Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

b00n
post Aug 13 2012, 04:38 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Aug 13 2012, 02:31 PM)
hi, i'm going to kansai area and tokyo next month and i'm going alone(first time traveling overseas alone as well).

1 of the places i will be visiting is kyoto, and i just want to ask is it easy to get lost in kyoto?

Coz the places i want to visit is quite far from the train station.

any advice from sifus are appreciated.
You can always visit the tourist center in the station next to Isetan. There got counter where the staffs can converse in English or Mandarin, thus if you have a plan where to go; can seek their advise and they will direct you on transportation. Else ask the hostel you are staying.
So not easy to get lost.
b00n
post Sep 3 2012, 05:50 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Sep 3 2012, 05:26 PM)
ok.. need to take note liao.. tq tq
cannot share food sad.gif
n as i know cannot eat while u walk biggrin.gif

Like I told you... you no eat, you no occupy table. tongue.gif
After you eat, clear the table even if your friend is still eating. That's the ethic there especially if you go into those ramen stalls.

You go to the market, you buy and you eat. But bear in mind if you eat while walking, then you need to keep the rubbish until you find rubbish bin which is hard to come by.

b00n
post Sep 3 2012, 06:02 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 3 2012, 05:56 PM)
Haha.. u also notice that hor.. Surprisingly Tokyo lack of rubbish bins.. Damn difficult to find even inside shopping malls  biggrin.gif

The clear table culture mostly happening in Far East like Taiwan, Korea & Japan.. All of these countries are part of Japan so called commonwealth hehe.. U dun see this table clearing in M'sia or even Australia to my surprise..
Because they recycle. Even in our hostels they advise us to put paper one side so they can recycle. Then plastic and tins in 1 bin and waste in another. I remember their garbage collections also rotate one. i.e. maybe 1 specific days for tins, 1 day for plastic, 1 day for waste and 1 day for paper or something similar. Have to ask those living in Japan. wink.gif
b00n
post Sep 3 2012, 06:17 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 3 2012, 06:05 PM)

Haha.... that's where the teens are. No choice. But generally it is still clean. I know when I want to smoke, if on the street I need to focus hard to see whether there is any cigarette butts around. If there is... then brows.gif Nonetheless hardly smoke on the street unlike in Malaysia. Smoke freely. tongue.gif

There is one entrance/exit in Shinjuku where I loitered during one evening and man, it was like the whole pavement is smokey. Because everyone was hanging around there smoking! And the smoking area was so small, hence imaging the crowd and smokes and yes the bicycles! Across the road is McD. Right in-front is the entrance/exit as well as a small complex which housed Daiso and Uniqlo.

Added on September 3, 2012, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Sep 3 2012, 06:04 PM)
Um...any other things i need to observe when I'm there?
So far, it seems like:-

1. No eating while walking
2. Clear own stuff after eating. (Clear to where?)

Can eat while walk. Bring small plastic to keep the waste.

Also while eating and ordering, try to observe the locals and you will know what to do wink.gif

This post has been edited by b00n: Sep 3 2012, 06:18 PM
b00n
post Sep 10 2012, 07:00 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Sep 9 2012, 03:45 PM)
Yes got, we've drove around in many countries before including US, Canada, Europe, China, etc etc. Just haven't drove in Japan so was wondering whether anyone has any experience to share, any advice will be appreciated. I've heard from some travel agencies that it's not easy driving there (but maybe they wanted me to take their tour lol). Then again, other car rental agents are telling me lots of people do drive on their own there. So still would like to get more input from others on this. laugh.gif
Drive is one thing. Parking fees is another hefty sum to cough up.

0.0199sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:05 PM