39 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 01:47 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Sep 22 2012, 12:53 AM)
Thanks for the info, just bought

Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HBasic, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty, @ RM 2850

I had balance budget for

1)SSD, go for intel 320 or 520? see spec like not much different. going to have

IntelĀ® SSD 520 Series 180GB SATA MLC 80 & 85 Microsecond SATA 6Gb/s 550 MB/s / 520 MB/s = RM630
IntelĀ® SSD 330 Series SSDSC2CT180A3K5 180GB 500 MB/s / 450 MB/s= RM485

or any other brands ?Please advice!

2)12 or 10GB RAM

add on 8GB Mushkin Silver line + 4GB Mushkin 4GB Silverline = RM413

or Add on 8gb Mushkin Silverline + existing 2gb Ram = RM 333

or any other brands?please advice!

so my budget still within RM 4k.

the most only is RM 2850 + 520 ssd 180gb RM 630 + 12 Gb Ram RM 413 so is  RM 3943.

can you guide on this upgrade?
Sorry but I can't really comment much here since I don't know much about SSDs. Try to PM AleUNe, lee_what2004 or putochip123, they know alot about SSDs nod.gif

As for the RAM, I think there's no real need to go for such good ones... cheap ones will do... save the money and spend on the SSD instead (perhaps a 256GB one?) since the SSD will bring about much significant performance upgrades compared to the RAM hmm.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 11:42 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 22 2012, 02:16 AM)
hello sifus...
can anyone suggest me best available laptop for me?

1. Preferred Brand - any
2. Budget - RM2500
3. Usage - male student usage...
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - any..
thank u very much... biggrin.gif
What does "male student usage" means? Watch prawn? brows.gif brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 11:45 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tommyykh06 @ Sep 22 2012, 02:17 AM)
OMG! sifi you havent slp..!
ya. but higher reading and writing speeds also mean consume more battery rite =)
going to buy one of them on coming next week.
thx so much for all the commends

Added on September 22, 2012, 3:21 am
Added on September 22, 2012, 3:13 amfellow sifis,
im considering in Dell 14R SE (i5 model)
or
Lenovo Z480 (GT640M model)

the main diff is
Dell : 50think??0GB HDD (7200rpm)   
        W7HP                                             
        1 year warranty                                 
        4xUSB3.0                                 
        N/A                                                   
        SkullCandy speaker with Wave MaxxAudio 4.0

Lenovo : 1TB (5400rpm)
              W7HB
              2 yrs international warranty
              2xUSB 2.0  2XUSB3.0
              Short cut key features
              2.0 Dolby Speaker
if anything is missed out or incorrect plz update ya. =)

it is a very tough choice for me.
what do u guys think and why?

thx for all the commends =)
Nope, the amount of heat and power consumption of 7,200rpm HDD are negligible nod.gif

Here are the specifications for the laptops you are considering:
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional *price promotion until 27/09/2012
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue, 2 years international warranty

The Dell has better speakers, better on-site warranty support (if covered [recommended]), faster HDD, lower price and W7HP... so the choice is obvious I think? brows.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 12:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ryansim @ Sep 22 2012, 12:12 PM)
i will be using this laptop for doing assignments and gaming purpose and wish that it have a good battery life, which laptop do u suggest for a budget around 2k++?
The K46 doesn't have very good battery life because of the smaller battery, but it is very light for its class, and offers a decent GPU... can consider hmm.gif

Otherwise, can consider these two that has even better GPUs nod.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional *price promotion until 27/09/2012

Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 22 2012, 12:31 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 08:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 22 2012, 02:16 AM)
hello sifus...
can anyone suggest me best available laptop for me?

1. Preferred Brand - any
2. Budget - RM2500
3. Usage - male student usage...
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - any..
thank u very much... biggrin.gif
QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 22 2012, 03:42 PM)
hahaha... rclxm9.gif
no la...
maybe some gaming like usual male student do...
like DOTA..
or watching movies..
Can consider thte following, all are capable of handling DOTA and DOTA 2. But do take note that GT640M is much better than GT630M nod.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 21 2012, 10:51 PM)
14"
Acer V3-471G-53214G75, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2099[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W7HP, 3 years warranty
Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
HP Pavilion G4-2132/2133TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(7200rpm), W7HB, colors: white/black
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue
Toshiba Satellite L840-1024X, i3-2370M + AMD HD7670M@RM1849[2.12kg], 2GB, 640GB, W7HP
Or if you don't mind a FreeDOS unit or forking out a little bit more, then the Y480 would be the perfect choice, with a much better CPU and GPU than the ones mentioned above brows.gif
14"
Lenovo
Y480(5934-7549), i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5) @RM2599 [JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, freeDOS, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset
Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 08:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ryansim @ Sep 22 2012, 04:43 PM)
how about asus A45vm that u mentioned just now? sorry for troubling u  sweat.gif
Assuming you are referring to the i5 variant of the A45Vm.

A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP

Its not as good as the Dell and Lenovo mentioned in my previous reply in terms of GPU. But its pretty decent if you're not into intense gaming...

Basically GPU- GT640M > GT635M > GT630M; CPU- i5-3210M > i5-3317U
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 08:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(TheNutzs @ Sep 22 2012, 08:27 PM)
Thanks!! you just made my day smile.gif
I really didn't have any idea about upcoming lappy.. that really surprise me... yawn.gif
Any link or site related to upcoming laptop? rumour or some sort? .. I'm serious about getting one of the "jewel".. help me if you can..

Thanks again dear Cyborg of the Internet~ you have served us well~ tongue.gif
Yo fellow humanoid brows.gif

Well, you can take a look at these two, seemed pretty worth waiting for yo brows.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 11:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mang0ic3 @ Sep 22 2012, 09:41 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Asus
2. Budget - 1.5k-2.5k
3. Usage - online gaming(such as dragonica)and watch movies 
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15'

Any suggestion for my little bro? Currently he is studying at secondary school, there are what he request ><"

As long the laptop can support the graphic game like dragonica , i think it is enough for him ...hope all sifu here can help biggrin.gif

off topic: what is FreeDOS?
Can consider this one as well, packs quite a lot of punch in the GPU department brows.gif
15"
Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 11:14 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lycan91 @ Sep 22 2012, 11:01 PM)
Hi, i need help for choosing the netbook

1. Preferred Brand : asus or acer.
2. Budget : less than RM1.5k
3. Usage : m.office, online, and also want high capacity battery if can and also not laggy as the old skul processor
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: doesnt care.

Acer Aspire One 756 Netbook AO756r <===is this a good one?

thanx
From the way I see it, you can either:

-> get a 14" notebook that is faster, but has relatively shorter battery life:
Inspiron 14, B820 + Intel HD@RM999[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu Linux 11.10; W7HB@RM1159
Inspiron 14, B980 + Intel HD@RM1199[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu Linux 11.10; W7HB@RM1359
Inspiron 14, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1299[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu Linux 11.10; W7HB@RM1459

-> get a relatively weaker smaller notebook, with generally longer battery life:
13"
Asus U32U-RX024v, AMD E-450 + AMD HD6320@RM1549[1.70kg], 8-cell battery, 2 years international warranty

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 11:17 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lance XIII @ Sep 22 2012, 01:42 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - ASUS
2. Budget - <RM2.5k
3. Usage - Normal use
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: anything
5. Prefer light and slim type of laptop smile.gif
Can consider these bro brows.gif
14:
Asus (2 years international warranty)
[Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2099[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD
[Ultrabook]S46CM-WX023V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2599[2kg], 4GB, W7HP
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 11:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lycan91 @ Sep 22 2012, 11:20 PM)
some of my frens always complain about the dell laptops always have problem.  is it true?

hmm.gif
There are many different lineup of Dell laptops, just become some are experiencing problem with their laptops (mostly Inspiron series), doesn't mean all Dell laptops are problematic oh nod.gif
I'm using a Dell as well, no problems so far laugh.gif
Recommended 3 of my friends Vostros 3450, all also okay as well brows.gif

The thing about Dell is that even if there are problems, warranty support would be a breeze yo~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2012, 12:17 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lycan91 @ Sep 23 2012, 12:12 AM)
haha. yup. agree with the statement. do you recommend asus? since i heard that they are good in handle the heat.
Same thing... just because Asus's G series (gaming series) are good at cooling doesn't mean that all Asus laptops are cool..
Try to read reviews on the particular laptop that you are interested before purchasing, that's the best one could do to avoid buying a problematic laptop nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2012, 02:18 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 23 2012, 01:52 AM)
wow..
a lot of laptops... rclxms.gif
but, which one of these is
the best?
in term of
bang per bucks....  biggrin.gif
Definitely the Y480 if you want bang for buck nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2012, 11:50 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 23 2012, 11:24 AM)
thank u very much sifu....  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
will consider our suggestion...
hope next time can ask your advice again.. smile.gif
No problem, good hunting laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2012, 02:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(senoqc @ Sep 23 2012, 01:33 PM)
PLEASE HELP ME FOR OPINION

1. Brand: any
2. Budget: RM 4000
3. Usage: Office and Web browsing,
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" ABOVE
Hmm, that is a very high budget for a laptop just for office and web browsing laugh.gif
Recommending business notebooks for you thumbup.gif
14"
Dell Latitude E5430, i5-3320M + Intel HD4000@RM3200, 4GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7P (32-bit), 3 years pro support; [CPU Options: i5-3320M - i7-3520M], HD+ screen upgradable
*use remaining money to upgrade screen to HD+, increase RAM, upgrade the HDD to a faster HDD/SSD, and also switch to W7P (64-bit) nod.gif

Lenovo
ThinkPad Edge E430, i5-2520M + Intel HD3000@RM2699[2.2kg], W7P, 4GB, 500GB (5400rpm), anti-glare *use remaining money to extend warranty to 3 years on-site
ThinkPad Edge E430, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM2749[2.2kg], W7P, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), anti-glare *use remaining money to extend warranty to 3 years on-site
ThinkPad T430U, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM3799, 4GB, W7P, 3 years on-site warranty

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2012, 12:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(earthling1984 @ Sep 24 2012, 12:10 AM)
Erm isn't the ideapad y580 1tb sata hdd (7200rpm)? I kept seeing it's 5400 in this forum?
Thanks for the headsup notworthy.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2012, 12:44 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(earthling1984 @ Sep 24 2012, 12:27 AM)
No worries man. I'm not too sure myself. So just want to clear things up. Need to know though, is the SSD worth swapping with the 7200rpm for the price they costs and the sacrificed space? Also how much it cost for extending warranty?
SSD is definitely worth it if you have the money to spare, the performance difference is very significant nod.gif
Do check with Lenovo sellers on the cost of warranty extension... I don't know sorry laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2012, 09:53 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Becky Ning @ Sep 24 2012, 09:15 AM)
I am a student looking for a laptop..please advise which laptop should I get.

I am not sure whether I should get an i3 or i5..

1. Brand: HP?
2. Budget: <RM 2500
3. Usage: Web browsing, whatever a student usually do..no gaming and video editing etc.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"/15"

I have ask this previously somewhere but apparently I am in the wrong section..so hopefully someone cn answer my questions. Thanks in advance!!
I was the one who gave you the link to this thread haha laugh.gif

A student will need to use many different types of programs depending on your course i.e. Engingeering and Bioinformatic courses will require more CPU or GPU power nod.gif
Can conisder these:

Relatively weaker, but slimmer and lighter laptops:
14:
Dell
[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i3-3217U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2099[1.87kg], 4GB, W7HB, *no VGA port, OD
[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i5-3317U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2599[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm) *no VGA port, OD
HP [Ultrabook] Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA+ 500GB HDD(5400rpm)]@RM2159, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Lenovo [Ultrabook]S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@2099[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB

performance laptops:
14":
Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
HP Pavilion G4-2132/2133TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(7200rpm), W7HB, colors: white/black
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2012, 09:59 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DjK @ Sep 24 2012, 09:21 AM)
[PF] T.J.

Could you be of help if i were to ask for a laptop recommendation?

Budget: RM1500~RM1700 (if say i need to just add a little bit more to get a decent 1 then do mention)

purposes:
-uni student usage(microsoft offices)

preferences:
-Asus, dell, lenovo, acer
-at least 4gig of ram(quite common)
-windows installed(either home basic or premium)
-international warranty
-1 to 1 exchange if fault is detected during 1 or 2 weeks after purchase.
-intel graphic card will do as end user is not a gamer.
-14"
Hi man~
Welcome to the thread, noneed to be so courteous haha laugh.gif

Ultrabooks would do just nice for you I guess brows.gif
14"
Asus [Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2099[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD
Dell [Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i3-3217U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2099[1.87kg], 4GB, W7HB, *no VGA port, OD
HP [Ultrabook] Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA+ 500GB HDD(5400rpm)]@RM2159, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Lenovo [Ultrabook]S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2099[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB

The Asus would be a little bit overkilled here since the GPU is quite powerful but you're not exactly using it haha XD
The Dell and the HP, on the other hand, have relatively weaker CPU...
I would recommend you to go for the Lenovo S400 sinceits more balanced in terms of specification and battery life nod.gif
Perhaps you could deal with "devour" here, especially if you're based in PJ/KL.. he is a reputable and responsible seller, if anything happens, he'll help out laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 24 2012, 11:00 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Becky Ning @ Sep 24 2012, 10:33 AM)
haha yeah. thanks btw!
How about comparing Toshiba satellite M840 with HP [Ultrabook] Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU? Do you think I should get i5 or i3?
btw, what is ivy bridge? is HP Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU using ivy bridge? (i am totally clueless about all the computer specs and I would usually be confused by all the jargons I see..so i hope you don't mind me asking)
Like I said, it depends on whether you need a performance laptop (usually for engineering, architect and bioinformatic students), or just a normal ultrabook (student who only do office work and powerpoints etc.), the info you provide is not very clear hmm.gif

The M840 runs on a quad core i7 processor, which is way overkilled for your usage, and its out of your budget as well..
The Envy 4 is an ultrabook instead, which is of a different category- ultrabooks are basically laptops that are made with slimness and lightness in mind, at the expense of performance, so the processors inside are weaker, even if its an i3, i5 or i7.

Ivy Bridge is the codename for Intel's current range of processors.
The Envy 4 is running on an earlier version, termed Sandy Bridge...

39 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:02 AM