Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

DEVILtonight
post Aug 16 2012, 06:05 PM

74 posts

Hey all! I'm planning to go to Tokyo/Osaka next year. I wanna ask from some sifus here.

1) I know during March, it is still pretty cold. Any experience on the amount of clothes you have to pile on during that period? Need to calculate the cost needed to buy warm clothes. Also, I'm hoping to travel light T_T. Tentative date is Mar 11- 31 or Mac 18- Apr 6.

2) Early April is the start of the spring break holiday there... would it be hard to book transportation? Like bus and local trains and whatnot?

Thank you for any insights or help... I'm still narrowing down my itinerary and will share later ^^.
DEVILtonight
post Aug 22 2012, 01:04 PM

74 posts

for all the weather updates, thank you! drats, so i need to bundle up. was hoping to travel really light T_T

haiyah, if i kena racism, i will say i melayu when i'm there tongue.gif there are people i met on travels who thinks i'm malay just because i'm from malaysia.
DEVILtonight
post Aug 24 2012, 07:59 PM

74 posts

Sharing my rough itinerary for mid-March till early April 2013. Suggestions are welcomed! I'm trying to figure out if it's doable within my budget... RM8-10k, and if the time allocated is reasonable.

> Land in Tokyo-Haneda
Shinjuku crossroad, Shibuya, Harajuku, Akihabara, Takeshita Doori, Yoyogi, Tsukiji Fish Mart, Ghibli Studio, meet Couchsurfing folks for tea

Day trips from Tokyo:
1) Kamakura (Hiking: Daibutsu & Ten-en)
2) Ome (Retro town)
3) Meguro Shizen Kyoikuen (Hiking & Soba)

(Total days in Tokyo: 7-9 days)

------------------------
> Takayama (via bus)
Hida Folk Village, Sanmachi, Takayama Jinya.

Day trip from Takayama:
1) Shirakawa-go

(Total days in Takayama: 2-3 days)

-------------------------
> Osaka(via bus)
I want to try something different here. My plan is to join WWOOF - voluntary work in a farm for 4-6 hours; accommodation and food provided.

But will spend a day or two at the end of the trip as a tourist in Osaka; buy souvenirs etc.

(Total days in Osaka: at least 12 days)

> Kuala Lumpur (via swim, hitchhike... jk, plane.)

=================================================

I'm trying to do as much budget as I can here. My goal will be to take photos and observe/absorb the people and culture. Accommodation will be at hostels and a few overnights at the internet cafes. No ryokans or labu hotels for me tongue.gif. Food-wise, majority of the time I will eat stuff from their version of 7-11, to keep my cost down. Also, how much would you budget yourself for a trip like this?

Also, at the moment I'm solo traveling. Supposed to go with a friend, but clash of schedules.

This post has been edited by DEVILtonight: Aug 24 2012, 08:01 PM
DEVILtonight
post Aug 26 2012, 12:37 PM

74 posts

Thanks for replying, e-jump! Yea, I'm a little worried that I would be unable to pull it off as well, and I don't know if I will manage to find a WWOOF host or not... (and I'm supposed to buy my return ticket by beginning of Oct).

Yea, working puts a damper in our freedom of time. Like you, I'm working too, but maybe my field is more possible. I'm actually pushing beyond my leave days, and would probably go on unpaid leave.

@ Osaka: Cheap food! I like cheap food biggrin.gif Like what sort is cheap?

@ Transport: I'm probably using Nohi bus, and no overnights sad.gif. But on the bright side, I get to see the views along the way. And yea, I need to properly map out my plans in detail.

@ Hida-Takayama: Isn't Shirakawa-go about an hour away? I wouldn't mind going for that... but thinking of the bike rental fees lol! Sounds like an adventure tho... have you tried?
DEVILtonight
post Sep 13 2012, 10:34 AM

74 posts

Hey guys. Does anyone here know how to read Hyperdia's directions?

I've attached an example. This is how I read it: Take the Keikyu Airport Exp (which costs 400yen) to Shinagawa. From Shinagawa, take the JR Yokosuka Line to Tokyo, change train to JR Sobu Line to get to Bakurocho. The latter part costs 160 yen. Is this correct?

DEVILtonight
post Sep 13 2012, 03:50 PM

74 posts

Thanks, RegentCid! Yea, I'm gonna bum at the airport until the first train opens. Try to sleep maybe.

Also, to share to ppl of this website, http://www.mobilephonejp.com/. It's a mobile phone rental; one week costs 2900yen. Good for ppl who don't own a 3G phone, nor want the hassle to apply for one there.

My understanding is that you can receive local and international calls, and receive/send emails (Japanese folks sends emails rather than texts) for free. If you wanna call out domestic, you have to get the additional prepaid card (2600 yen). Could someone shed a light on whether my understanding is correct? As in, I can rent the phone without the prepaid card and still be able to send emails out, and receive calls for free?

Other mobile renting services: https://www.globaladvancedcomm.com/order/index.html. Can rent iphone and this android phone, but pretty pricey. Comes with unlimited internet and all the bells though.

This post has been edited by DEVILtonight: Sep 13 2012, 03:51 PM
DEVILtonight
post Sep 17 2012, 10:49 PM

74 posts

Quick question! I'm planning to bring some Malaysian snacks, like ice cream biscuits/crunchy potato fries/dodol, on my carry on. Is this allowed?

Note: It's to share with fellow hostel-ers, not makan in the plane.

Edit: Asking here, cuz heading there ><

This post has been edited by DEVILtonight: Sep 17 2012, 10:51 PM
DEVILtonight
post Sep 18 2012, 01:51 AM

74 posts

Thanks, e-jump! Some I have to carry on cuz if not, it's not snacks d... will jadi powder untuk bancuh air biskut XDD. I'll try my luck.

menmissed: You mean this table? http://www.kuronekoyamato.co.jp/en/personal/ta_q_bin/ . Or under the rates option, click the city that you wanna send ur parcel through; then it will show the rates based on the from-location and size? Not sure if that's what you're looking for...
DEVILtonight
post Sep 20 2012, 02:04 PM

74 posts

Anyone here in Tokyo who wanna meet up this Sat or Sun? Sunday I plan to go Yoyogi park, Harajuku, Shibuya, Tokyu Hands etc. Saturday noon, gonna go to Ome, and free during night time. PM me~

--------------

Human nature, I just did Tsukiji this morning... shared a cab with fellow hostelmates to go there. We reached the Fish Information Centre at 4.40, and we are in the second group d. But depends on ur luck also, because my friend told me that he got a place even though he came after 5am.

For things to do around... go to a station and watch the rush hour crowd XD. Didnt know what to do that early, because the museums and what not wasnt opened yet. Also, for those interested, Sushi Daiwo had a super long line that curved around the corner by around 6.20am. So if you plan to do that, maybe come on non fish market days, or very early. For things to do in the area, check out Ginza attractions. Takashimaya is a station or two away, and riding their lifts is an experience by itself.

DEVILtonight
post Oct 2 2012, 02:59 PM

74 posts

Kaven: I was only in Kyoto for two very short days, but hope this helps.

Day 1:
Q1 - From the bus route map I have (get that when you reach your hotel, super useful), from Nanzenji/Eikando-michi bus stop, take Bus no 5 to Higashiyama Sanjo then take bus 100/206 to Kiyomizu-michi.
Q3 - Yea, went there 3 days ago. It will be an uphill climb from the bus stop, and a lot of shops/cafes along the way. And though it's under construction, there is a nice view of Kyoto at the top.

Tip: Most of the buses there run on a flat rate, so it's 220 yen always (110 yen for kids). If you're planning to travel by bus a lot, get the day pass @ 500 yen. If you want to pay the 220, make sure you have the exact change.

I also highly recommend joining the Walking Tour in Kyoto. There are two, one for Kyoto and one for Gion (night time). I went for the Gion one, and learnt so much. I wasn't around for the Kyoto one, but I wished I had. Price-wise, it's pretty good as well. Gion's 1000 yen and Kyoto's 2000 yen. (Link: http://waraido.com/walking/index.html).

Related, Nishiki Market is very close to Gion, so if in any case you need to shift your plans, you could do Nishiki just before going to Gion.
DEVILtonight
post Oct 2 2012, 03:25 PM

74 posts

Oh nice! Ingat tak boleh... was there too short of a time. Oh, also, in Kyoto, enter the bus from the back and pay when you get off at the front.

Agree with back-up plans. You could still go for it with a decent umbrella. When I was in Kyoto/Osaka, we got encik typhoon lol but Kinkakuji still have many people. Oblivionz, were you there during then oso?

If you don't like going out when wet, some covered areas I know are Nishiki-market and Kyoto station is nice to explore oso. Upstairs (10F and 11f) a lot of nom places. 10F got ramen galore.

Also, onsen/public bath is kinda awesome when it's rainy and cold. Funaoka Onsen is nearby Kinkakuji. (Get off the Funaokayama bus stop)
DEVILtonight
post Oct 2 2012, 08:37 PM

74 posts

Btw, just trying my luck - was anyone here stayed at Anne Hostel in Asakusabashi on the 22/9 or around that time? Supposed to hang out with this Malaysian fella but when he called my JP no, I either was in an area with no line or was in the showers wtf (phone bukan waterproof, tak bawak biggrin.gif).

This post has been edited by DEVILtonight: Oct 2 2012, 10:58 PM
DEVILtonight
post Oct 20 2012, 09:15 PM

74 posts

Yashin: I slept at the airport lor, and I'm a chick. A lot of benches for your picking, and apparently, your luggage will be safe there. Saw a lot of ppl just sleeping with their luggage next to them. Here are some options:

1) Wanna sleep at airport but worried about luggage and being smelly in the morning?
- There are coin lockers available (300-500 yen a day)
- Shower rooms for 800yen are available at Haneda (http://www.haneda-airport.jp/inter/en/premises/service/relaxation.html)

2) Nap room in Haneda airport
- http://www.haneda-airport.jp/inter/en/prem...relaxation.html (1000 yen per hour. Quite ex...)

3) Stay here (overnight 4500yen onwards)
- http://first-cabin.jp/en/cabins/

0.0439sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:49 PM