Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1
carpathia
Oct 14 2012, 03:01 PM
well, im planning my trip in early nov and let me know what you think of my plan
1) day 1 - reach airport, take bus to hotel @ shinjuku and then shop around that area at night
2) day 2 - shinjuku
3) day 3- shibuya/akihabara
4) day 4 - Ginza/akasuka temple
5)day 5 - depart to airport
main purpose of trip - shopping, less sightseeing .
biggest challenge i have now is 1) hotel ( budget 400-500) for 2 pax - wanna stay at cosy motel that is near to the train
2) transport - my friend told me to take bus to the sentral station then only take cab to hotel. hmn....
carpathia
Oct 22 2012, 05:19 PM
strange question - is it worth it to buy japan made clocks in tokyo? i wonder if we get taxed at immigration or not....kinda looking forward to buying a rhythm clock in japan
carpathia
Oct 22 2012, 08:09 PM
thank you stimix for your info will definitely look into the 2nd hand stuff in shinjuku
carpathia
Oct 23 2012, 02:28 AM
Yiwee - how come your visa is only valid for 15days?
carpathia
Nov 4 2012, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 2 2012, 05:33 PM) For those going Japan within this month ( November) please take note: North of Japan (Hokkaido, Amouri, Akita) start snowing. Cool icing breezing winds are blow from north west into Tokyo City. Wind speed are 8km ( not strong) but very icing cool!!! My personal suggest , please bring ur winter coat. Ok....that for now. Free tips to all. Bye Thanks mate. i was wondering if i needed to bring coat....looks like its getting really chilly now at tokyo anyone here stayed at best western astina hotel before ?
carpathia
Nov 5 2012, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(eric84cool @ Nov 5 2012, 04:36 PM) guys, for those recently went to Tokyo for trip or those resides at Tokyo, I would like to verify on radiation level in Japan as my colleague frens, both couples whom went at different times did expose to radiation and advised to abort the baby and avoid pregnancy in 10 years...quite sadden news for the couple and I wonder is Japan safe for tourists? weather is one thing, food which contaminated from radiation is also a concern for us... me and my partner plan to have trip to Tokyo on coming spring 2013. need your advise sincerely. thanks! come on.....how can this be true ? i am sure there are tons of pregnant japanese women that would have to abort due to radiation if this happened to a tourist ?
carpathia
Nov 7 2012, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(natzakaria @ Nov 6 2012, 09:38 PM) covered akihabara, shijuku & harujuku using JR day pass feels like fainting lol Added on November 6, 2012, 9:39 pmthe bmobile sim works very well with my huawei mifi all 3 areas in one day!?
carpathia
Nov 14 2012, 11:59 PM
So everyone is telling me that I should take bus to shinjuku from narita airport . Is that really better than taking the nex ? I need to plan out how to get to best western shinjuku Astina.....
carpathia
Nov 16 2012, 11:22 AM
Yen is dropping again. Anyone can recommend a good money changer for yen ?
carpathia
Nov 16 2012, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(anechoic @ Nov 16 2012, 11:44 AM) mid valley lor...i change most of mine there.. Sunway prymarid also got one ok wan..normally about 0.10sen more then the MV one..haha. LG floor under the escalator wan. Thanks mate ... I chrcked at tropicana mall and the rate was .388
carpathia
Nov 16 2012, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(menmissed @ Nov 16 2012, 08:03 PM) sg wang and mid valley have the best rate. Dont change at 1u, TCM, Paradigm, BTS ..... For those flied with AA, what time do they serve the meal for 1am flight? I am at midvalley now and the yen rate is .39...way higher than tcm at .386
carpathia
Nov 16 2012, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(menmissed @ Nov 16 2012, 08:31 PM) Really? Then you may buy it. because i always go tcm, and i saw their rate is higher than mv & sg wang. surprisingly i passed by MAYBANK currency exchange in midvalley and the yen rate is also...... .39 ! same as the money exchange under the escalators in midvalley
carpathia
Nov 16 2012, 10:25 PM
better eat and drink before boarding AAX flights if really want to save money...
yeah....i myself was surprised that tcm rates were cheaper....
carpathia
Nov 17 2012, 11:36 PM
wow the thread is surprisingly quiet - i supposed everyone on the way to tokyo already ?
carpathia
Nov 18 2012, 04:53 PM
i am skipping disneyland as it does seem that the amount of queue is really long and packed with ppl !
carpathia
Nov 18 2012, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(matt85 @ Nov 18 2012, 07:12 PM) Anyone of you tried taking MAS from Singapore? I just found that it's much cheaper than departing from KL. What do you mean ? Can you share with us on how exactly it is cheaper ? I am now at klia , waiting for my flight to Tokyo ..... Waiting at the plaza premium lounge....not half bad lounge at all....of course, cannot compare to MAS lounge la Attached thumbnail(s)
carpathia
Nov 19 2012, 10:14 AM
Hello everyone. It's raining in Tokyo now . It was about 7 degrees when I reach this morning . Now around 12
carpathia
Dec 3 2012, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(waeguk @ Dec 3 2012, 11:02 PM) Planning to go free and easy with family KL -> Osaka -> Tokyo -> KL But worrying about the transportation, saw the price of airport taxi is crazy, almost rm1000 to city. Will take limo bus but then have to worry about pulling many luggages thru streets/stations so will try book hotels that are within bus routes. Last worry is how to move from osaka hotel to bullet train station and to tokyo hotel with kids and luggages in tow. Thinking maybe to use baggage transfer service from tour operators eg 3000 yen per luggage, anyone use before? Any advice on how to move from overall airport - station - hotel ? best way is to get the bus from airport to station and then taxi to hotel.