Official Clevo/Sager Discussion Thread v4, Update with new 2013 lineup

h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 01:25 PM

2,114 posts

to all the sifus out here, i want to upgrade the bios of my laptop, i bought my sager/unbranded laptop from prince j last year. Obviously i ordered a Sager but i got a unbranded unit from him, which is fine as long as the spec is the same, so I didn't make a big fuss about it.

now that i wanted to upgrade my bios, obviously I seek advice from the person that i bought the laptop from, which is Prince J and asking him whether my laptop is a sager/ unbranded clevo, so i can download the appropriate bios for my laptop. He sent me a Sager bios throught email, yet each time he emphasize that if my laptop doesn't work after flashing this bios, they take no responsibilities, obviously I'm skeptical so i seek clarification from him.

[attachmentid=2942830]

from the above ss, he said that flashing bios doesn't relate to whether your laptop is a sager or clevo. But from the research i did, it is better if you flash only sager bios on a sager laptop and vice versa.

The point of my post is i think i deserve a better customer service and if let's say i buy a laptop from xoticpc, I am sure they will have no trouble helping me locate the bios and giving me the confidence, rather than shooting me a sager bios and say if you bricked your laptop, it is not our problem.

I need sifu's help from this forum regarding this problem.

h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 02:25 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 12 2012, 01:04 PM)
Dear h11g,

Your laptop isn't an unbranded machine, it's a Sager laptop. Even though the logo is taken off from the back cover, it's still a Sager laptop. Just like the option we put on illegear.com, even though customer take off the logo they are still Sager laptops.

I apologize if the email gave you no confidence to flash your BIOS. FYI, the email isn't send by illegear personnel. We did submit your inquiry to Sager and that's the reply from them, we'd just forwarded their email to you. You can definitely expect that flashing BIOS isn't warranted by manufacturer, that's common practice of Sager.

We also asked you about whether you see any "style note" logo during the POST and that can help us/Sager to locate the correct BIOS, but it's unlike what you're saying here.

Lastly, we apologize if our email seems to be "shooting you a Sager BIOS without trying to locate the correct BIOS"

Thank you.
oh so now you are saying that Sager replied my email and you have nothing to do with it? Then what's your role as a reseller? just to sell? what about after sales service?

If you wanna argue with me regarding it is still a Sager laptop, fact is there is nothing on my laptop that says it is a Sager laptop, so eventhough customer take off the logo? what are you trying to say? When you buy a Nike shoe, there is a Nike logo, same for Adidas, Samsung or whatever you are buying.

Do you agree? fact is i ordered a Sager laptop and there is no Sager logo anywhere within 10 feet of that laptop.

I am not trying to create any hard feelings, I just need the public to know resolve my problem, and get on with it.

And how illegear is as a reseller. Hope that gives confidence to future buyers. I guess my thought of supporting local businesses is wrong. It is always better buying from overseas. Lesson learnt. Nuff said
h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 02:40 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 12 2012, 01:33 PM)
We do the leg job between you and Sager, just like any other Sager resellers, for example Xoticpc you'd mentioned.

Back to topic, in this case we don't see why we should liable for BIOS flashing which is even not warranted by Sager. If other Sager resellers can warrant BIOS flashing, I would also suggest you to get from them.
I'm not saying you should be liable for BIOS flashing, but you mentioned flashing BIOS has NOTHING to do with Sager/clevo branding. Get your facts right

I bought the laptop from you, all I'm asking is to confirmed whether mine is a Sager or Clevo. You can't even be sure of the product you are selling. So i guess you are right, you are just doing the leg jobperiod. That's all you do.

Also can you provide me the email of Sager's techinical department? I guess it is better i get confirmation from them since you are just doing "leg job".
h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 03:24 PM

2,114 posts

Bro this is where it gets confusing. Attached is the proof that you think it uses Clevo BIOS. but from the above SS i posted you said it's a Sager laptop and have Sager warranty.

[attachmentid=2943017]

All these is confusing and it doesn't help with the replies that I'm getting from you.

Anyways i just emailed sager technical support and hope i get a speedy resolution.

Just to get a 2nd opinion from sifu here the BIOS version that i saw when i booted into BIOS was V2.10.1208 "Aptio Setup Utility- American Megatrends INC.
h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 03:53 PM

2,114 posts

yes i accept your apology that you mixed up customer details. my order number is #228

my other question is since you mixed up customers details, what if i proceed to flashing BIOS and bricked my laptop? So who is responsible? Is it me? Or is it because you mixed up with other customers and provided me a faulty BIOS? Are you just gonna apologized like how you do now?

anyways i found something more bizarre, on the latest PM i posted Prince J said he sold me 100% Sager laptop and have Sager warranty. i took this pic of the back of my laptop. It says Clevo on the sticker.

[attachmentid=2943060]

h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 04:19 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 12 2012, 03:09 PM)
Hi h11g,

Thank you for uploading the picture. Every Sager laptop (with or without Sager logo) has that sticker too.

You can ask Sager about how they are gonna deal with your issue, if they agree to cover you up when you brick your laptop by flashing the BIOS they sent to you, we can also provide 2 way US shipment to have your laptop replaced.
I think you don't understand my question. You mixed up your customers, and you apologized. Fine with me. And your colleagues sent me an email that contained a BIOS, what if because of mixing up between customers you sent me a wrong BIOS, what will you do?

I am sure your future or potential customers wants to hear from you regarding this. Will you just apologized and move on?

You don't have to divert the attention to Sager Notebooks every single time, because I am sure it is not them who mixed up the customers profile.

h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 05:11 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jul 12 2012, 04:00 PM)
Well it seems a bit confusion here, let me explain in total.

At first when you dropped me a pm and I totally didn't remember which customer you are so I said I "personally" think it's a Clevo BIOS.

But I actually replied your inquiry last year that your laptop is a Sager laptop, but we didn't expect you would ask the same question again. If you are free you can go back V3 thread and check that, the reply's still there if I am not mistaken.

Sorry if I couldn't remember you, there are at least 4 different ppl drop me a pm everyday.

We emailed Sager a few times and they claimed that your unit is a Sager unit, they sent us a BIOS which is dedicated to your laptop, that's why we suddenly remembered you and claimed that's Sager laptop afterwards.

Every support email we sent to Sager contains the serial number of your machine, you won't go wrong with that, nor installing the BIOS of other customers. We did ask your serial number in pm, right?

Well this isn't related to the issue, in my opinion Sager determines your BIOS with the style note logo.
thanks for clarifying things. so every sager laptop that have either the style note logo/sager logo is confirmed to be a sager laptop correct?

so the bios your colleague sent me is indeed the bios that is tailored to the laptop i purchased correct?

so with the serial number i provided, Sager themselves confirmed that mine is indeed a Sager laptop?

I just want to be sure. I don't want to flash things blindly and ended up having a bricked laptop. And the confusion created from your part didn't help either.
h11g
post Jul 12 2012, 05:22 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jul 12 2012, 04:15 PM)
I speak from my experience.

My flashed the bios on my Sager 8170. It does have a "Style Note" logo.
The bios is from the manufacturer, Clevo. So, I think it's normal to have "Style Note" logo.

Where did I get the bios?
I got the bios from the vendor and the vendor got it from Sager.
You can liaise directly with Sager but you need the order number.
Sager can trace your notebook model and the right bios based on the order number.
I don't see any issues if you got the right bios.
Anyway, let's be fair, Sager doesn't give you warranty if you had a bad bios flash. It applies to all motherboard as well.

About the Sager logo, I think it should have a Sager logo unless you bought a barebone with no logo (like what soudsyst64 bought).
thanks for chipping in with your experience.

in this case my vendor is illegear, so i just want them to confirmed which laptop did they sell me, if i can get a confirmation even i bricked my laptop i will not blame anyone. but bricking my laptop because my vendor can't confirmed which laptop they supply me with is plainly stupid.

i bought a Sager laptop from illegear but i got a barebone with no logo like what soundsyst64 got.

h11g
post Jul 14 2012, 04:54 PM

2,114 posts

unfortunately for our model yeah...

anyways im interested to know what mouse you guys paired with your sager?
h11g
post Jul 14 2012, 09:13 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(leonardtan2 @ Jul 14 2012, 05:04 PM)
Logitech Mx 510. Is a good mouse n my first ever gaming mouse if u can call that... Smooth n responsive. Y the question ? smile.gif
because I've tried two mice already and both failed me within months.one is Logitech and the other one a targus. both are retractable type.

don't know what other mouse to get.
h11g
post Jul 15 2012, 10:34 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 14 2012, 08:37 PM)
razer ftw!lol

im been using deathadder for 4 years and still running well
The think is I'm always moving my laptop on a daily basis... So I prefer retractable type that can be stored easily. Hate to have to tidy up the cable every single day.
h11g
post Jul 16 2012, 11:14 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Jul 16 2012, 06:19 AM)
how about a wireless one?
yeah if we're talking about wireless ones, which will you recommend?
h11g
post Jul 16 2012, 12:48 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Jul 16 2012, 10:19 AM)
standard logitech wireless mouse would do, and use rechargeable battery. smile.gif
thanks for recommendation.

Added on July 16, 2012, 12:55 pmbtw is the bluetooth mouse any good? or we should go for the standard wireless running on ghz band?

This post has been edited by h11g: Jul 16 2012, 12:55 PM
h11g
post Jul 16 2012, 01:15 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Jul 16 2012, 12:02 PM)
i used to got 2 bluetooth mouse. its good, save USB port.

i dont know more about brand, i think logitech is reliable, JUST DONT BUY MICROSOFT MOUSE!

i got 2 microsoft mouse, wired n bluetooth, scroll wheel broke for both of them in less then a year time  doh.gif
ive never tried bluetooth mouse before, looks like I'm going to try it for the first time. Hope it can last me a few years.

Any of you have experienced with Logitech M555b ?
h11g
post Jul 16 2012, 05:26 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 16 2012, 01:54 PM)
razer wireless mouse brows.gif

anyway,i so tempting to get dell 24" led now sad.gif
only $274
yeah yeah, im eyeing the razer orochi and the kobuta soft-surface. looks like a good combo, but the price is steep~! mad.gif

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 16 2012, 02:38 PM)
but dell led looks sharper compare to samsung and its IPS
bro it is a good deal man, when i got my dell 24" ips i paid rm1500. but once you see the dell screen you won't regret.

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jul 16 2012, 03:35 PM)
Im pairing my current laptop with roccat wireless gaming mouse. Its rechargeable via usb. Usually i use it with the wired attached when im gaming or working so i dont have to worry about the battery life but it does come in handy when you are moving around and require a wireless mouse.
bro the rechargeable battery seems interesting. how much did you pay for yours?

Added on July 16, 2012, 5:30 pmwow just checked out the roccat pyra wireless you are talking about, looks very nice, very tempted and the price is like almost half of razer orochi~!

This post has been edited by h11g: Jul 16 2012, 05:30 PM
h11g
post Jul 16 2012, 09:40 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jul 16 2012, 06:32 PM)
Yeah its quite a value buy. I think i bought it at around 180. Compare to razer, the downside is that pyra is unable to connect via wired. The usb wired is only for charging so when hooking up with usb to charge you will be utilizing 2 USB port as one is for the wireless receiver and another for charging. Other than that im quite satisfied. But if you are doing fps game alot i would suggest orochi as wireless cannot beat wired in term of responsiveness, i also switch back to my old razer for fps gaming  sweat.gif
thanks for the review... I don't do a lot of fps... I'm only playing Diablo 3 now. and I found a sweet deal, pyra bundle with sense only for 169. very tempted to pull the trigger!!!
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 16 2012, 07:16 PM)
i duno.im very fuzzy with display quality.i like vivid color in full hd display  drool.gif
how was the monitor compare to others? looks good in movie and game? it's matte right?

anyway, you should get razer mamba brows.gif
yes the screen is matte, very good in movies and gaming. viewing angle is superb too. I do think Dell has one of the best screens.

mamba any good? is wired right?
h11g
post Jul 23 2012, 05:27 PM

2,114 posts

just intalled crucial m4 on my laptop, loving it. it flies now
h11g
post Jul 25 2012, 05:55 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 25 2012, 04:34 PM)
how do you feel with shut down?not much difference right?>
very big difference also, both shut down and start up~! loving this ssd.
h11g
post Jul 26 2012, 12:44 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 25 2012, 05:47 PM)
mine not much for shut down
but I did a clean install of Windows, so probably that help. you should try reformat and see.shutdown time for me is faster than boot up
h11g
post Dec 24 2012, 12:19 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Dec 23 2012, 11:29 AM)
Oh. it is due to the fan size limitation? What is the price for 180W power supply and 580M GPU then? Also, if I change to AMD, do you know what version is supported for NP8130 ? 6990 M? I want to do a data comparison between the GPUs first hehe.
let me know after you've done your comparison bro. Im on a NP8130 as well. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Dec 24 2012, 08:48 AM)
That depends on how very careful you are on using the laptop.
My laptop still going strong after almost 2 years of usage (Except LAN ports which burned during sudden thunder strike) smile.gif
Mine going strong after 1 year, and always on wifi so no risk of thunder striking my lan port. smile.gif

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Dec 24 2012, 11:01 AM)
Dude. Gaming in battery mode is not recommended. It doesn't give enough juice. It makes your frame-per-second in game lower. There's no high-end gaming laptop that has longer battery life.

If you want to play game, it is recommended to use power adapter.
+1 i tried diablo 3 on battery and it lags badly. for gaming you must plug in your brick.

0.0313sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:55 AM