Hyundai Elantra MD Ver.7, Calling All Elantra Owners & Future Ones

l2k
post Sep 21 2012, 11:45 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(enhanced vehicle @ Sep 21 2012, 05:30 PM)
Not many brands offer 5w30 locally, hence you have limited choices...

Furthermore, it is increasingly important to use better or higher quality engine oil if we are going for lower viscosity grade, such as 5w30.... You have even less number of choices....

Now, how do you tell it is good?

First- You read their specification/datasheet and try to find out what standards they meet....

Many lubricant companies, including those very famous one would tell you that they meet certain spec and standards.... but there is no third party standard body to support the claim, you just have to believe what the marketers tell you what they have, your purchase will base solely on your faith.

Second- you look for engine oil that has proper certification from independent third party standard bodies, such as API, ILSAC, GM Dexos, JASO, Honda HTO-06 and etc...

Hope these links would help:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Enhanced-Lub...480458618632696

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.4...18632696&type=3

Thanks for your info. I am also researching on the engine oil. wink.gif Will still stick with SC engine oil since 2nd service is free of labour charge. Will try helix ultra. If outcome is not promising, will bring my own oil next time.

Added on September 21, 2012, 11:57 pm
QUOTE(tony @ Sep 21 2012, 06:57 PM)
Not sure full tank how many litres, some said 45, some said 48L. I always pump the petrol after the fuel light start blinking. FC always display 10.9L
Mostly I drive at heavy traffic hour at Island. Time to work still ok, but lunch time and after working hour is the worst. Imagine i can smoke 3~5 dunhill on the way home from georgetown area to tanjung bungah.
Btw, to me,  drive home after some beers around 2am, open the sunroof and side windows, have some ciggarates is the most enjoying thing i have with this car.
From owner manual it is 48L. BTW, Bro you really know how to enjoy life... drool.gif

This post has been edited by l2k: Sep 21 2012, 11:57 PM
l2k
post Sep 23 2012, 10:47 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(mdadnan @ Sep 23 2012, 08:17 AM)
drool.gif Things that noticed after using 5w30: it's better than 10w40, feel more smooth and very less clancking sound of timing chain in the first starting early morning  icon_rolleyes.gif
I changed to helix ultra yesterday during 2nd service. Same as you, the biggest change I can notice is much smoother cold start, rpm very fast drop to 1k rpm (within 5-10 seconds). While using hx7, it used to be hanging above 1k rpm for quite some time (almost for half a minute). Engine sound also reduce alot especially upon cold start.

Throttle respond lighter and I gain back my original power (when using hx7, can feel that engine is heavier) rclxms.gif By the way, I also requested SC to flush engine oil before changing. Conclusion, hx7 is really a crappy oil... vmad.gif
l2k
post Sep 23 2012, 03:51 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(xstatic @ Sep 23 2012, 10:30 AM)
What do you think my queue number 2843 is for? I booked mine on 14th July 2012 and you booked yours on 22nd July 2012...does it make sense if its for 1.8 creamy white?

Didnt i say i just called customer service??? Who do you think would have told me the delivery is expected to be in dec??

Added on September 23, 2012, 10:37 am

Bro, service centre uses 10w40? If yes, wont it void the warranty?
just to clarify, sc only has 2 oils to choose, shell helix hx7 (10w-40) and helix ultra (5w-40). normally my sc will recommend hx7 due to 3 months or 5k service interval. It wont void warranty as shell is the"official oil". There is a new hx7-e 5w-30 though but my sc doesn't have stock. Eventually I opted for ultra as fully synthetic can retain oil viscosity better and has better sludge cleansing power than semi.
l2k
post Sep 23 2012, 05:01 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(tony @ Sep 23 2012, 04:46 PM)
bro..our service interval is 1k, 5k then 10k right ?

i used helix ultra at 5k service (odo read 5k+) and i just noticed they written on service sticker, next service is 10k+, it should be 15k+ or 6 months right ?
My SC wrote on the sticker that my next service is either 15k or within next 3 months, my SC don't really allow 6 months interval, I was in a rush so I didn't negotiate but blush.gif I will negotiate and see if they allow 6 months service interval next time when near 3rd service. Guess I it's my choice to fork out more vitamin M for optimum performance tongue.gif
l2k
post Sep 23 2012, 08:03 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 23 2012, 06:15 PM)
I think they force you to do service every 5k so they can earn from maintenance.
Just a correction bro, they force me to do maintenance every 3 months, but allow 10k milleage. I am not a sales guy and this is my balik kampung and mostly weekend car, 99% I won't be hitting 10k mileage in 3 months.
l2k
post Sep 25 2012, 05:09 PM

13 posts

I service at Kah Bintang Pg, for me, their service is very good. I requested them to lubricate my side door due to occasionally slight vibration sound, but they ended up lubricate all 4 doors. The service advisor subsequently told me if I detected the sound again, just come and they will open up the door and see. This kind of service is much better to some 'H' brand SC which always use the phrase "this is normal". They also don't simply add in extra stuff like oil flushing without getting customer agreement.

Ultimately, it will depend on which SC you go to service.

This post has been edited by l2k: Sep 25 2012, 05:11 PM
l2k
post Sep 25 2012, 11:26 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 25 2012, 10:02 PM)
no body answer my q previously. i just got to know that mazda provide 3 years free maintenance to its car. what about elantra? got such offer?
Elantra free 1k and 5k labour charge only.
l2k
post Sep 29 2012, 01:42 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(caspertan @ Sep 29 2012, 12:41 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I'm a newbie and an interested future buyer for the HE. It looks damn nice and sexy. Just want to get some info from professionals.

1) Would you guys recommend 1.6 High Spec or 1.8 Premium? I'm in a dilemma. I'm only interested in the GPS, rear camera or Bluetooth in the 1.8 Premium. Is it possible to just install those stuffs. The rest I don't think it's practical for me, reason as one of the sifu had mentioned.

2) Any good dealers/SA/branch to recommend in Johor Bahru? biggrin.gif
I only can answer no 1. There is 1 thing that is practical which is missing in 1.6 HS is the auto cruise. Other things like auto aircond, nappa lether, electric seat and sunroof are luxurious items that I really enjoy, but most of the people can live without them. Ultimately it depends on your own budget, whether you use it for city only or constant outstation. I found that 1.6 is good enough for city drive, but I chose 1.8 as I always travel back hometown, so I opt for the more powerful variant.

As I know, there are owners who install the 1.8 AVN unit on the 1.6.
l2k
post Oct 9 2012, 09:41 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Oct 8 2012, 07:35 PM)
Consider very high FC. Abit upset because with new engine design, the FC still cannot compare to CIVIC or ALTIS for city drive. How much you can get (for city driving) after 1K Service maintenance? Anyone can share?

And what is the FC for city drive after 5K and above? Hope the user can share with me.
I have done 5k and 2nd service. Just pumped full tank, used 2 bars, computer showing 8L/100km with average speed 35kmh, Penang full city drive. It is still too early to tell but I believe there is some improvement.

I think our elantra is comparable to Civic 8th gen which average 10L/100km in Penang city drive. 9th gen maybe improve abit. However, it is true that Altis DVVTI + cvt is above all.

0.0426sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:47 AM