turning on subtitles for sony 42' LED tv, playback using HDD

TSabafamny_90
post Jun 30 2012, 05:18 PM, updated 14y ago

86 posts

i just bought a sony klv42ex410 LED TV and i'd like to turn on the subtitles for my usb devices (using HDD atm). On the computer we usually use .srt right? so how to turn it on for the tv? or is the tv incapable of doing so? plz help. tq.
V3nz
post Jun 30 2012, 05:28 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

just put the same name for both subtitle and movie? hmm.gif
TSabafamny_90
post Jun 30 2012, 06:05 PM

86 posts

not working...anyting else? any sony led tv users here?
Hilmax
post Jun 30 2012, 08:46 PM

4,042 posts

QUOTE(abafamny_90 @ Jun 30 2012, 05:18 PM)
i just bought a sony klv42ex410 LED TV and i'd like to turn on the subtitles for my usb devices (using HDD atm). On the computer we usually use .srt right? so how to turn it on for the tv? or is the tv incapable of doing so? plz help. tq.
You play using what? From TV unit itself?
winter01942
post Jun 30 2012, 09:36 PM

Rating 5/5
857 posts

I think you have to do some research online...

DIfferent models use have different solutions....

Or just merge the subtitles into the movie itself....
TSabafamny_90
post Jun 30 2012, 11:33 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Hilmax @ Jun 30 2012, 08:46 PM)
You play using what? From TV unit itself?
yep.using tv itself

QUOTE(winter01942 @ Jun 30 2012, 09:36 PM)
I think you have to do some research online...

DIfferent models use have different solutions....

Or just merge the subtitles into the movie itself....
sure,i've searched online. no avail. i dun wana hard sub anything...
lampor
post Jul 1 2012, 12:03 AM

I have bought the same TV... (klv42ex410) few months ago...
also have same problem...

I did ask sony customer services, but, that person only said that TV only support certain format of subtitle. When I ask them what format of subtitle that the TV can support (by sending a ticket through sony website) , he said he don't know (he call me)... what a very poor customer service. if just to say don't know, don't have to call me laaaa... just wasting my time picking up the phone...

Why don't you try sending them a ticket... Hopefully the person that replying your ticket know the answer... I do send 2nd ticket (and also send message vis FB) , but there are no reply at all.

lampor
post Jul 1 2012, 12:06 AM

I also get this email... I think this is just a Joke from him...

Added on July 1, 2012, 12:10 amreally really need someone to help me to sort this problem...
If I know this will happen to my TV, I SWEAR, I WILL NEVER EVER BOUGHT THAT TV

This post has been edited by lampor: Jul 1 2012, 12:10 AM

TSabafamny_90
post Jul 1 2012, 12:28 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(lampor @ Jul 1 2012, 12:06 AM)
I also get this email...  I think this is just a Joke from him...

Added on July 1, 2012, 12:10 amreally really need someone to help me to sort this problem...
thx lampor.ur very helpful...well d email reply is quite a joke! then wut did u reply?
dma0991
post Jul 1 2012, 12:34 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

Barely readable, not sure why is he hired as a manager in the first place. Well done Sony, well done. user posted image

I'm not their rep but I think the likelihood of it supporting subtitle files are slim. Having a subtitle file will often be associated with the fact that it is pirated in one way or another. Subtitles do come with movies but they do come with protected media like Bluray. If you were to play .srt files, it should have the same name and same directory as the file you're watching on a PC. TVs these days aren't as capable as PCs just yet, and their capabilities of reading certain file formats are therefore limited as well.

I would suggest that you skip with all the all in one stuff and make yourself a HTPC. It works a whole lot better and you could do more, just like you would with a PC with a 42" screen.
diaBoliQu3
post Jul 1 2012, 12:40 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(lampor @ Jul 1 2012, 12:03 AM)
I have bought the same TV... (klv42ex410) few months ago...
also have same problem...

I did ask sony customer services, but, that person only said that TV only support certain format of subtitle. When I ask them what format of subtitle that the TV can support (by sending a ticket through sony website) , he said he don't know (he call me)... what a very poor customer service. if just to say don't know, don't have to call me laaaa... just wasting my time picking up the phone...

Why don't you try sending them a ticket... Hopefully the person that replying your ticket know the answer... I do send 2nd ticket (and also send message vis FB) , but there are no reply at all.

At least they call or email you guys though they didn't know what to answer. But it's funny tho. doh.gif Good customer support but poor technical support. At least the email guy tell you what kind of sub is supported. Maybe you can ask him again?
TSabafamny_90
post Jul 1 2012, 12:47 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:34 AM)
Barely readable, not sure why is he hired as a manager in the first place. Well done Sony, well done. user posted image

I'm not their rep but I think the likelihood of it supporting subtitle files are slim. Having a subtitle file will often be associated with the fact that it is pirated in one way or another. Subtitles do come with movies but they do come with protected media like Bluray. If you were to play .srt files, it should have the same name and same directory as the file you're watching on a PC. TVs these days aren't as capable as PCs just yet, and their capabilities of reading certain file formats are therefore limited as well.

I would suggest that you skip with all the all in one stuff and make yourself a HTPC. It works a whole lot better and you could do more, just like you would with a PC with a 42" screen.
i already bought d tv lol.

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:40 AM)
At least they call or email you guys though they didn't know what to answer. But it's funny tho. doh.gif  Good customer support but poor technical support. At least the email guy tell you what kind of sub is supported. Maybe you can ask him again?
yeah,ur right good customer but bad technical support...
dma0991
post Jul 1 2012, 12:51 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(abafamny_90 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:47 AM)
i already bought d tv lol.
I'm aware of that. What I'm suggesting is just a workaround on this matter which gives you more options as well in the long run. HTPCs ain't expensive, you can build one for about RM500-1000.
Interlude
post Jul 1 2012, 04:23 AM

476 posts

From my experience , movie file with avi should be no problem, just make sure .srt should be the same with .avi exampla Spiderman.avi Spiderman.srt. but if that file is mkv or flv sometimes if u try the same method the srt wont be able to appear on the screen. Thats what happen to me. But i dont know why.. but AVI should be no problem.
TSabafamny_90
post Jul 1 2012, 03:10 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(dma0991 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:51 AM)
I'm aware of that. What I'm suggesting is just a workaround on this matter which gives you more options as well in the long run. HTPCs ain't expensive, you can build one for about RM500-1000.
haha.sori for misunderstanding...thx for ur advice nod.gif

QUOTE(Interlude @ Jul 1 2012, 04:23 AM)
From my experience , movie file with avi should be no problem, just make sure .srt should be the same with .avi exampla Spiderman.avi Spiderman.srt. but if that file is mkv or flv sometimes if u try the same method the  srt wont be able to appear on the screen. Thats what happen to me. But i dont know why.. but AVI should be no problem.
i see.err,i havent encountered 1080p stuff with .avi formats,only mkv...so how? sori noob.btw,wut tv u using?
diaBoliQu3
post Jul 1 2012, 04:10 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(abafamny_90 @ Jul 1 2012, 03:10 PM)
haha.sori for misunderstanding...thx for ur advice  nod.gif
i see.err,i havent encountered 1080p stuff with .avi formats,only mkv...so how? sori noob.btw,wut tv u using?
Try to format to avi first and insert subtitle to the converted video. Or if the TV can load the .srt file with .avi, I guess no need to insert subtitle during conversion. Google for Format Factory. It's freeware and easy to use. Good luck mate.
lampor
post Jul 1 2012, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:40 AM)
At least they call or email you guys though they didn't know what to answer. But it's funny tho. doh.gif  Good customer support but poor technical support. At least the email guy tell you what kind of sub is supported. Maybe you can ask him again?
I do ask again, but for d 2nd time, no answer until now...

Added on July 1, 2012, 10:55 pmLooks like I have to build a HTPC also.... hmmmmm.... sad.gif
But, in order to play HD movie, that HTPC needs a good graphic card rite?
How much the price for cheapest graphic card that can support HD movie?

This post has been edited by lampor: Jul 1 2012, 10:55 PM
dma0991
post Jul 1 2012, 11:00 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(lampor @ Jul 1 2012, 10:51 PM)
I do ask again, but for d 2nd time, no answer until now...

Added on July 1, 2012, 10:55 pmLooks like I have to build a HTPC also.... hmmmmm.... sad.gif
But, in order to play HD movie, that HTPC needs a good graphic card rite?
How much the price for cheapest graphic card that can support HD movie?
You don't need a good GPU to play movies. If normal method, a cheap dual core Intel G620 gets the job done. If you want the GPU to do the video anyways, a cheap low end half height GPU gets the job done and need to install proper codecs to enable DXVA.
diaBoliQu3
post Jul 2 2012, 12:10 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

IGPU will be enough. The most important is the codec. I suggest you install K-Lite Mega Codec. Never let me down on slow pc or laptop. For high end cpu and gpu, go for SVP@Smooth Video Project.
lampor
post Jul 2 2012, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Jul 2 2012, 12:10 AM)
IGPU will be enough. The most important is the codec. I suggest you install K-Lite Mega Codec. Never let me down on slow pc or laptop. For high end cpu and gpu, go for SVP@Smooth Video Project.
Sorry to ask, maybe it lokks like stupid question, but I really don't know the hardware requirement to play HD movies.
You said slow pc also can, so how about this one:

http://www.mudah.my/Cpu+p4+dell+hp+compaq+...pc-16165039.htm

Only RM99 hehe~
the cheapest PC I ever seen in market. cool2.gif

0.0230sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:36 PM