Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

yolk
post Aug 9 2012, 08:45 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 9 2012, 08:31 AM)
rclxms.gif exactly same with me...I only left out haven't done the Tablet UI thing...mind to share with us? icon_idea.gif
_________________________________________________________________________________________
do you get it from here?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1780970
As mtxx has mentioned just download and install romtoolbox and you'll be able to change dpi via GUI

I use 160 but the keyboard layout is a bit weird. Doesn't matter to me coz I use thumbkeyboard

Added on August 9, 2012, 8:46 am
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 9 2012, 08:26 AM)
Bro can share how u change to tablet UI & dpi the settings?
Just change your dpi via romtoolbox

This post has been edited by yolk: Aug 9 2012, 08:46 AM
yolk
post Aug 9 2012, 11:40 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 9 2012, 09:25 AM)
thats the same keyboard layout in tab10.1.
the stock keyboard for 10inch tablet version.

its weird cos its scaled down to be smaller. haha.
i'm used to this keyboard from previous tablet, so no prob for me laugh.gif
Yeah I know but the major difference is tab 10.1 is used in landscape more than portrait so on the nexus 7 there's so much wasted space especially to switch to numbers/special characters.

Added on August 9, 2012, 11:41 am
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 9 2012, 11:21 AM)
Papago M9 cant get full screen on N7...?
See if anyone got it working on the 7.7" tab cause it got almost the same resolution

This post has been edited by yolk: Aug 9 2012, 11:41 AM
yolk
post Aug 9 2012, 05:10 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 9 2012, 05:05 PM)
updated to 4.1.1 liao...

just those gmail, gallery and etc...sometime swipe half way hang....sometime finish all then hang  rclxub.gif
what apps have you got installed ??
yolk
post Aug 10 2012, 05:11 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 10 2012, 08:56 AM)
Can rooted N7 recieive OTA updades? I think OTA update will loose root. The app Voodoo Root Keeper can save root ?
Yes if you're on stock rom you'll still get OTA updates despite being rooted. You'll lose root though so make sure to backup root with Voodoo Root keeper and once OTA completes just restore root
yolk
post Aug 11 2012, 06:12 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Aug 10 2012, 05:19 PM)
yolk, that first impression link in your signature is yours? Nice job if it is biggrin.gif

I got to try the GNex 7 for a brief moment from someone who went to Google I/O (4.1.1), damn nice one... just wished it had VGA/HDMI support sad.gif Does anyone know of any such accessory(ies) that allow this?
yes it's my review on the Nexus 7, thanks man. There's no support for MHL but Nexus 7 does support uPNP/DLNA so if you have a uPNP/DLNA tv or device you can stream media from the Nexus 7 wirelessly. Not all media is supported yet though.

This post has been edited by yolk: Aug 11 2012, 06:23 AM
yolk
post Aug 11 2012, 11:33 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(juoin @ Aug 11 2012, 09:20 AM)
Right now the home screen is 6x7, app drawer is 4x7 evenly spaced. Fonts are of a nice size too. Not too big and not too small.
Mind posting pic of the app drawer ? Thanks
yolk
post Aug 12 2012, 04:55 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(Senforr @ Aug 11 2012, 05:12 PM)
A quick question, where do u guys buy the USB OTG cable? How does it look like? Can someone post a picture?

Can buy USB otg cable from most computer accessory shop. Its universal. Just make sure you buy the micro USB one and not the one for galaxy tab. You must be rooted to use it on the Nexus 7 though

Added on August 12, 2012, 4:57 am
QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 11 2012, 11:52 PM)
i'm kinda noob here as this is my 1st android device, someone guide me please....should i root or not? still on welcome screen cuz no wifi on my area lols
Keep it stock and enjoy the features android and nexus 7 has to offer. Only root once there's a need for it and you understand how to do it. You won't miss anything that you don't need. Make sure to get your 25 usd credit first though. Can buy lotsa apps and games.

Added on August 12, 2012, 4:59 am
QUOTE(jin_akira @ Aug 12 2012, 04:38 AM)
hey guys i'm getting the Nexus 7, and i was kinda wondering/hoping that it is compatible with a projector cause in my work i use my projector a lot. seeing that the tablet uses a micro-usb, i was wondering if using this adapter (picture below) and a mini-to-micro usb adapter (second line) will make it work.
Nexus 7 doesn't support mhl

This post has been edited by yolk: Aug 12 2012, 04:59 AM
yolk
post Aug 12 2012, 11:51 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(Senforr @ Aug 12 2012, 08:42 AM)
Thanks for the reply on USB OTG. Will go to Lowyat and look for it. Another one is on the Play Store credit. Once I claimed it, can I use it to buy in app purchase? Also, can I use it to buy apps for my phone or just limited for purchases via Nexus 7?
The credit is for use in the play store only AFAIK and not for in app purchases. The credit will be shared with your phone that is registered with the same google account.
yolk
post Aug 13 2012, 01:18 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Aug 13 2012, 12:31 AM)
i thought USB OTG works on N7? so just buy a OTG cable, plug in your thumbdrive, wallaa..
USB OTG only works on N7 if your device is rooted. Doesn't work on stock devices out of the box.
yolk
post Aug 13 2012, 08:08 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(juoin @ Aug 13 2012, 07:27 PM)
I used the deodexer the OP included in the post. I don't remember if it wiped my system cause I did all these once I took my Nexus out of the box. tongue.gif I think it'll be best if you read up more and check which deodexed ROMs wipe and which don't.

Added on August 13, 2012, 7:58 pmJust for reference, this is how my home screen looks like after applying the patch.
do you mind posting a screen shot of the app drawer with the patch installed ? Thanks
yolk
post Aug 14 2012, 06:31 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Aug 14 2012, 04:08 AM)
went into youtube and notices that i got 1 purchase which is Transformers Dark of the Moon by paramount with status paid...

without VPN youtube tells me item n/a

with vpn i can watch the movie..

guess this is the free movie come tith the tab right?
yup it's the free movie that is available in the States
yolk
post Aug 16 2012, 07:34 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 16 2012, 06:04 PM)
Had a really bad day wit the tablet mode. From now on I'll stick to the default phone mode of nexus 7

First I have market issues, solved by clear data of play store and Google service framework. But problem return after a day.

Did the deodex thing n tried the true tablet ui patch.
The home screen was screw up. Widgets size are wrong and icons that have long name will overlap each other. Terrible. Worst than DPI tablet mode.

Now back to phone ui. After some customization, the phone ui looks not bad:-)
were you running 160 dpi ?

yolk
post Aug 17 2012, 08:15 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 16 2012, 07:43 PM)
No, I was at 177. That's the largest value for tablet ui.
I prefer that cos the fonts are bigger.

There is no slowdown, hang, or buggy issues, all apps run fine
Just that some apps, tegra 3 apps to be specific says incompatible in play store. Example dark meadow, dead trigger, nvidia zone.

To fix I need to change back 213 DPI. Clear data for market n Google service framework. Restart and the market is good for tegra3 apps.

After that change back to whatever DPI I like also no problem.
But after a day, it list not compatible again in market, so weird.
Downloaded content still works though, my dead trigger still working fine.

I tried the tablet ui patch, it was horrible, the home screen is complete wrong. Its reported issue, cn check in the xda thread.
The guys at xda has mentioned that if you use dpi other than 160 you'll get incompatibility issues even though it works initially after clearing the market data. Only way to fix it is to run 160 dpi or change to 213 everytime you want to install something.
yolk
post Aug 21 2012, 10:46 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 21 2012, 07:27 AM)
It is slicker n smoother
It combines best of stock n aopk roms
You can customize status bar, navi bar n hold down power button
Read the xda thread for more info
Or his direct link
http://codenameandroid.com/forum/index.php...me-android-320/
only reason I've not installed CNA on the Nexus 7 yet is cause I've already got it on the Galaxy Nexus wub.gif
yolk
post Aug 27 2012, 10:06 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 27 2012, 07:46 AM)
Latest tweets from CNA rom developer. Still is my favorite rom on my nexus n nexus 7.
Quote:

I have been proud of each rom I have released, but this one is really shaping up to be my favorite release yet.

A few extra goodies came my way that I want to add to the rom before the big release.  So it will either be later today or early tomorrow.
def my fav rom too rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
yolk
post Sep 3 2012, 08:17 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 2 2012, 07:20 PM)
Nexus 7 abit picky when it comes to usb otg cable.

I have 3 cables. Only one can be used by nexus 7.

My s2 cn use all. Weird.
U try another cable and see.

I also on cna and Franco kernel.
I'm on stock rom and have two USB OTG cable. One ciplak cheap no brand and another one is nokia. Both works without any issues.

Added on September 3, 2012, 8:29 am
QUOTE(xyellowboyx @ Sep 1 2012, 11:48 AM)
any solution ?
seems like a lot of people experiencing this issue. I tried purchasing over browser and it still works. Can someone pls confirm ? nod.gif

Added on September 3, 2012, 8:46 am
QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Sep 3 2012, 02:53 AM)
Guys, not sure if this been asked before but here goes.

I just gotten myself a paid VPN service. Managed to add it on the router settings. It works well on the PC. Can view the US Google Play Store.

But the Play Store on the Nexus 7 is still limited to Apps only eventho it is connected to the home WIFI(which is set with the VPN).

Do I need to factory reset my Nexus 7 to get it to work?
Try disabling all location services and do a reboot

This post has been edited by yolk: Sep 3 2012, 08:46 AM
yolk
post Sep 3 2012, 04:15 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 3 2012, 03:57 PM)
dont really care about the 3g,

was hoping for 32GB built in storage or a micro SD slot.
agreed nod.gif
yolk
post Sep 11 2012, 08:59 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 10 2012, 11:03 AM)
isk isk...make me wanna change back to stock rom liao hmm.gif
stock rom with stickmount works fine with my 2.5" 1TB and 3.5" 2TB hdd's ... though sometimes I have problems unmounting the device doh.gif
yolk
post Sep 11 2012, 09:06 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 10 2012, 08:44 PM)
I'm still unable to connect to free VPN.. hmm..
try connecting to supervpn via pc first to see if you can connect to the service with your internet connection .. friend had issues with digi can celcom too until he used umobile .. managed to connect to vpn without issues
yolk
post Sep 11 2012, 09:37 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 10 2012, 07:49 PM)
Oh no...i'm getting RBC (grey on google play), anyone know how to solve this. Already using Superfreevpn

Offer for USD25 is going to end on 30 Sept 2012:- http://support.google.com/googleplay/bin/a...&answer=2670129
had RBC issues trying to use the free credits in Google play on the device as well .. this workaround helped but not sure if it sill works .. do try and let me know

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0278sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:31 AM