General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

TSOM
post May 6 2015, 05:58 AM

2,145 posts

日本語の本「元気」はいくらですか。
TSOM
post Jun 17 2016, 01:45 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Lyu @ Jun 15 2016, 02:35 PM)
Last post a month ago?

Teach me construct sentence

"She doesn't like me to talk to other women"
In my limited Japanese, 彼女は僕が他の女と話すのが嫌いです。
TSOM
post Jun 23 2016, 04:38 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(XPAWNED01 @ Jun 22 2016, 08:46 PM)
Decide your mind first.
If you want to study or work in Japan (or work in Japanese based company in Malaysia) you need those certs but if you just want to enjoy entertainment, just study the language leisurely without having to stress your head out.

how long have you learned japanese in order to reach this level??
have you lived in japan before?
TSOM
post Jun 23 2016, 04:45 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(eunhyuk9090 @ Jun 22 2016, 05:22 PM)
hey wanna ask, i want to learn japanese for fun but should i take jlpt? ofc there's no req to take it but idk, maybe one day... jobs that utilise japanese language... hehe
if learn for fun, then no need JLPT. What for? If you want to test your own progress, just do a sample paper. If you pass, then you know you're as good.

Anyway, JLPT is not a good gauge for fluency. It doesn't test speaking and writing.
TSOM
post Jun 24 2016, 05:02 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(XPAWNED01 @ Jun 23 2016, 11:22 PM)
lived in tak pernah, backpacking pernah.
4 years of translating Japanese cartoons.
also no formal education/courses in japanese language? then how you acquire the skills?? rclxub.gif

good lah... next time when I don't understand a phrase, I can ask you. tongue.gif
TSOM
post Jul 7 2016, 02:54 PM

2,145 posts

みなさん、最近何をしましたか。
TSOM
post Jul 17 2016, 08:41 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(XPAWNED01 @ Jul 12 2016, 09:34 PM)
monolog seorang diri
そうですね。でも、ちょっとかわいそうです。〜笑
TSOM
post Jul 26 2016, 02:33 PM

2,145 posts

最近、勉強するのモチベーションがない。どうしよう?
TSOM
post Nov 26 2016, 04:26 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Nov 22 2016, 08:56 PM)
おかあさんはなすきです。(Mother likes flower)

2) Based on the sentence above, is it okay if i were to simply write any sentence based on the model above, which is Subject-Object-Verb?? Like, if in English, it's He reads book, but in japanese it is "He book reads".. Is it alright??

おかあさんははながすきです。

particle が must be used when expressing the idea of liking smtg.
TSOM
post Nov 28 2016, 05:54 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Nov 27 2016, 10:32 PM)
が, but why not を?? isn't を is used as object marking particles, especially when in this case the object is はな, regardless of whether it's an act of liking or not?

btw, can you tell me where/which website that you gain access to in order  to learn japanese?? i wanna learn japanese as my long term activity
I recommend using books, either Genki series or Minna no nihongo series. There are e-books you can download online.

'like' is a verb in English but in Japanese, it's an (な) adjective. So it doesn't take an object.
すしをたべる。I eat sushi.
きみが好きだ。 I like you.
はながきれいだ。flower is beautiful.

This post has been edited by TSOM: Nov 28 2016, 05:54 AM
TSOM
post Nov 30 2016, 07:18 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Nov 29 2016, 08:38 PM)
thank you soo much 4 the links, really appreciate it notworthy.gif
got e-book version also meh???? shocking.gif walauweh I'm so late into the game

btw how did you learn for kanji ? most online resources point towards WaniKani being a reliable kanji online website for learning kanji, have you tried it before?
I've never used that wanikanji.... just use the kanji exercise at the end of the Genki book. As with most foreigners, as long as can type and read, it's ok. As for writing, just know how to write the basic.

I only practise writing using the first two Genki books. When advancing to intermediate, no longer practise writing kanji. tongue.gif
TSOM
post Dec 11 2016, 08:07 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ Dec 11 2016, 04:47 PM)
What is the difference between 受けました and うけてきました? hmm.gif
受けました = received
受けてきました = have received

look up 〜てくる and 〜ていく form.

sometimes it's hard to translate. You just have to accept that certain grammar points don't exist in other languages.
TSOM
post Dec 11 2016, 08:27 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Dec 5 2016, 09:41 AM)
how you able to consistently study over a long period of time? in other words, what motivates you to keep on learning japanese language? unsure.gif

my concurrent problem is that i reckon i lack tangible rewards/motivations/goals to be able to keep me pushing my japanese language in the long run.. i never have a japanese friends, i do watch a little bit of J-drama but i think i need more than that in order to push me to learn japanese language, i never been to japan before etc... i realise that if i lack concrete aims or goals to motivate me in learning japanese, i will lack motivation to keep my drive going lol, so yeah it'd be great if any of you can shed some info revolving this matter sweat.gif
QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Dec 10 2016, 02:48 PM)
i think learning Japanese for me is something like a soul-searching journey... haven't had any single concrete answer to it, it just clicked. it started off as a mild hobby and now with significant time and effort invested into it, I'd like to see how far can i go in the long run..
well, everyone has a different goal and it depends on how much you desire it.

Watch more Jvloggers and J-youtubers. They share so many things about Japan and you'll be interested in it. If you get more interest to visit the country, you'll be motivated to learn it.

Honestly, if you're not in the country, it's a bit difficult. Language learning is the easiest & fastest for those who are in the country/ planning to move to the country.
TSOM
post Dec 15 2016, 09:13 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ Dec 11 2016, 08:40 PM)
Thank you! Will check out those two forms that you've mentioned. blush.gif

Anyway, hopefully I'll be able to pass my JLPT N4 exams.. innocent.gif
eh?? I thought it was in the beginning of Dec??
TSOM
post Dec 16 2016, 06:41 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ Dec 16 2016, 06:08 PM)
I sat for it on that time lah... don't tell me there are other times where I can sit for the test.. sweat.gif
I know you can sit for it in 1st week of July or 1st week of December, anyways.
well, to pass it shouldn't be too difficult.

if you want top scores in all sections, that may be more difficult.
TSOM
post Feb 2 2017, 08:12 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ Dec 16 2016, 06:08 PM)
I sat for it on that time lah... don't tell me there are other times where I can sit for the test.. sweat.gif
I know you can sit for it in 1st week of July or 1st week of December, anyways.
so what result you got??

price for the test??
TSOM
post Aug 25 2017, 01:49 PM

2,145 posts

Lyu do we have Learn Korean thread here??
TSOM
post Aug 28 2017, 03:38 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Lyu @ Aug 25 2017, 02:17 PM)
No... been searching for it but no...
So u gonna create 1?
but I don't know any korean nor any good learning resources. sad.gif

and even if we were to create one, where would be located??? I think there should be a subforum for language learning.

0.0589sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:05 PM