General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

emperor_kiva
post Jan 25 2012, 03:59 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 9 2012, 03:06 AM)
Hi guys! an actual japanese blog translator here =v=b I dunno if u guys know about morning musume, but i translate Takahashi Ai chans blog.

anyway, i had no formal classes whatsoever. dun like to read on books. but just a few tip on learning nihongo.

please google tae kim grammar guide on japanese. the best grammar-based site to learn. also for maggie's japanese lessons, quite a laidback way to learn, they teach u stuff like everyday usual conversation which are pretty much more appealing than just simple -masu stem verbs.. also, like anyone wud do, please try to brush up ur japanese by watching animes/dramas etc.

got questions please feel free to pm me biggrin.gif
Sent you a pm, thx for the links smile.gif

Anyways, hi guys, 'm just starting out learning kanji on my own and i realized its one thing to remember a character's single meaning and another to remember the meaning in an actual word. How do i get about learning this?

For eg, I learned the kanji 火 which is fire. can be pronouned with か (on) and ひ (kun)。 But, when used in a whole word like, 火傷 (burn/scald) it becomes やけど.

So how should i deal with this? Memorise the 2000+ jouyo kanji and then slowly memorise every common word that uses the kanji or pick up the words as i go along? There's no alternative besides memorizing here, as far as i can see. haha. Pretty stressful for me.

Tips and help will be much appreciated from the sifus here notworthy.gif

0.0148sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:54 AM