ Jul 21 2012, 02:26 AM)
Hi guys. I need a recommendation on laptop for my friend.

Brand  : No Acer
Budget  : Below 2.5k
Usage  : Mainly for Gaming and AutoCAD
Size    : 14"

Thx in advance.
fJok3R
post Jul 21 2012, 12:26 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Iscream @ Jul 21 2012, 10:08 AM)
I need some suggestion on laptop.

Brand : Asus/Toshiba
Price : RM 2.5K +/-
Usage : normal use,gaming,multimedia
Screen size : 14"/15.6"
Others : 3rd gen Intel,4GB Ram,>500 GB HDD,2GB graphic

Thanks in advance.
fJok3R
post Jul 21 2012, 10:08 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(angelzz90 @ Jul 21 2012, 09:36 PM)
1. not acer
2. within rm3000
3. movie,drama,music,uni usage
4. 14

went to hav a look and the sales person suggested lenovo z480..

y480 look nice as well though.. im wondering which is better?
y480 has better cpu and gpu, but for basic usage it is quite overkill since you are planning to use it for fairly basic usage. considered ultrabook? might be better to move around
fJok3R
post Jul 22 2012, 12:12 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Jul 21 2012, 11:09 PM)
Is the any different between window 7 starter, basic and home premium?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_7_edi...omparison_chart

QUOTE(angelzz90 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:12 PM)
thanks for the info!
any ultrabook that you recommend?
14" HP [Ultrabook] Envy4-1043TX/1053TX, i5-3317U + AMD HD7670M + 32GB SSD + 500GB HDD(5400rpm)@RM2599[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W7HP
14" Dell [Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i5-3317U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2599[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm) *no VGA port
14" Dell [Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i7-3517U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2899[1.87kg], 8GB, 500GB(5400rpm) *no VGA port
13" Asus [Ultrabook] UX32VD-R3001V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB SSD + 500GB HDD@RM2999[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP
fJok3R
post Jul 29 2012, 11:55 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Sridev Pro Designer @ Jul 29 2012, 11:35 AM)
so between Pavilion Dm4-3105TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7570M@RM2699[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard

and
Lenovo 14"

which is the best?
spec wise, y480 have better cpu and gpu, but note that this model is freedos means you are going to need to install your preferred operating system on your own

0.0708sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:17 AM