Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

sang_kenari
post Aug 7 2012, 10:09 AM

95 posts

Hi guys, I'm going to Tokyo from 12 Nov to 16 Nov by AAX. Currently working on itenaries by reading this thread (currently on page 50 of version 1) and lonely planet guide book. However, just to get a quick feedback as I'm planning to book the hotels first. My flight is expected to land around 11.10 p.m. Hence, is it advisable for me to book a hotel room on that night as I worried that I might missed the last train/subway/bus from the airport to tokyo city. From what I read, last bus is on 12.30 a.m. correct?

Thanks for all feedbacks given.
sang_kenari
post Aug 7 2012, 10:22 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Aug 7 2012, 10:14 AM)
like tat meh, sian liao lo
maybe u can consider overnight at haneda airport for the first night
i plan to do tat at nov as well tongue.gif
That would be my last option as from what I read, next morning can be tiring and no mood to go sightseeing. Actually I don't mind but don't know my wife can tahan or not smile.gif If I go with my friends sure overnight there, can save hotel cost for one night tongue.gif
sang_kenari
post Aug 9 2012, 01:15 PM

95 posts

Hi guys, here's my first draft schedule of Tokyo trip from 12/11 to 16/11. I plan to stay at Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel around Shinjuku Area for 2 for 4 nights, total RM1,000.

-Monday-
Reach Haneda at 11.00 p.m, take Airport Limousine Bus to Shinjuku West Exit, walk to Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel (about 700m east of Shinjuku Station, check in (hope can reach hotel by 1.30 a.m sweat.gif ).

-Tuesday-
Buy Suica Card at Shinjuku Station, ride train to Asakusa Station, buy World Heritage Pass @ 3,600 yen, visit Nikko (can see autumn season?) until evening, back to Shinjuku.

-Wednesday-
Ride train from Shinjuku to Disneyland, buy daily pass @ 6,200 yen, visit Disneyland until night, back to Shinjuku.

-Thursday-
Buy Odakyu Free Pass @ 5,000 yen, ride train to Hakone, visit Hakone until evening, back to Shinjuku.

-Friday-
Ride train to Akihabara, back to Shinjuku (check out hotel), ride train to Harajuku (Oriental Baazar for souvenirs), ride train to Shibuya, ride train to Haneda Airport, return Suica Card, leave Japan at 11 p.m.
(Note: Akihabara, Harajuku and Shibuya estimated 3 hours each - touch and go sightseeing style)

Please advice/ comment on the feasibility of this schedule. And this is a budget trip tongue.gif .

Thank you.
sang_kenari
post Oct 14 2012, 10:38 PM

95 posts

Hi guys, due to limited time, I plan to only making a day trip to Hakone from Shinjuku in mid-November. What is the earliest time to go there from Shinjuku to enjoy the beauty scene the most, probably Mt. Fuji view? And from my reading, I find these two alternatives of going there:

1) take train to Odawara from Shinjuku @ 850 yen and buy Hakone free pass @ 3900 yen at Odawara Station to Hakone.
2) buy Hakone free pass @ 5,000 yen at Shinjuku Station straight to Hakone.

Which one is better, not only in terms of pricing but other factore as well? Tq.
sang_kenari
post Oct 15 2012, 12:16 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 15 2012, 11:26 AM)
Day trip is ok, it would be better if overnight to enjoy onsen over there. Since you have limited time, no choice, but you wont regret it.

For your question, do you heading back to Tokyo after Hakone?
If so, Hakone freepass included your return trip as well.
If not, then you may just get ur pass at odawara.

Are you a JR holder?
If yes, get a JR train to Odawara & buy the cheaper pass.

Odakyu Line earliest is 5.30am. Before you heading to Hakone, you may check the weather at http://www.hakone.or.jp/english/
Thanks for your reply. My hotel is at Shinjuku so I'll be heading back to Tokyo. I'm getting the Hakone Freepass at Shinjuku then. I plan to follow the Hakone Round Course loop and hopefully will be able to snap Mt. Fuji photo at Owakudani. rclxms.gif
sang_kenari
post Oct 15 2012, 09:32 PM

95 posts

My visa just got approved rclxms.gif Cant wait to go Tokyo. Where can I buy cheap souvenirs to bring back? Some said Harajuku market some said at top floor of one building at Akihabara, cant remember it's name now.
sang_kenari
post Oct 16 2012, 12:11 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 15 2012, 11:35 PM)
Congrat..! Are you submit by your own?
I'm submitting tomorrow, asking my office boy to drop my applications.
Thanks. Yes, submit on my own. To save time, I went there and take number at lunch time so that when open back at 2 pm, I was among the first to submit the application.
sang_kenari
post Nov 1 2012, 03:39 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(hot-choc @ Oct 31 2012, 02:28 PM)
Just got back from my week at Tokyo. Had a really nice time. Weather was great (only 1 day rained) and the food was so good!

My flight was delayed 2 hours, no thanks to AAX. When i reached and got out was already 12.45am. Only choice was taxi. 8800 yen including toll, to Shinjuku.

Went around Tokyo including Disneyland (Halloween theme and everyone was dressed up), Odaiba (Tokyo Joypolis was fun!) & Hakone.
Was lucky to see Fuji a few times.

Yodobashi at Akihabara really has great prices on models and figurines. Even the shops around there or Nakano Broadway arent's so cheap.

Hope to go again soon!
Hi there, do you bought Disneyland's ticket online or at the counter? Is there any limitation on how many people per day that can went in?

sang_kenari
post Nov 4 2012, 01:51 PM

95 posts

Should i buy winter coat here or can grab at a cheaper price after I reach Tokyo?
sang_kenari
post Nov 7 2012, 12:30 PM

95 posts

I'm planning on spending half day at a park. My choice is either Shinjuku Gyoen Park and Ueno Park. I'll be in Japan next week so which one is more interesting in terms of view during this autumn season? (I believe now is the autumn season in Tokyo right?)
sang_kenari
post Nov 7 2012, 05:33 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Nov 7 2012, 05:24 PM)
Whole afternoon buying gifts at oriental bazaar n kiddy land
What type of gifts that you consider worth buying at the bazaar?
sang_kenari
post Nov 17 2012, 10:58 AM

95 posts

Just reached home after reaching lcct @ 5.45 am this morning from Haneda airport. Tiring but very enjoying trip. Many thanks to this forum for lot of useful information for me to survive in Tokyo without a tour guide rclxms.gif
sang_kenari
post Nov 18 2012, 02:45 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Nov 17 2012, 11:05 AM)
wow... good to you. take a rest and share your trip with us. many of us will going soon.
Basically this is my itineraries for 4 nights and 4 days trip. For info, I stayed at Kamata on the first night and Shinjuku for the remaining 3 nights. My flight reached Haneda Airport 20 minutes from it's schedule time hence I got no problem in clearing the immigration and reaching Kamata before midnight.

Day 1 - Morning I wandered around Shinjuku's streets until lunch time when I checked into the Shinjuku hotel. After lunch, I headed to Ueno where I went to Ueno Park and Ameyoko shopping bazaar. At night, (5-6 p.m was already night there) I went to Tokyo Tower at Minato.

Day 2 - I spent the whole day at Disneyland from 9.30 a.m. until 8.30 p.m. It was Wednesday but the park was full of people with some attractions' waiting time was almost 2 hours.

Day 3 - Morning I went to Hakone for Mount Fuji and autumn's viewing. I completed the Hakone rounded course and reached back Shinjuku around 4 p.m. At night I wandered around Shinjuku's streets.

Day 4 - Morning I wandered around Akihabara until lunch time. After that I went to Harajuku and shopped for souvenirs, mostly at Harajuku Oriental Bazaar until night.

Lucky for me that all 4 days' weather was clear with an average temperature around 16 Celsius at day and 10 Celsius at night.
sang_kenari
post Nov 19 2012, 10:50 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Nov 19 2012, 09:00 AM)
have a nice trip there. but dont you think 4 days are quite short?
I heard from my fren, it's quite cold there. day about 13-15 night 6-10.
I just back from there laa friend smile.gif . Anyway, I agree with you, 4 days are quite short for Japan, if only I knew earlier I will arrange for not less than a week trip. Hopefully next time tongue.gif . Yeah, it's quite cold there, average is 15 Celsius at day and 10 Celsius at night, however I managed to survive with a light sweater and without a gloves biggrin.gif .
sang_kenari
post Nov 20 2012, 04:49 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Nov 20 2012, 04:02 PM)
yo ppl
back from japan
it was an awesome trip
i was lucky.. can see red mapple leaf full burst mode at kyoto and osaka
tokyo not really into autumn leaf mode yet
i love kyoto esp arashiyama!
Yeah, I went to Ueno Park at Tokyo and couldn't really see autumn leaf mode there. Luckily I went to Hakone after that, from the rope way, can really see amazing autumn leaf mode scenery there. rclxms.gif

0.0222sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:02 PM