Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

amz_dreamz
post Oct 6 2012, 07:36 PM

259 posts

hi...

just want to ask, is it easy to get a shinkansen ticket from Tokyo to Kyoto if i buy on the spot?
and is reserved-seat is a must?

don't want to get a Japan Rail Pass as it is only a one-way trip...

plan to go Japan during sakura season, april next year...
amz_dreamz
post Oct 6 2012, 08:53 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 6 2012, 08:38 PM)
i believe it should be easy.
For non-reserved seat its an open ticket i believe. As if u miss the train at 9.45am, you can hop on the next train.
FCFS non-reserved seats  is car 1-5. Since the Tokaido Shinkansen starts at Tokyo end (another end is Himeji/Okayama), high chance u'll get a seat wink.gif
thanks for the info thumbup.gif
amz_dreamz
post Dec 5 2012, 09:54 PM

259 posts

Konbanwa minna-san

i'm going to Tokyo alone next year April for Hanami

below is my itinerary, hope it's ok... and i got few questions...

Day 1 - arrive late at Haneda, so stay at First Cabin Hotel for a nite

Day 2 - Imperial East Garden, Marunouchi, Ginza

Day 3 - Odaiba, Tokyo Tower, Roppongi

Day 4 - Tokyo DisneySea (whole day on Friday, hope not so crowded)
does Tokyo DisneySea have parade?
if yes, it starts at what time? I can't find in the website...

Day 5 - Tokyo SkyTree, Sumida River Bank, Asakusa, Ueno Park

Day 6 - Harajuku, Omotesando, Shibuya, Shinjuku
it's Sunday hope can see cosplayers at Harajuku tongue.gif
will be going to Kabukicho around 7pm, is it safe for me to go alone? just want to wander and take pics

Day 7 - Day trip to Kamakura, Enoshima

Day 8 - Yokohama - Minato Mirai area, Akihabara

Day 9 - last minute shopping at Asakusa, go back to Haneda for late night flight back to KL

This post has been edited by amz_dreamz: Dec 5 2012, 09:55 PM
amz_dreamz
post Dec 5 2012, 11:10 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Dec 5 2012, 10:59 PM)
Which week of April? We are planning to hold a Malaysian hanami, come join us  thumbup.gif

Add on: Kabuki-cho at 7pm, not problem. They won't disturb non-Japanese anyway.
i'm going from 9th - 17th April smile.gif
amz_dreamz
post Dec 5 2012, 11:18 PM

259 posts

too bad then... anyway tq for the answer smile.gif
amz_dreamz
post Dec 6 2012, 10:06 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Dec 6 2012, 09:33 AM)
depends on you look i think..

many guy approached me. Got one can detect me can speak mandarin..lol  blush.gif
me... chinese look cool2.gif
any recommendation on how to refuse their offer politely? or just say NO NO NO icon_question.gif
amz_dreamz
post Dec 8 2012, 07:14 PM

259 posts

guys, any recommended spot to take picture of Shibuya crossing?

i read from few blogs, they said go to Starbucks... but i believe it is not high enough...
amz_dreamz
post Jan 7 2013, 05:01 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Jan 7 2013, 04:15 PM)
ohayo everyone notworthy.gif i am off to Japan with my gf this May for 8 days (+ 2 day flying)

here is my plan... your comments r welcomed  biggrin.gif

OSAKA
Day 1
Osaka Castle
Tenmangu Shrine
Tenjinbashi-suji Shopping Street
Osaka Aquarium
Umeda Sky Building

Day 2
Mino Park
Sumiyoshi-taisha Shrine
Minami (Amerikamura, Dotonbori, Shinsaibashi)

KYOTO
Day 3
Kinkaku-ji
Arashiyama (Sagano Train, Bamboo Forest, Tenryuji, Togetsukyo Bridge, Monkey Park)
Fushimi Inari Shrine
Kyoto Tower

Day 4
Ginkakuji
Path of Philosophy
Eikando Temple
Nanzenji Temple
Higashiyama (Heian Shrine, Shoren-in, Chion-in, Maruyama Park, Kodaiji, Ninenzaka, Sannenzaka, Kiyomizudera)
Gion

Day 5
Nijo Castle
Nishiki Market
NARA Park (Kofukuji, Kasuga Taisha, Todaiji)

TOKYO
Day 6-8
Tokyo Skytree
Asakusa (Sensoji Temple)
Ueno Park
Tsukiji Fish Market
Akihabara
Imperial Palace
Ginza
Roppongi
Odaiba (Gundam)
Tokyo Tower
Shibuya
Harajuku (Yoyogi Park)
Shinjuku
Day 1
- Osaka Castle Park is quite big, if you want to fully explore, you may not have enough time for other places.

Day 2
- OK

Day 3
- Enjoy your time at Arashiyama till 5pm before going to Fushimi Inari, since the scenery and atmosphere is really nice.
Plus, Fushimi Inari don't have closing time.
Kyoto Tower is not worth to go up, just take picture from Kyoto Station at nite is good enough smile.gif

Day 4
- Prepare a good and comfortable pair of shoes tongue.gif
Path of Philosophy is around 3-4 km long, Higashiyama area quite long and steep...
At Gion, don't forget to go to Pontocho to snap some Geisha n Maiko pics.

Day 5
- OK

Day 6-8
- Are you sure you can cover all places? sweat.gif
amz_dreamz
post Jan 7 2013, 07:44 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 7 2013, 06:08 PM)
If i have to choose between kyoto and osaka, which is a better choice? i am already going spend one week at tokyo and i think i will appreciate nice scenery more than city life. i am thinking kyoto? biggrin.gif comments welcomed.
definitely Kyoto thumbup.gif
amz_dreamz
post Jan 8 2013, 10:36 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jan 7 2013, 11:40 PM)
^it should be OK.
But do take note, japan rain sucks, coz when it rains, it gonna rain whole friggin day.
So always have a plan that have a 'must see' and 'naah, can skip' stuff.
So when time comes, u can faster decide to rearrange plans wink.gif

Heres my trip on facebook to:
- Kyoto, Hiroshima & Miyajima, Tokyo, Takayama (Gifu), Nara, Koyasan, Wakayama), Osaka
- Seoul, Busan Oita-city. Fukuoka/Saga, Kyoto, Fukui, Kanazawa, Hakuba (Alpine route), Toyama, Kawaguchiko, Tokyo (not done yet)

You can ask here or pm.
great pix bro... thumbup.gif
inspired by it

amz_dreamz
post Jan 19 2013, 07:50 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(videlchan @ Jan 18 2013, 06:32 PM)
Hi, i'm new here!
I'm going to japan this may and i started reading this thread while looking for the info i need but... there's too many pages here and i gave up at the 30th page. sweat.gif
I guess i'll just ask directly here.. I plan to spend 2 days in Kyoto. Do you guys think that it's enough? I found out that there are 5 areas in Kyoto (Central, Eastern, Northern, Western and Southern), which one is the most worthy for a visit? Can i like cover Central and Eastern area in one day, is that possible?
And i plan to go to Nara and Uji as well. 1 Day trip to Nara and 1 Day trip to Uji from Kyoto should be enough, right?

Hope sifus here can help answer my question~Thanks!
2 days in Kyoto is not enough, even last time i spend 5 days also not enough, unless you choose only to go to selected places.

Central and Eastern area in 1 day is possible, just go and take pictures for few minutes tongue.gif but not recommended if you wanna enjoy the scenery and atmosphere.

1 day trip to Nara, and 1 day trip to Uji is ok.

amz_dreamz
post Feb 5 2013, 08:45 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Feb 5 2013, 08:12 AM)
I'm planning to go Jpn  by end of this coming March. Since im traveling alone anyone can recommend backpacker hostel in Tokyo and Kyoto?
Kyoto & Tokyo - Khaosan Guest House
amz_dreamz
post Mar 31 2013, 05:53 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 31 2013, 05:22 PM)
I am planning a kyoto-osaka-nara combo.

A
1: Osaka
2: Osaka
3: Osaka
4: Kyoto
5: Kyoto
6: Nara

My question is, is it suitable to have a day trip at Nara and then direct take the train to Kansai Airport? Or B is more suitable?

B
1: Osaka
2: Osaka
3: Osaka
4: Osaka > Nara (day trip) > Kyoto
5: Kyoto
6: Kyoto > Osaka
if i were you, i would spend more time in Kyoto than Osaka, got so many beautiful places in Kyoto biggrin.gif

1. Osaka
2. Osaka
3. Kyoto
4. Kyoto > Nara
5. Kyoto
6. Kyoto

0.0229sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:34 PM