39 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 04:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(username @ Sep 21 2012, 04:17 PM)
Good days, I would like to get some recommendations.

1. Preferred Brand - None in particular
2. Budget - RM3-4k
3. Usage - Web browsing, office paperwork, streaming, no gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13"

Would also prefer to have decent looking screen.
An ultrabook perhaps? brows.gif
13"
Asus [Ultrabook] UX31A-R4005V, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM3499[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP, 4-cell (6840mAh) battery, 2 years international warranty

Dell [Ultrabook] XPS13, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM3299[1.36kg], 4GB, external optical drive

HP [Ultrabook] Pavilion dm3-1001TU (Folio 13), i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.49kg], W7HP

Toshiba
[Ultrabook] Portégé Z830-1000U, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM3499[1.12kg], W7HP, 6GB, RM300 petrol voucher
[Ultrabook] Portégé Z930-2002, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3899[1.12kg], W7HP, 6GB, 3 years warranty, RM300 petrol voucher

The performance of these ultrabooks will be more or less similar for normal office work, so its down to which one you like the most nod.gif
Then use the remaining money on warranty extension nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 06:22 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Sep 21 2012, 05:06 PM)

I decided to look around for a new laptop and surfed here.
To my surprise, a HP can be had for below RM2500.

Did the price of a HP laptop drop?
I can't remember the price of that brand to be that low.
It used to be way out of my budget which is always below RM2500.
2 years ago when I was shopping for a laptop, I never considered HP as they were way too expensive.
All I could afford was a brand like Acer.

So is it true that they had a drop in prices?
Does it mean that their quality has dropped?
Or are they now build in Malaysia so that is why it is cheaper.

Electronic devices are becoming more and more mainstream, hence the prices have also decreased alot nod.gif
You can get a lot of laptop options now for RM2.5k nod.gif

If you are looking for recommendations, please follow the format:

This thread is specially made to offer laptop/tablet PC recommendations to EVERYONE
However, in order for us to recommend you with laptops/tablet PCs which suits you the most, we would require some basic information from you. Hence please kindly state your the following when posting:
1. Preferred Brand
2. Budget
3. Usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 06:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tcnguang84 @ Sep 21 2012, 05:22 PM)
Hi all sifus, i planing to get a laptop for studying(computer science)

Budget: Around RM3k

Usage: Studying & Gaming (Mostly racing game)

Brand preferred: none

Thanks for kind advice. Have a good day. smile.gif  smile.gif

Currently what I have in mind is Lenovo Y580 and Asus N56VZ. In terms of performance, battery life and also pricing of course, which one is worthy?
The Y580 is better in terms of GPU performance, so you might want to consider this one since you game laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 06:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Sep 21 2012, 06:15 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : ASUS / DELL
2. Budget : RM2000-2500
3. Usage : Productivity work such as Office, Electrical/Electronic simulations.. (I have a gaming machine according to my sig so i don think i need a gaming laptop)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14"/15"
Can consider these:
14"
Asus
[Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2099[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD
[Ultrabook]S46CM-WX023V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2599[2kg], 4GB, W7HP

Dell
[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i3-3217U + Intel HD3000@RM1799[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, *no VGA port, OD
[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i3-3217U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2099[1.87kg], 4GB, W7HB, *no VGA port, OD
[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i5-3317U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2599[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm) *no VGA port, OD

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 06:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Sep 21 2012, 06:26 PM)
Thanks for ur recommendation , but how is inspiron 15r SE a good buy ? on website selling rm2199
Thought you said you don't need a gaming laptop? laugh.gif
The Inspiron 14R SE would be the better buy at RM2199 as well because of the much better GPU nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 06:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 21 2012, 06:51 PM)
lenovo y480 it is then.but never made pre order before.how a?just say lenovo y480?i afraidi make wrong order later.first time pre order
Why would you want to pre-order?
Just use the codes stated in the recommendations, those are serial numbers for a particular laptop
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 07:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 21 2012, 07:51 PM)
because no stock.need to order first.ask the shop got g480 oni.what is the right term eh?my mistake

Added on September 21, 2012, 7:53 pmLenovo Y480(5934-7549) it is right?the freeDOS,save cost. laugh.gif
I recalled seeing one last weekend at LYP laugh.gif

Anyway, you could always PM and preorder from "devour", he is a reliable seller, won't get conned one brows.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 07:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Runze @ Sep 21 2012, 07:11 PM)
Budget: 2K
Usage: (For Girl) Microsoft Office, Movies, no gaming at all,
Brand preferred: none

With SSD ,good aesthetic
The Envy 4 is pretty much the most beautiful budget ultrabook at the moment that doesn't look cheap at all brows.gif
14"
HP [Ultrabook] Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA+ 500GB HDD(5400rpm)]@RM2159, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP

Price is in RRP, bargain abit brows.gif

Can consider this one as well:
14"
Lenovo [Ultrabook]S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@2099[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 08:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 21 2012, 08:15 PM)
im afraid it is almost impossible because im in terengganu.therefore,it's a bit risky to do postage aa.
i asked the shops how long i need to wait for pre order.some said 2-3 days,while other shops said 2-3 weeks.
big diff there.why aa?
I see....
Logistic issues perhaps?

Try to buy from larger/ reputable stores, pay a little bit of deposit 1st, then pay the full amount when you get your laptop (and make sure that its new and sealed, and is free of problems) nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 09:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(maLzzster @ Sep 21 2012, 08:35 PM)
Bro...!!! urgently need help... plz help mee..
1. Preferred Brand                    - Asus / Lenovo
2. Budget                                  - below RM1700
3. Usage                                  - multimedia and gaming especially COD and GTA4 
4. Preferred laptop/screen size  - precisely 14"
plz help bro.....thanks. rclxms.gif
Can consider this one?
14"
Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS, *no USB3.0

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 10:20 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(TheNutzs @ Sep 21 2012, 09:55 PM)
Hi Master of the universe! smile.gif
I'm new here.. help me hunting my prize

1. Preferred Brand - Any brand in the galaxy tongue.gif
2. Budget - Below or just exact RM3000
3. Usage - multimedia (Photoshop, video rendering and so on) and heavy gaming use (Battlefield, ACIII, Borderlands, GTA V)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15' is better and optimal to me

*The laptop must have a very good heat resisting flow (optional)
*The GPU must be top of the line (GTX 660M or higher)
*I'm not intend to buy now but I'll keep waiting until October/November to make my mind (prefer much better laptop though, especially a better GPU)

Thanks if you read this.. my first post btw smile.gif
Hello fellow humanoid of the universe notworthy.gif

If you really need to buy now, then the only pick would be the Y580 nod.gif
15.6"
Lenovo Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HBasic, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset

Though I would suggest you to wait if you can, new and more powerful laptops will surely be released from time to time..
The upcoming Lenovo Y400/500 are worth waiting for too: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 10:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(trueno159 @ Sep 21 2012, 10:20 PM)
Help!!!Urgent!Any master here who can do me a favour ?
1. Preferred Brand - Asus / Dell
2. Budget - within rm2500 to rm3000
3. Usage - editing in 2d or 3d,gaming like Starcraft 2 or Diablo 3
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - precisely 15"

*Priority for the performance but not the design!
*Have a very good heat resisting flow!
*Have a good graphic card  too(i not really know about what spec is better,hope can grab more recommendation!)
15.6"
Asus N56Vz-S3088V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2699[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack

Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional

though the Lenovo Y580 would be the best pick for your budget, might want to consider that one as well if performance is your thing brows.gif
Lenovo Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HBasic, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 10:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 21 2012, 10:36 PM)
for y400 is worth to wait
but y500 no I think, using gt655m while now y580 using gtx 660m
huge difference lol
Hard to say since its not officially out yet... there might be changes in specs? hmm.gif
Some more it has ultrabay, that alone will change the performance alot I guess depending on what you put in laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 10:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 21 2012, 10:38 PM)
y400/500 look nice wor.but it doesnt have dvd drive a?and what doest it mean by ultrabay?didnt quite understand rclxub.gif
Iinm, you can slot in an extra GPU or HDD etc., depending on your mood laugh.gif

Added on September 21, 2012, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(trueno159 @ Sep 21 2012, 10:30 PM)
Thanks anyway!Where is the nearest branch for Lenovo warranty service?
Errr... depends on where you are based 1st? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 21 2012, 10:44 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 10:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sarap @ Sep 21 2012, 10:49 PM)
1. Brand: any
2. Budget: RM 2000
3. Usage: Autocad, Office and Web browsing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: none

14"
Acer V3-471G-53214G75, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2099[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W7HP, 3 years warranty
Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional *price promotion until 27/09/2012
HP Pavilion G4-2132/2133TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(7200rpm), W7HB, colors: white/black
Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
Toshiba Satellite L840-1024X, i3-2370M + AMD HD7670M@RM1849[2.12kg], 2GB, 640GB, W7HP

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 11:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 21 2012, 10:55 PM)
can add extra gpu?meaning can add those desktop gc a or 2.5" HDD??worth for wait laa like this.it's gonna be around??2k?when it'll be released in malaysia??
Based on what I understand, yes laugh.gif
But there's really not much details at the moment... so just have to wait...

I doubt it'll be RM2k only because of the unique design.... I'm guessing around RM3-4k for one, excluding ultrabay components hmm.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 11:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Sep 21 2012, 11:13 PM)
The selling point of Y400/Y500 are:
- ultrabay can be customize with either extra GT650M, HDD, cooling fans or ODD.  thumbup.gif
- the laptop come with on-board GT650m which can add another GT650m in ultrabay in SLI mode to boot its performance.  brows.gif
The concept of the ultrabay is really very tempting haha laugh.gif
Now just have to wait and see whether it really works or not haha....

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 21 2012, 11:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 21 2012, 11:22 PM)
now become undecided back rclxub.gif
if wait for the release of y400/500,will missed free y480 headset.but still dont know exact specs and price for y400/500
Always buy when you need, wait if you can nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 12:09 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(trueno159 @ Sep 21 2012, 11:45 PM)
ok i found it
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/538000/all

Thanks ya master!

Last question,If for performance issue for dell 15R or lenovo y580,which one is better?
I think i will gonna to consider this both spec!
Y580 is undoubtedly better brows.gif
The AMD HD7730 is not match for the nVidia GTX660m
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 22 2012, 01:44 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tommyykh06 @ Sep 22 2012, 01:23 AM)
helo sifi,
need your help agian.
about the hard disk, what is the diff between 7200rpm and 5400rpm?
rpm = rotations/revolutions per minute
The higher the rpm, the faster the HDD spins, and hence the faster the reading and writing speeds.
Having a faster HDD will mean faster program load times nod.gif

7200rpm HDDs are highly recommended, the performance difference compared to a 5400rpm one is pretty significant nod.gif

39 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:02 AM