39 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2012, 11:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ajunandpisang @ Sep 24 2012, 10:59 PM)
hi guys, i dunno much bout specs and everthng bout laptop. was thinking getting asus A43Sd- VX426/427/428/429/430. my range is rm1500. is it sufficient? is there any other better laptop within the price range
Please kindly follow the format so that we can recommend you better icon_rolleyes.gif

This thread is specially made to offer laptop/tablet PC recommendations to EVERYONE
However, in order for us to recommend you with laptops/tablet PCs which suits you the most, we would require some basic information from you. Hence please kindly state your the following when posting:
1. Preferred Brand
2. Budget
3. Usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2012, 11:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ajunandpisang @ Sep 24 2012, 11:20 PM)
sorry for the previous post  sweat.gif

brand : prefer  asus, but any other brand are acceptable. im no fussy

budget : RM1200-1600

usage : mainly will be use for study and play some games ( dota and fifa)

screen size : 14' or biggah.

PS : does FIFA12 required really super laptop or the laptop within my range are sufficient
Dota and FIFA are not really graphic demanding games, rest assured brows.gif
Still, it'll be good to have a dedicated graphic card to churn out more graphic power nod.gif
Can consider this one:
14"
Dell Inspiron 14, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT620M@RM1699[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; W7HP@RM1749

If you prefer something cheaper (and weaker of course), then this:
14"
Dell Inspiron 14, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1299[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu Linux 11.10; W7HB@RM1459

15.6"
Dell Inspiron 15, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1459[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 12:28 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ajunandpisang @ Sep 25 2012, 12:23 AM)
i am using dell rite now. old one. inspiron 1420. its always heated up quickly.  does these newer model having the same problem?

what does the different between Nvidia, Intel HD? any other recommendation?

btw thx! thumbup.gif

Added on September 25, 2012, 12:23 am

i am using dell rite now. old one. inspiron 1420. its always heated up quickly.  does these newer model having the same problem?

what does the different between Nvidia, Intel HD? any other recommendation?

btw thx! thumbup.gif
The Inspiron 1420 was a problematic model laugh.gif
The newer ones should be better now nod.gif

In general, newer Nvidia graphic cards are mostly non-integrated and are more powerful, whereas Intel HD graphic cards are integrated and are less powerful (but more power saving)..
Can consider this one as well, if you don't mind the FreeDOS (no windows- need to install yourself)
14"
Asus A43TK-VX024 , AMD A6-3420M + AMD HD7670M@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 08:43 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ajunandpisang @ Sep 25 2012, 01:00 AM)
what does AMD A6 stand for? what major different from those i3/i5/i7??

no worries, my fren got extra window7 for one more.

all the pricing are based on inside LYN or it is the general pricing?

once again, thanks a lot.!
AMD A6 is an AMD Fusion APU which is basically a combination of CPU and GPU, do Google for more details nod.gif
These APUs are generally weaker in terms of CPU but better in terms of GPU when compared to Intel counterparts with integrated GPUs...

Al the pricings are based on official RRP, means can still bargain nod.gif

Added on September 25, 2012, 8:44 am
QUOTE(shiningace @ Sep 25 2012, 01:51 AM)
hi there, i would like some advice on choosing a laptop too.

brand: any will do
budget: 2k
usage: some autocad or any other engineering stuff (studying civil engineering if it helps)
screen size: >14"

so far i have seen, the best deal seems to be the dell inspiron SE. is this the best deal or could i get an even better deal? Thanks in advance
Yeah, if your AutoCAD involves 3D stuffs, then the Inspiron 14R SE is the best pick because of the more powerful GPU nod.gif
Its the best deal currently brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 25 2012, 08:44 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 10:56 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(shiningace @ Sep 25 2012, 09:46 AM)
if the se is the best deal, should i get the 15" our the 14". as far as i know, the gpu of 14 only slightly better than that of 15. any thought?
Performance should be more or less similar, so its basically down to whether you like a more portable laptop, or whether you prefer Nvidia over AMD nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 11:45 AM

24,193 posts

^ The A6 is suitable for those who are looking for acceptable gaming performance but doesn't have a high budget <RM1500. It all depends on you, if your priority is gaming, then the Asus A43Tk, if your priority is studies (more than just normal office work), then Inspiron 14
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 07:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Smithy46 @ Sep 25 2012, 07:26 PM)
Hi Sifu,
I'm wondering which one to buy between these 2.. My friend said Dell overheats pretty fast compare to Lenovo. Is that true?
Which one do you think is better?
Different laptops have different cooling systems... Just because your friend's Dell overheats doesn't mean that all Dell laptops overheats nod.gif
There are no reviews for the Z480 yet, so its pretty hard to comment on the heat

Here's a review on the 14R SE (spec may differ): http://www.thinkdigit.com/Laptops-and-PCs/...view_10482.html
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 09:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jib3000 @ Sep 25 2012, 09:13 PM)
Hi guys

Between this two, which one is better?

[Ultrabook] Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA+ 500GB HDD(5400rpm)]@RM2159, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Or
[Ultrabook]S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@2099[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB
The Lenovo S400 is better in almost every way nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 10:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(SK17 @ Sep 25 2012, 10:04 PM)
i tot it was abit chepear  2 months back i think..increased in price?
Yes, RM100 increase to be precise nod.gif
nevertheless, its still a steal laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 11:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Sep 25 2012, 11:17 PM)
Looking for laptop for a friend biggrin.gif

1. Brand: anything biggrin.gif
2. Budget: RM 2k
3. Usage: Photoshop, animation
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: at least bigger than 14"
"At least bigger than 14" means more than 14" right? laugh.gif
Can consider these man:
15.6"
Acer V3-571G-53212G50, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB
Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.65kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 25 2012, 11:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Sep 25 2012, 11:36 PM)
Erm... looks good biggrin.gif but how about Asus or Lenovo i heard that they're not bad at all biggrin.gif
how about a little over 2k?
15.6"
Asus A55VM-SX037, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2399, 4GB, 750GB, W7HP
Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 10:55 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zuiichi @ Sep 26 2012, 07:02 AM)
guys, im buying laptop for my mom.
she insist of something light,thin.

im eyeing on ASUS ZENBOOK UX32VD

is there any other good choices with good specs? my max budget is rm3.5k.

optional feature : ladylike colour. (but if not good spec, can ignore)
Can consider these as well:
13"
Asus [Ultrabook] UX31A-R4005V, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM3499[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP, 4-cell (6840mAh) battery, 2 years international warranty
Dell [Ultrabook] XPS13, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM3299[1.36kg], 4GB, external optical drive
HP [Ultrabook] Pavilion dm3-1001TU (Folio 13), i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.49kg], W7HP
Toshiba [Ultrabook] Portégé Z830-1000U, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM3499[1.12kg], W7HP, 6GB, RM300 petrol voucher

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 10:58 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pokler @ Sep 26 2012, 08:27 AM)
Hi.
Looking for laptop.

1. Brand: anything
2. Budget: below RM 2k
3. Usage: can play a games.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 ++
Can consider these:
14"
Acer V3-471G-53214G75, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2099[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W7HP, 3 years warranty
Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional *price promotion until 27/09/2012
HP Pavilion G4-1302ax, AMD A8-3520M + AMD HD7450M@RM1899, 4GB, 640GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
Toshiba Satellite L840-1024X, i3-2370M + AMD HD7670M@RM1849[2.12kg], 2GB, 640GB, W7HP

The Dell Inspiron 14R SE would be the best in terms of GPU performance nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 11:01 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(guardianz01 @ Sep 26 2012, 10:28 AM)
Sifu's in the house, need some recommendations.....

Brand : Not really an issue

Budget : RM2200-RM2500

Usage : MS Office Apps (30%), Online work (30%), Games (40%)

Examples : League of Legends, Crysis 2, COD, Diablo 3 - want to play these at mid - high settings  smile.gif

Screen : 14' -15'

Additional Notes : Decent battery life and warranty.

Thank You thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
If you wanna maximize performance for your budget, then these:
14"
Lenovo , 2 years international warranty
Y480(5934-7549), i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5) @RM2599 [JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, freeDOS, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset
Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB

If you wanna use your budget for both performance (relatively weaker than the ones above) and warranty coverage, then these:
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional *price promotion until 27/09/2012
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue

15.6"
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

Use the remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years + on-site nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 11:02 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Sep 26 2012, 10:50 AM)
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HBasic, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3599[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

These two model, apart from the processor, bluray, 4gb ram, 500gb hdd, and window 7 difference, any other different in term of processing power and gaming capability? the graphic card is both same 2gb? worth to get more expensive version? thanks
There will be difference in program load times because of the difference in HDD speed, but other than that, performance should be similar...

Imho the more expensive version is not worth it unless if you want to watch Bluray movies using Bluray discs laugh.gif
You could easily get the cheaper version, with enough budget to extend warranty to 3 years onsite and also upgrading the RAM or HDD nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 03:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(theemc @ Sep 26 2012, 01:44 PM)
hello sifu...
i found that some of ppl complain about the leenovo z480 the connection of 10/100 ethernet LAN. and i check that the acer and asus provide giga ethernet lan. else big different? i jz use laptop to download some movie, playing games.. and studies purpose..
Can't really comment since I'm not using any of those laptops, sorry sad.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 03:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Sep 26 2012, 11:53 AM)
i see, in that case maybe i just get the y480 if not much different.. hmm.gif
a few hundred RM is still big for me
QUOTE(Stephenkhoo @ Sep 26 2012, 12:23 PM)
i am on my consideration on Y480 and Y580....  i personally more prefer on bigger screen.... but just wondering the resolution effect big or not...

currently a few hundreds bucks is still consider big for me as year end coming.....haiz....

bro, maybe we can go to look on it in low yat together, ha
It all depends on whether you want a 14" notebook or a 15.6" one.
The Y580 does come with a FullHD screen, you'll have much larger workspace, particularly useful if you are into designing or editing etc., at the expense of portability, of course...
The GTX660m is better than the GT650m when both are running at 1366x768
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 04:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(theemc @ Sep 26 2012, 03:56 PM)
last question:
this few day i done many reason, still confusing..haiz..
in term of quality,
asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
which is good in quality><!!!
Go and touch and feel them, you be the judge of the quality nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 09:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Smithy46 @ Sep 26 2012, 08:58 PM)
I'm wondering about this model, I've seen around some websites (and also Lenovo website) that it comes only with integrated Intel graphic card..
But then some other websites stated that it comes with Nvidia graphic card like stated above. So which one is correct?
The following are the known variants of the Z480:
14:
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HP,colors: grey/red/blue *EOLed
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue

These laptops should come with both an Intel HD4000 and Nvidia GT630/640M; governed by Nvidia Optimus nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 10:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 26 2012, 10:23 PM)
Ok, I get it.
May I know what is the specs for the Lenovo G770?

Anyone else has any recommendation for 17" laptop below RM2000?

Thank you for help smile.gif
There isn't one sad.gif

39 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:15 PM