What do you use your iPad for?, I'm at my wits end, thinking

TSFormalCat
post Jul 7 2012, 08:57 PM, updated 14y ago

195 posts

What is there to do on an iPad? There are so many people saying how amazing this tablet is, but currently, I see almost nothing to do with it. Gaming is basically angry birds and ninja fruit. Web surfing is okay. New useful apps? I cant think or find anything.

So I decided to come by here and see if any of you can steer my point of view as to make this highly hyped up machine into something I find very useful again.

The reason I bought this is so that I can carry documents in a small, convenient form. But there must be something better to do with it. PM me, reply here, anything is appreciated.

What makes your iPad important and interesting to you?
hamswat
post Jul 7 2012, 09:06 PM

iFanatic
758 posts

Presentations. I dont need to carry my heavy laptop anymore.
booooster
post Jul 7 2012, 09:15 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

I use it to web surf, check and reply brief emails, handle some simple office tools and light gaming..

An iPad is much easier to lug around than a laptop..

Touchscreen does help a lot in making some tasks much simpler too smile.gif

Just my 2 cents!! thumbup.gif
christcwl9
post Jul 7 2012, 09:17 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

*show off* whistling.gif

BTW, i use my iPad mostly for web surfing , checking emails as well as reading lecture slides and presentation. In the preparation of presentation, still i will use my laptop and not iPad.

This post has been edited by christcwl9: Jul 7 2012, 09:18 PM
norazwan79
post Jul 7 2012, 09:36 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

for me...

1. web surfing. nk baring pun boleh. biggrin.gif
2. read email/pdf files/doc files
3. light gaming
4. astro otg
mad093dean
post Jul 7 2012, 09:49 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Jul 7 2012, 09:36 PM)
for me...

1. web surfing. nk baring pun boleh. biggrin.gif
2. read email/pdf files/doc files
3. light gaming
4. astro otg
astro otg gud?
norazwan79
post Jul 7 2012, 09:55 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

QUOTE(mad093dean @ Jul 7 2012, 09:49 PM)
astro otg gud?
good if good internet speed. smile.gif
dragon360
post Jul 7 2012, 10:07 PM

140 posts

I tell u what i do on my ipad

Web surf - find what i need to find
Download movie or stream movie
Games all big game and play online
Do alot of email file transfer to client
Music? Ohh forgot to sync my music on ipad 3 hahahhaa..

Chating on YM,imasage,and whatsapp* hehehe..
Read some book also can baring2
Alot i can do to make the ipad useful...just u have to find it ur self not to boring with it..
When u start boring then ur hand start to gatal2 to sell the ipad coz u ady boring with it...

Added on July 7, 2012, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Jul 7 2012, 09:55 PM)
good if good internet speed.  smile.gif
My speed on my ipad 3 is 12.95mbps in my room.. I even can get up to 17++mbps

This post has been edited by dragon360: Jul 7 2012, 10:09 PM
christcwl9
post Jul 7 2012, 10:21 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(dragon360 @ Jul 7 2012, 10:07 PM)
I tell u what i do on my ipad

Web surf - find what i need to find
Download movie or stream movie
Games all big game and play online
Do alot of email file transfer to client
Music? Ohh forgot to sync my music on ipad 3 hahahhaa..

Chating on YM,imasage,and whatsapp* hehehe..
Read some book also can baring2
Alot i can do to make the ipad useful...just u have to find it ur self not to boring with it..
When u start boring then ur hand start to gatal2 to sell the ipad coz u ady boring with it...

Added on July 7, 2012, 10:09 pm
My speed on my ipad 3 is 12.95mbps in my room.. I even can get up to 17++mbps
WOw, u r using wat internet package ? Mine fastest is 7.2Mbps with Maxis @.@

p/s i play online game in ipad a lot as well whistling.gif
ramz
post Jul 7 2012, 10:58 PM

21,397 posts

It's for my wife. Main purpose Skype when I work abroad. Secondary purpose for leisure. I personally think an android tablet is more practical for business

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 7 2012, 10:59 PM
dragon360
post Jul 8 2012, 12:19 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 7 2012, 10:21 PM)

p/s i play online game in ipad a lot as well  whistling.gif
Umobile....hehehehehehe!!!

This post has been edited by dragon360: Jul 8 2012, 12:21 AM
stevenlee
post Jul 8 2012, 07:55 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 7 2012, 09:17 PM)
*show off*  whistling.gif

BTW, i use my iPad mostly for web surfing , checking emails as well as reading lecture slides and presentation. In the preparation of presentation, still i will use my laptop and not iPad.
agree on this, most ppl is this .... *show off* .... whistling.gif

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 7 2012, 10:21 PM)

p/s i play online game in ipad a lot as well  whistling.gif
what online game u play on ur ipad...
can you recomend me? hmm.gif

annoymous1234
post Jul 8 2012, 09:04 AM

7,617 posts

games games and more games.. oh and dropbox. plus a bit of lecture slide
KuzumiTaiga
post Jul 8 2012, 09:37 AM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

Half of my A-levels class in UCSI are using iPads for viewing of slides and stuff.. We download textbooks online as A-level textbooks (including the revision guides, etc) for 3 subjects costs a little over RM 1,000, might as well get an iPad.
christcwl9
post Jul 8 2012, 11:35 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(dragon360 @ Jul 8 2012, 12:19 AM)
Umobile....hehehehehehe!!!
Are you kidding me ? cry.gif haha

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 8 2012, 07:55 AM)
agree on this, most ppl is this .... *show off* ....  whistling.gif
what online game u play on ur ipad...
can you recomend me?  hmm.gif
I play sims free play, dark chess online, zynga poker tongue.gif mainly use game center as the medium to connect with others tongue.gif

I do heard that there are 1 RPG online game, but i don play that due to im using 3G and don have limited quota per month doh.gif
kkkw80
post Jul 8 2012, 11:53 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

My business usually is 1 to 1 meetup and presenting my slides via Ipad is more practical tham fumbling with a laptop. Also i use the vga adapter to present if thw group is bigger.

Even on the plane, i can do my work in a confined space.
William Somerset
post Jul 8 2012, 12:12 PM

49 posts

It's much easier to check emails, surf the web, update Facebook, not to mention that if you have certain account membership, you can view its content and etc, without leaving the bed in the morning. Of course it can be done with a laptop but consider its boot time and loading script, I think the iPad wins, hands down. The iPad's weight is convenient for portability and it's dimension is great for working in space constraint environment.

The iPad is no substitute for laptop but it does a decent job, given the right app.
christcwl9
post Jul 8 2012, 12:15 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(William Somerset @ Jul 8 2012, 12:12 PM)
It's much easier to check emails, surf the web, update Facebook, not to mention that if you have certain account membership, you can view its content and etc, without leaving the bed in the morning. Of course it can be done with a laptop but consider its boot time and loading script, I think the iPad wins, hands down. The iPad's weight is convenient for portability and it's dimension is great for working in space constraint environment.

The iPad is no  substitute for laptop but it does a decent job, given the right app.
Agree !! I personally find it checking emails in iPad is way way more convenient than using laptop smile.gif I can log in to several email accounts and check them all at once with just 1 single tap in the iPad thumbup.gif
stevenlee
post Jul 8 2012, 04:09 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 8 2012, 11:35 AM)
Are you kidding me ?  cry.gif  haha
I play sims free play, dark chess online, zynga poker tongue.gif mainly use game center as the medium to connect with others tongue.gif

I do heard that there are 1 RPG online game, but i don play that due to im using 3G and don have limited quota per month  doh.gif
the online game u playing kinda bad to me...
i looking those like PC....
none are up to pc standard...i try many of it..but all very bad interface and game play...
christcwl9
post Jul 8 2012, 04:13 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 8 2012, 04:09 PM)
the online game u playing kinda bad to me...
i looking those like PC....
none are up to pc standard...i try many of it..but all very bad interface and game play...
Tried NOVA 3 ?
booooster
post Jul 8 2012, 04:18 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 8 2012, 04:13 PM)
Tried NOVA 3 ?
modern combat 3
dragon360
post Jul 8 2012, 04:32 PM

140 posts

Modern combat 3 the best game i ever play now... Its like u playing the old counter strice game at cc coz of u play online and the best part is when u are palying online the quota on ur broadband it not eat much... Just a little bit let say u play online about 2-3 hour its just only 10-15mb

stevenlee
post Jul 8 2012, 04:40 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 8 2012, 04:13 PM)
Tried NOVA 3 ?
NOVA 3 is not those like MMORPG ....
not my taste... tongue.gif
christcwl9
post Jul 8 2012, 04:43 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(dragon360 @ Jul 8 2012, 04:32 PM)
Modern combat 3 the best game i ever play now... Its like u playing the old counter strice game at cc coz of u play online and the best part is when u are palying online the  quota on ur broadband it not eat much... Just a little bit let say u play online about 2-3 hour its just only 10-15mb
really ? @@ 15 mb for 3 hours playing ? rclxub.gif
booooster
post Jul 8 2012, 05:14 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 8 2012, 04:43 PM)
really ? @@ 15 mb for 3 hours playing ?  rclxub.gif
yup you have the game bro?
dragon360
post Jul 8 2012, 05:18 PM

140 posts

Yeahh realy bro... No kidding one ahhahahaaha....
christcwl9
post Jul 8 2012, 05:40 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Jul 8 2012, 05:14 PM)
yup you have the game bro?
No, i dont tongue.gif I tot it gonna eat a lot quota so i didnt buy it tongue.gif Waiting for price slash now tongue.gif
stevenlee
post Jul 8 2012, 06:33 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 8 2012, 05:40 PM)
No, i dont  tongue.gif  I tot it gonna eat a lot quota so i didnt buy it  tongue.gif  Waiting for price slash now  tongue.gif
i have unlimited quota and JB my ipad...but sadly no game up to my expectation doh.gif
christcwl9
post Jul 8 2012, 07:08 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 8 2012, 06:33 PM)
i have unlimited quota and JB my ipad...but sadly no game up to my expectation  doh.gif
Hahaha .. u should just stick with your PC and give this iPad to your gf/wife/ son tongue.gif
stevenlee
post Jul 8 2012, 07:40 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 8 2012, 07:08 PM)
Hahaha .. u should just stick with your PC and give this iPad to your gf/wife/ son tongue.gif
ya...now is my 2 years daughter and son playing my ipad and tab most of the time doh.gif
they alway go in youtube laugh.gif
peng7688
post Jul 9 2012, 06:09 PM

149 posts

perfect timekiller in the toilet. every morning and evening. lol!
stevenlee
post Jul 9 2012, 07:48 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(peng7688 @ Jul 9 2012, 06:09 PM)
agree...i alway bring my ipad to toilet and sit inside for 20-30 min rclxms.gif
christcwl9
post Jul 9 2012, 07:59 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(peng7688 @ Jul 9 2012, 06:09 PM)
QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 9 2012, 07:48 PM)
Hahahaha !! Same !! BUT BE CAREFUL, i dropped my iPad once because i bring it to toilet doh.gif
zamanjaafar
post Jul 9 2012, 08:36 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

QUOTE(FormalCat @ Jul 7 2012, 08:57 PM)
What is there to do on an iPad? There are so many people saying how amazing this tablet is, but currently, I see almost nothing to do with it. Gaming is basically angry birds and ninja fruit. Web surfing is okay. New useful apps? I cant think or find anything.

So I decided to come by here and see if any of you can steer my point of view as to make this highly hyped up machine into something I find very useful again.

The reason I bought this is so that I can carry documents in a small, convenient form. But there must be something better to do with it. PM me, reply here, anything is appreciated.

i work in a hospital, sometime overnight. The ipad is perfect for me as i can use the staff wifi to surf internet. if boring with internet, i listen to podcasts. I also have radio app like tunein radio, ooTunes to make the night bearable. some music videos, sometimes i just put in movies and play it using avplayer hd without need convert.

i also have some books and powerpoints to learn. some ebook of novels to read.

size is good, i dont even use cover, only SP. Once i receive call, i just let it sleep and put it in my bag, then attend to business.

i game less now, more focus on pc gaming rather than ipad.

once i retreat to my quiet corner, alone, and needing some relax time it is my main friend!
Savor_Savvy
post Jul 12 2012, 05:43 PM

2,776 posts

good companion for light surf, check emails, view youtube and play some games. use it every morning after coming out from the toilet. before going to sleep, i use my ipad to online too.
darosha
post Jul 13 2012, 06:52 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 9 2012, 07:48 PM)
i had to advised you against it. that habit can caused hemorrhoids
DarkNite
post Jul 13 2012, 08:27 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(darosha @ Jul 13 2012, 06:52 PM)
i had to advised you against it. that habit can caused hemorrhoids
thumbup.gif but unfortunately it is a great poo-poo toy! laugh.gif

We used it for presentation - awesome keynote apps
and also is an awesome baby-sitter laugh.gif
myboo_1988
post Jul 13 2012, 11:03 PM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

read newspaper
pyangaox
post Jul 13 2012, 11:43 PM

165 posts

http://s45.photobucket.com/albums/f97/pyan...nt=cca346e9.jpg
http://s45.photobucket.com/albums/f97/pyan...nt=dae8369c.jpg
http://s45.photobucket.com/albums/f97/pyan...nt=a54fa7c0.jpg
http://s45.photobucket.com/albums/f97/pyan...nt=69e90119.jpg

I use it mainly for my work

This post has been edited by pyangaox: Jul 13 2012, 11:47 PM
Joelles
post Jul 14 2012, 12:42 AM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(pyangaox @ Jul 13 2012, 11:43 PM)
It's nice to see people are really fully utilize their devices instead of showing off or "becoz' people have I have lor" kinda attitude.
BTW, nice work thumbup.gif
Cyber_shot8
post Jul 14 2012, 07:16 AM

115 posts

Mine majoring in reading... Like a lot since don't have bring lot of book anywhere and you can zoom the font... Didn't stress my eyeball..
buloh
post Jul 15 2012, 12:14 AM

310 posts

im use skmm maxis ... unlimited .. but dnt know what online game ... and where to get online game ...
-Teddy-
post Jul 15 2012, 01:38 AM

meh
1,939 posts

Flipboard to get fresh new articles in magazine form every morning. Pocket to read articles I've accumulated from PC or Flipboard. Book reading (PDF textbooks and Kindle). Exam preparation app, timetable app, Dropbox to bring all my important files with me wherever I go (can view many different file types internally), Jango for music, Plaintext and Notability for note taking, CNN for news, and lastly, Chrome for web browsing (continue from where I left off on PC.

Everyone's usage is different, depending on which field you are in, and your profession. The iPad is good for staying on top of things, fast. If you're not too lazy to read, you'll benefit from it. Also, the are many free courses in iTunes U. so you can learn a thing or two if you have the time and determination.
Dannyl
post Jul 16 2012, 04:23 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Most the of uses described here can be fulfilled with a Android tablet as well, no? hmm.gif
Pyjamas999
post Jul 16 2012, 05:46 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 16 2012, 04:23 PM)
Most the of uses described here can be fulfilled with a Android tablet as well, no? hmm.gif
Haha actually yeah tongue.gif ! But i dont like that most current android tabs have touch input lag. Thankfully, jelly bean has fixed those issues drool.gif .. I'll be jumping ship the next time i buy a tablet with android 4.1 biggrin.gif
GymBoi
post Jul 16 2012, 06:01 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 16 2012, 04:23 PM)
Most the of uses described here can be fulfilled WITHOUT tablet as well, no? hmm.gif
Fixed ... I seriously think tablets are still a luxury item ... watching anime in toilet ? surfing on the bed ? come on ... lol ... well i agree on the lansi part .. definitely getting it if i can afford it haha
ramz
post Jul 16 2012, 07:13 PM

21,397 posts

As long it's focus on leisure use it will be a luxury item. For now generally it is. But slowly that trend is decreasing
wadieq
post Jul 16 2012, 07:15 PM

Aku Senior, Hang Dupe
675 posts

1- internet
2- games
3- reading (once a week)
stevenlee
post Jul 16 2012, 10:55 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 16 2012, 06:01 PM)
Fixed ... I seriously think tablets are still a luxury item ... watching anime in toilet ? surfing on the bed ? come on ... lol ... well i agree on the lansi part .. definitely getting it if i can afford it haha
agree la..mostly ppl wan to lansi and buy tablet....
like chinese ppl say "new toilet good to Sh|T"...after u bored u will throw aside...cos u cant do anything easy compare to laptop doh.gif
GymBoi
post Jul 17 2012, 06:54 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 16 2012, 10:55 PM)
like chinese ppl say  "new toilet good to Sh|T"...after u bored u will throw aside...cos u cant do anything easy compare to laptop  doh.gif
yup .. it's funny how 1 other guy say "glad people fully utilize thier tab" tongue.gif ... Ok i guess there are a few occasion where iPad are really useful ...

1) I travel alot and I guess it's SUPER USEFUL in airports and on plane .. especially when the plane got no nice movies ? ... if you go airport almost everyone is holding iPad ...
2) Those working night shift and bloody bored ?
3) Maybe presentation people ? Look more cool and 'high-class' la ... good image i guess ...

Good time waster in toilet and and watch anime on bed all is just .... sweat.gif
Damonzero
post Jul 17 2012, 08:53 AM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 16 2012, 10:55 PM)
like chinese ppl say  "new toilet good to Sh|T"...after u bored u will throw aside...cos u cant do anything easy compare to laptop  doh.gif
Just like me, back to desktop for important stuff, more practical sweat.gif
urra901109
post Jul 17 2012, 09:24 AM

45 posts

No one use xbmc? I simply use xbmc to stream my media off a media server that i run 24/7 at home... So no media ever going to fill up my storage, the whole 16 gig is solely used for apps. rclxms.gif
Joelles
post Jul 17 2012, 10:15 AM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 17 2012, 06:54 AM)
yup .. it's funny how 1 other guy say "glad people fully utilize thier tab" tongue.gif ... Ok i guess there are a few occasion where iPad are really useful ...

1) I travel alot and I guess it's SUPER USEFUL in airports and on plane .. especially when the plane got no nice movies ? ... if you go airport almost everyone is holding iPad ...
2) Those working night shift and bloody bored ?
3) Maybe presentation people ? Look more cool and 'high-class' la ... good image i guess ...

Good time waster in toilet and and watch anime on bed all is just ....  sweat.gif
Yeah, it's funny how people make a comment when he never really read and understand the whole sentence.
mkaz
post Jul 17 2012, 10:51 AM

208 posts

1. record guitar tracks
2. SNS
3. Flipboard
4. Mail
5. Movie

my top 5 things-to-do with my ipad2 tongue.gif
christcwl9
post Jul 17 2012, 01:23 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Guys, for those who watch movie via iPad, you all use the default video player or others ? Can recommend me some good 1 which don require me to convert all movies into mp4?
Joelles
post Jul 17 2012, 02:22 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 17 2012, 01:23 PM)
Guys, for those who watch movie via iPad, you all use the default video player or others ? Can recommend me some good 1 which don require me to convert all movies into mp4?
"Oplayer" or "BuzzPlayer", just drag your files to the Apps File Sharing panel and you're good to go.
gObLiN VaiZaRd
post Jul 17 2012, 04:03 PM

52 posts

GAme.. Totally GAme... -,=
I find ipad touch screen very amusing and helpful when playing with game that require many touch or multiple touch its just move what ur finger do.. great without lagging.. Just soft touch needed..
booooster
post Jul 17 2012, 05:50 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 17 2012, 01:23 PM)
aceplayer good too!

This post has been edited by booooster: Jul 17 2012, 05:53 PM
limtat
post Jul 17 2012, 08:02 PM

70 posts

Every morning read financial daily
share market updates n live quotes
light games

christcwl9
post Jul 17 2012, 09:45 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Jul 17 2012, 02:22 PM)
"Oplayer" or "BuzzPlayer", just drag your files to the Apps File Sharing panel and you're good to go.
QUOTE(booooster @ Jul 17 2012, 05:50 PM)
aceplayer good too!
Thanks a lot bro ! Will try it out now smile.gif

P/s put a lot of movies inside already now. Using Oplayer biggrin.gif Left 8GB from my ipad whistling.gif
darosha
post Jul 17 2012, 11:01 PM

470 posts

oplayer bit buggy
sometime didnt show you what you have in your computer itunes, but check back in my iPad, things still there
Joelles
post Jul 17 2012, 11:13 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(darosha @ Jul 17 2012, 11:01 PM)
oplayer bit buggy
sometime didnt show you what you have in your computer itunes, but check back in my iPad, things still there
Those movies you can't see in the iTunes Apps Sharing Panel are downloaded directly from your iPad or transfer from your computer's iTunes?
darosha
post Jul 17 2012, 11:15 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Jul 17 2012, 11:13 PM)
Those movies you can't see in the iTunes Apps Sharing Panel are downloaded directly from your iPad or transfer from your computer's iTunes?
all transfer from itunes
funny things is i try to transfer another files, then that one can see
then i check in ipad, both the missing files in itunes and the one just transfered already in ipad
still in itunes only shows the one i just transfered
Joelles
post Jul 17 2012, 11:29 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(darosha @ Jul 17 2012, 11:15 PM)
all transfer from itunes
funny things is i try to transfer another files, then that one can see
then i check in ipad, both the missing files in itunes and the one just transfered already in ipad
still in itunes only shows the one i just transfered
This is weird, why not "christcwl9" tell us about his experience with OPlayer?
Bad Cyborg
post Jul 18 2012, 12:06 AM

828 posts

No. Get this instead.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1351478
christcwl9
post Jul 18 2012, 12:19 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Jul 17 2012, 11:29 PM)
This is weird, why not "christcwl9" tell us about his experience with OPlayer?
What do u mean ? hmm.gif so far so good for me with Oplayer LOL
gjohn
post Jul 18 2012, 09:46 AM

388 posts

checking emails...doing work using smart office..
reading pdf files...games..
ramz
post Jul 18 2012, 10:00 AM

21,397 posts

i sometimes spend the whole day trying to figure out itunes. its a real marvel.
xjukie
post Jul 18 2012, 10:03 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

it's a trend nowadays, bring iPad anytime anywhere. show off maybe?
peng7688
post Jul 18 2012, 10:07 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 18 2012, 10:00 AM)
i sometimes spend the whole day trying to figure out itunes. its a real marvel.
buying song through itunes store is so addictive biggrin.gif
xDingx
post Jul 18 2012, 11:59 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(xjukie @ Jul 18 2012, 10:03 AM)
it's a trend nowadays, bring iPad anytime anywhere. show off maybe?
im wondering what can we show off with ipad? show u r rich? no...ipad nowadays issint that expensive, with rm1500 u can get 1, it is even cheaper than some smartphones like HTC One X, Samsung Galaxy and etc. What else to show off?

i think ppl birng ipad or watever tablets with them just to kill their time such as playing some casual games, reading, watching movie, listening music, web surfing etc....that wat i normally do with my tablet...lol

This post has been edited by xDingx: Jul 18 2012, 12:00 PM
Joelles
post Jul 18 2012, 12:15 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 18 2012, 12:19 AM)
What do u mean ?  hmm.gif  so far so good for me with Oplayer LOL
I was just refering to the forumer who complain that the OPlayer was buggy.

QUOTE(xDingx @ Jul 18 2012, 11:59 AM)
im wondering what can we show off with ipad? show u r rich? no...ipad nowadays issint that expensive, with rm1500 u can get 1, it is even cheaper than some smartphones like HTC One X, Samsung Galaxy and etc. What else to show off?

i think ppl birng ipad or watever tablets with them just to kill their time such as playing some casual games, reading, watching movie, listening music, web surfing etc....that wat i normally do with my tablet...lol
Precisely, there's nothing to show off since a lot of peple can afford and you can see that a lot of people are carrying one around nowadays. It's just a trend, not a Premium devices as luxury as stated and to show around that you afforded one.
stevenlee
post Jul 18 2012, 12:47 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Jul 18 2012, 12:15 PM)
I was just refering to the forumer who complain that the OPlayer was buggy.
Precisely, there's nothing to show off since a lot of peple can afford and you can see that a lot of people are carrying one around nowadays. It's just a trend, not a Premium devices as luxury as stated and to show around that you afforded one.
Problem ppl still thinking it is expensive...
And my house have 6... outside ppl show of with 1 lol...
Now my iPad all use by my kid... I rather bring ultra book...cool , expensive , more practical, light and small .. .. almost the size of a tablet.. lol
christcwl9
post Jul 18 2012, 02:03 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 18 2012, 12:47 PM)
Problem ppl still thinking it is expensive...
And my house have 6... outside ppl show of with 1 lol...
Now my iPad all use by my kid... I rather bring ultra book...cool , expensive , more practical, light and small .. .. almost the size of a tablet.. lol
Yea, that's the mentality of Human main because iPad is APPLE PRODUCT smile.gif And in everyone's mind, APple is the signature of Premium brand for the high class people smile.gif

Instead of showing off in Starbucks by showing others your ipad, why not just tell all the people there that you treat them all for the drinks ? tongue.gif This round is mine !! Then everyone will clap ! LOL biggrin.gif
stevenlee
post Jul 18 2012, 02:32 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 18 2012, 02:03 PM)
Yea, that's the mentality of Human main because iPad is APPLE PRODUCT smile.gif And in everyone's mind, APple is the signature of Premium brand for the high class people smile.gif

Instead of showing off in Starbucks by showing others your ipad, why not just tell all the people there that you treat them all for the drinks ? tongue.gif This round is mine !! Then everyone will clap ! LOL  biggrin.gif
good idea drool.gif
which starbuck u wan to treat us.... i will be there on time rclxm9.gif
christcwl9
post Jul 18 2012, 02:37 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jul 18 2012, 02:32 PM)
good idea  drool.gif
which starbuck u wan to treat us.... i will be there on time  rclxm9.gif
LOL! But unfortunately i am not goin to show off tongue.gif Some more i am poor and unable to show off sad.gif hahaha
ed0gawa
post Jul 18 2012, 02:39 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Answering to the TS question

I find it useless so i gave it to a girl... (oh well, i got it for free too... haha)
xrossf1re
post Jul 18 2012, 03:24 PM

248 posts

Browse internet while i shit. THat's it. I leave my ipad in my bathroom all the time charging
stevenlee
post Jul 18 2012, 06:26 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Jul 18 2012, 03:24 PM)
Browse internet while i shit. THat's it. I leave my ipad in my bathroom all the time charging
agree ....the most need time for ipad is toilet time rclxm9.gif
GymBoi
post Jul 18 2012, 07:30 PM

1,401 posts

I personally feel 'can afford' and 'luxury' is 2 different thing .. can afford means not luxury ? how many of us here can afford a kancil ? Not many if assume mostly here is teenagers? So kancil is luxury ?

I feel it's luxury because you pay alot for something that you don't need, as in you already have PC or laptop. I'm pretty sure EVERYONE with iPad has at least a PC or laptop (dun count baby playing la). HP like one X and all ... if you don't have a phone .. what can replace the phone ?

To Joelles .. i feel like there is some fire in your replies oredi .. so 1st i apologize for my 1st reply .. i didn't meant anything on you (didn't even noticed it was you who said what i quoted) and it was in a joking manner .. in fact i'm saving for this so called 'luxury' iPad myself ... so please don't get me wrong smile.gif Just a simple discussion on what we all think about the iPad ... in fact that's the topic of this thread right ? Peace out ...

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Jul 18 2012, 07:31 PM
Joelles
post Jul 18 2012, 10:20 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 18 2012, 07:30 PM)
I personally feel 'can afford' and 'luxury' is 2 different thing .. can afford means not luxury ? how many of us here can afford a kancil ? Not many if assume mostly here is teenagers? So kancil is luxury ?

I feel it's luxury because you pay alot for something that you don't need, as in you already have PC or laptop. I'm pretty sure EVERYONE with iPad has at least a PC or laptop (dun count baby playing la). HP like one X and all ... if you don't have a phone .. what can replace the phone ?

To Joelles .. i feel like there is some fire in your replies oredi .. so 1st i apologize for my 1st reply .. i didn't meant anything on you (didn't even noticed it was you who said what i quoted) and it was in a joking manner .. in fact i'm saving for this so called 'luxury' iPad myself ... so please don't get me wrong smile.gif Just a simple discussion on what we all think about the iPad ... in fact that's the topic of this thread right ? Peace out ...
Lol...hmm, maybe my post are misleading and I am not really English literate, so you have so much misunderstanding. Here I make it short and clear so you misunderstand with my post:
1) I did not get offended at all
2) My post never backfires you and I never even though you felt all my post was intended to you at all...lol
3) I quoted your post just to hope you understand what I am posting in a joking manner as well, no big deal. In fact I have read through the whole thread to double confirm that it was referring to me before replying....lol
4) I agree "affordable" and "luxury" are both different things and whether luxury or not is depends on the eyes of the beholder. I just refer to those who think that the iPad is luxury to them so they can to "Show Off" to those who are not affordable.
5) I am a 40 years old uncle, maybe I am too old to understand the attitude of the new generations now.
6) Peace and Out
RAMChYLD
post Jul 18 2012, 10:36 PM

1,715 posts

What is there to do on an iPad? There are so many people saying how amazing this tablet is, but currently, I see almost nothing to do with it.
I was once as skeptical as you. Then something happened that made me need get one.

First I used it for that something- a particular iOS-only eBook.
Then Games. No big deal, right. Every tablet can play games and if that eBook was a more bog-standard PDF or EPub instead of an iOS app (a platform exclusive no less), it would be readable on every tablet too.

Then comes IPTV and VOD. E-Banking. Online shopping and auctions. Youtube. Always-on e-Mail, Instant Messaging (via IM+) and compulsive Web Browsing (no Flash? Puffin fixes that problem)- because I don't leave my computers on overnight, but the iPad would still be left on standby and sometimes I'll get up at 3AM to want to check forums because cannot sleep, but too lazy to crawl to my computers. Then comes piping cheesy music to my headphones via Bluetooth-to-Laptop link during Team Fortress 2 matches so I don't burden my laptop processor with an MP3 player running in background and can actually control the music without leaving the game, or risking not being to hear anything in the game with the laptop muted and my headphones connected to a MP3 player (trust me, if you play TF2, you WANT to be able to hear alltalk, because that's how people warn their teammates about sepai disguises).

So yeah, I bought it for one use, I eventually found endless amount of uses for it.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jul 18 2012, 10:39 PM
empty
post Jul 19 2012, 04:01 AM

396 posts

Mainly i use it for education & leisure. iTunes U, iBooks & News stand help me a lot on that matter and do presentation using keynote. i do play games occasionally and they do offer lots of console quality games. As i do not own a laptop i use my iPad to access my desktop and control it whenever I'm away from home.
BlackWoods
post Jul 19 2012, 03:19 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

Most people just use for gaming, including me, haha.

Sometimes to navigate, reading e-book and normal web surfing.
SomeoneElse
post Jul 19 2012, 04:30 PM

837 posts

Only for social networking and web surfing smile.gif

And email

This post has been edited by SomeoneElse: Jul 19 2012, 04:30 PM
ykhong
post Jul 19 2012, 04:34 PM

87 posts

mine ipad is to collect dust... ipad and ipad2 totally dusty now n still got touch my new ipad for youtube on bed oni...
xDingx
post Jul 19 2012, 05:34 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(ykhong @ Jul 19 2012, 04:34 PM)
mine ipad is to collect dust... ipad and ipad2 totally dusty now n still got touch my new ipad for youtube on bed oni...
if ur ipad n ipad 2 are collecting dust...then y u still get the new ipad? -.- youtube n web surfin can b done by ur old ipad..
xjukie
post Jul 20 2012, 04:13 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

a lot of us can afford, but don;t u think there are still peoples out there can't afford?
LOL LOL to xdingx

This post has been edited by xjukie: Jul 20 2012, 04:15 PM
kevyeoh
post Jul 20 2012, 04:30 PM

4,721 posts

used to be Facebook but then i quit FB...
so now it's like 70% of time for Flipboard... 10% of the time for web surfing and check email a while...
and about 20% remaining time for watching movies lor...

that's all...

not really useful for productivity work like office etc....

babygirl1988
post Jul 22 2012, 12:12 AM

See movie and play games! And surf the internet on bed...
funnyTONE
post Jul 22 2012, 01:38 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jul 18 2012, 10:36 PM)
I was once as skeptical as you. Then something happened that made me need get one.

First I used it for that something- a particular iOS-only eBook.
Then Games. No big deal, right. Every tablet can play games and if that eBook was a more bog-standard PDF or EPub instead of an iOS app (a platform exclusive no less), it would be readable on every tablet too.

Then comes IPTV and VOD. E-Banking. Online shopping and auctions. Youtube. Always-on e-Mail, Instant Messaging (via IM+) and compulsive Web Browsing (no Flash? Puffin fixes that problem)- because I don't leave my computers on overnight, but the iPad would still be left on standby and sometimes I'll get up at 3AM to want to check forums because cannot sleep, but too lazy to crawl to my computers. Then comes piping cheesy music to my headphones via Bluetooth-to-Laptop link during Team Fortress 2 matches so I don't burden my laptop processor with an MP3 player running in background and can actually control the music without leaving the game, or risking not being to hear anything in the game with the laptop muted and my headphones connected to a MP3 player (trust me, if you play TF2, you WANT to be able to hear alltalk, because that's how people warn their teammates about sepai disguises).

So yeah, I bought it for one use, I eventually found endless amount of uses for it.
Steve Jobs would've cried tears of joy in his coffin reading this. thumbup.gif
Xirality
post Jul 22 2012, 12:56 PM

12,176 posts

iPad probably the most useful tool next to iPhone which is first place. I'm a heavy internet user, Chrome is probably the best app for iPad. I use it every time I go out, I rarely use my iPhone when go out. Only Instagram-ing because most of my social stuff do in Blackberry.

I hate to bring my Retina Macbook Pro out because it just isn't as portable as iPad. So mostly in home I use it on couch and bed. Other than that, almost every time I go out also bring it in case I need it for semi-serious stuff.

Of course it can replace my Mac due to I do heavy stuff on my Retina Macbook Pro (VMs, programming etc)

For me, iPad have endless of function. So does iPhone rclxms.gif I just love how everything is sync together.
lisahasan
post Jul 25 2012, 11:11 PM

"calm heart, easy mind, cool life" :)
3,911 posts

many people mentioning their purpose using the ipad. soon i will get it. whether wifi only or 3g
christcwl9
post Jul 25 2012, 11:52 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Jul 25 2012, 11:11 PM)
many people mentioning their purpose using the ipad. soon i will get it. whether wifi only or 3g
If your budget allow, i will always recommend you to get a 4G version other than just the wifi only version. WHy ? I regret when i bought my iPad 2 wifi only and now when iPad 3 out, i get the 4G version smile.gif
lisahasan
post Jul 25 2012, 11:58 PM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 25 2012, 11:52 PM)
If your budget allow, i will always recommend you to get a 4G version other than just the wifi only version. WHy ? I regret when i bought my iPad 2 wifi only and now when iPad 3 out, i get the 4G version smile.gif
4g for what ? same rite ? or am i wrong tongue.gif

i noe 4g moar faster then 3g. but 3g edi enough. me like ipad 2 only. dun want latest ipad. tired edi maa. enough with note and bold4.
christcwl9
post Jul 26 2012, 12:12 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Jul 25 2012, 11:58 PM)
4g for what ? same rite ? or am i wrong  tongue.gif

i noe 4g moar faster then 3g. but 3g edi enough. me like ipad 2 only. dun want latest ipad. tired edi maa. enough with note and bold4.
The latest ipad changed the 4G to Cellular already, Sorry for the updated info @>@ haha

Well, in Malaysia we are able to use 3G only , in fact, other than USA, i think the latest iPad only capable of up to 3.5G.

You mean you wanna buy the 16gb iPad 2 either 3G or wifi only ?
lisahasan
post Jul 26 2012, 12:21 AM

3,911 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jul 26 2012, 12:12 AM)
The latest ipad changed the 4G to Cellular already, Sorry for the updated info @>@ haha

Well, in Malaysia we are able to use 3G only , in fact, other than USA, i think the latest iPad only capable of up to 3.5G.

You mean you wanna buy the 16gb iPad 2 either 3G or wifi only ?
ipad 2 16gb 3g. if wifi only, feels like rugi edi.

Added on July 26, 2012, 12:22 ambtw, chris u are really friendly guy smile.gif

This post has been edited by lisahasan: Jul 26 2012, 12:22 AM
christcwl9
post Jul 26 2012, 12:37 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Jul 26 2012, 12:21 AM)
ipad 2 16gb 3g. if wifi only, feels like rugi edi.

Added on July 26, 2012, 12:22 ambtw, chris u are really friendly guy smile.gif
Thx wub.gif

BTW, why don't you get the latest ipad instead ? The screen is really marvelous, trust me ! thumbup.gif
eyezal
post Jul 26 2012, 01:31 AM

23 posts

I've been using Pages to fast edit few docs needed by boss.

And now currently wasting my time playing StickTennis...oh wai...
Uchiha_Itachi1991
post Jul 26 2012, 02:14 AM

1,095 posts

I use it mostly when I wake up, before I sleep, during lectures and most importantly, in the toilet for web browsing, reading emails and lecture slides...
kae7
post Jul 26 2012, 08:07 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha_Itachi1991 @ Jul 26 2012, 02:14 AM)
I use it mostly when I wake up, before I sleep, during lectures and most importantly, in the toilet for web browsing, reading emails and lecture slides...
WOW reading lecture slides in toilets , you have made my day tongue.gif XD

Uchiha_Itachi1991
post Jul 26 2012, 12:40 PM

1,095 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Jul 26 2012, 08:07 AM)
WOW reading lecture slides in toilets , you have made my day tongue.gif XD
lol...no...anything other than lecture slides...tongue.gif
speximent
post Aug 1 2012, 06:09 AM

57 posts

hurmm..same all same..

This post has been edited by speximent: Aug 1 2012, 09:05 AM
goey0614
post Aug 1 2012, 07:10 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha_Itachi1991 @ Jul 26 2012, 02:14 AM)
May I know which app you used it to read slides?? I am thinking to get a app that could read powerpoint slides, does it need to buy? thank you biggrin.gif
unknowmaster
post Aug 1 2012, 07:21 PM

376 posts

How come no one said to read playboy mag yet ;P
sguy84
post Aug 2 2012, 11:22 AM

42 posts

I just got it less then 2 months ago. i realised im using my ipad more thn my laptop nowdays.

1. web surfing. On bed, sofa and so on...
2. read email/pdf files/doc files ..
3. light gaming ---
4. astro on the go
5. Facebooking
6. Skype
7. Presentation
8. Ebooks - reading books cant be made any easier..
9 Youtube.
RAMChYLD
post Aug 3 2012, 03:41 PM

1,715 posts

Now I found out no iOS6 for my iPad sad.gif

cry.gif

I know it has served me well. But I'm disappointed since iOS6 will be available for iPhone 3GS, which is even older than iPad 1. Sumore I was late to own one, this month marks only my second anniversary with it sad.gif

Plus, this is not a good time to force me to buy an iPad. Having personal issues cry.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Aug 3 2012, 03:45 PM
Joelles
post Aug 3 2012, 11:04 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Aug 3 2012, 03:41 PM)

cry.gif

I know it has served me well. But I'm disappointed since iOS6 will be available for iPhone 3GS, which is even older than iPad 1. Sumore I was late to own one, this month marks only my second anniversary with it sad.gif

Plus, this is not a good time to force me to buy an iPad. Having personal issues cry.gif
Without iOS 6, your iPad 1 gen still can serve you well with ios5.1.1. Maybe just wait for iPad 4 gen next year, who knows you may have some extra dough by that time.
buloh
post Aug 4 2012, 02:05 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Aug 3 2012, 11:04 PM)
Without iOS 6, your iPad 1 gen still can serve you well with ios5.1.1. Maybe just wait for iPad 4 gen next year, who knows you may have some extra dough by that time.
+1
Kabadi84
post Aug 4 2012, 03:33 AM

weeeeeee..................
1,012 posts

my baby girl sleeping machine put baby tv (youtube ) infornt of her until sleep
starwars
post Aug 7 2012, 10:41 PM

42 posts

1. Surfing
2. Play Video , Youtube
3. Facebook
4. Share trading
5. Light gaming
6. Most important: Ebooks, and articles in pdf
dean_crowe
post Aug 8 2012, 02:00 AM

already owned the new iPad for a while,
most thing i use out of it is,
1) reading (ebooks, pdf, and daily local newspaper)
2) browsing internet (mostly write on my blog/ this forum/ buy&sell@mudah)
3) checking foreign exchange rate (doing some small investment)
4) conveniently check my bank account online (cimb & maybank)
5) picture viewing (i'm a semi pro photographer)
6) picture and video editing (simple but useful; compare to full feature on pc)
7) instant messaging (YM/ IM+)
8) video chat via Skype/facetime/ Omegle(with complete stranger)
9) facebooking & twitting (but not so often)
10) drawing (not skilled artist but fun doing it)
11) playing music instruments (garageband etc - fun stuff!!)
12) watching youtube

other than that like listening to music or watching movies or playing games not suite me much as others.
but the fun things for me is going to coffee shop or mamak house where free wi-fi available and downloading as much stuff as i could. i find that addicting.... hahahaha
Ivan113
post Aug 8 2012, 04:17 AM

925 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Aug 3 2012, 03:41 PM)

cry.gif

who knows there might be a port, just like what devs at android have been doing to other non supported phones
vivakarna
post Aug 8 2012, 06:33 AM

1,360 posts

surfing, listen to music and watch movies.
RAMChYLD
post Aug 8 2012, 11:41 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Aug 8 2012, 04:17 AM)
who knows there might be a port, just like what devs at android have been doing to other non supported phones
I don't think so. Android depends on the fact that it is designed from ground up to support homebrew. Even some Android phones are blocked. Ie some old HTCs made during the time the company got arrogant and installed a bootloader that blocks third party firmware (S-On bootloader) that got them a lot of backlash. My HTC ChaCha is one of them and I'm stuck with Android 2.3.5 cry.gif

Apple's iPad is even worse. Everything must be signed with a public key generated only by Apple, including bootloader code.

Yes, I know I can Jailbreak the thing although I'm still stuck with iOS5 to squeese some use out of the remaining life, but I don't think it'll help much. I depend on a handful of official apps day-in day-out, will still drop support for it eventually. The thing that trigger me to panic is that a few apps I depend heavily on recently drop iOS4 support. So now I'm worried that by this time next year, if still haven't bought a new iPad and I factory reset it, I will no longer be able to install back the apps because they drop support for iOS5 cry.gif
gofey
post Aug 10 2012, 05:13 PM

102 posts

i use it for work mainly as my work require apple product to do testing, mostly 60% work and 40% leisure, wife play 1 games and i play 1 games
debbierowe
post Aug 11 2012, 12:40 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

busy set and tweak many stuff

put some comics in but not yet play games or put ebook collection in

no tv series no movie

not using it for work also so far

just JD and tweaking now...

i need to find some nice games with pretty graphics...
FireSnake
post Aug 11 2012, 11:13 AM

198 posts

Learning Japanese languages from romance action pack movies. biggrin.gif
deadcity
post Aug 13 2012, 08:04 PM

78 posts

1week play with iPad2, love it. But, the weight is really a let down. Too heavy for me to hold it. sad.gif
annoymous1234
post Aug 13 2012, 11:28 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(deadcity @ Aug 13 2012, 08:04 PM)
1week play with iPad2, love it. But, the weight is really a let down. Too heavy for me to hold it. sad.gif
huhuhu its consider light d loh..
buloh
post Aug 14 2012, 02:37 AM

310 posts

im download video clip song and abc song for my kid".when hard to pakai pampers for her...i play the abc song .. and so easy to pakai pampers heheheh
ramz
post Aug 14 2012, 08:25 AM

21,397 posts

anybody use it for work? other than email and communication i mean. i know ipad is good as a leisure device. coz i also use it as such. but i dono how good is it for working scenarios. although i know as a communication tool it is ok.

anybody to share their experiences?
ngaisteve1
post Aug 17 2012, 10:14 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

if you travel much example by lrt or bus, you can make use of it (ie reading, browsing, texting) while waiting or inside the lrt.

if 3G, can use it as GPS also. or google map if able to connect to your phone hotspot. phone screen too small to see map.

if go on date, can show photo or video to her, or play some interactive games with her. brows.gif

if work as software support line, can view system chart/diagram for troubleshooting when go onsite.

GymBoi
post Aug 17 2012, 12:19 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 17 2012, 10:14 AM)
if you travel much example by lrt or bus, you can make use of it (ie reading, browsing, texting) while waiting or inside the lrt.

if 3G, can use it as GPS also. or google map if able to connect to your phone hotspot. phone screen too small to see map.

if go on date, can show photo or video to her, or play some interactive games with her.  brows.gif

if work as software support line, can view system chart/diagram for troubleshooting when go onsite.
really ? any app to recommend ?
ngaisteve1
post Aug 17 2012, 12:29 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Aug 17 2012, 01:19 PM)
really ? any app to recommend ?
those diagram gotta be created by you or your team la biggrin.gif
then copy the image to ipad, then view it for troubleshooting lo.

if you support window/network, if hit error, can google on the spot also. nod.gif
ramz
post Aug 17 2012, 02:04 PM

21,397 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 17 2012, 12:29 PM)
those diagram gotta be created by you or your team la  biggrin.gif
then copy the image to ipad, then view it for troubleshooting lo.

if you support window/network, if hit error, can google on the spot also.  nod.gif
That's basically communication specific functionality. I heard insurance agents use it to fill application forms. Customer actually signs electronically and then agent submits to head office for processing. Any insurance agents here to share their experiences?
ngaisteve1
post Aug 17 2012, 02:38 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 17 2012, 03:04 PM)
That's basically communication specific functionality. I heard insurance agents use it to fill application forms. Customer actually signs electronically and then agent submits to head office for processing. Any insurance agents here to share their experiences?
wow, really? That's cool! cool2.gif
Xirality
post Aug 17 2012, 02:52 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Aug 8 2012, 11:41 PM)
I don't think so. Android depends on the fact that it is designed from ground up to support homebrew. Even  some Android phones are blocked. Ie some old HTCs made during the time the company got arrogant and installed a bootloader that blocks third party firmware (S-On bootloader) that got them a lot of backlash. My HTC ChaCha is one of them and I'm stuck with Android 2.3.5  cry.gif

Apple's iPad is even worse. Everything must be signed with a public key generated only by Apple, including bootloader code.

Yes, I know I can Jailbreak the thing although I'm still stuck with iOS5 to squeese some use out of the remaining life, but I don't think it'll help much. I depend on a handful of official apps day-in day-out, will still drop support for it eventually. The thing that trigger me to panic is that a few apps I depend heavily on recently drop iOS4 support. So now I'm worried that by this time next year, if still haven't bought a new iPad and I factory reset it, I will no longer be able to install back the apps because they drop support for iOS5  cry.gif
just buy a new iPad base model or even iPad 2 will do. if budget so tight, buy second hand. I think here lowyat net have plenty of them. iPad is actually cheap consider it build quality, retina display, superb camera etc. I think it is one of the most "bang for buck" Apple device.
ramz
post Aug 17 2012, 03:10 PM

21,397 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 17 2012, 02:52 PM)
just buy a new iPad base model or even iPad 2 will do. if budget so tight, buy second hand. I think here lowyat net have plenty of them. iPad is actually cheap consider it build quality, retina display, superb camera etc. I think it is one of the most "bang for buck" Apple device.
Superb camera? It's really bad in poor light
Xirality
post Aug 17 2012, 03:19 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 17 2012, 03:10 PM)
Superb camera? It's really bad in poor light
consider it is a tablet. There are far worst camera on other tablets.
ixiel
post Aug 18 2012, 02:31 PM

152 posts

Pdf-giant.com. Too many mags too read on my ipad yeahh.
shawn87
post Aug 18 2012, 04:59 PM

2,154 posts

QUOTE(ixiel @ Aug 18 2012, 02:31 PM)
Pdf-giant.com. Too many mags too read on my ipad yeahh.
Mind to share the source of magazines u download"?
Can pm me.. Latest can get? Or only overseas version only
ixiel
post Aug 18 2012, 06:26 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(shawn87 @ Aug 18 2012, 04:59 PM)
Mind to share the source of magazines u download"?
Can pm me.. Latest can get? Or only overseas version only
I just download from that website.
stevenlee
post Aug 18 2012, 06:55 PM

3,158 posts

Any can teach me how to download pdf giant mag directly from ipad?
What apps to use to download it directly?

Added on August 18, 2012, 6:56 pmOk my download hd apps work with filegator only ...
It able to download now directly

This post has been edited by stevenlee: Aug 18 2012, 06:56 PM
crimsonhead
post Aug 19 2012, 11:04 PM

One Of A Kind
2,261 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Aug 18 2012, 06:55 PM)
Any can teach me how to download pdf giant mag directly from ipad?
What apps to use to download it directly?

Added on August 18, 2012, 6:56 pmOk my download hd apps work with filegator only ...
It able to download now directly
how do u download directly?
stevenlee
post Aug 20 2012, 07:35 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(crimsonhead @ Aug 19 2012, 11:04 PM)
how do u download directly?
use downloadHD apps
Trishharas
post Aug 20 2012, 04:40 PM

78 posts

I just recently received my iPad. Mostly i use it for light gaming, checking and reply emails, drawing (using BAMBOO Paper app) and also blogging. smile.gif
pipedream
post Aug 20 2012, 06:55 PM

2,353 posts

iBooks and light surfing on the go. But lugging it around is kinda tiresome though. Btw reading Game of Thrones on my ipad atm love the long battery life biggrin.gif
GymBoi
post Aug 22 2012, 02:41 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Aug 20 2012, 07:35 AM)
use downloadHD apps
bro mind to share the exact name of the app and by who ? I search downloadHD got no result .. many others and I tried a few and they are all not working well with captchas and everything
stevenlee
post Aug 22 2012, 08:13 PM

3,158 posts

the apps name Downloads HD

This post has been edited by stevenlee: Aug 22 2012, 08:13 PM
ramz
post Aug 23 2012, 11:12 AM

21,397 posts

so nobody here uses it for work other than a communication tool?

i am looking for uses other than email, messaging, video/voice conferencing and social network stuff that u do at work.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 23 2012, 11:13 AM
suntzulee
post Aug 23 2012, 11:12 AM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

i downloaded latest tvb drama like 怒火街头2,造王者,回到三国 in my ipad and air mirroring via apple tv3 and watch in my 40" LCD TV...
GymBoi
post Aug 23 2012, 02:39 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 23 2012, 11:12 AM)
i downloaded latest tvb drama like 怒火街头2,造王者,回到三国 in my ipad and air mirroring via apple tv3 and watch in my 40" LCD TV...
what app you use to dl tvb drama? pps seems like don't have? btw did you jb your ipad ? I went and ask about ATV3, the sales guy say if ipad jb oredi maybe will have issues ? =/
suntzulee
post Aug 23 2012, 02:41 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Aug 23 2012, 02:39 PM)
I went and ask about ATV3, the sales guy say if ipad jb oredi maybe will have issues ? =/
that was silly dumb crap....jb has nothing to do with stability.
GymBoi
post Aug 23 2012, 02:51 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 23 2012, 02:41 PM)
that was silly dumb crap....jb has nothing to do with stability.
hehe so what app u use to dl tvb drama ?
stevenlee
post Aug 26 2012, 02:42 AM

3,158 posts

Pps still can download tvb drama but need change proxy before launcg pps

Jarod
post Aug 27 2012, 09:31 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 23 2012, 11:12 AM)
so nobody here uses it for work other than a communication tool?

i am looking for uses other than email, messaging, video/voice conferencing and social network stuff that u do at work.
for work, i use it to check emails and presentation. other than that, it's mostly for personal such as messaging, fb, twitter, emails, surfing the net, games, etc. and most of the time, it is heavily used when i'm travelling.
Champion_white
post Aug 27 2012, 02:05 PM

72 posts

feel worth it when using xbmc
gengstapo
post Aug 27 2012, 02:08 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

Show off to frend whom dont have iPad brows.gif brows.gif
fyrogenesis
post Aug 27 2012, 04:34 PM

158 posts

i also have this problem. ever since i bought galaxy note, my ipad seems to collect dust. i am thinking to trade it with an ultrabook or mba. anyone interested? tongue.gif
ramz
post Aug 27 2012, 04:55 PM

21,397 posts

QUOTE(fyrogenesis @ Aug 27 2012, 04:34 PM)
i also have this problem. ever since i bought galaxy note, my ipad seems to collect dust. i am thinking to trade it with an ultrabook or mba. anyone interested?  tongue.gif
ipad is all about the apple specific apps, games and retina display. that's it.

1. as a communication device it is quite good but not up to par.
2. as a pc replacement it sucks big time.
3. as a storage device it sucks big time to (try transferring files and u know what i mean)

but with all its negatives is still a great device just for the reasons above. but why the hell am i paying 2100rm for that?!!!!
ReaperX
post Aug 27 2012, 08:15 PM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 27 2012, 04:55 PM)
ipad is all about the apple specific apps, games and retina display. that's it.

1. as a communication device it is quite good but not up to par.
2. as a pc replacement it sucks big time.
3. as a storage device it sucks big time to (try transferring files and u know what i mean)

but with all its negatives is still a great device just for the reasons above. but why the hell am i paying 2100rm for that?!!!!
for braggin' rights tongue.gif
But i it's really portable for quick browsing. Sometimes i even use it in toilet laugh.gif
deric79k
post Aug 28 2012, 12:14 AM

1,551 posts

Suft net, check mail

fluotone
post Aug 28 2012, 11:10 AM

street.cat.tales
2,631 posts

I usually use it for web browsing, fb, book reading smile.gif
ramz
post Aug 28 2012, 01:03 PM

21,397 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Aug 27 2012, 08:15 PM)
for braggin' rights tongue.gif
But i it's really portable for quick browsing. Sometimes i even use it in toilet  laugh.gif
its almost like buying a porsche. u know the bucket seats are very uncomfortable, and the clutch system is too heavy, and that the engine is so loud u can't hear your girlfriend talk. and that 2 back seats are just for show coz nobody can seat comfortably in. but its still a porsche.

it looks great (retina display), its fast (smooth browsing), and it makes heads turn (hmmm, gives me an idea). but its not a practical car for everyday driving.

my 2 cents.
ahK
post Aug 28 2012, 05:56 PM

73 posts

I used it browse net, forum etc. but I have problem reply in certain forum. It just nothing happen after click reply button. Anyone know why?
ReaperX
post Aug 29 2012, 12:47 AM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 28 2012, 01:03 PM)
its almost like buying a porsche. u know the bucket seats are very uncomfortable, and the clutch system is too heavy, and that the engine is so loud u can't hear your girlfriend talk. and that 2 back seats are just for show coz nobody can seat comfortably in. but its still a porsche.

it looks great (retina display), its fast (smooth browsing), and it makes heads turn (hmmm, gives me an idea). but its not a practical car for everyday driving.

my 2 cents.
"loaded" fella detected brows.gif

Anyway, i really like the iPad for the smoothness of its UI compared with the plethoras of tablets in the market.
krayz_underground
post Aug 29 2012, 05:21 PM

373 posts

In my case, I do a lot of Facebook and Remote Desktop on my iPad.

I usually remote into my computer back home to and control my pc at home to download torrents and other stuff..

It's very convenient, mine is the new iPad. Using it on Maxis Data plan.

So fast I used up my quota.

Sometime I youtube, even do iMessage on iPad.

This way, I can preserve my iPhone battery life for any important call and emergency situation.

In the past my iPhone can't tahan 1 day the battery.

Now I have iPad, iPhone battery last longer. LoL..
ramz
post Aug 29 2012, 06:22 PM

21,397 posts

QUOTE(krayz_underground @ Aug 29 2012, 05:21 PM)
In my case, I do a lot of Facebook and Remote Desktop on my iPad.

I usually remote into my computer back home to and control my pc at home to download torrents and other stuff..

It's very convenient, mine is the new iPad. Using it on Maxis Data plan.

So fast I used up my quota.

Sometime I youtube, even do iMessage on iPad.

This way, I can preserve my iPhone battery life for any important call and emergency situation.

In the past my iPhone can't tahan 1 day the battery.

Now I have iPad, iPhone battery last longer. LoL..
What app do u use to remote login to your computer?
krayz_underground
post Aug 29 2012, 06:52 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 29 2012, 06:22 PM)
What app do u use to remote login to your computer?
I used Logmein, previously was using Teamviewer. cool2.gif
ysc
post Sep 4 2012, 10:53 AM

860 posts

I use for playing lots of multi-player games.

When my friends come over, we could just get together and play games together

Try these:
Bump bump
ICE Rage
multiponk
Bop it
GameRoom
wheel of fortune
OSMOS HD
Foosball HD
Flight Control HD
FIFA
Metal Slug
Air Hockey
Air Dogs
Blokus
Pictureka / Time Geeks

Thats pretty much what I can remember on top of my head.
Also some single-player games work great on the iPad that aren't on other platforms...
krayz_underground
post Sep 4 2012, 02:36 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Sep 4 2012, 10:53 AM)
I use for playing lots of multi-player games.

When my friends come over, we could just get together and play games together

Try these:
Bump bump
ICE Rage
multiponk
Bop it
GameRoom
wheel of fortune
OSMOS HD
Foosball HD
Flight Control HD
FIFA
Metal Slug
Air Hockey
Air Dogs
Blokus
Pictureka / Time Geeks

Thats pretty much what I can remember on top of my head.
Also some single-player games work great on the iPad that aren't on other platforms...
Metal Slug have multiplayer?

Are you referring to Metal Slug 3?

humaizyharmy
post Sep 8 2012, 07:24 PM

92 posts

i use my ipad for meetings and discussions at the office, read ebooks on my bed, keep my kids occupied in the car, taking notes on Evernotes (love it)

its a good travel companion, you can fill it up with movies and games..

but not for taking pic/video.. eee look silly holding ipad taking picture.. yuck..

jumpstat
post Oct 1 2012, 02:22 PM

1,352 posts

My usage of iPad2 are as follows:-

a) Games
b) Surfing
c) forums
4) emails
5) meetings/notes/schedules
6) videos

and the best is that I can use it in the toilet.....heheheh
BlackWoods
post Oct 5 2012, 04:49 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

Gaming and surfing web most of the time.
Facetime occasionally with family oversea.
ben_ang
post Nov 10 2012, 09:01 AM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

mostly using for

1. facebook anywhere brows.gif
2. surfing
3. watch youtube
4. read ebooks/manga/magazine
5. just found new use, streaming frm PPS preview anime

ipad3 isnt tat light, but still portable to bring anywhere..

hafiez
post Nov 10 2012, 01:09 PM

2,980 posts

work and presentation.

gaming while waiting clients.
Tookia
post Nov 10 2012, 06:39 PM

290 posts

While touring Japan, used my ipad2 to check emails, chat via Skype/gtalk with friends, read ebooks and pdf magazines, read local news via Safari, read latest itech news via Flipboard, took occasional picture with the camera to post in my Facebook
jasontyh
post Nov 18 2012, 09:31 AM

my ipad 1 almost obsolete. put in da car, coz i dun have DVD player
kokokranc
post Nov 18 2012, 11:09 PM

223 posts

mostly for SexTime FaceTime

and typing MoM.
nd3527
post Nov 18 2012, 11:28 PM