Nissan Fairlady 350z roadtax

TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 08:02 AM, updated 14y ago

195 posts

Hi guys,

AFAIK, Nissan Fairlady Z is equipped with 3500cc engine, thus the roadtax ain't cheapo.
I came across this ad, and I'm kinda curious that the seller stated the roadtax only RM8xx, seems like he registered his car under 2.5cc.

http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Fairlady+350z+2...ax-15730718.htm

how come this is possible?
I'm crossing my mind to search for an affordable weekend-second-car sport car, and I'm kinda like Fairlady, though it might bleed your wallet and I heard it might suffer from breakdown, sudden spike of FC, kluk kluk kluk noise, and so on, any thoughts about owning fairlady?
hkh_88
post Jun 26 2012, 08:06 AM

315 posts

That was sabah or sarawak register. My fren de r35 roadtax only rm10xx
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 08:12 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:06 AM)
That was sabah or sarawak register. My fren de r35 roadtax only rm10xx
you mean need to bring along grant, register the car at East MY?
SUSmemekfalui
post Jun 26 2012, 08:23 AM

245 posts

just get any east malaysian as a runner/agent can kowtim oredi
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 08:32 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(memekfalui @ Jun 26 2012, 08:23 AM)
just get any east malaysian as a runner/agent can kowtim oredi
um, here's the point i dont understand.
even if getting east malaysian runner to do the job for you, still it will register the car under 3.5k cc category, which amounts RM 1,699.00.

um, coffee session with jaypeejay's big shot?

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jun 26 2012, 08:33 AM
acbc
post Jun 26 2012, 08:35 AM

9,050 posts

Haven't heard of under declaring? My previous BMW E32 with 3000cc paid 2000cc road tax simply because the previous owner declare as 2.0L by stamping a 2.0L block number on the 3.0L block. No issues with JPJ or insurance for over 15 years till I sold it off and new owner repeat the process by stamping the 2.0L block number on the new 4.0L V8 engine...
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 08:38 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 26 2012, 08:35 AM)
Haven't heard of under declaring? My previous BMW E32 with 3000cc paid 2000cc road tax simply because the previous owner declare as 2.0L by stamping a 2.0L block number on the 3.0L block. No issues with JPJ or insurance for over 15 years till I sold it off and new owner repeat the process by stamping the 2.0L block number on the new 4.0L V8 engine...
sorry bro, noob i am...

um, can i do under declaring for 2nd hand fairlady that is registered under 3.5cc?
acbc
post Jun 26 2012, 09:21 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:38 AM)
sorry bro, noob i am...

um, can i do under declaring for 2nd hand fairlady that is registered under 3.5cc?
With new cars and updated JPJ system... almost impossible. If done in the 90s... easy as cake. If u want a sports car yet cheap road tax... try RX8 or smart roadster... both have road tax less than RM 70 per year.
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 10:06 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 26 2012, 09:21 AM)
With new cars and updated JPJ system... almost impossible. If done in the 90s... easy as cake. If u want a sports car yet cheap road tax... try RX8 or smart roadster... both have road tax less than RM 70 per year.
so means now i cant do under declare but only can resume if the previous owner has successfully done so? i was thinking abt rx8, but i wasnt too impressed with it.

but speaking of which, fairlady 350z is only start selling in 2003, so i think the owner must've pulled some strings to get 2.5cc roadtax.

MeToo
post Jun 26 2012, 10:41 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:32 AM)
um, here's the point i dont understand.
even if getting east malaysian runner to do the job for you, still it will register the car under 3.5k cc category, which amounts RM 1,699.00.

um, coffee session with jaypeejay's big shot?
16xx divided by 2 is?

That seller is BS, there is no such thing as "pull strings for lower road tax", if got high end cars wont be paying 5 figure roadtax anymore. unless got some special category like OKU road tax etc then I dunno.

If he somehow under declare, of using another cars roadtax etc... the moment u have an accident... try explaining it to the insurance... no valid road tax... good luck.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 26 2012, 10:42 AM
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 10:58 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 26 2012, 10:41 AM)
16xx divided by 2 is?

That seller is BS, there is no such thing as "pull strings for lower road tax", if got high end cars wont be paying 5 figure roadtax anymore. unless got some special category like OKU road tax etc then I dunno.

If he somehow under declare, of using another cars roadtax etc... the moment u have an accident... try explaining it to the insurance... no valid road tax... good luck.
You got your facts and point bro. No doubt jaypeejay will rake a huge profit through high end cars, but it doesnt mean we have the right to manipulate the law to our own benefit. yeah, better pay out the hefty roadtax, rather than feeling sorry.

Um, maintenance fee of both rx8 and 350z is the same, or rx8 is cheaper? my friend told me that rx8 overhaul gonna rake you about rm10k++, so that's why some owners rather sell of than overhauling. fairlady 2nd owner sometimes suffering from car breakdown.

Performance wise, which is faster? i understand that fairlady speed limit is capped at 180kmh, but you can remove that by changing speedometer and retune ecu, is that right?
MeToo
post Jun 26 2012, 11:01 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 10:58 AM)
You got your facts and point bro. No doubt jaypeejay will rake a huge profit through high end cars, but it doesnt mean we have the right to manipulate the law to our own benefit. yeah, better pay out the hefty roadtax, rather than feeling sorry.

Um, maintenance fee of both rx8 and 350z is the same, or rx8 is cheaper? my friend told me that rx8 overhaul gonna rake you about rm10k++, so that's why some owners rather sell of than overhauling. fairlady 2nd owner sometimes suffering from car breakdown.

Performance wise, which is faster? i understand that fairlady speed limit is capped at 180kmh, but you can remove that by changing speedometer and retune ecu, is that right?
1. Maintenance 350Z easier and cheaper, per service is less then $300. (RX8 need specialist, 350Z engine very straigth forward)

2. Car breakdown, every 8~9 yrs old car same, u take care of it then its ok, u dont... then too bad.

3. Raw power 350Z wins hands down, some feel RX8 will have more manageable handling. Speedcut is not an issue, easily solved, just flash/piggy back etc etc the ECU. Speedometer dun need change.
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 11:24 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 26 2012, 11:01 AM)
1. Maintenance 350Z easier and cheaper, per service is less then $300. (RX8 need specialist, 350Z engine very straigth forward)

2. Car breakdown, every 8~9 yrs old car same, u take care of it then its ok, u dont... then too bad.

3. Raw power 350Z wins hands down, some feel RX8 will have more manageable handling. Speedcut is not an issue, easily solved, just flash/piggy back etc etc the ECU. Speedometer dun need change.
Bro, you drive sport car? rclxms.gif
less than rm300, is it? 350z need at least 2 bottles of fully synthetic oil, i bought xxx brand around rm150, ngam2 rm300 if excluding labour charges and oil filter tongue.gif not sure, i never own a sport car before, haha...

yes i agreed, car lifespan is depending on how well you servicing the car. my bro told me, the car will live longer than human if you service it well, and repairing the cosmetic wear and tears.

speaking of fairlady's rawpower, maybe it is not on par with porsche or GTR, for me it is enough as the Z car is the car i like the most, just like picking lady smile.gif

Just asking on financial POV, how much you must earn per month to sustain 350z? anyone who own 350z can shed some light about this?
sonic_cd
post Jun 26 2012, 11:33 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 10:58 AM)

unless something major breaks maintenace fee more or less the same ...
turbocharged
post Jun 26 2012, 11:39 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 11:24 AM)
less than rm300, is it? 350z need at least 2 bottles of fully synthetic oil, i bought xxx brand around rm150, ngam2 rm300 if excluding labour charges and oil filter tongue.gif not sure, i never own a sport car before, haha...

yes i agreed, car lifespan is depending on how well you servicing the car. my bro told me, the car will live longer than human if you service it well, and repairing the cosmetic wear and tears.

speaking of fairlady's rawpower, maybe it is not on par with porsche or GTR, for me it is enough as the Z car is the car i like the most, just like picking lady smile.gif

Just asking on financial POV, how much you must earn per month to sustain 350z? anyone who own 350z can shed some light about this?
if you can comfortably fork out rm6000 for insurance and road tax everyyear brows.gif brows.gif and the petrol is slightly higher than 2 liter car( under normal driving condition ) brows.gif

and the tyre is 18-19 inches. brows.gif

so u count and see how much u need to make every month laugh.gif
MeToo
post Jun 26 2012, 11:43 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 11:24 AM)

uses 6 liter engine oil.
Raw power enuf to play on the road until say 230/240... going above that... see which driver braver

Added on June 26, 2012, 11:49 am
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jun 26 2012, 11:39 AM)
if you can comfortably fork out rm6000 for insurance and road tax everyyear  brows.gif  brows.gif and the petrol is slightly higher than 2 liter car( under normal driving condition )  brows.gif

and the tyre is 18-19 inches.  brows.gif 

so u count and see how much u need to make every month  laugh.gif
Ori lower end spec wheel is 17", slightly smaller then a Lancer whistling.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 26 2012, 11:49 AM
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 11:59 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 26 2012, 11:43 AM)
uses 6 liter engine oil.
Raw power enuf to play on the road until say 230/240... going above that... see which driver braver
Hehe, I do speed often, but only to sharpen my driving skills, not putting anyone's life on the life.
how about cornering? the car's ok?

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jun 26 2012, 11:39 AM)
if you can comfortably fork out rm6000 for insurance and road tax everyyear  brows.gif  brows.gif and the petrol is slightly higher than 2 liter car( under normal driving condition )  brows.gif

and the tyre is 18-19 inches.  brows.gif 

so u count and see how much u need to make every month  laugh.gif
well that was excluding monthly installment tongue.gif
means need to fork out rm500 per month just for the roadtax + insurance combo meal laugh.gif

Hmmm, yup roughly i can foresee how much i need to fork out, which defintely will bleed my wallet profusely nod.gif

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jun 26 2012, 12:01 PM
MeToo
post Jun 26 2012, 12:02 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 11:59 AM)
Hehe, I do speed often, but only to sharpen my driving skills, not putting anyone's life on the life.
how about cornering? the car's ok?
Going fast does not sharpen one's driving skills, any smuck can put pedal to the metal...

If the car cannot corner, then how to drive?

... go test drive lah... after that if u have more specific question then only ask here...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 26 2012, 12:02 PM
hkh_88
post Jun 26 2012, 12:34 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:12 AM)
you mean need to bring along grant, register the car at East MY?
got a runner to do for u.my fren his car register at Labuan if not mistaken. He bought it unregistered. But use back Wilayah number plate transfer from his previous ride wink.gif
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 26 2012, 01:16 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 26 2012, 12:02 PM)
Going fast does not sharpen one's driving skills, any smuck can put pedal to the metal...

If the car cannot corner, then how to drive?

... go test drive lah... after that if u have more specific question then only ask here...
Okok, i mean taking the best line during cornering, and reduce the hiccups with every gear shift, since i'm driving manual. my friend commented they dont know they'er sitting in a manual tranny car if didnt look at the gear knob tongue.gif
Test drive? i dont do joyridding, and i dont see any Nissan showroom have Z car in my area...

Added on June 26, 2012, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(hkh_88 @ Jun 26 2012, 12:34 PM)
got a runner to do for u.my fren his car register at Labuan if not mistaken. He bought it unregistered. But use back Wilayah number plate transfer from his previous ride  wink.gif
can consider rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jun 26 2012, 01:21 PM
StratOS
post Jun 27 2012, 08:20 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

350Z you cant test in showroom anymore la.. too old d.. Now all is 370Z but you can compare 370Z handling with 350Z.. Way too big difference already. Got to a shop that sells a recond or 2nd hand 350Z and ask for a test drive see whether they let you or not.

If you dont joyride then how you know the feel? You need to test the car before you buy. Later buy d many problem you complain here and there. Test the car which you wanna buy, know the difference and get the feel. So you will know whether there's any problem with the car or not.

BTW, 350Z need more money to maintain compare to normal cars. Prepare your money for that. For handling you will surely need to mod some stuff to get the best out of it.
TSfenrir0402
post Jun 28 2012, 01:22 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jun 27 2012, 08:20 AM)
350Z you cant test in showroom anymore la.. too old d.. Now all is 370Z but you can compare 370Z handling with 350Z.. Way too big difference already. Got to a shop that sells a recond or 2nd hand 350Z and ask for a test drive see whether they let you or not.

If you dont joyride then how you know the feel? You need to test the car before you buy. Later buy d many problem you complain here and there. Test the car which you wanna buy, know the difference and get the feel. So you will know whether there's any problem with the car or not.

BTW, 350Z need more money to maintain compare to normal cars. Prepare your money for that. For handling you will surely need to mod some stuff to get the best out of it.
thanks for the advice...
StratOS
post Jun 29 2012, 02:54 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 28 2012, 01:22 PM)
thanks for the advice...
A slight typo there.. You CAN'T Compare 370Z and 350Z handling, speed and so on. laugh.gif
SUSadvocado
post Jun 30 2012, 11:21 AM

2,948 posts

Might as well consider Evo VII-IX or Skyline GT-R 34 if you are into grip cornering. Both have cheaper road tax.

BTW East Malaysia road tax is always much cheaper than West. But they make it up by giving users bad road conditions.

Also road tax can go by 6 months/1year, so maybe the figure you get only for 6 months.
redshark_999
post Jun 30 2012, 12:41 PM

430 posts

since u guys talking bout road tax, how much is the difference for a 1.3 cc engine car in the west msia and east msia?
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 2 2012, 04:25 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jun 30 2012, 11:21 AM)
Might as well consider Evo VII-IX or Skyline GT-R 34 if you are into grip cornering. Both have cheaper road tax.

BTW East Malaysia road tax is always much cheaper than West. But they make it up by giving users bad road conditions.

Also road tax can go by 6 months/1year, so maybe the figure you get only for 6 months.
well, R34 might be a good choice, but too bad the car is kinda overbudget for me, which priced abt rm150k and above, but fairlady you can get it around rm100k.

hmmm, since fairlady is just 2 seater coupe, unlike R34 which is 4 seater, my worries is that R34 is an old car, my driving pleasure might be ruined if too many problems(breakdowns) occured.

how about toyota mr-s? I'm kinda despise convertibles, and that car kinda underpowered, summore it is midship, rear wheeled drive. very, very terrible pickups

Added on July 2, 2012, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(StratOS @ Jun 29 2012, 02:54 PM)
A slight typo there.. You CAN'T Compare 370Z and 350Z handling, speed and so on. laugh.gif
well, some bashed 370z for offering more gimmicks that real performance, with that price tag..not really need that much speed of 370z, 350z is already a lot to me. besides, i'm penangites, cant really push fairlady to the max, with that potholes and monkeys who knows how to ride a bike.

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jul 2 2012, 04:30 PM
SUSadvocado
post Jul 2 2012, 04:34 PM

2,948 posts

You can get V35 350GT coupe. It's a 4 seater. Minus the undercarriage roll bars.

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 2 2012, 04:25 PM)
well, R34 might be a good choice, but too bad the car is kinda overbudget for me, which priced abt rm150k and above, but fairlady you can get it around rm100k.

hmmm, since fairlady is just 2 seater coupe, unlike R34 which is 4 seater, my worries is that R34 is an old car, my driving pleasure might be ruined if too many problems(breakdowns) occured.

how about toyota mr-s? I'm kinda despise convertibles, and that car kinda underpowered, summore it is midship, rear wheeled drive. very, very terrible pickups

Added on July 2, 2012, 4:30 pm
well, some bashed 370z for offering more gimmicks that real performance, with that price tag..not really need that much speed of 370z, 350z is already a lot to me. besides, i'm penangites, cant really push fairlady to the max, with that potholes and monkeys who knows how to ride a bike.
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 2 2012, 04:43 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 2 2012, 04:34 PM)
You can get V35 350GT coupe. It's a 4 seater. Minus the undercarriage roll bars.
nah, that car although inherited the name skyline, it looks disgusting.
and with that engine capacity, i rather sticked to 350z tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jul 2 2012, 04:44 PM
MeToo
post Jul 2 2012, 05:12 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 2 2012, 04:34 PM)
Dat's under the category of "An ugly sedan"
SUSadvocado
post Jul 2 2012, 05:17 PM

2,948 posts

It's a 2x2 coupe, same engine same chassis same gears.

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 2 2012, 05:12 PM)
Dat's under the category of "An ugly sedan"
MeToo
post Jul 2 2012, 05:29 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 2 2012, 05:17 PM)
It's a 2x2 coupe, same engine same chassis same gears.
U park your car next to mine... and try to convince passerby that biggrin.gif
SUSadvocado
post Jul 2 2012, 05:37 PM

2,948 posts

My car is a sedan, so hard to convince people it's a coupe la. Unless i seal off the back doors.

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 2 2012, 05:29 PM)
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 2 2012, 05:43 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 2 2012, 05:29 PM)
wow, bro you drive fairlady oh?
Nightstalker1993
post Jul 2 2012, 06:42 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

About the road tax, I've seen with my own eyes a Lambo with 6499cc written on the road tax, says only RM50. And a Porsche with rm6xx toad tax. You should try asking them how they did it, buy the Lambo seriously takes the cake. Saw it during the last snf, the Lambo was in McKee Racing's pit
stormlcc
post Jul 2 2012, 06:49 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:42 PM)
About the road tax, I've seen with my own eyes a Lambo with 6499cc written on the road tax, says only RM50. And a Porsche with rm6xx toad tax. You should try asking them how they did it, buy the Lambo seriously takes the cake. Saw it during the last snf, the Lambo was in McKee Racing's pit
i even saw an Aston Martin with 6000cc V12 WITHOUT road tax, but that's due to the car is owned by royal family........ icon_idea.gif

some of my friends who r driving a Merc SLK with 3.5 litre engine running on 2.8 litre road tax, they just bored out the engine's number and replace it with it's old (2.8) engine number

but if TS is really not a troll (there are too many in FnF) and really has the money to buy a Fairlady, he should just buy the Nissan GTT, it's a much better car, with a lot more potential to be modded and a much cheaper road tax

This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jul 2 2012, 06:51 PM
skylinelover
post Jul 2 2012, 10:53 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

lol not this topic again laugh.gif doh.gif
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 11:51 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jul 2 2012, 06:49 PM)
i even saw an Aston Martin with 6000cc V12 WITHOUT road tax, but that's due to the car is owned by royal family........ icon_idea.gif

some of my friends who r driving a Merc SLK with 3.5 litre engine running on 2.8 litre road tax, they just bored out the engine's number and replace it with it's old (2.8) engine number

but if TS is really not a troll (there are too many in FnF) and really has the money to buy a Fairlady, he should just buy the Nissan GTT, it's a much better car, with a lot more potential to be modded and a much cheaper road tax
GTT is RWD version of GTR right? my concern is on the car's age. I just afraid it might be prone to breakdown
stormlcc
post Jul 3 2012, 12:04 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:51 AM)
GTT is RWD version of GTR right? my concern is on the car's age. I just afraid it might be prone to breakdown
yes it's RWD, with the RB25. u r also buying fairlady 2nd hand, same thing mah, although it's newer than GTT, it's still 2nd hand. don't forget the RB engines are bullet proof, there are many stock ones for sale, if u want one that is untouched and in good condition, get those with auto gearbox, make sure no smoke coming out from the exhaust then u r ok with it, most modded ones are with manual gb. or if u really want the fairlady but don't want to pay hefty road tax, spend a bit of money to transplant RB or JZ engines, more power than the V6, smaller CC engine, great modding potential.
geforce88
post Jul 3 2012, 12:18 PM

2,841 posts

weekend sporty car?

how about:

Elise
MX5
RX8
MR-S
3-series coupe
TT
SLK
MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 12:43 PM

9,338 posts

Everyone wan a fast car.. but wan to have maintenance/price like a Vios...

If that is possible.. everyone will be driving a sportscar in KL already.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jul 3 2012, 12:43 PM
stormlcc
post Jul 3 2012, 12:52 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 12:43 PM)

If that is possible.. everyone will be driving a sportscar in KL already.. sweat.gif
that's why i usually says "if u have to ask, u can't afford it". but it's too rude, so i didn't.
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 01:10 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jul 3 2012, 12:04 PM)
yes it's RWD, with the RB25.  u r also buying fairlady 2nd hand, same thing mah, although it's newer than GTT, it's still 2nd hand.  don't forget the RB engines are bullet proof, there are many stock ones for sale, if u want one that is untouched and in good condition, get those with auto gearbox, make sure no smoke coming out from the exhaust then u r ok with it, most modded ones are with manual gb.  or if u really want the fairlady but don't want to pay hefty road tax, spend a bit of money to transplant RB or JZ engines, more power than the V6, smaller CC engine, great modding potential.
the thing is i'm kinda uncomfortable and uneasy with driving auto tranny cars. so i'm taking it out of the equation. bullet proof? are you making metaphor or something? i know that is 1 awesome engine, yes it is.

i did looking into the possibilities of transplanting rb26 engine into fairlady 350z, it is possible but need to modify the engine cubicle and mounting point, and so on. the money spend on it alone could bleed your wallet as well.

buying sport car is 1 thing, but maintaining is another story... it is easy to accept but hard to sustain, haha.
i've seen many bmw, merc owner who afford it thru sales, ended up kena tarik, or sell off their cars, especially pro mlm.

Added on July 3, 2012, 1:13 pm
QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jul 3 2012, 12:18 PM)
weekend sporty car?

how about:

Elise
MX5
RX8
MR-S
3-series coupe
TT
SLK
i might consider RX-8 and MR-S, bro.
but RX-8 very very bad FC, high maintenance, while MR-S seriously underpowered, summore i dont really like convertible, not to mention someone whose hand is itchy, might leave your softtop some scars or extra openings.

Added on July 3, 2012, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 12:43 PM)

chill bro, for me it is kinda losing your head when thinking of buying sport car, but must try to cool down to think of a bigger pictures, hence in this case, the purpose why i create this topic.
for me, majority can afford a second hand sport car, as the price tag for fairlady 350z and rx8 are almost same as Kia Forte, Mitsubishi Lancer, You-name-it car, etc but when comes to maintenance, would you able to sustain it?

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jul 3 2012, 01:16 PM
stormlcc
post Jul 3 2012, 02:53 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 01:10 PM)
the thing is i'm kinda uncomfortable and uneasy with driving auto tranny cars. so i'm taking it out of the equation. bullet proof? are you making metaphor or something? i know that is 1 awesome engine, yes it is.

i did looking into the possibilities of transplanting rb26 engine into fairlady 350z, it is possible but need to modify the engine cubicle and mounting point, and so on. the money spend on it alone could bleed your wallet as well.

buying sport car is 1 thing, but maintaining is another story... it is easy to accept but hard to sustain, haha.
i've seen many bmw, merc owner who afford it thru sales, ended up kena tarik, or sell off their cars, especially pro mlm.

Added on July 3, 2012, 1:13 pm

i might consider RX-8 and MR-S, bro.
but RX-8 very very bad FC, high maintenance, while MR-S seriously underpowered, summore i dont really like convertible, not to mention someone whose hand is itchy, might leave your softtop some scars or extra openings.

Added on July 3, 2012, 1:16 pm

chill bro, for me it is kinda losing your head when thinking of buying sport car, but must try to cool down to think of a bigger pictures, hence in this case, the purpose why i create this topic.
for me, majority can afford a second hand sport car, as the price tag for fairlady 350z and rx8 are almost same as Kia Forte, Mitsubishi Lancer, You-name-it car, etc but when comes to maintenance, would you able to sustain it?
u can always change the gb back to manual, it's just that getting an auto will lesser the risk of heavy engine mods by previous owners, the manual gb plus labor will only cost u around 3k. On the other hand, if u have 3k to spend, just buy a proper condition car with stock engine, then overhaul it if it's got problems. anyway, buying a 2nd hand car will always depend on your experience.

Bullet proof means it's a super durable and reliable engine even with heavy mods, they don't make them like they used to. fyi u don't need to do anything with the 350z engine bay to fit the RB or JZ, and the mounting for it is easy peasy because of RWD platform. if u sell off the 350z V6 engine u could cover 30-40% of the transplant cost already, only need to spend few thousand on the halfcut.

there's another car u can consider, the MR-2. cheap, reliable, MR platform with 3S-gte engine. and it's still a looker
MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 03:20 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 01:10 PM)
What is there to maintain? I service full syn 5000km.... slightly below RM300 each time.

I changed gear oil plus some axle oilign etc... under RM300..

The V6 engine is no rocket science... anyone can fix it.

Expensive roadtax? Hmm..... if you cant afford 4k a year for roadtax... then buy Vios lor biggrin.gif

Bro... what bigger picture? If wanna think too much.... what does peopel expect? Drive a sportscar and not lose any $$? Cost = X, if you can afford, u liek u buy, if u cannot afford, think forever also no change, in the meantime u missed your chance of driving a sportscar, RWD, whatever.

If peopel wanna count every cent and make the best of their $$, then dont buy a sports car, give up on your dream, just drive around a Vios... that's the best bang for buck.

Sorry for ranting, but sometimes I thnk people's expectation is pretty unreasonable...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jul 3 2012, 03:26 PM
williamwong
post Jul 3 2012, 03:51 PM

162 posts

s2k
2L NA
9k rpm
slick gbox
FR

good game.
MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 03:53 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Jul 3 2012, 03:51 PM)
s2k
2L NA
9k rpm
slick gbox
FR

good game.
What year and what is the current price pls?
williamwong
post Jul 3 2012, 04:01 PM

162 posts

uhh..??

they're built between 1999 to 2009. current price range starts from 90+k to however much they seller wants.
MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 04:04 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Jul 3 2012, 04:01 PM)
uhh..??

they're built between 1999 to 2009. current price range starts from 90+k to however much they seller wants.
Can get a S2000 for 90k now in the market? hmm.gif
williamwong
post Jul 3 2012, 04:07 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:02 AM)
how come this is possible?
I'm crossing my mind to search for an affordable weekend-second-car sport car, and I'm kinda like Fairlady, though it might bleed your wallet and I heard it might suffer from breakdown, sudden spike of FC, kluk kluk kluk noise, and so on, any thoughts about owning fairlady?
to keep back on track:

might suffer from breakdown - ALL cars might
sudden spike of FC - ALL performance oriented cars WILL especially high capacity/hp/FI.
kluk kluk kluk noise - ALL cars will sooner or later
any thoughts about owning fairlady? - very nice cars, just a shame that the road tax is so high, otherwise a very viable candidate for a weekender.

Added on July 3, 2012, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 04:04 PM)
Can get a S2000 for 90k now in the market?  hmm.gif
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car...-s2000-ap1.html

albeit yr99 and 98k lol

This post has been edited by williamwong: Jul 3 2012, 04:10 PM
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 04:11 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 03:20 PM)
What is there to maintain? I service full syn 5000km.... slightly below RM300 each time.

I changed gear oil plus some axle oilign etc... under RM300..

The V6 engine is no rocket science... anyone can fix it.

Expensive roadtax? Hmm..... if you cant afford 4k a year for roadtax... then buy Vios lor biggrin.gif

Bro... what bigger picture? If wanna think too much.... what does peopel expect? Drive a sportscar and not lose any $$? Cost = X, if you can afford, u liek u buy, if u cannot afford, think forever also no change, in the meantime u missed your chance of driving a sportscar, RWD, whatever.

If peopel wanna count every cent and make the best of their $$, then dont buy a sports car, give up on your dream, just drive around a Vios... that's the best bang for buck.

Sorry for ranting, but sometimes I thnk people's expectation is pretty unreasonable...
chill bro, i wanna get a sport car as 2nd weekend car without adding too much burden to myself. and thanks for shedding much light on that.

bro, bigger picture as in long term planning, like marriage, having kids, buying house, etc. just an example. future is an uncertainty, the best we can do is to lessen the unpredictability of the future. speaking of vios, ah, no offense, i despise vios. that's why i chose persona over it smile.gif cheaper, better handling, better performance (correct me if i'm wrong)

hmmm, the reasons for why owning a sport car might be a good question: show off? driving pleasure? i favors performance over turning your car into blings.

350z roadtax is rm4380 alone without taking insurance into consideration, that would be around rm550-600 per month, not to mention the petrol consumption. unless enthusiast, better stay away from that car.

MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 04:15 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 04:11 PM)
chill bro, i wanna get a sport car as 2nd weekend car without adding too much burden to myself. and thanks for shedding much light on that.

bro, bigger picture as in long term planning, like marriage, having kids, buying house, etc. just an example. future is an uncertainty, the best we can do is to lessen the unpredictability of the future. speaking of vios, ah, no offense, i despise vios. that's why i chose persona over it smile.gif cheaper, better handling, better performance (correct me if i'm wrong)

hmmm, the reasons for why owning a sport car might be a good question: show off? driving pleasure? i favors performance over turning your car into blings.

350z roadtax is rm4380 alone without taking insurance into consideration, that would be around rm550-600 per month, not to mention the petrol consumption. unless enthusiast, better stay away from that car.
Well.. on FC... i do sometimes drive it to work... so the usual KL traffic (jams etc), I get about 8km/L.. thats on a manual.

As for other commitment.. there are ALWAYS better and more practical things to do with your money compared to buying a sportscar... at the end of the equation is how much you are willing to sacrifice for it... i dont wanna sacrifice too much.. hence I got the 350z instead of some porsche (where I REALLY have to eat maggi liao) etc
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 04:16 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Jul 3 2012, 04:07 PM)
to keep back on track:

might suffer from breakdown - ALL cars might
sudden spike of FC - ALL performance oriented cars WILL especially high capacity/hp/FI.
kluk kluk kluk noise - ALL cars will sooner or later
any thoughts about owning fairlady? - very nice cars, just a shame that the road tax is so high, otherwise a very viable candidate for a weekender.

Added on July 3, 2012, 4:10 pm

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car...-s2000-ap1.html

albeit yr99 and 98k lol
yes i wanna retain it as weekend car, i dont really care if the roadtax is dead and not planning to renew it for the time being to save money rclxms.gif
breakdown for me, it is depending on how well you service your car. maybe i heard too many discouragement from peers and parents when voicing out my intention to buy a sport car.
the noise problem is raised by a blogger who own fairlady: http://zorro350.blogspot.com/2009/09/some-...r-problems.html

I really like the car, GTR IMO, is giving away too many controls to machines, fairlady is like the oneness of man and machine smile.gif
shinjite
post Jul 3 2012, 04:21 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 04:11 PM)

Petrol consumption of the Z is good IF you drive it sanely (easily 13-14km/L)
and also make sure the engine is healthy

williamwong
post Jul 3 2012, 04:26 PM

162 posts

fenrir: if its solely a weekender, f*** the fc lol, even it cost double of normal car, it'll make minimal difference if you're only driving 50ks a week.

what i suggest is go get a smaller capacity + turbo. you get the fun of torque without paying through the nose for roadtax. rm3k difference in roadtax buys ALOT of petrol for a weekender.

the standard evo, sti, s15 comes to mind.
MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 04:29 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Jul 3 2012, 04:26 PM)
fenrir: if its solely a weekender, f*** the fc lol, even it cost double of normal car, it'll make minimal difference if you're only driving 50ks a week.

what i suggest is go get a smaller capacity + turbo. you get the fun of torque without paying through the nose for roadtax. rm3k difference in roadtax buys ALOT of petrol for a weekender.

I was lookign at STi ver 9... it cost easily 50~60k more then the 350Z.... the 60k.. can pay for 13 yrs of roadtax tongue.gif
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 04:33 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Jul 3 2012, 04:26 PM)

i might as well eff the roadtax for 1 year 1st. speaking of which, engine swap isnt subject for jpj and puspakom's approval? manual car doesnt consume as much fuel as it's auto tranny counterpart, i'm still ok with that
williamwong
post Jul 3 2012, 04:38 PM

162 posts

By buying a more expensive car, when you're selling it, it'll fetch a higher price eventho depreciates more lol.

wasnt talking sti ver9 specifically, get one in his budget lol (im assuming +-100k?)
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 04:41 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 04:15 PM)
Well.. on FC... i do sometimes drive it to work... so the usual KL traffic (jams etc), I get about 8km/L.. thats on a manual.

As for other commitment.. there are ALWAYS better and more practical things to do with your money compared to buying a sportscar... at the end of the equation is how much you are willing to sacrifice for it... i dont wanna sacrifice too much.. hence I got the 350z instead of some porsche (where I REALLY have to eat maggi liao) etc
sure i need to get a house(who doesn't?) to put fairlady(bigger than my persona), and considering bm's property is still acceptable as of now, a dbl storey terrace would be around rm100-200k, which is okay for me. getting a house is a must, to prove that you have transitioned from a kid to a man(i'm referring to bearing greater responsibilities).

wow, you must've filthy rich to aim porsche, hehe... i like porsche too, but i never dream of something i cant achieve.
as of now, i dont have commitment, yet...

Added on July 3, 2012, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 04:29 PM)
I was lookign at STi ver 9... it cost easily 50~60k more then the 350Z.... the 60k.. can pay for 13 yrs of roadtax tongue.gif
for some reasons i dont really like evo or impreza, just my personal opinion. although they make the best bang for bucks, still i dont treat them as sport car.

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jul 3 2012, 04:42 PM
williamwong
post Jul 3 2012, 04:49 PM

162 posts

wait, how old are you fenrir?

let me rephrase that.

i dont think you're in a position to splurge on a car of this calibre. you buy a car, park it 1 year to save(?) roadtax for a year? wtf i dont even? the depreciation will be more than the roadtax.

get your priorities/financials set up straight. sell your persona, get a car that can be used daily as well within your budget. you save 100k.

but if there are no cheaper cars that tickle your fancy then by all means, go ahead. YOLO right? haha

This post has been edited by williamwong: Jul 3 2012, 04:58 PM
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 04:51 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Jul 3 2012, 04:49 PM)
wait, how old are you fenrir?
in my 20's smile.gif
MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 04:51 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 04:41 PM)
sure i need to get a house(who doesn't?) to put fairlady(bigger than my persona), and considering bm's property is still acceptable as of now, a dbl storey terrace would be around rm100-200k, which is okay for me. getting a house is a must, to prove that you have transitioned from a kid to a man(i'm referring to bearing greater responsibilities).

wow, you must've filthy rich to aim porsche, hehe... i like porsche too, but i never dream of something i cant achieve.
as of now, i dont have commitment, yet...

Added on July 3, 2012, 4:42 pm
for some reasons i dont really like evo or impreza, just my personal opinion. although they make the best bang for bucks, still i dont treat them as sport car.
1. Porsche now u can easily get a decent one for 300k+... but then again the roadtax is still not cheap
2. Evo/WRX still looks liek a sedan.. sure its a pretty fast sedan
3. Not really best bang for buck cause their value is still relatively high, and its hard to find a unit that have not been trashed.
4. If you plan to keep the fairlady for 2 years, then set aside 10k for the roadtax, then any car which is 10k higher then the fairlady you shouldnt consider, cause your roadtax is already built in.
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 05:01 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 04:51 PM)
1. Porsche now u can easily get a decent one for 300k+... but then again the roadtax is still not cheap
2. Evo/WRX still looks liek a sedan.. sure its a pretty fast sedan
3. Not really best bang for buck cause their value is still relatively high, and its hard to find a unit that have not been trashed.
4. If you plan to keep the fairlady for 2 years, then set aside 10k for the roadtax, then any car which is 10k higher then the fairlady you shouldnt consider, cause your roadtax is already built in.
ahem bro, you enlighten me that there are always other things worth to put your money into other than buying sport car. for me forking rm80 - 100k on fairlady is already a limit to my budget. blink.gif

i dont really get your 4th statement, let me quote a scenario: i got a fairlady for rm90k, if i plan to keep it for 2 yrs, then i must prepare for rm100k. but if i found a 100k car, i shouldnt consider fairlady? i plan to own fairlady for as long as possible(hopefully). i've asked around the 2nd hand car dealer, they normally would give free 1 year roadtax + insurance once the deal is sealed.
williamwong
post Jul 3 2012, 05:07 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 05:01 PM)
plan to own fairlady for as long as possible(hopefully)
this will never work. its not a rare exotic.

one day the car will depreciate till say rm40k, would you still be willing to pay 10% of the car's worth for roadtax every year?

these cars are meant to be flipped every few years as new models comes out, you start earning more, then the younger guys will buy it off you.
MeToo
post Jul 3 2012, 05:10 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 05:01 PM)
ahem bro, you enlighten me that there are always other things worth to put your money into other than buying sport car. for me forking rm80 - 100k on fairlady is already a limit to my budget. blink.gif

i dont really get your 4th statement, let me quote a scenario: i got a fairlady for rm90k, if i plan to keep it for 2 yrs, then i must prepare for rm100k. but if i found a 100k car, i shouldnt consider fairlady? i plan to own fairlady for as long as possible(hopefully). i've asked around the 2nd hand car dealer, they normally would give free 1 year roadtax + insurance once the deal is sealed.
I mean.. if you found a Fairlady for 90k.... but you worry the roadtax is expensive (4k)... then u go find another model.. with a cheaper roadtax (say 2k).... for say 100k...

That means u should buy the fairlady... cause the roadtax difference is only 2k and the 10k difference of the car will cover your "expensive" roadtax for 5 yrs...

Oh... one advice if you wanna buy a 350z... never... ever... buy a "stock" car... cause its pretty crap... and the cost of modding it yourself is ridiculously high... my car I dumped 40k+ into it... and it still look kinda stock hahaha

ps : Then again dont buy those with turbo mods either tongue.gif

Added on July 3, 2012, 5:11 pmEnuf liao.. dont wanna post here anymore... posted so many replies here without trolling... way above my limit already tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jul 3 2012, 05:11 PM
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 05:35 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 05:10 PM)
I mean.. if you found a Fairlady for 90k.... but you worry the roadtax is expensive (4k)... then u go find another model.. with a cheaper roadtax (say 2k).... for say 100k...

That means u should buy the fairlady... cause the roadtax difference is only 2k and the 10k difference of the car will cover your "expensive" roadtax for 5 yrs...

Oh... one advice if you wanna buy a 350z... never... ever... buy a "stock" car... cause its pretty crap... and the cost of modding it yourself is ridiculously high... my car I dumped 40k+ into it... and it still look kinda stock hahaha

ps : Then again dont buy those with turbo mods either tongue.gif

Added on July 3, 2012, 5:11 pmEnuf liao.. dont wanna post here anymore... posted so many replies here without trolling... way above my limit already tongue.gif
i'm ok with that, cos i really dont have idea where to start off.
is it ok to buy those equipped with brembo brakes? why shouldn't choose stock car? aint it cost abt rm80k?

Added on July 3, 2012, 5:37 pm
QUOTE(williamwong @ Jul 3 2012, 05:07 PM)
this will never work. its not a rare exotic.

one day the car will depreciate till say rm40k, would you still be willing to pay 10% of the car's worth for roadtax every year?

these cars are meant to be flipped every few years as new models comes out, you start earning more, then the younger guys will buy it off you.
yeah, even it is sounds pretty ridiculous if i say this to myself.

all in all, dont give a shiat abt budget if wanna buy sport car.

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Jul 3 2012, 05:37 PM
Intrigue
post Jul 3 2012, 05:44 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

maybe should just get a STI v9.
TSfenrir0402
post Jul 3 2012, 05:47 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jul 3 2012, 05:44 PM)
maybe should just get a STI v9.
not interested tongue.gif reasons as stated in previous post
wahloi
post Mar 24 2016, 01:59 AM

this thread already 4 year, did u buy the Nissan Fairlady ?
Steven Seven
post Jul 4 2016, 06:15 PM

Any update from ts
ayamxxx
post Jul 6 2016, 09:06 PM

4,061 posts

Since ts have potential issue for road tax price in Bolehland, why cant he consider Fd civic type R. Since it is 2.0 cc, the roadtax is affordable.

Compare with Fairlady, both are sport car segment. Expect the FC, maintenance, potential got stolen, price for tyre replacement, harsh suspension ride is well ABOVE normal car like vios etc.

Ts share your car pic when u purchase it
lsm1991
post Jul 6 2016, 09:43 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 6 2016, 09:06 PM)
Since ts have potential issue for road tax price in Bolehland, why cant he consider Fd civic type R. Since it is 2.0 cc, the roadtax is affordable.

Compare with Fairlady, both are sport car segment. Expect the FC, maintenance, potential got stolen, price for tyre replacement, harsh suspension ride is well ABOVE normal car like vios etc.

Ts share your car pic when u purchase it
haha fd-r costs minimum i have seen 70k (and that was a super low offer, usually closer to 90k) while the 350z can go for as low as 40-50k (dealers only offer 40k+ for this car)
ayamxxx
post Apr 12 2017, 11:11 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 6 2016, 09:43 PM)
haha fd-r costs minimum i have seen 70k (and that was a super low offer, usually closer to 90k) while the 350z can go for as low as 40-50k (dealers only offer 40k+ for this car)
if Golf GTI fit TS bill?
saw them do running fast at the highway, trunk road. not sure if it reliable. the roadtax do comes cheap since it 2.0 turbo
6UE5T
post Apr 12 2017, 11:46 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 12 2017, 11:11 AM)
if Golf GTI fit TS bill?
saw them do running fast at the highway, trunk road. not sure if it reliable. the roadtax do comes cheap since it 2.0 turbo
TS posted back in 2012. laugh.gif
donfutsal
post Jun 8 2017, 04:34 PM

182 posts

guys skyline r 35 road tax how much ???
lsm1991
post Jun 8 2017, 04:41 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(donfutsal @ Jun 8 2017, 04:34 PM)
guys skyline r 35 road tax how much ???
this kinda question.....

SleeplessEyes
post Jun 9 2017, 07:32 AM

2,429 posts

Imagine someone brings in a Corvette with lets say, a big Block Chevy into malaysia. Lets say.. a 572 engine, thats a 9.37L v8 monster motor.

Rm 30,795 per year. 1 Axia per year. Lol.

I think US is fortunate without any road tax system.
eDR1
post Jul 15 2018, 09:00 AM

Hey guys, what's up. How r ya all doin? Hope you all fine😊. Just wondering IF we can build up this respective page to be more active by sending information regarding above mentioned. This pages was started several years ago and needs refurbishing Lol. So give any comments to the related matter or myb we can shifting to other topics? Well, myb the ADMIN can admit something new information of those cars to discuss for!? Perhaps, this small initiative would bring us together despite of having fun Lol
Ahjosh
post Aug 14 2018, 01:25 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(eDR1 @ Jul 15 2018, 09:00 AM)
Hey guys, what's up. How r ya all doin? Hope you all fine😊. Just wondering IF we can build up this respective page to be more active by sending information regarding above mentioned. This pages was started several years ago and needs refurbishing Lol. So give any comments to the related matter or myb we can shifting to other topics? Well, myb the ADMIN can admit something new information of those cars to discuss for!? Perhaps, this small initiative would bring us together despite of having fun Lol
maybe we can start a nissan fairlady club here? then we can gather informations of respective fairlady's that is available
Eskape
post Aug 14 2018, 08:55 PM

Plenty of 350z clubs on fb.

Based on the main topic, there is another way to reduce roadtax other than East Malaysia registration or Underdeclaring.

For those of you who need to go inspection, just install a smaller engine + block from let's say a 2.4litre nissan model, register it, then swap back to 3.5litre. Time consuming, but if you know the mechanic and if you plan to keep it for the long term then it's worth it.
kksoon
post Aug 16 2018, 02:12 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Eskape @ Aug 14 2018, 08:55 PM)
Plenty of 350z clubs on fb.

Based on the main topic, there is another way to reduce roadtax other than East Malaysia registration or Underdeclaring.

For those of you who need to go inspection, just install a smaller engine + block from let's say a 2.4litre nissan model, register it, then swap back to 3.5litre. Time consuming, but if you know the mechanic and if you plan to keep it for the long term then it's worth it.
Downgrade or upgrade JPJ no limitations? I thought was 25 or 30% only? No?
kksoon
post Aug 16 2018, 02:17 AM

1,498 posts

Anyone interest?
2003/2008
Manual
2 owners
Still got AP form
100% accident free
kksoon
post Aug 16 2018, 02:29 AM

1,498 posts

lsm1991
post Aug 16 2018, 10:40 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(kksoon @ Aug 16 2018, 02:12 AM)
Downgrade or upgrade JPJ no limitations? I thought was 25 or 30% only? No?
they are talking about registering a diferent smaller cc engine in, (so now on paper its running a smaller engine for lower rt) then swapping the original 3.5 back in. Technically illegal and if you get into an major accident and its spotted by the insurance company, well good luck.
kksoon
post Aug 18 2018, 02:14 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Aug 16 2018, 10:40 AM)
they are talking about registering a diferent smaller cc engine in, (so now on paper its running a smaller engine for lower rt) then swapping the original 3.5 back in. Technically illegal and if you get into an major accident and its spotted by the insurance company, well good luck.
Oic 😅😅, but max also can reach 2.6? Or 2.5?
lsm1991
post Aug 21 2018, 10:42 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(kksoon @ Aug 18 2018, 02:14 PM)
Oic 😅😅, but max also can reach 2.6? Or 2.5?
max? u mean min right?

technically you can go down all the way to a 0cc engine pun boleh.

but the cost and limitations of actually getting to that point 'legally' is going to be the deterrent. Basically if you want a completely legal 350z, stick to the 3498 cc (i think that's the fig?) roadtax. If you want to register a smaller engine then put the original engine back in, imho not worth the risk, i would rather get a langkawi/labuan plate or something. Just as illegal, less of a hassel
kksoon
post Aug 22 2018, 01:30 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Aug 21 2018, 10:42 AM)
max? u mean min right?

technically you can go down all the way to a 0cc engine pun boleh.

but the cost and limitations of actually getting to that point 'legally' is going to be the deterrent. Basically if you want a completely legal 350z, stick to the 3498 cc (i think that's the fig?) roadtax. If you want to register a smaller engine then put the original engine back in, imho not worth the risk, i would rather get a langkawi/labuan plate or something. Just as illegal, less of a hassel
Good point..
^pomen_GTR^
post Sep 14 2018, 04:35 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 26 2012, 08:35 AM)
stamping other block number to new block number is already illegal deyy
acbc
post Sep 14 2018, 04:44 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Sep 14 2018, 04:35 PM)
stamping other block number to new block number is already illegal deyy
Well, still have people doing it. If like to take risk, then proceed.
6UE5T
post Sep 14 2018, 05:24 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 14 2018, 04:44 PM)
Well, still have people doing it. If like to take risk, then proceed.
Wah so you got lubang to do that bro? brows.gif
acbc
post Sep 14 2018, 05:33 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 14 2018, 05:24 PM)
Wah so you got lubang to do that bro?  brows.gif
Some of my cars have larger cc engine but paying smaller cc road tax. So many years like this. As long don't get into an accident, no one will ask questions.

One of the car got into an accident once. Runner merely asking for RM 300 to settle. Just pay him to get things moving.
Eskape
post Sep 18 2018, 01:43 PM

I think there should be a HUGE disclaimer at the front. NONE of the things we're suggesting is legal. This should be obvious already.

Stating: Oh, it's illegal, oh, cannot claim insurance, oh cannot pass inspection.

I can't believe there are people trying to negotiate a legal way to pay less road tax while using a large cc car. There's no way around it. If you want to do things legally, then go through the right options. There are no loopholes if you want everything in black and white. We're trying to give suggestions to those who want a workaround who don't mind stepping into the grey area of things.
ayamxxx
post Sep 18 2018, 01:49 PM

4,061 posts

Dont do the illegal stuff. For summons we can pay. But how if we got into major accident plus bump into more expensive car. Die also if without insurance or got rejected by insurance

0.0502sec    1.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:56 PM