Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

deodorant
post May 3 2013, 12:36 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Final city that we visited was Tokyo! We went Tokyo not too long ago so this trip we didn't need to 'cover all the attractions,' just went wherever we wanted biggrin.gif Click here for full write-up and pictures otherwise just read on!

Day One: Shinkansen from Kyoto to Tokyo. Awesome bullet train system.

Hotel in Tokyo was MyStays Hotel Asakusa. Decent location, few mins walk from JR Asakusabashi station, ¥8,700 per night.

We had lunch near Sensojii then eat that super gooding melonpan.

After that go Tokyo Sky Tree and shopping around the Tokyo Skytree Mall there.

deodorant
post May 3 2013, 12:36 AM

5,691 posts

Click here for full write-up and pictures otherwise just read on!

Day Two: Taxi to Tsukiji Fish market for tuna auction.

then we went to Sushi Dai, but holy crap it was a freaking FOUR HOUR WAIT. IMO not worth it.

After that go back hotel zzzz and night time to Takashimaya Nihonbashi to ogle their Depachika.

Day Three: Shinjuku Gyoen, which is damn impressive that there's such a nice park.

Then lunch at nearby Move Cafe for the cute Latte Art

Then went Odaiba to look at the Gundam and buy omiyage

Day Four Back to SG riao sad.gif
deodorant
post May 7 2013, 05:53 PM

5,691 posts

Guys and Gals, when does Momo (peach) season end in Japan ah? Last time I went in August got lots of peach but August freaking hot and humid. Wanna go a bit later maybe Sept or Oct but also wanna catch peach season hmm.gif
deodorant
post May 14 2013, 08:38 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(gpk6558 @ May 13 2013, 08:55 PM)
I will be flying to Osaka with my family for our annual trip (wife and 1 kid).  My budget is small.  Do you think RM7 - 8k (excl air tickets)  is enough for 6D/5N?  I am not planning to go Tokyo but will be in Kansai area for the whole trip.  Appreciate it if you could point me to a thread that talked about itinerary? Thanks.  smile.gif

For me I tend to search hotel rankings and reviews on tripadvisor before booking. Can filter by your price budget too: http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Hotels-g2985...nki-Hotels.html

The particular hotel I stayed in is Hotel Kinki. Booked >3 months in advance and paid just ¥5,600/night

Kansai area 6d? do Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Kobe lor. My trip itinerary is here if you're interested: http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2013/04/ja...three-days.html

Otherwise, Japan Guide will literally almost have every single info that you need to plan a trip. http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2157.html ... best is you browse japan guide, come up with a skeleton itinerary then only post here and let the sifu's comment.
deodorant
post May 14 2013, 08:40 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(winifred86 @ May 13 2013, 11:20 PM)
I know Japan uses mainly 2 flat pin plugs, 100V, if I bring electric devices from Malaysia  like camera, tablets, phone charges... do i need any converter or transformers? or just adapter will do?

You need a transformer if your device doesn't accept 100v. I'd say majority of devices nowadays support 100-240V so you can just use a travel adaptor to plug it in, but it's worthwhile to check each one individually to make sure.
deodorant
post May 14 2013, 12:37 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ May 14 2013, 11:40 AM)
erm i plan to visit japan tokyo this year dec for christmas and new year...duration will be mostly 2 weeks there..my question is...when should i apply my visa? is it hard to obtain a visa for japan?

No it's not hard to apply. As long as you submit all the required documents and have the recommended rm6k or whatever in your bank, I've never heard of anyone getting the visa rejected. Once you get your visa approved, it is only valid for 3 months. So if you going around Christmas you can apply anytime in October onwards.
deodorant
post May 16 2013, 08:50 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ May 15 2013, 02:43 PM)
how abt cathay pacific compare to MAS? the price is around that as well...1.8k...

QUOTE(estcin @ May 15 2013, 03:00 PM)
Cathay flight need to stop by HK. waste a bit of time.

I flew Cathay to Osaka / fly back from Tokyo open jaw in April. The time wasted transit in HK isn't significant really, cos the go to Japan leg was overnight flight and we landed in Osaka at 6-plus am anyway. However, I suppose since each leg of the flight is only 3-4 hrs, so Cathay uses old aircraft with dated interiors, small screens and no video on demand. Some more on the flight back they put my wife and me on different rows cos got no together seat sad.gif
deodorant
post May 16 2013, 09:56 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ May 16 2013, 09:09 AM)
Aiseh, cos u check in late?

No lor, on the return Tokyo - HK - SG flight, we kena separated on the HK - SG leg. So which means I was checking in 5-6 hours early and still got separated. Anyway for me I won't fly Cathay any more unless it is really significantly cheaper than other 5 star airlines.
deodorant
post May 16 2013, 10:13 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ May 16 2013, 10:03 AM)
Sad lah couple have to sit separately. The stewardess can always request single travellers to switch seats with u. I guess they are just too lazy to do that.

The check in lady told me, you go up there and then ask your neighbors to switch seat with your wife ok?

doh.gif

We asked but nobody around us was willing to give away their aisle seat lol. So we figured aiya 3+ hour flight it's ok lah.
deodorant
post May 18 2013, 11:49 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ May 17 2013, 10:38 PM)
well, moral of story, always shell out whatever fees they asked to choose a seat, for the reason i experienced

Cathay is a full service airline leh. Skytrax 5 star some more.
deodorant
post May 20 2013, 11:46 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ May 19 2013, 11:00 PM)
really miss japan. preparing for next year cheery blossom trip... now waiting for cheap air tix.. hehe!

got cheap tickets promo during cherry blossom season? that's like japan most peak tourist season of all, no?
deodorant
post May 20 2013, 04:02 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ May 20 2013, 01:42 PM)
got... AA always got promo for cherry blossom & autumn. But, must book early. last year i got my return tix for autumn, around 650 only.

Oh OK. Book early is risky lor cos of the short sakura season. Like this year, I landed in Osaka that day itself already slightly past peak season sad.gif
deodorant
post May 31 2013, 08:34 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ May 30 2013, 04:47 PM)
i go early of april for 10 days. will start from tokyo to kansai. can catch the time i guess.  hmm.gif

Tokyo and Kansai area generally has the same weather and therefore has the same blooming time. This year I arrived in Osaka 6th April and the petals were already starting to fall.
deodorant
post May 31 2013, 09:22 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ May 31 2013, 05:53 PM)
wa... so early fall d? i plan to go next year also same timing leh... shit!  shocking.gif
But, it depends right?

Yes, this year was especially early blooming (by about 2 weeks) due to unusually hot weather sad.gif
deodorant
post Jun 5 2013, 04:08 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Acevalentine @ Jun 5 2013, 10:09 AM)
Hey guys, I'm planning to go Japan next year April. I want to got there with cheap ticket so i have two questions here.
1. What price consider low for two way and how should I give an eyes on it. should I buy it now and wait until is cheap or wait for matarfare or any other method?
2. I have to buy tickets first only apply for visa right?

1. Note that April is super ultra uber peak tourist season may not be easy to get cheap tickets.
2. http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/English/visit.html as of now seems like no need.
deodorant
post Jun 6 2013, 10:43 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Jun 6 2013, 06:16 PM)
I want to go during the sakura season, but the price are all expensive around mid of march till beginning of April

Is liddat lor, sakura season is super peak season.

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 6 2013, 08:41 PM)
Since Air Asia is doing promo now, I am planning to reach Tokyo and depart back from Osaka.
Is this a good idea? Going to travel about 10 days

Sounds good. Do 3-4 days in Tokyo n surrounding area then shinkansen and spend the rest of the days in osaka kyoto kobe nara etc.
deodorant
post Jun 8 2013, 01:46 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Jun 8 2013, 12:32 AM)
I'll staying 4 days in Osaka...Looking for a hotel below RM200/night (double). Any recommended hotel which is close to train station, street and not far away from town ?

In Osaka I stayed in Hotel Kinki, paid ¥5,600/night. It's about 15 minutes walk from Osaka station though.

deodorant
post Jun 8 2013, 11:51 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Jun 8 2013, 11:03 PM)
Thank you for your advice..
Nice room...but its out of my budget. Maybe choose best western hotel, osaka~

I thought you said your budget is rm200? this one 5600yen = rm175 leh.
deodorant
post Jun 12 2013, 03:31 AM

5,691 posts

Time to start V3 liao biggrin.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0245sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:11 PM